Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Evil 200 2013

• 29-04-2013 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭

Prompted by comments in the WW200 Thread and some comments on Strava.

200k of Wicklow's worst roads and hardest climbs as devised by Astramonti
    100% unsupported, 100% unofficial and 100% plain mental.

Last years thread here.

Ideally the day before the WW200 - Saturday the 8th of June.

Last year only 2 riders (lennymc and Inquitus) were mad enough hard enough to finish it.

So who is in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Haha.. awesome! I was actually thinking of creating a new thread with a slightly different route, I ll post it up when I am done to see if people want to do the last years one.

em.. ofc I am in. Probably I'll bail halfway as I ll be just back from extended holidays :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

AstraMonti wrote: »
    em.. ofc I am in. Probably I'll bail halfway as I ll be just back from extended holidays :D

excuses....

I may be in, depending on what races are on that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Good luck lads.

tenth-nope.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

I'm very tempted. It would be good to try 200km with lots of climbing.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Tempted.very tempted

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Pending there is nothing else on, I am in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

lennymc wrote: »
    excuses....

But it is a Race. You have to defend your podium place from last year.

excuses....

Competitive races, there are 2 in Ulster, none anywhere else.

Leisure events, only the WW200 the following day.

So my only out now is work or family, so I am provisoinally in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Remove some of the MTB trails from it this time.

Raam wrote: »

Yeah was going to do that, it had it's fun though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Raam wrote: »

The milk lorry can stay though.

Boards Evil 200kms 2013 Edition route

Thoughts? It goes through some very small roads but the surface is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭g0g

Twice up Sallys Gap after all those hills - you're some mad man! Would love to give another of these a go after my failed attempt last time, but haven't been on bike in months. Need to get fit ASAP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Looks good Astra, finishing with a run over the gap, thats just being a bastard though!

Oh and count me in!

Yeap, it's brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Cool, count me in. Zero fitness and a bit of a fatty right now, but I need an ass kicking. Would like to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭sbs2010

I'd be on for this. I'll start it anyway!

Outstanding. Barnaslingan and Slaughter Hill as warm-ups. You are a sick, sick man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

lads who owns the felt n the old pics with the orange tyres

daragh_ wrote: »
    Outstanding. Barnaslingan and Slaughter Hill as warm-ups. You are a sick, sick man.

Where is the banner from last year?

blahblah06 wrote: »
    lads who owns the felt n the old pics with the orange tyres

Thats me blahblah06, though sadly the orange tyres wore out and I wasn't able to find a replacement pair!

Is it the felt ar4?

blahblah06 wrote: »
    Is it the felt ar4?

No is a Z6, wish it was an AR4 mind , and a lot of people ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Saturday is my babysitting day. I can't make it. Shoot! :p

Ye seen an ar4 in euro cycles reduced down its a 2011 model seemed heavy at nearly 8kg
    Love the colours

Where is the banner from last year?

New One :D

I apologise for my heinous crimes against Typography.

8692462623_a7b2cca912.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

I'd be up for this sort of madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

@ Maloner Are you on the Ride with GPS site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

@ Maloner Are you on the Ride with GPS site?

yup

daragh_ wrote: »
    New One :D

I apologise for my heinous crimes against Typography.

8692462623_a7b2cca912.jpg

with a logo like that i guess I'll have to do it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

CramCycle wrote: »
    Competitive races, there are 2 in Ulster, none anywhere else.

Leisure events, only the WW200 the following day.

So my only out now is work or family, so I am provisoinally in.

If this is the case then I too am in, provided my legs still work after Rás Dhún na nGall...

colm_gti wrote: »
    If this is the case then I too am in, provided my legs still work after Rás Dhún na nGall...

anyone fancy doing the wicklow 200 aswell? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

anyone fancy doing the wicklow 200 aswell? :)

What is this, training for the pyrenees?

the sean nolan meath gp is on the 9th, so Im not committing to anything at the moment....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

the sean nolan meath gp is on the 9th, so Im not committing to anything at the moment....

Is that not one of the potentially cancelled races?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

If I'm not working that weekend then I'll give it a go. Never done a 200 and never ridden in Wicklow, so a few cherries to pop!

colm_gti wrote: »
    Is that not one of the potentially cancelled races?

no idea. If its not cancelled ill race it. If it is cancelled ill do the evil and at least the wicklow 100 (have a few friends doing it for the first time this year so may join them for the spin)

That evil logo is so good that I wish I could get a jersey with it on (well, if I ever manage to enter/complete the Evil 200).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

This is precisely the type of aspirational bullsh1t that attracts me to cycling.
    While the average fat middle aged man has no interest in this type of nonsense, this is exactly while I will say that I will do this.

(Which means that i probably won't - either way I need something arduous in the middle of the summer to train for).
    Astra your some bollix.

just some tips for people doing this based on my doing it last year.
    its hard, very hard. 11 hours in the saddle hard.
    Be self sufficient, punctures, (i got two last year) break downs, food, drink, etc. you will need to carry enough stuff to be self sufficient. This is not an organised leisure spin - no official support. Think audax without the brevet cards and checkpoints.
    You may well end up on your own for several hours at a time.
    2 of us (from 12 starters) completed it last year. it is hard. You will need to allow the full day to do it. I averaged about 20 kph.
    Dont underestimate how tough it is.

Anyway, when you do it, its great and you get to join inquitus and me in the Boards evil 200 super exclusive finishers hall of fame!

The wicklow 200 the next day will seem like a walk in the park after this.

What time are we kicking off?

CramCycle wrote: »
    What time are we kicking off?

Next year should be good.

Last year we left sharp at 8am, and I don't think Lenny came back before 8pm. And the new route is slightly harder than last years I think. A few kms longer as well. 7:30 is cool, but I don't know how the north side guys would feel waking up at 5am to have breakfast :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Looks like another very "interesting" route Astramonti, fair play! Would like to do this but it's the turn of my missus this year so I'll be on parenting duty instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭sbs2010

Is there a shuttle bus between the start and finish locations?

And a pasta party?

sbs2010 wrote: »
    Is there a shuttle bus between the start and finish locations?

And a pasta party?
    Pasta party me hole.
    If I finish this I'm having kebabs - lots of them.

When we finished the Raid last year Lenny ordered a foot long kebab that had two burgers, chips, doner meat and a chicken shish all in the gigantic pita.
    I have a picture of it and it is my aspiration to eat one them one day.
    The day I finish this, that is what I will be eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Consey

That kebab speech is inspirational.
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Pasta party me hole.
    If I finish this I'm having kebabs - lots of them.

When we finished the Raid last year Lenny ordered a foot long kebab that had two burgers, chips, doner meat and a chicken shish all in the gigantic pita.
    I have a picture of it and it is my aspiration to eat one them one day.
    The day I finish this, that is what I will be eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

doozerie wrote: »
    Looks like another very "interesting" route Astramonti, fair play! Would like to do this but it's the turn of my missus this year so I'll be on parenting duty instead.

Sure would she not take the trailer? Seems to be a specialty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Good route, all roads marked should be in good condition. The only problem I could see is coming up Slaughter Hill out of Newtown the plotted route goes to the right/parallel to the main road. Is that intentional? I would imagine you're guaranteed a puncture if you try and cycle up there.