Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society Outing - Mitchelstown Golf Club 26th May 2013 11:30AM

• 29-04-2013 1:01pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Right lads, next event only a few weeks away again. Let see can we get a great turnout for this one!!! Fine course and great deal on food on offer for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Right lads, next event only a few weeks away again. Let see can we get a great turnout for this one!!! Fine course and great deal on food on offer for this one.

I thought it was May 26th?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Reganovski wrote: »
    I thought it was May 26th?

sorry, my bad - yes its Sunday the 26th May.

Auld copy & paste got me again!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Dammit, you guys put on a Sunday and I cant get to it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

GreeBo wrote: »
    Dammit, you guys put on a Sunday and I cant get to it :(

Am now convinced that Greebo is not a real person and just a modbot sent here to troll us with his "existence"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Am now convinced that Greebo is not a real person and just a modbot sent here to troll us with his "existence"

That deserves a lifetime ban (and automatic exclusion from GOTY ;) )

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    That deserves a lifetime ban (and automatic exclusion from GOTY ;) )

its the only chance all of you have ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Looking forward to this.Count me in. What's the deal on the food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

its the only chance all of you have ;)

And don't I know it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Looking forward to this.Count me in. What's the deal on the food?

€5 Soup and Sandwiches after the round and also included in our round is Tea/Coffee & scones on arrival.

Was speaking to a friend who played the course last Friday, said it was in great nick.

Can't wait for this one!! Time to get some points on the board!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Im now in for this after originally ruling myself out

I have to wait for some logistical issues to clear up before making my decision :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Disappointed I'm going to miss this one after such a great day out the last Saturday!

In my home county and all!! :mad:

Hope it works out and ye get a good crowd.

Corkonions and others in the south, this is ye're chance now to get out for an outing as I know people have been looking for one in Cork for quite sometime.

I have to wait for some logistical issues to clear up before making my decision :)

Stay at home will ya and give others a chance! :p:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Oh Brilliant , Shame Charlie cant pick you up that morning either , the car will be full ,

There was a bit of banter going on behind the scenes about double GOTY points to plump the numbers but seems you wont make it I may seriously purpose it ,

Oh if you do make it your teeing off at 12.30 :P

such a pity alright P, I'll have to run him off the road if he goes on his own either!!!!

Same with ballyk, I'm too many points behind both of them!

Come and play the 4th Hole - its index one and reminds me of Augusta!
    [FONT=verdana, sans-serif]
    [/FONT]

[FONT=verdana, sans-serif]The hole drops to flat fairway around a few lone pines and the green sits behind the river in the shadow of majestic trees. In the evening sunlight its captivating.[/FONT]
    [FONT=verdana, sans-serif]
    [/FONT]

[FONT=verdana, sans-serif]The 15th is just as good,with the 13th,14th and 16th coming close[/FONT]

IMO 12 and 18 are better holes than 16!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

12 is a card wrecker off the box. 15 is more trouble again.

The last 7 just tighten up like a duck's proverbial :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,798 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

If Im off work, and I can get to it by public transport, could I be included? And anyone know if public transport is possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Where are you going from? I'm sure someone could give you a lift and save you from the vagaries of public transport.

Well I'm glad i checked in here before I rang ya Charlie, saved myself a few pence. Was about to ask for a lift down as I cant afford the petrol of a 2 hour journey there and back :)

Gonna have to sit this one out fellas - so make sure you play well and catch up on me while you still can. I'll be back for Dunmurray Springs....HUNGRY FOR THE TASTE OF VICTORY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Well I'm glad i checked in here before I rang ya Charlie, saved myself a few pence. Was about to ask for a lift down as I cant afford the petrol of a 2 hour journey there and back :)

Gonna have to sit this one out fellas - so make sure you play well and catch up on me while you still can. I'll be back for Dunmurray Springs....HUNGRY FOR THE TASTE OF VICTORY!!!

Just had a look there and I'd have to finish in the top 3 to pass you out so I reckon you'll still be in the lead by the time we get to Dunmurry Springs.

ballyk wrote: »
    Where are you going from? I'm sure someone could give you a lift and save you from the vagaries of public transport.

From Cork City. Id do public transport if I had to.

Ah here now Charlie , give him a lift , dont want him having an excuse when I beat him at the end of the year !

Mushy wrote: »
    From Cork City. Id do public transport if I had to.

I'll more than likely be travelling from Shanakiel so can pick you up somewhere, we can tie in closer to the event!

It is possible to get a bus to Mitchelstown, every hour approx but the bus stop is still about 2/3 miles from the course so better off getting a lift.

ssbob wrote: »
    I'll more than likely be travelling from Shanakiel so can pick you up somewhere, we can tie in closer to the event!

It is possible to get a bus to Mitchelstown, every hour approx but the bus stop is still about 2/3 miles from the course so better off getting a lift.

Thanks very much, I'll keep it in mind. Have to hopefully get the day off now!

Ah here now Charlie , give him a lift , dont want him having an excuse when I beat him at the end of the year !

i'll drive to dunmurray if he does :) Its my turn to drive anyways, but I just cant manage the drive for this one :)

your very generous, there's only 112kms a difference in the 2 spins!!:P:D

From my house - round trip 324kms to Mitchelstown v 212kms to Dunmurry.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    your very generous, there's only 112kms a difference in the 2 spins!!:P:D

From my house - round trip 324kms to Mitchelstown v 212kms to Dunmurry.

well I would offer to do the one afterwards aswell, but that hasnt been announced as yet ;)

22nd June Dunmurry Springs
    20th July The Heritage

These are up a few days now, just finalising the last few as well.;)

I'll let you know over the weekend about travelling down.

Thanks man :)

For some reason I read the Heritage is being in October. Not sure where I got that date out of :) But yeah, as long as I am not away on holidays or anything, i will be playing both of those and can drive us for both :)

Nice one, cheers. Suppose I better bring you this time then!!!

Must invest in earplugs to drown out the snoring as well!!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Bump!

We need numbers, if not enough in attendance it will not be an official outing.

Any chance this can be stickied?

Bump!

I'll sticky it till monday for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

only 11 booked it, very low numbers for the rebel county

stevieob wrote: »
    only 11 booked it, very low numbers for the rebel county

Was hoping for more , tis a shame , but Il happily take the extra easy GOTY points :pac:

Is there a quorum with the GOTY points when such a situation occurs? :p

blockic wrote: »
    Is there a quorum with the GOTY points when such a situation occurs? :p

If there's less than 15 players in the outing, everyone who plays gets double points.

You've enough points!! Christ if you win GOTY, we'll NEVER hear the end of it! :D;)

blockic wrote: »
    You've enough points!! Christ if you win GOTY, we'll NEVER hear the end of it! :D;)

I'm a very modest and gracious winner I assure you :)

Long way to go though and I'm off 2 now.......

...... could be off scratch after mitchelstown ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I'm a very modest and gracious winner I assure you :)

Ricky I'm chasing your ass :o
    I mean , I'm on your back :o
    I mean , watch your behind :rolleyes:
    I mean , I'm close behind you :confused:
    Watch your hole :P

Ignore all above , came out wrong.

again , on a stag sorry - love the little Cork people too.

Bump!

what you mean it wont be an official outing?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

If we have less than 12 players signed up to play then there is no GOTY or prizes on offer.

lets hope we can get the numbers up so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭a post punk

Looking to sign up guys, how do I do so?

Sorted it there, I sent Pete a mail with your details so you just have to reply to the teamer message!

Back to 12 now, come on people lets make it a good one!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭mikeystipey

just signed up for this event on Teamer, sorry for the delay. 13th player to sign up gets quadruple points, read that in the rules somewhere...

Great stuff, you'll really enjoy the course

Hey, I'm able to play on this, do I do anything to sign up? Ssbob, I've PM'd you too.

Sunday 26th of May is going to be warm and dry! :D

gfs-0-240.png?6?6

Orange is good!

Start signing up nao!

Up to a healthy 14/15 now so numbers are really picking up. This may be the first boards event where we have had people join us the closer we got to it.......normally people drop off!!