Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martinez V Murray

• 27-04-2013 1:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭

StareDown.jpg?resize=420%2C280

I think this could be a good scrap.
    Martinez obviously oozes class, but he isn't getting any younger and has a lot of mileage on the clock. He has had a lot of hard fights, and was badly hurt by Chavez in that epic last round of their fight. It may just have left its mark on him. He also injured his knee in the fight, which just might impair his usually nifty footwork. Knee injuries are not just for xmas,,,

To be honest I hadn't really taken much notice of Murray early on in his career, and the first time I watched him properly was against Sturm in Germany. I was very impressed, and thought he won the fight. The way Murray performed in such a hostile arena will stand him in good stead for what is in store for him in Argentina. He showed great defensive skills (mostly) against Sturm, and will have to do the same again if he is to have any hope on saturday night.

In my opinion the most likely result is a knockout for Martinez if he can get through Murray's tight defence. However, if Murray can weather the early storm, and maybe nick a round or two in the first half of the fight it might get interesting in the later rounds as Martinez tires.
    I have no interest in backing Martinez at 1/7, and the ko at 8/11 is too short for me too. The value bet is Murray by decision at 12/1. If he wins it will more than likely be on points. Martinez by decision is 9/4-not bad value either. Anyway, hopefully it is a good fight, and may the best man win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Murray has to win by KO no way will they give it to him on points, this is sergio's homecoming they will do everything in their power to insure its a W i think Murray will give a good account of himself and i fancy it to go the distance but Sergio will on points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I personally thought Murray was well beat by Sturm, and gifted a draw as a result of the Macklin-Sturm fight controversy (judges scoring any close-ish rounds for Murray so as not to appear biased and come into criticism like the judges in the Macklin fight).

Unless the knee problem has had a serious effect on Martinez he wins here,and wins easily. Murray might go the distance but I can't see him taking many rounds, and I fear this could be quite one sided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

I don't think Sturm won convincingly at all. I watched it again last night and I definitely thought Murray edged it. He blocked the vast majority of Sturm's jabs and answered back every time, with interest. It was close.
    He will have to adjust his gameplan against Martinez though, because with his power he will break through Murray's high guard if he just stands there in front of him like he did against Sturm. I do think Martinez is a worthy favourite, but if he does not take Murray seriously and is not in peak condition I think Murray might surprise him.

I felt Murray shaded the Strum fight but it wasnt a robbery like what happend to Macklin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Martinez by decision at 9/4. Not a bad bet but I couldn't' be added going to the bookies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I fancy Martinez on points.

Murray is a big, strong, well-conditioned and decent-skilled boxer, but he lacks that extra x-factor to be a world champ. I thought he was lucky to get the draw v Sturm, but it proved he has all the afore-mentioned attributes.

My problem with him is that he arm-punches way too much. For such a strong guy with decent fundamentals, he never really 'goes for it' with his punches, just doesn't put any weight behind them.

Martinez, on the other hand likes to take a look at opponents for the first few rounds, moving constantly, setting up traps for later rounds, using his footwork to frustrate, but I don't see Murray being too bothered by this and working away solidly, but just not being quick enough or dangerous enough to really dominate.

Betfair currently have Martinez on pts at 5/2 with 2.75/1 having been matched. I think it's a good bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭getuponthis

Going for a points win for Martinez. A bit off topic but Audley Harrison.....LOL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

This on any of the UPC sports channels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

Heads up - Dan Rafael is reporting that this fight will now be on at 1.30am because of high winds in the stadium!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Murray is going be simply outclassed tonight, there will be flurries and he will be admired for his engine and work rate but Maravilla wins this in second gear I think.

Also had Sturm beating Murray, he got the kick back from the Macklin result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Buncey and Andy Lee doing the commentary.

This fight has a lot to live up to after Khan and Diaz. Hopefully Murray puts up a show. He has it in him.

Broadcast has been pretty funny so far, fairly erratic. Atmosphere will be electric by the time sexy Serg hits the ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Henno30 wrote: »
    Broadcast has been pretty funny so far, fairly erratic. Atmosphere will be electric by the time sexy Serg hits the ring.

i havent been watching at all, whats happened? why funny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ooPabsoo

This is seriously tough for Murray. The atmosphere & the weather is insane

For once a fight is on early. Murray doesn't look too worried. He has the English weather too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I've never seen such hoopla for a boxing event. It's like the opening ceremony for a World Cup or an Olympic Games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I'm sorry I didn't get Box Nation in for this, It's like Lego-Land on my stream It's so blocky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ooPabsoo

nocoverart wrote: »
    I'm sorry I didn't get Box Nation in for this, It's like Lego-Land on my stream It's so blocky.

Check your PM pal

I can't warm to Sergio's style. Reminds me so much of Dudey McCloskey.

Murray is doing alright so far. He nicked that one,

Crap fight.

Murray is doing quite well here. As solid as I expected, but catching Martinez more than expected. He's a tough man.

murray has nicked two so far in my opinion

Fair play to Murray! ya really have to admire this guy.

Theres not alot left in Martinez I reckon, he is there for the taking.

Great scrap. Whatever happens.

Theres not alot left in Martinez I reckon, he is there for the taking.
    Question is who at middle will be able to take him we will learn more about Golovkin in June but its slim pickings at the weight in terms to elite fighters

Lovely!

Woah, that makes things very interesting. Martinez down.

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Epic. Come on, Murray!

I know it's easier said than done but if Murray was a bit busier when in range he could be a lot closer on the cards. Martinez is very ordinary tonight.

murrays fight...so far

slip my ass!

No slip what crap that should be a 10 8 round and Murray would be ahead what bs trying to screw Murray out of a win Martinez is shot

Murray in with a real chance here.

murray's gonna get rode. was a knockdown!!

Murray getting another draw here just watch

Sergio is ripe for an uppercut

This is going to be tight. And Betfair has been suspended since before the fight so I couldn't lay off bets or get my usual cover bet on a draw.

Could be a draw.

If that was not ruled a feckin slip Murray would have won but unfortunatly i think Sergio will get this one big credit to Murray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

The last two rounds did it for Martinez, but I still feel for Murray. Very impressed with him.

I'm not 100% sure about the 'knockdown', I'll have to see it again.

detect a very strong anti Martinez sentiment from HBO

Great effort from Murray. Gave up too many early rounds to squeeze out a decision though. Martinez took the last two rounds which sealed it for him, but that aside he was poor. Not sharp at all on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

el flaco wrote: »
    maybe he might retire now
    he is gettin alot of injuries

Sergio is crocked with injuries and has been for some time. The year off looks like a good idea now. It's a pity because he's at the peak of his earning power after 16 long years but it's all starting to take its toll on him. Let the condenders scrap it out for 12 months and then come back for a payday after Golovkin has destroyed them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Fair play to Murray he put on a bloody good show and was honest enough to say after that he didn't throw enough punches to win the fight.

Will be interesting to see how he gets on from here.
    Poor Sergio is back on the sidelines and feel bad for him considering that he just has hit peak earning power and he's gonna be laid off again.

clubwelly wrote: »
    Fair play to Murray he put on a bloody good show and was honest enough to say after that he didn't throw enough punches to win the fight.

That was it. He was very average I thought. Sergio for me just doesn't overly impress. Murray had no zip or snap or power in his punches. These are supposed to be world class middles. They are, just doesn't look it.