Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Makes my blood boil

• 25-04-2013 1:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭

Just a rant.

A local man had 60 round bales and wanted to sell 20 and so put up an advertisement at the local co-op. A few days later one of his neighbours arrives at the house looking for some bales and when he realised that the seller wasn't at the house and only his elderly mother was present he took 59 of the bales. The cuunt left one bale.

I just don't understand how people can be such sh1ts. We gave away 10 round bales this year and we always get plenty of colostrum when it's lambing time, that's the way it should be not stabbing others in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I find that hard to believe, takes a bit of time to shift 59 bales. Why didnt he just go to the yard of the neighbor and reclaim them. I would draw them home one by one to spite the fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

The guy that took the bales is a wealthy guy and owns a lot of property. I know one of his family members very well and he is a scum bag in general.

Now that's the way it is at the moment and to be honest I can't see how he wouldn't give them back since everybody in the area now knows about it and everyone thinks he's a cuunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

JJayoo wrote: »
    The guy that took the bales is a wealthy guy and owns a lot of property. I know one of his family members very well and he is a scum bag in general.

Now that's the way it is at the moment and to be honest I can't see how he wouldn't give them back since everybody in the area now knows about it and everyone thinks he's a cuunt.

has he been reported to the gaurds. that robbery plain and simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Less talk and more action. Draw them back. End of

I find that hard to believe, takes a bit of time to shift 59 bales. Why didnt he just go to the yard of the neighbor and reclaim them. I would draw them home one by one to spite the fecker

a decent sized bale trailer will take 20, 3 runs easy done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 hould on hey

Easier said than done you have To enter his property To get The bales back, And The law normally takes The side of The wealthy scoombug so The man that lost 59 bales is normally in The wrong according To them ,that's The jist of what feedback I'm getting from relatives And neighbours as I have been a victim of similar spates.
    However if he paid/pays for The bales its a different story, fellas Like this normally don't And The normal run of The country Will understamd Why his gates open at night amd his cattle wander around The countryside some never To be found! Or The wrap could even peel itself off his bales in The dark of night! I have heard of The virgin mary appearing in knock also!

yellow50HX wrote: »
    has he been reported to the gaurds. that robbery plain and simple

That's my view on things but his argument is that he spoke to the man's mother and payed for 59 bales. So legally what will happen? Leaving one bale was such a kick in the teeth, and these men live about 7 miles apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

That's my view on things but his argument is that he spoke to the man's mother and payed for 59 bales. So legally what will happen? Leaving one bale was such a kick in the teeth, and these men live about 7 miles apart.

So he paid for 59 bales - did he pay the full value?

Ya 3 runs And if The owner was at work it could be done in under 4 hours
    Did he pay for them?

Yup he paid the asking price per bale, but now the other farmer is relying on neighbours to help him out.

Does he have a sign Up at The gate cctv in operation? I was considering putting Up a sign under And over in operation! I would sit behind The hedge looking out from behind My bestest 2 friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

If she isnt the owner of the bales, she cant sell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Does he have a sign Up at The gate cctv in operation? I was considering putting Up a sign under And over in operation! I would sit behind The hedge looking out from behind My bestest 2 friends

about 20 years ago when my grandmother was still alive and well a fella called to the house to pick up bales my uncle was selling. she was at home on her own, about 90 but quite spritely. Told yer man that her son wasn't around but if he called back later he should be back. Anyway he told her he had met the uncle and paid for them that morning. She didn't believe his story and told him to come back later as she didn't know where the bales were. About 20 mins later she was looking out the kitchen window and saw yer man driving accross the field up to the shed where the bales were. This been before the days of mobile phones so she got out my grandfathers old shotgun and marched out into the yard. Fired a shot into the trees over his head and before he knew what was happening had reloaded and was pointing it at him. Told yer man that she had survived the black and tans and the civil war and no fecker was going to steal from her. neighbour across the road heard the whole thing and came accross to help and yer man hopped into his car and sped off. The grand mother never took any rubbish from anyone. We found out later the same fella had pulled the same stunt a few times in the area and would fill up the car trailer and have the bales sold on that evening. it was pointless telling her she could have been hurt herself as she caught she was still in 40's.

some feckers just think of eldery people on thier own as a soft touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭bb12

seriously lads...what planet are some of you living on?! some of you still go around like the tenants afraid of the landlords!

i can't even imagine how on earth that scenario would even arise where i'm based!

If she isnt the owner of the bales, she cant sell them.

I doubt she knew what was going on as she is pretty old. If it was a normal year and if he had paid for and taken all the bales then you might be able to put it down to a lack of communication, but everyone knows how hard it is at the moment and how important supplies are. To leave one fcuking bale...

intresting sign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

grazeaway wrote: »
    intresting sign

saw a good one the last day "Due to the rising cost of ammunition we can no longer provide warning shots"

excellant.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

in my mind these guys always get their comeuppance , mightnt be today ot tomorrow but he'll have no luck for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Trespassers will be shot survivors will be shot again.

Trespassers if I ain't shooting I'm reloading you'd better be running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

I doubt she knew what was going on as she is pretty old. If it was a normal year and if he had paid for and taken all the bales then you might be able to put it down to a lack of communication, but everyone knows how hard it is at the moment and how important supplies are. To leave one fcuking bale...

Organise three trailer, arrive on site, take the bales back. Let him call the guards and see where it gets him.

Hypothethically, I'd burn his house down if someone tried that on me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭ordinary farmer

there would be blood spilled if that happened around my area.!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I must admit this story or the likes of it does not surprise me. There never seems to be a shortage of people around who abuse the goodwill of others. Buying a few bales pay for the first few and pay you for the next few the next time they see you - never. Getting contractors in and never paying. Farmers are like every other sector in society - you have the good the bad and the downright ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Coming from another side of the whole situation I heard there's a farmer near me with two unopened pits of silage and he wont let anyone in near them.

To tell the truth, if a whole crew went down and swiped every kilo of it I wouldn't have one one bit of sympathy for the f**ker.

we're getting silage from a lad down the road at the moment. Every time I'm in the yard there's a different local loading up as well.
    Fair play to him, he's looking after a lot of people. One local farmer came in and tried to buy the whole pit and cut everyone else out. I suppose you see people's true colours when the pressure comes.

I'll tell ya one thing though, I'll be around for a few years yet and I wont forget who was decent and who acted the tramp over the last few weeks.

I think The biggest problem is The gaurds Come out And take The wrong side And "put manners" on The victim , they then wipe their hands after walking away leaving The victim in a state that they either break The law by getting their own stuff back or they break The laaw by ringing The gaurds And reporting it.
    I think people should Come out from behind The curtain open Up And man Up fear No one thay Are The tresspassers And remember The nally case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭FamousSeamus

Would this be a case where the local Sinn Fein rep gets informed and the bails return very quickly? This happens in a place near my home town, RA country like!!

Probably The Best way of dealing with such artists famous seamus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

Coming from another side of the whole situation I heard there's a farmer near me with two unopened pits of silage and he wont let anyone in near them.

To tell the truth, if a whole crew went down and swiped every kilo of it I wouldn't have one one bit of sympathy for the f**ker.

What’s wrong with him keeping his silage? Where would he be if he sold it now and the summer turns out like last year? Don’t know about others on here but I have a family to think of and would not put my livelihood in jeopardy for anyone else! I have sold plenty excess bales over the years to farmers who are pushing stocking rates to maximize profit and I might have just broken even with the bales that tied up my land for so long! Now that I need the bales to keep afloat, they expect me to be a good Samaritan and sell them off, putting myself and my own stock in s*ite if weather doesn’t improve very soon. No thanks

i got the number of a local farmer who has silage, rang him this morning, he said while he has silage no animal in the area will go hungry, 22.50euro a tonne , 6 or 7 lads drawing out of it, fair play lovely stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

whelan1 wrote: »
    i got the number of a local farmer who has silage, rang him this morning, he said while he has silage no animal in the area will go hungry, 22.50euro a tonne , 6 or 7 lads drawing out of it, fair play lovely stuff

He could at least cover his costs charging for it

ah, he likes me:D:D its a good few years old, will give him a bit extra when paying, wouldnt take the money today, said to wait a while, if only there where more people like him

we're getting silage from a lad down the road at the moment. Every time I'm in the yard there's a different local loading up as well.
    Fair play to him, he's looking after a lot of people. One local farmer came in and tried to buy the whole pit and cut everyone else out. I suppose you see people's true colours when the pressure comes.

I'll tell ya one thing though, I'll be around for a few years yet and I wont forget who was decent and who acted the tramp over the last few weeks.

i really hate this rubbish talk...people you're running in a business, not a hobby! why are you all so reliant on other people for favours all the time? all decisions need to be taken on a commercial basis and not out of sympathy or pity for others. if you're in trouble, admit to yourself you messed up with bad decisions and learn from it...don't be looking for someone else to blame because they made better decisions than you and are doing better out of all this.

bb12 wrote: »
    i really hate this rubbish talk...people you're running in a business, not a hobby! why are you all so reliant on other people for favours all the time? all decisions need to be taken on a commercial basis and not out of sympathy or pity for others. if you're in trouble, admit to yourself you messed up with bad decisions and learn from it...don't be looking for someone else to blame because they made better decisions than you and are doing better out of all this.
    as said before htf could you have planned for this? comments like yours do not help the situation, some people are feeding silage since last june/july

Its very bad luck to have such a bad summer and spring to be fair. But honestly, who here would give away their silage that might last them another 2 weeks and afterwards have to worry about feeding their own stock in 2 days time?

if you found you were in trouble you should have done something about it sooner...whether it was to sell off cattle, get on to your reps earlier to get more foddar imported or suchlike...they should have been importing hay from the uk last january...in fact it should be a common thing to get hay from there. their summers are much hotter than ours usually, especially in the south. there should be an ongoing trade between the uk and ireland..if we can buy their bread and milk, why not their hay? we're already buying all our beet pulp from there.

if you were doing your sums right, you should have known by the cold weather, flooded land that growth was going to be way back this year. you should have known how much fodder you'd left and how much they were consuming everyday and you should have calculated when you were going to be in trouble. the problem here is that everyone left it till 2 weeks before running out before doing anything about it.

i know exactly what my animals consume foddarwise on a weekly basis and i always buy in over a years supply of it to get from one haymaking season to well into the 2nd...always leave it that there'll be bales left over from the previous season in case anything goes wrong. the problem here is that nobody left any margin for errors.

in answer to that , not one farmer in my area has planned for this, so we all must be bad farmers and should just throw in the towel, i am glad you are not my neighbour as around here we like to help each other out not knock people when things dont go right

kfk wrote: »
    Its very bad luck to have such a bad summer and spring to be fair. But honestly, who here would give away their silage that might last them another 2 weeks and afterwards have to worry about feeding their own stock in 2 days time?
    its almost may, how many farmers still had cattle indoors in may in other years?

in answer to that , not one farmer in my area has planned for this, so we all must be bad farmers and should just throw in the towel, i am glad you are not my neighbour as around here we like to help each other out not knock people when things dont go right

i'm not knocking anyone. i'm just stating fact. you can all slap each other on the back and cry into your pints if you wish to make yourselves feel better while your animals are starving, but where i come from, we're a lot more pragmatic and we run our farms like efficient business machines and don't get caught out like a lot of people seem to have been here.

i'm just saying put this down to experience and learn from it so it'll never happen to you again. this is climate change and this is the future. we haven't really had a decent summer since 2003, so how you are all still actually surprised at the weather baffles me.

i don't know any farmer around me who is badly stuck for foddar or who has starving animals at the moment.

i'm not knocking anyone. i'm just stating fact. you can all slap each other on the back and cry into your pints if you wish to make yourselves feel better while your animals are starving, but where i come from, we're a lot more pragmatic and we run our farms like efficient business machines and don't get caught out like a lot of people seem to have been here.

i'm just saying put this down to experience and learn from it so it'll never happen to you again. this is climate change and this is the future. we haven't really had a decent summer since 2003, so how you are all still actually surprised at the weather baffles me.

i don't know any farmer around me who is badly stuck for foddar or who has starving animals at the moment.
    well good for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

its almost may, how many farmers still had cattle indoors in may in other years?

Hope May doesnt come like last year. I bulled all my heifers indoors to spare grass for the cows.

While i dont think fellas should scrafice their own business for others by selling silage that may need themselves, we do live in a community as most of us will look out for or neighbour because when push comes to shove they'll do the same for us. not all decisions can be made purely on an economic basis is it did then there would be not charitys in the country (why pay for a well in kenya if its of no comercial benift to you). I have given silage to neghbours this year but i have also turned some away. (i have 10 bales left and still have some cattle in the shed so wont be letting them go espically if the weather breaks again. we always try to keep extra silage as best as we can and had 2 years worth of silage last authunm.

One lad approcahed me last week for silage bales and got a bit odd with me when i said no. told him i needed them for own stock as i still dont have enough grass to let them all out. i offered him a couple of bales of straw to mix with silage to get him over the hump but he wasnt intrested. found out last night he has no stock indoors and is selling on the bales to others. the ol lad warned me about him before but i suppose i'm a bit niave.

people are also holding to stock for as long as they can as depending who you read 2012 and 2013 are reference years for the new CAP. This is a key part of farm incomes and if you have less stock during the reference yers you'll be stuck with that amount of entilements for the during of the scheme.

well happy days indeed. would luv to know where these great farmers are. we live in good farming country, no bogs, mountains, or feilds full of rocks round here. down south where our climate is said to be fairly good and there are planty of good farmers round here struggling. know of lots of fellas that brought in thier cattle to save the grazing last summer, bought straw to buffer out the silage, sold weanling in authunm at a loss the get thier cows feed and used up cash resevres to buy meal to delay letting animals out and still struggled. its very hard for people to build up a decent herd if you have to sell and cull more then you plan to due to weather conditions only to have to buy in animals to get back to your required levels. cattle and espically suckler/dailry cows are a long term commodity not a short term quick buck

hindsight is fantastic but in your econimic forcasting do you think it makes sense to have 3 years worth of fodder sitting a pit. in a strictly business sence it dosent make a whole pile of sense to hold that much invertory. you should be thankful for your good fortune. you could be like the lads up north who have lost animals when the snow caused the sheds to cave in. I've been lucky this year i might not be next year.

Fair play to the farmers in your area. But where Im from, it was always the consensus that farmers like me were the bad farmers with low stocking rates. Should I bail them out of trouble now and mess everything up for myself.

i am glad you are not my neighbour as around here we like to help each other out not knock people when things dont go right

This times a billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

I have highlighted the only part that looks the truth to me !!!!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I've a nieghbour who I got baled silage off last year. At the time he had a load of it and was kinda pissed off with so much left atfer the winter. I reckon he has sold over 1,000 bales in the last few weeks. You can never have enough of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Take a hypothetical situation.
    You sell AA bulls. Price probably dictated by supply and demand.
    If there is a very big increase in demand, the value of your stock will rise accordingly. I'm pretty sure, you will ride that demand like a good surfer, and get the best price possible for your bulls.
    Meanwhile a small farmer, with a small herd, comes to you and says he can only offer you a price consistent with his herd size. Say your asking price less €1k.
    What will you do? You will show him the road:o

This times a billion.

now now lads no need to get all p1ssy just because somebody dares to criticize.

to be completely honest, the out and out truth of it this year is that those of us who have been prepared are about to make a killing due to the rest of you who were not. with the loss of stock in the country due to the bad weather and the panic selling which will inevitably happen, once it is all over and done with, the rest of us, who are not in any panic, are waiting in the wings to ready to reap the rewards.

it aint personal, it's just business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Condascending much??? Could you have not just said 'i told you so' :rolleyes:

Take a hypothetical situation.
    You sell AA bulls. Price probably dictated by supply and demand.
    If there is a very big increase in demand, the value of your stock will rise accordingly. I'm pretty sure, you will ride that demand like a good surfer, and get the best price possible for your bulls.
    Meanwhile a small farmer, with a small herd, comes to you and says he can only offer you a price consistent with his herd size. Say your asking price less €1k.
    What will you do? You will show him the road:o
    tbh the price we sell at would be way below what would normally be charged, most of our customers are repeats that have been coming to us for years, treat them right they treat you right