Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Solutions to scumbags?

• 25-04-2013 11:59am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭

Where i live, Limerick....has been utterly ravaged by scumbags. They have destroyed the city and ripped its peoples heart out. There is a huge problem and its not confined to St. Marys Park, Southill or Moyross.

Like a virus they have spread and infested every part of the city, City Council attempts to re-house and spread them out over a wider area has only extended the misery to other areas of the city that once once considered safe havens.

Re-housing wont solve the problem, there have been many examples of families been given brand new houses and they end up destroying them. The problem cannot be solved, its inherent in their upbringing and surroundings.

Its a personality problem, it cannot be fixed imo. I dont know what the answer is but a start would be those who commited anti social behaviour should have their dole cut off or a big chunk taken each week....and not just a token tenner a week.

They must be made to pay, i personally think these scumbags should get nothing, no houses, rent allowance or dole....but thats me. There was an example of Croom.....a large number of families from Southill were re-housed.

You ask original Croom residents....they ruined that once tranquil village, short of a mass cull i dont know what the solution is.........

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

Maybe we could copy the Dutch and house anti social people in shipping containers.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I dont know what the answer is but a start would be those who commited anti social behaviour should have their dole cut off or a big chunk taken each week....and not just a token tenner a week.

I'm sure nobody would turn to crime to make a living if they had their dole cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

OP? Could you not keep all your Limerick bashing to one thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Yearly cull, same as culling deer. Only culling deer will draw protests.

Recommend we re-name scumbags as ''badgers''. It'll stop the EU form fillers from poking their noses in once its under 100 per year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

There's several options available to us:

- Bring back the Gas Chambers and Zyklon B.

- Introduction of the Guillotine.

- Mass concentration camps.

or my personal favourites:

- Death by Elephant

- Death by Boiling

- Massive Immurement Box

Any combination of the above for all known scumbags will eventually cleanse our society back to a pure form of Irishness not seen since 1916.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I'm sure nobody would turn to crime to make a living if they had their dole cut.

I accpe this could very well happen, but it happens anyways if they are on the dole or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

Sadly, this is nationwide.
    it's nothing new unfortunately.

the only thing to do is HOPE - hope that it doesnt land on your doorstep or enter you life negatively in any way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

better then, cos they'll be caught and put in prison.... oh wait... no they wont.

Chucken wrote: »
    OP? Could you not keep all your Limerick bashing to one thread?

I'm from Limerick....i love my city, this is a fresh thread with a full text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Education

But since this is AH

Kill them all. Make it hunting season.

^ clearly i have posted in the wrong forum....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

I think the extent of this is heavily exaggerated. The solution is to get them back to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Can you deal with it? Are you not always going to have an underclass? I don't know any countries that don't. Short of locking everyone up which hasn't worked in the US I don't know what you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

feckers don't want to learn,all they want to do all day is smoke cigarettes and listen to rock and roll music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I still think we should turn them into Soylent Green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

One might say we already have a solution; we make sure they are all contained in one place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I think the extent of this is heavily exaggerated. The solution is to get them back to work.

education and industry would create further opportunity and without a doubt would be the answer to the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭gerryg80

mass sterilization

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

OP said scumbags, not the poor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

And for the high, I believe, percentage of them who don't want to work?

We should move them all to one county, somewhere like ..... Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭GoldCobra

Put them all on an island........o wait.

A model plan would be the following:

- Get them back to education in some way - if they cause trouble with the teachers or students, fail, or refuse to do the course, their dole is reduced to €80 per week.

- If they refuse a job, ditto.

- If they get commit a criminal offence and get caught, their dole is reduced by €50 per offence.

- If anyone commits a criminal offence or refuses education/job, they're banished from the social housing scheme as well as the previously mentioned dole reduction.

- Ban child allowance.

These scumbags only get away with what they do because they can. Attacking their social welfare by forcing them to enter education or a job is the only way.

education and industry would create further opportunity and without a doubt would be the answer to the problem.

The thing is....many of these people DO NOT want to work, they dont....they can earn more on the dole then working, they know the ins and outs of the benefits system.

But even if they could earn more working, they wouldn't.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭BGozIE

feckers don't want to learn,all they want to do all day is smoke cigarettes and listen to rock and roll music

I hope this was a joke, cause it was quite funny :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

forced sterilization? would that work?

any nasa boffin reading this thread... point a high powered xray radiation beam in orbit at limerick to sterilize them all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

COYW wrote: »
    And for the high, I believe, percentage of them who don't want to work?
    Seez who?

I've not seen stats for Ireland but in the UK, where similar arguments about the 'work-shy' are common, it's been shown that most such assumptions are typically nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

The thing is....many of these people DO NOT want to work, they dont....they can earn more on the dole then working, they know the ins and outs of the benefits system.

But even if they could earn more working, they wouldn't.....

It shouldn't be about what they want. I don't want to get out of bed in the mornings but I have to. That's exactly why I think we should stop handing out so much in welfare payments - as you said they know it inside out. I'm especially irritated by the "long-term unemployed". If you find yourself unemployed you should be entitled to a livable dole which decreases as time goes on.

If living on the dole long-term was made into an awful way to live (ie: very low payments) then it wouldn't be a case of whether you want to work. You would work because you have to earn a living. And that's the way it should be. The world doesn't owe anyone a living and neither do the taxpayers.

If these "socially disadvantaged" people were put back to work I think we'd have a lot less of them hanging around our streets, drinking cans, harassing ordinary people. Re-introduce them to the ordinary lifestyle. I for one am sick of feeding, clothing and housing anti-social scumbags.

And the "forced into crime" thing is demonstrably false. When the country grew richer during the Celtic Tiger crime increased not decreased. There was far less crime back in the days when Ireland was poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It would be quite funny if you changed your user name to Ben Dower.

It shouldn't be about what they want. I don't want to get out of bed in the mornings but I have to. That's exactly why I think we should stop handing out so much in welfare payments - as you said they know it inside out. I'm especially irritated by the "long-term unemployed". If you find yourself unemployed you should be entitled to a livable dole which decreases as time goes on.

If living on the dole long-term was made into an awful way to live (ie: very low payments) then it wouldn't be a case of whether you want to work. You would work because you have to earn a living. And that's the way it should be. The world doesn't owe anyone a living and neither do the taxpayers.

If these "socially disadvantaged" people were put back to work I think we'd have a lot less of them hanging around our streets, drinking cans, harassing ordinary people. Re-introduce them to the ordinary lifestyle. I for one am sick of feeding, clothing and housing anti-social scumbags.

And the "forced into crime" thing is demonstrably false. When the country grew richer during the Celtic Tiger crime increased not decreased. There was far less crime back in the days when Ireland was poor.

i think you just disproved your own point

during the celtic tiger alot of those guys WERE working and yet still continued to be antisocial

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Reekwind wrote: »
    Seez who?

I've not seen stats for Ireland but in the UK, where similar arguments about the 'work-shy' are common, it's been shown that most such assumptions are typically nonsense

Its probably true for most but not all. I personally know of one couple who will do anything and everything not to work.

He has agreed to go back to college as a last resort but never goes into college before 12 in the afternoon. She has done done endless FAS courses yet never managed to get a job. They have 1 kid and planning a second one.

He spends his days on the sofa playing poker online and betting on football or horses on the laptop he was given for college and she getting her hair n nails done for cheap by the trainees in the FAS centre.

Its very frustrating for others who work and know them. They get 2 weeks at least every year in the sun and she is from the UK so they visit her family a few times a year also.

As much as I want to believe everyone wants a job and to better themselves, its difficult to really believe it when you meet a couple like that.

It doesn't work though, its been tried. Look at the US, no healthcare, very little dole, have they got a smaller problem with thier scumbags?

At least you wouldn't be rewarding them with gratuitous amounts of social welfare payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭elstingeo

This can be seen everywhere all across Ireland, in any county.. there will always be a segment of the social class that decide not to work and are born into generations of unemployment, drug use, social problems.. it would be difficult to weed out the problem and near next to impossible..

I can understand your anger OP I really can, but sometimes you just have to ignore these people and get on with your own life, just for your own sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

At the height of the boom here, unemployment was running at, what, 2 or 3%? So if you take out the genuine cases from that such as students on dole schemes or the genuinely sick, it would appear to indicate that when people have the chance to work for a meaningful living wage, the vast majority will do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

If living on the dole long-term was made into an awful way to live (ie: very low payments) then it wouldn't be a case of whether you want to work. You would work because you have to earn a living. And that's the way it should be. The world doesn't owe anyone a living and neither do the taxpayers
    Yes, because everyone who is on the dole now (including the long-term unemployed) is there because they don't want to work. Pure laziness is the only possible reason why this country has a 14% unemployment rate. It's just a matter of squeezing those work-shy freeloaders until they decide to walk into one of those abundant jobs that are currently going unfulfilled

God, I wish everyone in this country was like you. We'd disappear all our problems in no time
    ToxicPaddy wrote:
    Its probably true for most but not all. I personally know of one couple who will do anything and everything not to work
    I don't think that anyone's denying that there's a highly visible subset of the unemployed who don't want to work. But I've seen absolutely nothing other than anadote to suggest that these are any more than a tiny minority. Certainly my own experiences of unemployment, and those I know who are still unemployed, are nowhere near as fun as some people here are suggesting

At least you wouldn't be rewarding them with gratuitous amounts of social welfare payments.

No just punishing genuine people who have fallen on hard times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

make dole and other welfare payments contingent on education,training, and keeping crime-free, and intern the cnuts at the top of the scumbag food chain,thereby sending a message to their underlings that they will inevitably do time for their sins.
    of course,this being Ireland ,none of this will happen...

daithi

oh yes, and for repeat offenders who have been in and out of prison, make their prison conditions more and more miserable each time they go back inside-that might learn them, but probably not...

wrong

USA has free healthcare and dole -- obama brought that in and the tax paying yanks hate him for it

No just punishing genuine people who have fallen on hard times.

No one wants to punish genuine people. However, this thread was talking about how we treat scumbags and that's what the measures are directed toward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Give out free condoms in skanger areas to encourage them to stop breeding the next generation of welfare parasites who won't ever try and look for a job.

Apparently, Death by Nuts Squeezing has become an official torture method, so add that to my former list of capital punishments to be inflicted by repeat offenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Simple solution. Make anti social behaviour a more serious criminal offence, and get the gardai to prioritise dealing with complaints by citizens of bein harassed, vandalised etc.

Zero tolerance. You f*ck with people, you get arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Batman.

Give out free condoms in skanger areas to encourage them to stop breeding the next generation of welfare parasites who won't ever try and look for a job.

that wont work

they will use the condoms to carry drugs up their holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I know forced sterilisation could set a dangerous precedent but i think its the only reasonable option left

No one wants to punish genuine people. However, this thread was talking about how we treat scumbags and that's what the measures are directed toward.

Well how do you lower the payments rates and only aim that only at scumbags?

By taking their history and offers into consideration as mentioned in my earlier posts. A so-called 'genuine' person would not refuse work whereas a scumbag would, therefore target the scumbag with reductions. Obviously, there isn't a job for every scumbag in the country which is where continual education can help and likewise, a so-called 'genuine' person wouldn't refuse it. Pretty simple OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Papillon!

castration. ;) only way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭Gorilla Rising

Compulsory military service for repeat offenders. Would teach them a thing or two and maybe set them straight.

I'm not sure how practical a suggestion this is though...just thinking out loud.