Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bull attack story

• 22-04-2013 3:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Thought you might be interested in a new farm safety video campaign I'm working on.

I interviewed Cork farmer Liam O'Keeffe about the terrible bull attack he suffered on his farm.

There are also a number of other videos in the series.

Here's the YouTube vid. Let me know what you think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Excellent job well done... That man lucky to be alive to tell u his story......I've met plenty that couldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Tnx
    For reminding me again
    was getting careless again after Having a close 1 last year with feeding bulls in field
    I'm just starting to wake up now to how many close 1s I have had over the years
    Young son here now so my plan is not show him daddy is an ape or teach him any bad habits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

vid is just a second long and goes straight to the end or is it just happening to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

quadboy wrote: »
    vid is just a second long and goes straight to the end or is it just happening to me

I could view it fine.

It's a harrowing tale. The point about the near misses is well made. We tend sometimes to just brush them off, put them down to experience and do little to reduce the probability of them happening again.
    Our own bull has no ring at present, quiet an all as he is, it's a job on the to do list now after that reminder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Out rounding up mop up bulls and some culls for blooding this morning.

One bull charged and chased me no warning. Luckily I was on quad and got out of the paddock.

Had I been on foot I was toast and maybe had I not been on bike he may not have charged

Everyone be very careful!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

delaval wrote: »
    Out rounding up mop up bulls and some culls for blooding this morning.

One bull charged and chased me no warning. Luckily I was on quad and got out of the paddock.

Had I been on foot I was toast and maybe had I not been on bike he may not have charged

Everyone be very careful!!!!

what breed of bulls are they delaval? have a friesian here 2yr old and hes bould as fxxk, in shed at the minute trying to fatten him:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Lucky boy! What age is the bull?

Two and a half. Oldest of the group. All sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

are these freisan bulls particularly aggressive?

Fr bulls when no action going on very unpredictable as are all bulls.

The tiger head shark of all bulls is the Jersey small nimble and full of aggression. At the RDS Spring show it was a requirement that they have 2 handlers.

Small man syndrome.

I only posted as a reminder to us all to be alert

+1 on the jerseys. Viscious little Baxtards! Polar opposite of the cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

+1 on the jerseys. Viscious little Baxtards! Polar opposite of the cows

The friendlier a cow or bullock are the more dangerous the bull is. I agre about jerseys had one last year finishing outside he was a bad apple drove the rest mad. He was particulary mobile up to about 18 months they are grand ( I would still be careful with them) after than watch out. AA are dangerous as well especially in bunches I think they are just after the jerseys for being dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

my dad kept FR bulls to 2 years about 7-8 years ago, never again. there was about 10 of them in a group and they were contacnt rootign and tearing. For safety we would feed them in teh filed with a round feeder from the digger. One lad was very dodgy i had to give him a belt of the back actor one day to quiten him.

we have been very lucky in that the bulls we have had since we moved to sucklers have all been very quite (possibly the most dangerous of all bulls are the quite ones) 1 AA, 1 blonde and 3 limos later and never any trouble. That said you would notice them getting very agitated when they get seprated from the main herd even it only for a few mins.

of all the cattle on the farm the recently calved cow is IMO the most dangerous. I have had a couple of close escapes over the years. I have also been pinned to a wall by one and would have been in serious trouble if my dad wasnt around. One of ou most docile milking cows bent a cubcile over tryign to get at me in a shed once, i was injecting the calf and would always get teh calf to the oppsite side of a gate or cubcile from teh cow. had to get teh tractor and sling to straighten teh cubicle afterwards.

We had one during the week she is AAX and was very agitated after her calf went under the fence into the dry cows. in fact she was dangerous and nearly flattened the fence. eventually we managed to get the calf back out to her. Seriously thinking of off loading her with calf at foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Two neighbours were almost killed by two bulls a year apart. The kicker is the bulls were full brothers, same sire and dam one year after the next. One gave plenty of warning, had been causing trouble for a while attacked a teleporter at one point. The other never a seconds trouble until he went bats**t the night before he was to go to the factory. Made bits of the pickup when the guys son drove into paddock to get between him and the bull and to allow him climb aboard. First guy was save by his herdsman, the second go the bull had at him drove him against the yard gate and the herdsman was able to drag him under the gate.

Rings and chains are vital. Harder for them to get a run at you when they have to keep their head 4ft up in the air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

yellow50HX wrote: »
    my dad kept FR bulls to 2 years about 7-8 years ago, never again. there was about 10 of them in a group and they were contacnt rootign and tearing. For safety we would feed them in teh filed with a round feeder from the digger. One lad was very dodgy i had to give him a belt of the back actor one day to quiten him.

we have been very lucky in that the bulls we have had since we moved to sucklers have all been very quite (possibly the most dangerous of all bulls are the quite ones) 1 AA, 1 blonde and 3 limos later and never any trouble. That said you would notice them getting very agitated when they get seprated from the main herd even it only for a few mins.

of all the cattle on the farm the recently calved cow is IMO the most dangerous. I have had a couple of close escapes over the years. I have also been pinned to a wall by one and would have been in serious trouble if my dad wasnt around. One of ou most docile milking cows bent a cubcile over tryign to get at me in a shed once, i was injecting the calf and would always get teh calf to the oppsite side of a gate or cubcile from teh cow. had to get teh tractor and sling to straighten teh cubicle afterwards.

We had one during the week she is AAX and was very agitated after her calf went under the fence into the dry cows. in fact she was dangerous and nearly flattened the fence. eventually we managed to get the calf back out to her. Seriously thinking of off loading her with calf at foot.

I agree about the cows. Have never had a bull charge here but like you have had a couple of close shaves with fresh calved cows. Blood tested 5 of of them yesterday and will be glad to see the back of them. Dangerous articles to have around the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

factories must have a skip full with bullrings and chains, had a ch bull that got wicked a couple of years ago, i couldnt get into field with him, went down in tractor one evening and he started pucking the wheel, the fecker followed the tractor all the way back into the yard. got some fright from the carry on of him, locked him into yard and send him off to factory

That's the thing about an a.i. Straw - it can't pin you against the wall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Temple Grandin has always said that a bucket reared calf will be the most dangerous off all. Kinda ties in with everything said here about Friesians, Jersey etc. The calf reared under a cow doesnt see you as a threat.It knows you're not part of his kind. I know they can all be dangerous but dairy bulls are worst of all.

"To further reduce the danger, dairies that use bulls should consider raising bull calves on a nurse cow. Raising bull calves on a nurse cow will imprint them more strongly to their own kind and further reduce the tendency to attack."
    http://www.grandin.com/behaviour/principles/preventing.bull.accidents.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I always find the quiet bull more dangerous than the mad lad..simple reason you take no risks with the angry one but always are stupid around the quite one and love telling people who come into the yard what a grand fella he is..:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Some of the AI men can be fairly saucy though! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

Two neighbours were almost killed by two bulls a year apart. The kicker is the bulls were full brothers, same sire and dam one year after the next. One gave plenty of warning, had been causing trouble for a while attacked a teleporter at one point. The other never a seconds trouble until he went bats**t the night before he was to go to the factory. Made bits of the pickup when the guys son drove into paddock to get between him and the bull and to allow him climb aboard. First guy was save by his herdsman, the second go the bull had at him drove him against the yard gate and the herdsman was able to drag him under the gate.

Rings and chains are vital. Harder for them to get a run at you when they have to keep their head 4ft up in the air.

I have too bulls at present a friesian and hereford, 1st year in milk and bought the friesian and never ever witnessed a bull as aggresive as him, he is just pue mad bastxxd, was with the heifers til last week and you could not herd them unless you had jeep or tractor, when removed from heifers in the shed and now is been fattened but crazy motha f..ker. lord knows how he be loaded, and as putting a chain in his nose you cant get near him without him making a dive at you, MAD BULL = CHOP:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Friesans are loaded with testosterone that why they are so randy jerseys are the same wicked fukers aswell.

Give me a big auld harmless whitehead any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

mf240 wrote: »
    Friesans are loaded with testosterone that why they are so randy jerseys are the same wicked fukers aswell.

Give me a big auld harmless whitehead any day.
    i would be hopeful that all bulls are loaded with testosterone:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

:eek::confused::eek:

Don't pass on the danger! Cull her once she has the calf reared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭aidanki

pakalasa wrote: »
    Temple Grandin has always said that a bucket reared calf will be the most dangerous off all. Kinda ties in with everything said here about Friesians, Jersey etc. The calf reared under a cow doesnt see you as a threat.It knows you're not part of his kind. I know they can all be dangerous but dairy bulls are worst of all.

"To further reduce the danger, dairies that use bulls should consider raising bull calves on a nurse cow. Raising bull calves on a nurse cow will imprint them more strongly to their own kind and further reduce the tendency to attack."
    http://www.grandin.com/behaviour/principles/preventing.bull.accidents.html

the crossest bull we ever had was a suckler, my guess is he wasn't used enough to humans and was got afraid v easily and would subsequently attack. As a 9month old himself and another cow were in yard together, this lad turned and jumped the wall like a racehorse, 9block wall 4ft 6, he cleard it wihout touching it frount or back. Younger brother and myself were rounding up the cows one evening ~21yrs ago now, he was 7 I would have been 9 at the time and the fecker turned and chased brother. lucky he had a stick in his hand which he threw at him and that seemed to scare him away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭aidanki

saw a cow after calving attack the calf, no idea what brought that on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

aidanki wrote: »
    the crossest bull we ever had was a suckler, my guess is he wasn't used enough to humans and was got afraid v easily and would subsequently attack. As a 9month old himself and another cow were in yard together, this lad turned and jumped the wall like a racehorse, 9block wall 4ft 6, he cleard it wihout touching it frount or back. Younger brother and myself were rounding up the cows one evening ~21yrs ago now, he was 7 I would have been 9 at the time and the fecker turned and chased brother. lucky he had a stick in his hand which he threw at him and that seemed to scare him away.

I was always told you have no business going near cattle witout a stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

I agree with you about the calved cows especially after a hard birth or twins

I don't care for saler bulls more man than bad but still

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Manners cost nothing.......

.......cos you can cut the stick for free ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

There was a discussion on some of the dangers of young bulls / bull beef a while back

Thought this post had some good advice

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74657832&postcount=78

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭Odelay

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    :eek::confused::eek:

Don't pass on the danger! Cull her once she has the calf reared.

I took his post to mean that he would cull the cow and calf immediatley rather than wait for the calf to be reared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

you'd want a gun for some stock !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

For a start all Jerseys bulls should be squeezed.....miserable looking cattle:)...agree on pt that freshly calved cows very dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

The number of times when I was relief milking that you'd be asked to fetch the bull (from a small shed) , or split the bull out of the cows , and told he's quiet out....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭iliketomoveit

I'm told the grape is the only thing, and don't be afraid to use it.

Every morning when giving them nuts, when I'm hunting them out of the little enclosure I give them a good jag of the grape if one is hanging back or if one is looking at me.

They're starting to get bold now around this time of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I'm told the grape is the only thing, and don't be afraid to use it.

Every morning when giving them nuts, when I'm hunting them out of the little enclosure I give them a good jag of the grape if one is hanging back or if one is looking at me.

They're starting to get bold now around this time of the year.
    I'm not sure about that working out too well .

Its a bit like the old fella beside us that used to keep a few suck calves , just before they would get to the bottom of the bucket of milk he would start belting them with the wavin pipe . I asked him why and he said " Ill put the frighteners on them before they put the frighteners on me "

I know what I would do to someone that was giving me a clip every morning if their back was turned !

moy83 wrote: »
    I'm not sure about that working out too well .

Its a bit like the old fella beside us that used to keep a few suck calves , just before they would get to the bottom of the bucket of milk he would start belting them with the wavin pipe . I asked him why and he said " Ill put the frighteners on them before they put the frighteners on me "

I know what I would do to someone that was giving me a clip every morning if their back was turned !

I dunno, I only have two years experience doing it, but last year I used to bang the roof of a shed and hit the troughs to get them out, and I would use the grape occasionally, but it ended up in one lad hanging back and scarin the ****e out of me, the fella I'm feedin them for had to go in and get him out.

This year however, as soon as I enter the enclosure they all leave in a hurry from doing what I mentioned in the first post.

Don't get me wrong, I don't get all that aggressive and go for them, but I try and make sure they understand that being near me means a jag in the arse

i am sure if you where getting a jag in the arse you'd be afraid too, no need for it imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

I can't imagine a grape hurting a bull tbf.

if he's geeting a prong in his arse every day it cant be good for his meat surely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

Defiantly not. It's like with the Matadors, after a while you start rooting for the bull.

whelan1 wrote: »
    if he's geeting a prong in his arse every day it cant be good for his meat surely

I only have to use it fairly sparingly, once they get it once they don't come near you again. I'd say I haven't got any of them more than twice.

Its like an electric fence, they don't get a shock from that everyday do they? They learn pretty fast to stay away.

Wha? Of course it does, they're not made of steel

each to their own...

I only have to use it fairly sparingly, once they get it once they don't come near you again. I'd say I haven't got any of them more than twice.

Its like an electric fence, they don't get a shock from that everyday do they? They learn pretty fast to stay away.

Faulty logic. Cattle get a shock from the fence so know what happens when go near it. They very seldom get a rattle unless they knock against it.

The problem with daking them with the pike is they will begin to associate you with pain so will become more aggressive and nervous of you. If you don't want them to go for you don't stick them with a pike and don't go into the pen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

To be perfectly frank, I'm hard set to think of a better way of turning a bull wicked, and with a particular grievance in his heart towards me personally, than to be routinely poking him with a fork. :(

Rovi wrote: »
    To be perfectly frank, I'm hard set to think of a better way of turning a bull wicked, and with a particular grievance in his heart towards me personally, than to be routinely poking him with a fork. :(

Exactly, it like listening to lads cribbing about have mad cattle and blaming in the breed when they are trying to move them "them limo's are feckin crazy, like!". Then you see them roaring and screeching and belting the ground with a stick and slapping them on arse at every opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

Exactly, it like listening to lads cribbing about have mad cattle and blaming in the breed when they are trying to move them "them limo's are feckin crazy, like!". Then you see them roaring and screeching and belting the ground with a stick and slapping them on arse at every opportunity.

that's why theres good stockmen and bad ''animal owners'' I suppose,
    I never even have a stick with me at all when moving stock, only maybe when im loading a trailer, but if you have any cop on you should be able make the animal go where you want without breakin sticks on their arse's or stickin them with the fork you'll only madden them

that's why theres good stockmen and bad ''animal owners'' I suppose,
    I never even have a stick with me at all when moving stock, only maybe when im loading a trailer, but if you have any cop on you should be able make the animal go where you want without breakin sticks on their arse's or stickin them with the fork you'll only madden them

Yeah, I always bring a stick with me when herding though, very useful for holding down the electric fence when getting over it. If use he stick to stop them by holding it in front of them. key to moving cattle is slow careful controlled moving he last thing you need is a load of raised tails and galloping. If I need to use it I give a clip on the ear which will move their head or on the nose. If you hit hem on the head they just close thief eyes and walk through you.