Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 3: Episode 4 * Have READ the books/SPOILERS

• 21-04-2013 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭

Episode 4, And Now His Watch Is Ended, airs tonight.

From the preview it looks like a number of epic events will be taking place. The mutiny at Craster's Keep, the Hound's trial by combat with Dondarrion and Dany "buying" the Unsullied.

The episode title is then a reference to Lord Commander Mormont's fate.

Significantly Sam tells Grenn, "We have to go, now!", as Grenn was with Tarley when he slayed the Other.

Also looks like more mind games for Theon, Lady Olenn and Cersei lock horns, Arya meets the Lightening Lord, Brienne fights back and Tyrion & Varys look into a hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

It's gonna be a gud un.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Have to say I'm finding the changes from the book more palatable this time around. SOme things coming up more quickly or earlier than expected.

**** the gym in the morning, I'll be watching this before work :) . What the **** is Jamie doing in Oblivion?

Looking forward to the duel with Sandor, and Dany "buying" the dragons. The non readers will have a lot to take in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭rcazzy

Pretty good episode. I was a bit sad to not get Jeor Mormont's last words to Sam about wanting Jorah to come home and take the black, but the scene was quite hectic. The ending with Dany and 'Dracarys' was really well done! All the while, Beric Dondarrion cements himself as the Robin Hood hero he is! :D

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,526 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

**** the gym in the morning, I'll be watching this before work :) . What the **** is Jamie doing in Oblivion?

Looking forward to the duel with Sandor, and Dany "buying" the dragons. The non readers will have a lot to take in :)

tsk tsk that will be 2 weeks in a row you'll be ditching the gym no? :pac:

Mickeroo wrote: »
    tsk tsk that will be 2 weeks in a row you'll be ditching the gym no? :pac:

No I went last week :p , it was week 2 I also succumbed.

Very good episode, the end with the unsullied was the best part of the show since Blackwater in my opinion. Really well done and I loved the part when she started speaking Valyrian.

I thought I'd see Sandor's duel this week :( , will be next week how annoying! The scenes with Sandor are excellent, he doesn't give a **** about anyone. That was done quite well in comparison to the books too how Ayra outs him as a murderer.

Theon begins his descent into Reek, we probably won't see him for a while now I reckon but who knows what the show will do.

Was a little disappointed with the scene at Craster's , seemed a bit rushed for me and Mormount's last words could have been crammed in surely?

If they didn't do the scene well at the end it would have been a poor episode but that wasn't the case! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Shazbot

Great episode this week. It took a while to get going though. Tywin putting Cersei in her place was excellent. Oleena was on top form again, her scene with Varys was great.

I thought we were going to see Beric fight the Hound this week but it looks like it'll be next week. Beric looks great too. The missing eye, and the marks around his neck from the hangings are a nice touch. I wonder will the reveal how he got them to the non-book readers.

The final scene was amazing, it was sullied (I'm sorry) by the fact that everyone saw it coming. I was genuinely shocked and excited by that chapter. When she offered her dragon rather than Kraznys demand one really ruined it.

The scene with Theon and Ramsey was great, Theon admitting he ****ed up and then seeing the torture chamber. It should be a nice shock to non-readers.

I've got a bad feeling we're not going to see Sam the Slayer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well he ran into the forest with crasters daughter and her baby boy, the others do come for the boys so there's still a good chance sam will have his moment

Excellent episode.. Good to see the season coming together since I was so skeptical before. As good as the production usually is, I didn't think they could pull the Unsullied scene off so well.

I've always liked Clegane and at the moment, I think he's the best character even with such limited screen time. Robb, Theon, Joffrey, Jorah etc. all pale in comparison to his screen presence and they all seem so weak. There isn't a line wasted on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Been waiting a season and a half for a good episode and finally got one again. Helped by the fact that the characters the TV show has most butchered (Jon, Robb, Catelyn) all had real presence in it.

Mormont's death could have been done better, but that's the only minor thing that was wrong with it imo. Introduction of Beric was great, scenes with Varys and Olenna, Sansa and Margaery (although I wish Margaery had mentioned Willas, but I assume that's to come) and the final scene with Daenarys, the Unsullied and Dracarys. Loved the look between Jorah and Selmy when the Unsullied respond to will ye fight for me as free men.

Hopefully they can keep going like that, but I reckon back to the same crap when they bring back the stuff with Jon, Robb and Catelyn (although thankfully won't have much longer with them)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

titan18 wrote: »
    (although thankfully won't have much longer with them)

i think that the bookless think they can tell whats up after Danni's reveal was handed to them

can't wait

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Sansa and Margaery (although I wish Margaery had mentioned Willas, but I assume that's to come)

Didn't she mention a marriage to Loras? Has he joined the Kingsguard yet in the show? Seeing as the marriage isn't going to happen anyway the may just leave it as Loras to avoid confusing the non book readers more.

Doesn't make sense though. I can see that happening, but considering Willas or Garlan haven't been mentioned, and whilst Loras hasn't joined the Kingsguard of Joffrey, he was in Renly's. Now, if Loras is the only son in the show, there's no way Mace Tyrell or Olenna would allow the only heir to Highgarden give that up for him being part of someone's Kingsguard.

It could be them making a change that doesn't make sense at all, they've done that enough already, but again wouldn't be a good change. Considering all they need to do is a few lines explaining who he is, and possibly a small shot next to Mace Tyrell (who has to be in it) at Margaery's wedding showing the person exists, it's not a stretch to do considering the plot doesn't really develop.

I'm hoping it was her just saying Loras, and then Olenna will bring up Willas in a later episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JR79

I didn't think they could pull the Unsullied scene off so well.

Thought they did a fantastic job on the unsullied scene, probably better than I had imagined while reading the book!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

randymarshjizznqfdt.jpg

Also, goosebumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

Doesn't make sense though. I can see that happening, but considering Willas or Garlan haven't been mentioned, and whilst Loras hasn't joined the Kingsguard of Joffrey, he was in Renly's. Now, if Loras is the only son in the show, there's no way Mace Tyrell or Olenna would allow the only heir to Highgarden give that up for him being part of someone's Kingsguard.

It could be them making a change that doesn't make sense at all, they've done that enough already, but again wouldn't be a good change. Considering all they need to do is a few lines explaining who he is, and possibly a small shot next to Mace Tyrell (who has to be in it) at Margaery's wedding showing the person exists, it's not a stretch to do considering the plot doesn't really develop.

I'm hoping it was her just saying Loras, and then Olenna will bring up Willas in a later episode.

yeah, in the book sansa is the one who thinks the proposed match is loras, she becomes embarrassed later on when she realizes they meant the crippled son, although by all accounts he's a decent fella, well read and a respected ruler, olena seems to come across a bit side when she realizes sans thought they meant loras

that's a serious change to the story, also there's no 'jonqyl' yet, so what's going on there

where would this leave the alayne story, little finger wouldn't be such a savior if high garden was a viable option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Amazing. I am amused at the gossip of Podricks sexual prowess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Yeah the whole changing Sansa possible wedding to be with Loras kind of threw me a bit but I guess it was just a case of not wanting to add another name without a face for non-book readers to try and get familiar with.

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    yeah, in the book sansa is the one who thinks the proposed match is loras, she becomes embarrassed later on when she realizes they meant the crippled son, although by all accounts he's a decent fella, well read and a respected ruler, olena seems to come across a bit side when she realizes sans thought they meant loras

that's a serious change to the story, also there's no 'jonqyl' yet, so what's going on there

where would this leave the alayne story, little finger wouldn't be such a savior if high garden was a viable option

Don't think it makes a difference long term, unless they do something really drastic. If they don't bring in Willas, or at least Garlan to show there's another Tyrell son, I assume Tywin or Cersei find out about and have Joffrey bring Loras into the Kingsguard, and marry Sansa to Tyrion, at which point Littlefinger becomes the saviour again. As for Dontos, he was introduced last season, but doubt they're continuing with that since they've had Littlefinger openly announce his intentions to bring Sansa away.

For me, it just doesn't make sense cos if Loras is the only Tyrell son and only male heir to Highgarden, then he wouldn't be allowed enter the Kingsguard, but from the books, as the 3rd and youngest son, that is a path he can willingly take. So, the overall plot, fails at that point, and Tyrells would probably be able to push for a Loras and Sansa marriage if he was the only son.

It might look like a minor thing to change, but it has pretty big plot ramifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Frisbee wrote: »
    Yeah the whole changing Sansa possible wedding to be with Loras kind of threw me a bit but I guess it was just a case of not wanting to add another name without a face for non-book readers to try and get familiar with.

Exactly! It's all well and good to extend family lines and add layers when you have a 1000 page book and nice fat appendix to refer to at the same time.

The writers are aiming at 10 x 55 mins episodes, they don't have that luxury and are also aware that most of the non-readers won't be able to follow and become frustrated. I'm not even sure how many of the know who Rickard Karstark is if you asked them.

This episode was pure character growth. Jaime might as well as being nuetered with a Brienne taking up the mantle to be his guardian now rather than captor. I did also think that the Old Bear demise was a bit rushed. We also got a lot of Varys this episode, possible the only man in Westoros who knows what Littlefinger is capable of. Had a really bad feeling when Margery was leading Sansa to the cliffs talking about her poor cousin, i think the show is doing a great job of making her so dangerously mischievious.

Danys scene was absolute fúcking amazeballs. Danys who was so powerful, so sure, so confident, a real leader! a big contrast to Joff, Robb and Stannis. Fantastic towering shots of the unsullied and the 3 dragons in the air.

By far the most interesting line in the episode was when Theon has his moment of confession "my real father lost his head in King's Landing", real brought home the wrong decision he has made since leaving Robb, he is no more Ironborn than Sansa.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Theon's storyline doesn't make sense in the TV show so far, done much better in the books. I bet most non book readers don't even know who has him captive.

Surely Sansa and Tyrion's wedding is in the next episode? The ship is due to leave soon.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I think that's the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭KJY

Can't see any major faults in that episode, everything was spot on. Craster's Keep and Dracarys were amazing, Queen of Thornes, Varys and Tywin all fantastic also. The Hound and Beric really set the tone for the next episode, absolutely can't wait

Also, through the discomforting medium that is Thronecast, the preview indicates the beheading of Karstark is next week. A scene I've been looking forward to as much as any other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Tigger wrote: »
    i think that the bookless think they can tell whats up after Danni's reveal was handed to them

can't wait

Lol, 'bookless'. Love it!

That Astapor scene was everything I wanted, the 'Dany speaks Valyrian' reveal done perfectly too.

'A dragon is not a slave.' that line has always given me goosebumps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭beardedmaster

They coulda thrown in the Old Bear's last words to say that he forgives Jorah and wants him to take the black...
    Poor old Jeor... he had a pretty awful death. I had thought he was going to choke Rast to death, but he didn't even get that.

But still... what an episode! Dany's scene was without fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I didn't think the episode was great as a whole but I put that down to not seeing The Hound and Beric tango.

The Dany/Unsullied/Dracarys scene was exceptional. Just the way it was shot and Danys' delivery in Valyrian was brilliant. However as epic as it was it's all downhill from here for the Khaleesi until we see the dragons again in Mereen's pits. Sorry for being a downer :pac: Although I still expect a certain scene involving Dany and her need to be comforted at night sooner rather than later ;)

Everytime i see Joffrey (Jack Gleeson) I can't help but smile, he's actually becoming my favourite character of the TV series. He's just played so brilliantly.

The added scene with Varys and Olenna was nicely done and you could see that the Queen of Thorns had a nice off screen chat with Margaery before her little chat with Sansa. Although being so open about Littlefinger's aspirations and plots are something I certainly preferred not seeing in the book. Ser Dontos must have had even more to drink than usual :rolleyes:

The Shenanigans at Craster's Keep were very poorly done for the book readers I thought, it would be fine for just viewers but knowing what was to come it just seemed very messy and surely the Lord Commander deserved a better send off.

I'm enjoying the Theon story but it should really take a back seat for a while now, even until the last episode. It's safe to say that "Boy" is Ramsay now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

My head nearly exploded when Dany said dracarys. It was one of the greatest things that has ever happened.

I had to restrain myself - I was very close to just jumping up and down and whooping.

After her being such an annoying ****e last season they've seriously made amends with Dany this time around.

I'm not as fearful about the continuation of her plotline.
    The poor editing and pacing in the last two books and dragging her out could be easily rejigged for the show, especially given that the chronology is going to make more sense.

I liked virtually everything.

The scene with Tywin + Cercei was class. I just loved how utterly dismissive he was. She really is an irredeemable dope.

Spacing the trial by combat to next week makes sense. It's called "Kissed by Fire" so I'm guessing it's where himself and Ygritte go ridin. Might be a bit sparser in awesome as a result. Not sure they've done quite enough to build the chemistry between them.

Although in the books he did it because if he didn't Mance wasn't going to believe his reasoning for leaving the wildlings. So they might do something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Gbear wrote: »
    Spacing the trial by combat to next week makes sense. It's called "Kissed by Fire" so I'm guessing it's where himself and Ygritte go ridin. Might be a bit sparser in awesome as a result. Not sure they've done quite enough to build the chemistry between them.

I think that's also a nod to the fight between the Lightning Lord and Sandor though, where he gets burned at some point.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,526 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

One hell of an episode I have to say. The stuff with Dany was brilliant and probably the most rousing scene of the series so far. Emilia Clarke was so powerful in that scene. Boy are the non-book readers going to be miffed when she doesn't march straight to Westeros :D

The great thing about the show though is it will give them license to make her story more interesting and less dragged out than the book, they're already at her half way point for ASOS iirc. It's like the best bits edition of the book.

Sad to see Mormont get done in, I really liked his performance this season. It was pretty bad ass when he started to choke Rast, the should have let him kill him before he croaked tbh since he didn't get to tell Sam about Jorah.

I was surprised when Theon referred to Ned as his real father, it was a powerful moment for his character (and one he never reached in the book), I much prefer him in the show I have to say, he's much more sympathetic. I love how the show can throw up surprises like that even though I generally know whats coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Does anybody know, does this series go up to the wedding at the Twins?

Anyone wrote: »

I presume so, the 9th episode is called the Rains of Castamere. That is what is played during the RW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

My only grievance with that episode was Mormont's death. I think they really should have had his last words to Sam :(

Otherwise it was amazing, one of my favourite episodes ever I think. The scenes in Astapor were goosebump material. I was neary punching the air!

Was happy that both The Hound and Varys had some screen time, two of my favourite characters.

I really liked Theon's speech about Ned being his real father, it was very moving and sad. I wonder when they're going to reveal Ramsay Snow. My bf said last night "It's a pity they left the Bastard of Bolton out", I had to bite my lip!

Can't wait for the fight between The Hound and Beric next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭jones

Yeah loved the speech Theon made about Ned being his real father and how he made the wrong choice. As someone who's just starting a Feast for Crows its a surprise seeing stuff that wasnt in the book in the show but i think its the right choice i dont how else they could of done it.

All in all the season is building very nicely...i hope we get to see the RW this season there will be some shocked tv viewers then ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭Daith

Quality episode. The stuff with Dany translated so well from the book. Great ending but her story really goes downhill from now on. I wonder if GRRM was like "yeah that was ok but can't wait till she starts ****ting herself".

Margaery is great in this. I love how you can see the complete difference between North and South politics. Watching Margaery tell Sansa about her cousin and her porridge fever or whatever and Sansa believing it was great.

I'm going to love Ramsey in this. The nutjob.

jones wrote: »
    Yeah loved the speech Theon made about Ned being his real father and how he made the wrong choice. As someone who's just starting a Feast for Crows its a surprise seeing stuff that wasnt in the book in the show but i think its the right choice i dont how else they could of done it.

All in all the season is building very nicely...i hope we get to see the RW this season there will be some shocked tv viewers then ;-)

Going by the episode titles, the RW will be this season. I can't wait to read the "Have not read the book" thread when that episode airs, and the one with Joffrey's wedding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 I Am Fuzzy Dunlop

Great episode, every scene was good. Dany was especially awesome, the last scene with her new army marching in formation with the dragons overhead really makes you want her to forget about Yunkai and Meereen and just go straight to Westeros! The only slight gripe I have with it is how understated the prowess of the Unsullied has been in the show, no stories about how few unsullied held a horde of thousands of Dothraki at bay, etc... I suppose this is down to time constraints, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Jorah Mormont, well the guy playing him, is a great actor - he had no lines in that episode iirc, but his facial expressions throughout were brilliant. From when he realised Dany could speak Valyrian, to when the Unsullied started banging their spears and the look on his face then. What an actor he is.

Meanwhile his father is dying, such a good juxtaposition of characters there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Does anybody think TV’s Sam acted out of character in this episode?. At this point in the books he’d sent the ravens, Killed a white walker and dragged his ass to Caster’s keep. All the while growing in confidence.

In this episode when it all kicked off at Casters keep he jumped up grabbed a sword and escaped with the baby and it’s mother, all of which is a very book Sam thing to do. TV Sam would have cowered in the corner.

I don’t like what they’ve done with him so far, his story is very meh. Not so in the books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Anyone wrote: »

I saw this and thought I was still on the HAVE NOT read the books thread and nearly banned you :D

Not a good start to the day for me, more coffee needed me thinks

calex71 wrote: »
    I saw this and thought I was still on the HAVE NOT read the books thread and nearly banned you :D

Not a good start to the day for me, more coffee needed me thinks

I checked a few times before,during and after posting to make sure it was the right thread!

For me the R.W. was as big as shock as Ned being beheaded in the first book!!! i had to re-read the page to make sure i was reading it right haha

Actually on that note was i the only one who was disappointed that we didnt get to see Rob's story continue? i thought he was destined to do great things and the way it ended was very quick for such a major character. Very well written though the whole shock element was great

jones wrote: »
    For me the R.W. was as big as shock as Ned being beheaded in the first book!!! i had to re-read the page to make sure i was reading it right haha

4 times I read it. I still remember saying "what the f***ing f**k". Nothing so far(reading A Dance with Dragons atm). Has had that affect on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

The RW was shocking, had to stop and go read the page again, as I was unsure what the hell was happening. The Band and the Chainmail under the clothes, I was thinking, what the feck is this?

Then I had to read the next chapter even though it was late, and that was an Arya chapter, that ended with being hit by an axe. At that point, I flung my kindle (safely in a pile of clothes), and went to bed, disgusted.

I was more shocked by Joffrey's wedding than the RW. I really really did not see him being killed off. The entire time he was choking, I didn't think at all that he was going to die. For me, Joffrey was a much bigger loss than Robb. He was a far more interesting character.

The red wedding is the biggest event in the entire series so far. I remember flying through the book the first time but when I finished that chapter i put the book down for a few hours just to think about the implications of it.

Nothing in the rest of ASOS, AFFC or ADWD has had the same impact.

I was more shocked by Joffrey's wedding than the RW. I really really did not see him being killed off. The entire time he was choking, I didn't think at all that he was going to die. For me, Joffrey was a much bigger loss than Robb. He was a far more interesting character.

It's not the loss Rob that makes it bad. It was the way the Starks were betrayed by the Boltons, the Norths rebellion was crushed and Tywin won. Also, the humiliation of Rob and Grey Wind and Cat. It was a massive shock and caught everyone of guard.

Especially seeing as the Starks were our entry into the world of westeros. It like the books started almost being about the Starks but one by one they are being eliminated so its a bit jarring. Thank god for Arya, Bran and John Snow haha

edit and Rickon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Shazbot wrote: »
    The red wedding is the biggest event in the entire series so far. I remember flying through the book the first time but when I finished that chapter i put the book down for a few hours just to think about the implications of it.

Nothing in the rest of ASOS, AFFC or ADWD has had the same impact.

Definitely. I was in work when I read the RW chapter and ended up taking a half day because of it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Mr Freeze wrote: »
    The RW was shocking, had to stop and go read the page again, as I was unsure what the hell was happening. The Band and the Chainmail under the clothes, I was thinking, what the feck is this?

Then I had to read the next chapter even though it was late, and that was an Arya chapter, that ended with being hit by an axe. At that point, I flung my kindle (safely in a pile of clothes), and went to bed, disgusted.

After those two chapters I dont think I concentrated on anything until the story came back round and I found out Arya was ok.

Im dying for the Brienne/Bear scene - should be great!