Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mauro Bergamaso's tackle on Brian O'Driscoll (without the ball)

• 21-04-2013 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭budhabob

mystic86 wrote: »

Jesus, Missed the match. Was there any cards shown during the game for it?

Sure he didn't mean it, he thought O'Driscoll would disappear and be fine, there was no malice in it. Obviously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭opinionatedfan

budhabob wrote: »
    Jesus, Missed the match. Was there any cards shown during the game for it?

no card for that

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Its not a spear tackle in my view, though its a definite card considering BOD didn't have the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Don't think the tackle was too bad, fact it was off the ball made it a lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Doesn't seem worthy of a thread to me. More of an awkard tackle than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Rightwing wrote: »
    Doesn't seem worthy of a thread to me. More of an awkard tackle than anything else.

Completely off the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Completely off the ball.

Stupid and unnecessary, and I don't blame BOD for being angry, but it isn't really a spear tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

meh the only real thing about this is that it was off the ball.

can't see the video here but viewing at the time I didn't think he went past parrell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Not a spear at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

It's great that the Pro12 isn't shying from these events and are putting them up on youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

Say BOD was literally having nightmares about NZ 05 when he got lifted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Looking at it there it's no spear but I just don't understand how neither the ref or TJ picked it up, fairly blatant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

have removed spear from thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

Did he get away with it because he's a legend and there was no intent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

That would be a yellow if O'Driscoll had the ball...he doesn't control the fall and actually drives BOD into the ground. The fact that BOD didn't go down head or shoulder first is a lot more to do with luck than any tackle technique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Had Drico had the ball it would have been on the line between a great tackle and a dangerous one, but it could not have been anymore off the ball. Yellow for me.

You know that all Drico could think about was "that" spear when he was in the air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Meh. BOD landed on his back. The issue imo is that it was off the ball and as such should have had a penalty and probably a yellow. Not worth a citing. Can understand why BOD was so annoyed though, you're kind of defenceless when not expecting to be tackled.

If a Leinster player put in that hit (on a guy with the ball obviously) I'd be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

[Jackass] wrote: »
    That would be a yellow if O'Driscoll had the ball...he doesn't control the fall and actually drives BOD into the ground. The fact that BOD didn't go down head or shoulder first is a lot more to do with luck than any tackle technique.

It would be a perfectly legal and great tackle if BOD had the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Can understand BOD's annoyance but it is possible that Bergamasco is already fairly committed to the tackle watching BOD's line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Tackle was fine, but was off the ball and defo deserved a yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Yellow if on the ball, red as it's off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭the baby bull elephant

It will be cited simply because of the clamp down on tip tackles. It's not particulary bad except for it being off the ball but more innocent tackles/clearouts have been cited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Anynama141

lologram wrote: »
    i_see_what_you_did_there_super.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭trouttrout

lologram wrote: »

ffs, is this incident going to come up everytime there's a discussion about illegal play. Tiresome already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Tackle is absolutely fine. Don't see why it would be a card unless it was deemed it was a professional foul, I think it was just a coming together that Bergamasco made the most of. Don't think he was trying to prevent a scoring opportunity and it wasn't dangerous. Far safer than an uncontrolled collision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

trouttrout wrote: »
    ffs, is this incident going to come up everytime there's a discussion about illegal play. Tiresome already

I'm going to go right ahead and acknowledge the existence of that incident when another incident of foul play crops up one week later, yeah. I'm sorry if you think the, for want of a better phrase, "statute of limitations" for mentioning it is 7 days or shorter.

Also, it was tongue in cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Tip tackle, no.
    Spear tackle, yes.

He didn't put him through the horizontal, but he did drive him into the ground. Yellow if BOD has the ball, red as it's off the ball.
    trouttrout wrote: »
    ffs, is this incident going to come up everytime there's a discussion about illegal play.

Probably. It's about the most blatant example of cronyism/incompetence that we'll ever see in the disciplinary system.

I also believe it's "ligind" and not "legend". Thomond will have to confirm, as he may have trademarked "ligind" for descriptions of the Bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

No way at all a dangerous tackle. At no point do the hips go above the shoulders. There's nothing wrong with driving a player into the ground if it's done in a controlled manner and not at a dangerous angle. It should have been a penalty for taking a man out off the ball but nothing more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭neilmulvey

yellow card minimum. Off the ball and dangerous and IMO BOD was driven to the ground.

Buer wrote: »
    No way at all a dangerous tackle. At no point do the hips go above the shoulders. There's nothing wrong with driving a player into the ground if it's done in a controlled manner and not at a dangerous angle. It should have been a penalty for taking a man out off the ball but nothing more.
    Um...but those rules apply to tackles, right? And by definition, you need to have the ball to be tackled.

Spot on. Dunno where some people are getting that. Nothing wrong with an aggressive tackle so long as it's safe.

Anynama141 wrote: »
    Um...but those rules apply to tackles, right? And by definition, you need to have the ball to be tackled.

Yes, so its a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭Shelflife

There's a lot of off the ball tackles in rugby at the moment. It's almost acceptable to claim that I thought he was going to get the ball ref as if that excuses it.
    It means that supporting players are being taken out of the game and players are commiting to tackles secure in the knowledge that they can get away with a free hit.
    If there was a few YC dished out for this practise it would sort it out soon enough.

Bizarrely if you gently tug a supporting players shirt you are guaranteed a YC , but floor him with a bone crunching tackle because you're committed and its grand .

Anynama141 wrote: »

Yes, so it's taking a man out off the ball as I said. Nothing more.

Shelflife wrote: »
    There's a lot of off the ball tackles in rugby at the moment. It's almost acceptable to claim that I thought he was going to get the ball ref as if that excuses it.
    It means that supporting players are being taken out of the game and players are commiting to tackles secure in the knowledge that they can get away with a free hit.
    If there was a few YC dished out for this practise it would sort it out soon enough.

Bizarrely if you gently tug a supporting players shirt you are guaranteed a YC , but floor him with a bone crunching tackle because you're committed and its grand .

You realise why this is right? Why, in terms of gamesmanship, pulling back a player from behind is completely different to what Bergamasco did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Spot on. Dunno where some people are getting that. Nothing wrong with an aggressive tackle so long as it's safe.

+1, I think because its O'Driscoll, if it was on somebody like Dan Parks from Connacht would it have deserved its own thread?

Yes, so it's taking a man out off the ball as I said. Nothing more.
    But does 'taking a man out off the ball' run the gamut from slightly checking his run to picking him up and smashing him into the ground, and perhaps carry on as far as outright decapitation?

(too lazy to look up the relevant laws...:o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Honestly I bet he hadn't a clue whether BOD had the ball or not. Defences are trained to hit whoever comes into their space. All things considering could of been worse if he had of figured out BOD didnt have the ball half way through a just dropped him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,620 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Tbh lads, it would have been worse if Mauro had tried to back out and hit him without wrapping (cough Downey cough).

It did look bad, I'd say if the ref saw it real time he'd be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Should have been a penalty for a tackle off the ball, nothing more, move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Maybe I'm wrong, but isn't the onus on/don't the laws of the require the tackling player to return the tackled player safely to the ground when the tackled player has been lifted into the air?

This one for me is (as I posted earlier) a yellow if he had the ball but red as he (MB) did not return the tackled player safely to the ground. That the tackled player wasn't seriously injured here is more luck than anything else.

And I'd say the same were it Drico had done this to Bergamasco.

This one for me is (as I posted earlier) a yellow if he had the ball but red as he (MB) did not return the tackled player safely to the ground. That the tackled player wasn't seriously injured here is more luck than anything else.

He grounded him perfectly. Text book. Never lifted him beyond horizontal (hips above shoulders) and kept a hold of him throughout. He wasn't injured because MB showed perfect technique and brought him to ground.

Maybe I'm wrong, but isn't the onus on/don't the laws of the require the tackling player to return the tackled player safely to the ground when the tackled player has been lifted into the air?

And I'd say the same were it Drico had done this to Bergamasco.

Nonsense really. There was nothing dangerous in what Berga did. Hence it's not illegal (not including being off the ball).

People who don't or haven't played the game need to realise that a dump tackle is not something that the tackler creates on their own. It can be just the natural result of a direct collision into a player with good technique, the tackled player naturally comes up into the air because there's no other direction for them to go. That's why they're allowed.

At that point you ABSOLUTELY drive them back down into the ground. Why? Because its the only safe way to complete the tackle. The tackled player tips naturally and you have to drive his hips down to ensure that his shoulders or neck don't come down first. Especially in a situation where you've just been fooled by a dummy and are likely to have been caught a little off guard by the situation.

The way Bergamasco completed the tackle was definitely safe and it was by the book. Nothing in the tackle itself was illegal. I can understand why some people might think it looked malicious, but its just a textbook dump tackle, which is legal.

EDIT: Actually I think the term dump tackle is no longer used because it implies releasing the player in the air, which is a red card offense. Not sure what its supposed to be called these days, Ive always called it that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Called a tip tackle these days.

Freezing it at 0:16, BOD's hips are above his midriff. BOD lands on his shoulders, and at that he was fighting to right himself. Definite tip tackle.

tolosenc wrote: »
    Called a tip tackle these days.

Freezing it at 0:16, BOD's hips are above his midriff. BOD lands on his shoulders, and at that he was fighting to right himself. Definite tip tackle.

No a tip tackle is the term for an illegal tackle past the horizontal. That wasn't a tip tackle.

You realise why this is right? Why, in terms of gamesmanship, pulling back a player from behind is completely different to what Bergamasco did?

Its still tackling a player without the ball and should be penalised.

Shelflife wrote: »
    Its still tackling a player without the ball and should be penalised.

What should Bergamasco have done in your opinion? Just allow BOD to run straight into him?

If he did do you think BOD should have been penalised?

What should Bergamasco have done in your opinion? Just allow BOD to run straight into him?

If he did do you think BOD should have been penalised?

In the clip BOD is slowing down after holding Bergamasco with his run, so he should have pulled out of the tackle. In the same way the decoy runner should curtail his run so that there is no contact that causes interference.

I understand where your coming from re the sly pull back and the committed tackler, but essentially its the same thing -tackling a player without the ball.

If the tackler had to wait until he was sure that the player had the ball then it would delay his tackle slightly and would give the ball carrier a better chance to break the tackle. we shouldnt reward/encourage foul play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Tomtom364 wrote: »
    It would be a perfectly legal and great tackle if BOD had the ball.

Nope.

ON THE BALL, it is a red card if: (as a definition of a spear tackle)

Player comes to a complete stop in tackle from forward motion
    tackler grabs the opponent low (waste or lower)
    lifts them both feet off the ground
    twists them in the air (i.e moves them from a vertical upright position)
    drives or drops them so that they land on their back, head or neck.

All of these were present in the off the ball tackle. If anything, I was being lenient by saying it would be a yellow card offence if BOD had the ball. May be straight red either way.

(taken from rugby refs - site for rugby refereeing referencing - and the IRB memo giving the description as above http://www.rugbyrefs.com/wiki/index.php/Tip_Tackles & http://www.rugbyrefs.com/wiki/index.php/2011_Memo_on_Dangerous_Tackles)