Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2000 Guineas

• 19-04-2013 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭

If there's a thread for the 2000 already that i couldnt find maybe a Mod can merge.

All 2000 Guineas chat goes here.

Current market leaders:
    Dawn Approach @ 11/10
    Toronado @ 4/1
    Mars @ 6/1
    Cristoforo Columbo @ 7/1
    Moohaajim @ 16/1
    Olympic Glory @ 16/1 (going fo the French 2000)
    Van Der Neer @ 16/1
    George Vancouver @ 16/1
    20/1 bar.

Really hard to look past Dawn Approach here, but at 11/10 he aint my kinda bet. I'd be worried at the prospect of good to firm ground for him.

Toronado won well yesterday but beat tree's ;)

O'Brien's 2 are the ones that i'll probably back. Mars was the big hype horse last year from the stable but only had the one run. Must have had some setback but all the talk was that he was their best 2 year old. CC has some decent form in the book but has to turn the form around with DA but O'Brien's horses always improve throghout the year so it'll be interesting to see who Joseph picks. That's where my money will go.
    Moohaajim wont stay and Olympic Glory is being aimed at the French 2000.
    The rest have zero chance on 2 yr old form...
    ....But who has improved most over the winter.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,557 ✭✭✭droidman123

Slattsy wrote: »
    If there's a thread for the 2000 already that i couldnt find maybe a Mod can merge.

All 2000 Guineas chat goes here.

Current market leaders:
    Dawn Approach @ 11/10
    Toronado @ 4/1
    Mars @ 6/1
    Cristoforo Columbo @ 7/1
    Moohaajim @ 16/1
    Olympic Glory @ 16/1 (going fo the French 2000)
    Van Der Neer @ 16/1
    George Vancouver @ 16/1
    20/1 bar.

Really hard to look past Dawn Approach here, but at 11/10 he aint my kinda bet. I'd be worried at the prospect of good to firm ground for him.

Toronado won well yesterday but beat tree's ;)

O'Brien's 2 are the ones that i'll probably back. Mars was the big hype horse last year from the stable but only had the one run. Must have had some setback but all the talk was that he was their best 2 year old. CC has some decent form in the book but has to turn the form around with DA but O'Brien's horses always improve throghout the year so it'll be interest to see who Joseph picks. That's where my money will go.
    Moohaajim wont stay and Olympic Glory is being aimed at the French 2000.
    he rest have zerp chance on 2 yr old form.
    But who has improved most over the winter.......

Fook....i reported this post by accident, i clicked the wrong button with my sausage fingers on my phone!!!!

I think garswood is a cracking e/w bet @ 25/1. I will be having a bit of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Toronado for me, hopefully I can get bigger than 4/1 on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Fook....i reported this post by accident, i clicked the wrong button with my sausage fingers on my phone!!!!

**** you man, i thought we were cool!!
    You got something to say, say it to my face and not behind my back like an 8 year old schoolgirl ;)

**** you man, i thought we were cool!!
    You got something to say, say it to my face and not behind my back like an 8 year old schoolgirl ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Sea The Starz

Moohajim for me @20's. Will shorten if he wins the Greenham which I think he will. I think he will stay a mile but for some reason alot of people don't but I'm not sure why. By Cape Cross out of a Kingmambo mare on pedigree he'll def stay. Improved every run last year and his run in the mill reef on quick ground oozed class.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Pedro the Great is O Briens main Guineas hope apparantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

SRFC wrote: »
    Pedro the Great is O Briens main Guineas hope apparantly.

160/1 on betfair

d-gal wrote: »
    160/1 on betfair

Presume its not running so,pat keating gave one my mates a few horses to follow and he was one them along with some unraced 3yr olds,might back it at 160 on bf just incase it runs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Thought he was the worst of the three good Henrys they have but you never know

He just said they think he's going to be nice this season,gave him four carat for this season will be out in 2nd half of the season ,one them he gave us ''just pretending'' placed in a maiden last week 16/1 will win a few races they think,ill post the unraced one's when they run have a load in the tracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

The Prix Djebel winner Style Vendome might be an interesting each way prospect at 20/1 if he makes the journey to Newmarket. His trainer is dragging his heels about running him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Anybody who backs Garswood to win the 2,000g throw your tickets in the bin.He has no chance because he wont stay and he is rated 9lb behind Dawn Approach.I would be shocked if he were in the first five or six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'm hoping for a dry couple of weeks so we have (at worst) good ground for this otherwise my bet on Critoforo Colombo can go in the bin. The way the weather has been I'm not too confident tbh.

Mars has only run once and won a maiden, has any horse ever won a 2,000 Guineas with just one run behind his name?

How anyone can back Mars is beyond me, I'd want another run in him before he goes to show me that he doesn't already need more than a mile.

kfallon wrote: »
    I'm hoping for a dry couple of weeks so we have (at worst) good ground for this otherwise my bet on Critoforo Colombo can go in the bin. The way the weather has been I'm not too confident tbh.

Mars has only run once and won a maiden, has any horse ever won a 2,000 Guineas with just one run behind his name?

Did Footstepsinthesand have just the one run ??

Na he won a gr.3 at Leopardstown I think

Kings Best had no run as a 2yr old.

Just looked it up he had 4 stars before the Guineas 3 at 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

betfair prices suggest Andre Fabre's Intello might be getting supplemented

Anyone know the current ground description?

currently GOOD
    about 2mm of rain due today, sunny Tues-Thurs, overcast friday, another 1mm of rain on Saturday.
    likely to be Good, Good to Firm in places on the day imo.

If its good to firm i'll be taking on Dawn Approach with Cristoforo. He'll love the fast ground.

14 left in the race

Dawn Approach
    Toronado
    Mars
    Cristoforo Colombo
    Garswood
    George Vancouver
    Van Der Neer
    Moohaajim
    Kyllachy Rise
    Leitir Mor
    Lines Of Battle
    Correspondant
    Don't Bother Me
    Glory Awaits

Anyone who had a nibble on Pedro after the info on page 1 has done their lolly!

Hope it was small bets only

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

SRFC has 2 grand each way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

Hope the rain stars to fall hard. have €400 on D.Approach which is a pretty large bet for me. if it stays dry for the next few days i think i will be either backing Toranado or else CC to give a bit cover for D.Approach.

Would like to see Don't Bother Me run a big race, trained down the road from me and locally owned

Dawn approach will not be in the first 3 lads,Max win and place lay cant have him at all hope the mugs plow into him so I can lay him short,Early two year old beat the likes of LEITIR MOR and DESIGNS ON ROME,two donkeys who wouldnt get within a mile of a decent guineas winner.

Now now lad....remember simonsig :) crazy comment to make.

I didnt go broke laying a horse at 1.7 mate dont be worrying about my simonsig lays,

This thing is a joke of a price and I'll be laying accordingly backers are very brave lumping on this thing,its form is not great and I doubt he's improved that much being how prococious he was,the others will have matured over the winter and will be different animals,even if I only had the hannon horse running for me I'd be doing ok but I've him and a few more decent ones,DA hasnt even had a run yet,St nic couldnt get beat in this race remember ;)

I didnt go broke laying a horse at 1.7 mate dont be worrying about my simonsig lays,

This thing is a joke of a price and I'll be laying accordingly backers are very brave lumping on this thing,its form is not great and I doubt he's improved that much being how prococious he was,the others will have matured over the winter and will be different animals,even if I only had the hannon horse running for me I'd be doing ok but I've him and a few more decent ones,DA hasnt even had a run yet,St nic couldnt get beat in this race remember ;)

I won't be backing dawn approach myself but to make such a bold statement is a bit crazy IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

UrbanSea wrote: »
    How anyone can back Mars is beyond me, I'd want another run in him before he goes to show me that he doesn't already need more than a mile.
    I'll be backing either him or Cristoforo Colombo for a bit of value, if Mars turns up on the day and the jockey booking looks confident I'll probably go with him. He's shown some brilliance in the way he won his maiden and in the high regard he was held in the pecking order at Ballydoyle as a 2yo. Horses can win the guineas off a single two year old start, Golan ran once as a two year old and went straight to the guineas. A few decades ago horses didn't win the guineas without a prep race and now it's become the norm, with all O'Brien 2,000 winners winning it on their first run of the season.

Of the rest, Dawn Approach looks to be in rude health and nailed on to win, with Toronado almost certain to place.

I won't be backing dawn approach myself but to make such a bold statement is a bit crazy IMO.

We'll soon see,time will tell as they say I cant wait to get stuck into this not laying thousands or anything but Ill be taking it on for a few hundred anyways price depending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

I wouldn't back DA myself at current odds. On a line through Olympic Glory, Hannon and Hughes have to be confident they have his measure with Tornado. Bolger is bullish and why wouldn't he be when the horse is unbeaten but no way would I play at those odds with so many unexposed types in field and a fav who was by the trainers own admission very forward last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

When do they go NRNB in Paddy Powers, bit of a joke that they haven't already with only 4 days to go to the race :rolleyes:

Hope the rain stars to fall hard. have €400 on D.Approach which is a pretty large bet for me. if it stays dry for the next few days i think i will be either backing Toranado or else CC to give a bit cover for D.Approach.
    Wait at the bookies window for collection.

tryfix wrote: »
    I'll be backing either him or Cristoforo Colombo for a bit of value, if Mars turns up on the day and the jockey booking looks confident I'll probably go with him. He's shown some brilliance in the way he won his maiden and in the high regard he was held in the pecking order at Ballydoyle as a 2yo. Horses can win the guineas off a single two year old start, Golan ran once as a two year old and went straight to the guineas. A few decades ago horses didn't win the guineas without a prep race and now it's become the norm, with all O'Brien 2,000 winners winning it on their first run of the season.

Of the rest, Dawn Approach looks to be in rude health and nailed on to win, with Toronado almost certain to place.
    You misunderstood me, lack of a run doesn't worry me I'd be more worried that he already wants more than a mile, and I'd rather if he had ran over a mile this season. It's that rather than fitness

Gringo180 wrote: »
    When do they go NRNB in Paddy Powers, bit of a joke that they haven't already with only 4 days to go to the race :rolleyes:

Something that annoys me is the stick PP get when every bookie does it. It'll go NRNB after the final decs

Bet365 have been NRNB for days now.

Yeah, the only one. Also shows that they are joint best priced on a single horse, Don't Bother Me at 100/1. Whereas PP are best price on 5 of the first 6

You misunderstood me, lack of a run doesn't worry me I'd be more worried that he already wants more than a mile, and I'd rather if he had ran over a mile this season. It's that rather than fitness
    Fair enough. Would they be running him in this if he hadn't the pace? The hype would be much more easily maintained by a showboating win in a soft Derby trial if he was just a stayer and only destined for a staying on Guineas performance?

Dawn Approach will make it a real test of stamina, and keep lengthening towards the line. He'll take some catching and Bolger is always on target and careful with his 2,000 guineas runners, so Dawn Approach will be spot on to make the race a test of stamina.

tryfix wrote: »
    Horses can win the guineas off a single two year old start, Golan ran once as a two year old and went straight to the guineas.

I had a feeling there was one and I couldn't think of it, cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

St Nick was never going to be a miler. His breeding is all middle distances.

Dawn Approach is bred to be a miler.

St Nick was never going to be a miler. His breeding is all middle distances.

Dawn Approach is bred to be a miler.

How much did you win laying him at even money? that must be a record for vintage after timing 3 years later :rolleyes: Didnt look too slow winning the Racing post over a mile.

Because the racing post is a good indicator for future milers

I didnt say it was,his comment about him not being a miler is easy to say in hindsight,showed plenty of speed for a mile in the racing post that is fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Who said anything about backing or laying?

Simple facts. St Nick's pedigree screamed middle distances. Dawn Approach's dam never raced beyond a mile.

Good luck place laying him but personally think that's daft. Whatever about him winning the race it's hard to see him finishing outside the first three.

I was keen to take him on before the race and it's not after timing I was adamant on here. But in fairness how many horses that win over a mile at two go on to be milers at three plus

Three out of the last four 2,000 guineas winners Camelot, Frankel, Sea the Stars and two out the last four 1,000 guineas winners with the others having not tried 8f but having won easily over 7f at two.

But, yeah the Racing Post Trophy isn't exactly a guineas trial and Camelot won a very poor Guineas.