Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

giro air attack helmet

• 18-04-2013 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭

I need a new helmet and was looking at the giro air attack. I think they look a hell of a lot nicer than the mad shaped things that cyclists normally wear, and I like the fact that its a suspended helmet. Does anyone have one, and if so, what are your thoughts?
    I have googled it and there are some good reports.

Thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I think it's ugly tbh. Looks like a snowboarding one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Looks nice in isolation. The white ones look like a pudding bowel or one of those old foam jobs when worn....

survivor.jpg

not the exact image i was looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

they do seem to be a bit marmite - people seem to love the looks or hate the looks, but apart from the looks (which I like - i think they look quite smart :)) anyone any actual experience with them. They look like they could be a quite comfortable, forget your wearing it kind of helmet which would be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Fad or fashion, take your pick.

You'd better wear it with confidence, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Actually as I was google image searching I noticed the non-white one's look fine.

I like the look of this: http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lazer-genesis-2-road-race-helmet/

But who knows till you try it on. It might not do my chiseled jawline justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I can't stand them to be honest. Like some sort of safety aid for people who need constant head protection or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Personally I like the look of it but that's probably mostly because its rounded shape is arguably better in a crash due to being less prone to catching on things. On pure aesthetics it mightn't convince me, but I see it in a better light by perceiving it to be possibly "safer" (but whether that perception is justified is a whole other matter though).

On the purely technical merits of it, I read up a little on it recently and it seems like a curious mix. Giro mention that it can be used in TT's due to having better aerodynamics than a regular road/non-TT helmet but they seemed to shy away from actually recommending it for that purpose. I gather that it falls short of the benefits of a true TT helmet, which is hardly a surprise I guess. To achieve its improved aerodynamic performance versus a road helmet they closed off vents.To compensate for that they designed a new "harness" (don't recall their terminology offhand) which keeps the shell suspended a little more above the head to aid in cooling your head. I do wonder how it performs in terms of cooling, and I also wonder how comfortable it feels just generally with that different design.

Phillipe Gilbert wore one during one of the recent early season races, and if it's good enough for him... He didn't win though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I like it, sort of a cool minimalist look to it.

Millar looks nonplussed.

garmin-giro-air-attack.jpg

mario-mushroom.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

If you like it get it. You change your mind? You can always get the visor and wear it on track, it'll make me less self concious when I'm wearing my new:

cascowarpcompetition.jpg

If you like it get it. You change your mind? You can always get the visor and wear it on track, it'll make me less self concious when I'm wearing my new:

cascowarpcompetition.jpg

did you get it? nice! You should wear it on Saturday :)

lennymc wrote: »
    did you get it? nice! You should wear it on Saturday :)

Jesus no, trying too hard and all that. Serious stuff like Nationals only.

dont mind the begrudgers!! LOL

anyway - this guy claims its the bees knees with free speed and fore/aft adjustability (but he works for giro)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I love it. Can finally turn my bike into a light-cycle:

tron-original-blueglow-snap-img.jpg

In all seriousness I'd get it, if I were you that is. You'll be doing TTs too right?

found a review with opinions from a couple of people who have them here.

This looks nicer, but it doesn't look like it's available.

Nibali-helmet.jpg

Ah feck it, I'm getting one. And to make matters worse, Im gonna get the shield, with extra fredage!! Evans currently seem to be best priced, no where has them in stock tho. The non shield version is in stock in some places.

giro-air-attack-shield-helmet.jpg

yeeha!!

(Ill use it for the road, track and TTs)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Im getting 1 too

evans seem to be cheapest (that ive found so far) but they wont be in stock until 10/05. Ill let you know if I find them anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭The Big Lebowsky

You gotta laugh- over the years giro has come up with better ventilated helmets every second year, now they want to sell us helmet with hardly any ventilation:pac:

The new air attack would make an excellent track helmet, or early season road helmet, but I wouldn't like to wear one on a warm day.

Ive seen them in a few places, waiting for the visor version. 200/240 seems to be the price for both.

You gotta laugh- over the years giro has come up with better ventilated helmets every second year, now they want to sell us helmet with hardly any ventilation:pac:

The new air attack would make an excellent track helmet, or early season road helmet, but I wouldn't like to wear one on a warm day.

the ventilation isnt very visible on the exterior, but that doesnt mean its not there.

Ive seen them in a few places, waiting for the visor version. 200/240 seems to be the price for both.

157 euro pre order in evans for the shield. Think that includes delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭c50

The Edge sports have the standard without visor in stock for 150quid full price...just so people know

evans have the non shield versino for 127 (iirc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭c50

yep except 10% loyalty card thats 135 compared to 127 on evans that you said is to pre order only..i havent checked

c50 wrote: »
    yep except 10% loyalty card thats 135 compared to 127 on evans that you said is to pre order only..i havent checked

sorry, i wasn't clear. My bad. evans have the air attack in stock for 127. They have the air attack shield for 157 pre order, available 10th May. I dont think the shield version is available in stock anywhere yet. They are two different helmets.

so, ive bee using this helmet for about a month now, I thought Id write a review.

Comfort
    This is by far the most comfortable helmet I've worn on a bike. The helmet is suspended on your head rather than sitting on your head, and feels more 'floaty' than my other giro helmet. It doesnt feel as helmety as other helmets. if you get a chance to try one on, try it. Its 330g claimed. I havent weighed it yet.

heat/cooling
    I havent noticed any real difference between my previous helmets with lots of cooling holes and the air attack. Ive been using it in the recent heat and havent had any problems. I will try my older giro tomorrow for a spin and see if it is noticeably different, but I dont really think it is. If I havent noticed it by now with the recent weather I dont think I will notice it with a different helmet.

Noise
    It is noisier than previous helmets, there is a good bit more wind noise when cycling along. This is probably the worst part of the helmet, and can be a nuisance at times. Mostly tho, its fine.

Protection
    I havent had to test this out yet, thankfully, but it feels like a good quality helmet. I know thats subjective, but I have no other way of measuring it. No pointy bits mean less things to catch in the event of a crash. Again thats subjective

Looks
    Love it or hate it styling. I love it. I have had some slagging about it but they are all jealous. I havent used the visor yet, but when I do, I expect my awesomeness to go off the scale!!

aerodynamics
    Apparently its worth up to 15 watts, which is good. I cant say if its made any difference or not to me, but the first time I commuted while wearing it i set a PB...... :)

Overall I am very happy with the air attack. I like it, it is functional, extremely comfortable. I would recomend one for the comfort alone. I use it for road, track and will use it for the very occasional TT. I'm not sure if I will use it for CX, ill probably revert to my old helmet for that.

It looses marks for the wind noise, which, while not a major issue, can make it sound like your battling a hurricane force head wind at times, so, 8.5 out of 10 for the helmet. One thing tho, make sure you are thick skinned. People WILL slag you :)

Apparently its worth up to 15 watts, which is good. I cant say if its made any difference or not to me, but the first time I commuted while wearing it i set a PB...... :)

Giro claim 5 watts at 40kph. How fast are you commuting?

Good to read the review. I admire your individualism :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Nwm2

so, ive bee using this helmet for about a month now, I thought Id write a review.

Comfort
    This is by far the most comfortable helmet I've worn on a bike. The helmet is suspended on your head rather than sitting on your head, and feels more 'floaty' than my other giro helmet. It doesnt feel as helmety as other helmets. if you get a chance to try one on, try it. Its 330g claimed. I havent weighed it yet.

heat/cooling
    I havent noticed any real difference between my previous helmets with lots of cooling holes and the air attack. Ive been using it in the recent heat and havent had any problems. I will try my older giro tomorrow for a spin and see if it is noticeably different, but I dont really think it is. If I havent noticed it by now with the recent weather I dont think I will notice it with a different helmet.

Noise
    It is noisier than previous helmets, there is a good bit more wind noise when cycling along. This is probably the worst part of the helmet, and can be a nuisance at times. Mostly tho, its fine.

Protection
    I havent had to test this out yet, thankfully, but it feels like a good quality helmet. I know thats subjective, but I have no other way of measuring it. No pointy bits mean less things to catch in the event of a crash. Again thats subjective

Looks
    Love it or hate it styling. I love it. I have had some slagging about it but they are all jealous. I havent used the visor yet, but when I do, I expect my awesomeness to go off the scale!!

aerodynamics

Overall I am very happy with the air attack. I like it, it is functional, extremely comfortable. I would recomend one for the comfort alone. I use it for road, track and will use it for the very occasional TT. I'm not sure if I will use it for CX, ill probably revert to my old helmet for that.

It looses marks for the wind noise, which, while not a major issue, can make it sound like your battling a hurricane force head wind at times, so, 8.5 out of 10 for the helmet. One thing tho, make sure you are thick skinned. People WILL slag you :)

I am tempted to get one for two reasons:

1. Goddam bugs - last night was the clincher for me. If felt I was cycling in the rain, a rain of flies. Had to stop several times to take off the helmet and get the creepy-crawlies off my head.

2. I am training for an Iro..., I mean a 180k TT, and the visor will make for easier and more comfortable visibility compared to glasses on those 4-5 hours TT bike rides, as I'm not going to wear my TT helmet when training.

I would wear my normal road helmet on other rides though, unless road racing.

Where are the current best deals?

Lumen wrote: »
    Giro claim 5 watts at 40kph. How fast are you commuting?

Good to read the review. I admire your individualism :D

120kph, obviously :)

I based that 15 watts thing on watt (haha) i heard on eurosport. Probably not the most scientific of methods.

Nwm2 wrote: »
    I am tempted to get one for two reasons:

1. Goddam bugs - last night was the clincher for me. If felt I was cycling in the rain, a rain of flies. Had to stop several times to take off the helmet and get the creepy-crawlies off my head.

2. I am training for an Iro..., I mean a 180k TT, and the visor will make for easier and more comfortable visibility compared to glasses on those 4-5 hours TT bike rides, as I'm not going to wear my TT helmet when training.

I would wear my normal road helmet on other rides though, unless road racing.

Where are the current best deals?

I got mine on evans, lots of places were out of stock of the shield, and i just happened across my one one day. Paid about 130 euros for it with visor. Not sure what current prices are, but I did hear they are no longer selling the helmet with visor - its a seperate accessory now. Not sure how true that is.

120kph, obviously :)

I based that 15 watts thing on watt (haha) i heard on eurosport. Probably not the most scientific of methods.

Aero power losses increase with the cube of airspeed, so you'd need to be going at 40*(15/5)^(1/3)=58kph without drafting to get a 15W advantage.

At that speed you'll be putting out something like 800W, so the 15W might be worth almost 2%.

Marginal gains man, marginal gains!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭RunDMC

Well, the Sky team are putting their success down to "aggregation of marginal gains", so every little bit helps. Not that it's helping them much at the moment apart from Froome.

R

Aero power losses increase with the cube of airspeed, so you'd need to be going at 40*(15/5)^(1/3)=58kph without drafting to get a 15W advantage.

At that speed you'll be putting out something like 800W, so the 15W might be worth almost 2%.

I knew when I posted that you would do the maths :)

That 2% with the 2% from aero wheels at 50 kph (or whatever it is, should (in theory) give me a couple of extra kph in a sprint. I was beaten to second place in a photo finish on the line, if I had had aero wheels and stuff I like to think I would have won. (At least now I cant blame lack of them on not winning, plus they are shiny, and bike + shiny things = good)

In fairness, I have been using the air attack at the track where 2% can be a big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Nwm2

I knew when I posted that you would do the maths :)

That 2% with the 2% from aero wheels at 50 kph (or whatever it is, should (in theory) give me a couple of extra kph in a sprint. I was beaten to second place in a photo finish on the line, if I had had aero wheels and stuff I like to think I would have won. (At least now I cant blame lack of them on not winning, plus they are shiny, and bike + shiny things = good)

In fairness, I have been using the air attack at the track where 2% can be a big difference.

Cervelo have a document showing that an aero frame would give about a 1 meter advantage for a sprint starting about 200m out. Cav-type speeds mind you, not your puny 50kph.

Nwm2 wrote: »
    Cervelo have a document showing that an aero frame would give about a 1 meter advantage for a sprint starting about 200m out. Cav-type speeds mind you, not your puny 50kph.

i was pipped for a win by about 3 inches. Ill happily take that metre :)

I read that the aero frame is one of the least bang for bucks when it comes to reducing drag and increasing speed in the whole aero-is-faster scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

Tyler Farrar has been clocked at 1400w coming up to the line. We've work to do!

is that all? I would have thought the top sprinters would be putting out a good bit more than that. I read that cav has a relatively low power output (allegedly) but very good technique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

is that all? I would have thought the top sprinters would be putting out a good bit more than that. I read that cav has a relatively low power output (allegedly) but very good technique.

Since when is Tyler Farrar a top sprinter :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,873 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Rather than start a new thread thought I'd post in this one.

As far as I can see, these new aero helmets claim to fame is that they are, well, more aero and therefore reduce the watts needed for a given speed.

Has this actually been proven as anything other than marketing hype?

For years we had cyclists telling us the helmets were constraining, too heavy and too hot etc etc, and now it seems that cooling was a nonesense and actually what we really need is less cooling and more weight?

Apart from the track, or possibly a good crossover for road/TT is there any actual advantage to moving to this type of helmet?

(sorry if this has been done already, I did search and this was the closest thread I could find)

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Has this actually been proven as anything other than marketing hype?
    In the quote above Giro claimed 5W at 40kph.

In this test, a full pointy TT helmet was worth 8W at 40kph.

http://www.bikeradar.com/road/gear/article/how-aero-is-aero-19273/

So 5W seems plausible. But then this test shows only 3W for a full TT helmet at 45kph:

http://forum.cyclingnews.com/showpost.php?p=441152&postcount=5

So believe what you want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭omri

Any shop in Dublin stocks this helmet ? I'm looking to replace my many years old Limar - don't even know the model. I tried other Giro helmet Eon/Aon/Aeon - or whatever it's called and fit me like I was portobello mushroom. I hoping air attack will be better but I expect the worst..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,873 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

All the 'facts' seem to be coming from the manufacturers themselves. Now call me cynical but......

The 5w gain at 40mph, is that into a headwind, no wind, tailwind? What does it actually mean out on the road where you aren't in a fixed position.

Nothing wrong with getting new stuff, and since they don't make things worse, no harm in it. But just wondering if the claimed benefits have actually been verified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

omri wrote: »
    Any shop in Dublin stocks this helmet ? I'm looking to replace my many years old Limar - don't even know the model. I tried other Giro helmet Eon/Aon/Aeon - or whatever it's called and fit me like I was portobello mushroom. I hoping air attack will be better but I expect the worst..

Cycle surgery in Dundrum? I've tried out a couple of Giro helmets but none of them fit my (perfectly justified I'll have you know) big head...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

I've seen some in Joe Daly's as well. Quite intrigued by these sort of helmets myself. Can't decide between the ait attack and the evade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Hmmzis wrote: »
    I've seen some in Joe Daly's as well. Quite intrigued by these sort of helmets myself. Can't decide between the ait attack and the evade.

Seen a few lads sporting the Air Attack recently, I have been converted. A quick google image search of both shows David Millar looks much cooler in the Giro then Cav does in the S-Works. Case closed :)