Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the biggest thing you've hit?!

• 17-04-2013 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

It was a cat for me, coming home one night and the little sh*t came out of the blue! It was some thump off the bumper and it did a fair bit of damage to a fog light and it's bracket.

I'm seeing a lot of badgers along the road - I wonder how much damage would they do, they are pretty big!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Hit a pheasant once..... Little prick had the last laugh. Cost me a new lens on the Passat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭rameire

the ditch

4wthzP_thumb.jpg

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Hide behind the post

Hit a JCB.....T boned the thing....you know those bright yellow things with flashing lights...yep hit that!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

JCB hit me a few years back and it still gives me nightmares :( Hit a few foxes in my time and took the head off one , not nice at all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

A Ford Ka

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

A hoorin pothole, ruined me windscreen -shakes fist-

Got a slap off a truck once.

Spun off a sliproad another time and hit the barrier with both the front and back of the car, frightening and thought the car was mush, only a little scratch on the rear number plate plinth/surround and a burst front tyre.

Gave a Garda a few slaps, he was 6 foot odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

It was a cat for me, coming home one night and the little sh*t came out of the blue! It was some thump off the bumper and it did a fair bit of damage to a fog light and it's bracket.

I'm seeing a lot of badgers along the road - I wonder how much damage would they do, they are pretty big!

Badgers do a lot of damage. Biggest thing I hit was a signpost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

A wall - there was a wall infront of a parking spot, I drove too far forward and hit it.

I also drove into a pillar on my parents garden - I dont know how I managed that one, the gates are very wide and I hit the pillar right in the centre of my car - my mum just had a new wall and pillars built so she nearly murdered me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

For me cat as well.

No damage though.
    Cat walked away as well, but I'm not sure if he was allrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

hit a badger a few years back it went in under front of car not much of a bang looked back and saw him run away so assumed everything drove a mile home and parked up and wife says were is all the water coming from ,, radiator busted ..:mad:

Not me, but my brother hit a horse. Jumped out on the road in front of him. He wasn't hurt himself but the car, a VW Bora, was wrecked. Must have been frightening.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

She was about 16 stone....good night though. Strange but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Hit a young pheasant once, it flew out of a ditch right across the front of me. It hit my front fog light and pushed in the surrounding mesh in the bumper. Luckily I was able to pop it back into place by parking the front wheel up on a kerb and get at it from underneath with a rubber mallet. Not so lucky for the pheasant though, all I seen was a ploom of feathers in my rear view mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Cat at like 3am when i went to my local 24h station for some peps+smokesi (only had ST afew days and was on a week off so it was just an excuse to go for a drive really)

Noticed as i left the lane where i live there were lots of cats about as it was a clear/dry night in July and halfway to the station a cat runs out about 100m infront of me at a fair auld lick, he then freezes in the middle of the road and i am left with 2 options.

1. Slow down as much as possible within safety and maintain my straight line so he has a chance to move.
    2. Take evasive action (into a ditch/wall/someones garden/living room) and risk him running in that direction and getting run over anyway.

Anyway i chose the first option and needless to say 235/35/R19 Nankang versus Cat there is only one winner, got out and checked, no collar he was stone dead. What can ya do atleast car wasn't damaged as tyre hit him straight on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I hit a big tree once...... Nearly 11k in damage to the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

A sheep (on the way home from the pub)
    A tractor(on the way home from the pub)
    A tree stump (yes you guessed it but it was a work rental so it doesn't count)

Anyone getting the moral of this story yet;)

All back when I was young and foolish:o

pred racer wrote: »
    A sheep (on the way home from the pub)
    A tractor(on the way home from the pub)
    A tree stump (yes you guessed it but it was a work rental so it doesn't count)

Anyone getting the moral of this story yet;)

Don't pick you to be the designated driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

A stag/deer yoke at 130kph on the M7 at 4am on the way back from Belfast. Well...i rolled over it anyway. Needless to say the Yaris that hit it a few seconds earlier was in bits! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭IrishLad90

A few seagulls flew across my windscreen, feathers everywere, the aulwans standing outside the shop wernt impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cena

I hit a fox a number of years back. only put in a new fan that week and had to replace it again.

My mother own the car before me and she crashed into a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Shamozzle

A train.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

A huge 200 year old chestnut tree. Walked away but car was a write off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

An E46 325i :o

EDIT:

Needs sound to make it epic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

a fox at 140 KPH little sh,ite paid the price

sheep which was already on the road dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

The brother hit a sheep at about 50mph, the sheep got up and ran away, and there wasn't a mark on the car:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Reversed into a pretty big skip once?
    hit a wall sideways too, I'd say the wall was a lot bigger than the skip. Completely wrote the car off.

Other than that, hit a crow once, biggest living thing I've hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭elvis99

Hit a wild goat in Galway county one night, he took my wing mirror and left a small dent on my wing, could have ended a lot worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

The road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Redriddick

Driving a jeep with an ifor williams trailer across railway track and train came around the corner and ploughed me out of it.Jeep=rightoff
    Trailer= 200 yards down the line unrecognisable.
    Me=Bloody nose!!!

Lucky to be alive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

I havent hit anything. :cool: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Moving target - a badger
    Fixed target - a tree

Bus tried to kill me before, managed to avoid that - how, I don't know.
    Same for a cat running across the road at me one night.
    Of course then I go and mangle the side of my car against a fixed object, namely the side of a driveway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

The missus.

Only till she started hitting back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

T-Boned a Suzuki Jimny on a roundabout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

a rat once and a lorry spare wheel which fell off the lorry and landed in the road in front of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭vandriver

I once ran over a small white dog,thinking it was a plastic bag.I do now wear glasses.
    I was hit by a fully laden gravel truck,which was a bit alarming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I've actually never hit anything. A car nearly hit me on the bike the other day, that wouldn't have been nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭gouche

Only living thing I noticed was a bird - little backstart flew straight into windscreen. Got some fright - came out of nowhere.

More embarrassingly I also reversed straight into a telephone pole - stone sober. Didn't even see it. In my defense I was driving a Berlingo with just side mirrors :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Was doing around 200km/h down the Autobahn and a Bird flew into the top of the windscreen.

It all happened so fast I didn't realise what had happened until I saw feathers in the rear view mirror.

Poor little bugger exploded, there was guts all over the roof, everyone was looking at the triangle of bird bits on the roof while driving into work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Tailspinned off a roundabout once, hit a kerb sideways and ended up against construction fencing with the car on its side. The fence was the only thing that stopped it rolling over. Still 6k worth of damage.

Haven't hit any large animals. Mainly wild rabbits (they're like tiny speed bumps) and one time managed to embed 2 crows head first through the heater grill on the front of the car. They looked like some kind of gothic hood ornament when I spotted them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I hit a bus stop while reversing on the n11 once...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

The back of a taxi on my old bike, bloody sore :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

A ditch (wrote the car off)

and a pillar in a car park a few days ago, scratched the side of my car gadumnit.

It'll polish out though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I once reversed into my house. Clever me....

On the roads recently I hit a badger, no mark on the car :) another time I hit a hare, blew the bumper to bits :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭vandriver

I also reversed into a Garda motorbike .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

vandriver wrote: »
    I also reversed into a Garda motorbike .

I'd say that ended well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I have never hit anything properly, but I did reverse into a golf gti recently :o

I have had some spectacular close calls with a few animals and a couple of cars but thanks to my amazing car control I always managed to miss :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Well, I came round a bend to fast an the car went sideways, only the bumper was cracked as it clipped the wall and brought the car to a stop. Thank god. That's about it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

rameire wrote: »
    the ditch

4wthzP_thumb.jpg

Snap, but I managed to connect with the ditch on side, reboud, do a 360 and hit the other one.

Very artistic