Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5k budget, heart set on a focus.. what to look out for?

• 13-04-2013 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭

I'm (hopefully, fingers crossed) awaiting approval for a 5k loan from the bank for a new (2nd hand car) as my own banger is on the way out (doubt i'll get any trade in value, its a 97 corolla with 175k on it)

I've had my heart set on a focus ever since i was a passenger in a mates 05 ghia saloon automatic. now, the fact that its a ghia/saloon/auto isnt essential, i just like that model.

I've found that exact one at a local small dealer thats spotless. timing belt has just been done, its a '07 and its €4900.... problem is the milage. it's just over 131000 miles (or 183000 km). Thats an instant red flag for me, as thats a lot of miles in 6 years.

What questions should i be asking here? what should have gone wrong on this model by now that should be fixed? or whats problematic in these cars? should i walk away?

I've also found locally at another dealer a '06 LX saloon auto 160k km for €4500, a '06 LX hatch manual 169k km for €4950 and a '05 corolla 1.4 terra with 106k km for €4950. All the fords are 1.6

My head is telling me to go for the corolla, but the fords all look nicer inside and out.

Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I'm (hopefully, fingers crossed) awaiting approval for a 5k loan from the bank for a new (2nd hand car) as my own banger is on the way out (doubt i'll get any trade in value, its a 97 corolla with 175k on it)

I've had my heart set on a focus ever since i was a passenger in a mates 05 ghia saloon automatic. now, the fact that its a ghia/saloon/auto isnt essential, i just like that model.

I've found that exact one at a local small dealer thats spotless. timing belt has just been done, its a '07 and its €4900.... problem is the milage. it's just over 131000 miles (or 183000 km). Thats an instant red flag for me, as thats a lot of miles in 6 years.

What questions should i be asking here? what should have gone wrong on this model by now that should be fixed? or whats problematic in these cars? should i walk away?

I've also found locally at another dealer a '06 LX saloon auto 160k km for €4500, a '06 LX hatch manual 169k km for €4950 and a '05 corolla 1.4 terra with 106k km for €4950. All the fords are 1.6

My head is telling me to go for the corolla, but the fords all look nicer inside and out.

Any advice?

If your used of Corolla reliabilty id advise you to go for the same again.

The focuses are generally reliable but not do suffer from niggley problems when they get a a bit older and go up in the miles. Also if going for a focus avoid the models with keyless ignition as it is known to give it's problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

The focuses are generally reliable but not do suffer from niggley problems when they get a a bit older and go up in the miles. Also if going for a focus avoid the models with keyless ignition as it is known to give it's problems.

Thanks for the reply. just to clarify, i've not owned my corolla from new, just the last 7 years. If i were to get 5 years mostly hassle free motoring from any perspective purchase i'd be more than happy. as i've had a toyota for so long, i feel like a change, and the fit and finish on a focus feels like i'm treating myself for corolla money. But perhaps all i'd need is a newer toyota to get that feeling, i dont know.

As i'm not familiar with the focus model i dont know if the 05-07's have keyless start. perhaps someone could enlighten me?

colm_mcm wrote: »

Nice one... my parents are in westmeath, maybe they can take a look at that one.

I neglected to mention that all cars mentioned in my OP have just been serviced and have an NCT for at least the next year.

One thing I would say is this.
    Take a day or two out of your week and drive as many cars in that class that you can so that you get some perspective. A focus will seem way better than a 97 corolla, but then so will a lot of cars.

One thing I would say is this.
    Take a day or two out of your week and drive as many cars in that class that you can so that you get some perspective. A focus will seem way better than a 97 corolla, but then so will a lot of cars.

Monday coming is my next day off, and i plan to test drive all those mentioned in my OP. my missus just bought a 2010 fiat 500 and thats like a bentley compared to mine.... so i'll be fighting that new car feeling and trying to let my head decide!

Drive a mazda3 too.

would not have rated, let alone considered that, will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Lancers of that era are good value and very reliable also if you are open to other cars. They come with 1.3 and 1.6 engines. I had the 1.3 for years and while it was underpowered for long runs i never had a moments trouble with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭dutopia

I've heard of problems but I love the keyless ignition! It's so neat not having to take your keys out of your pocket and the car just unlocks when you pull the door handle. With bluetooth as well connecting my iPhone to the built in hands free, I don't take my phone out of my pocket either. I've gotten so used to the keyless ignition I expect everything to open automatically now, damn you apartment door for requiring a key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭kodak

Any advice?

Hi

Find a titanium spec focus, you wont regret waiting for a good one!

kodak wrote: »
    Hi

Find a titanium spec focus, you wont regret waiting for a good one!

Pardon my ignorance, but i dont know what the titanium spec is, could you tell me? whats so good about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

It's the top spec so has all the nice things. The Ghia is the next best thing, the LX is the base model.

this is the only titanium that i could find in my budget.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/NT-3DR-T/34113651587767930/advert?channel=CARS

it looks nice, but ashbourne is a fair trek from cork just to see a car.

Can anyone with experience with focus engines let me know what the problems are. I can already feel that the ghia with high milage might be the nicest one i drive tomorrow and i'd like to ask all the right questions.

Thanks for the reply. just to clarify, i've not owned my corolla from new, just the last 7 years. If i were to get 5 years mostly hassle free motoring from any perspective purchase i'd be more than happy. as i've had a toyota for so long, i feel like a change, and the fit and finish on a focus feels like i'm treating myself for corolla money. But perhaps all i'd need is a newer toyota to get that feeling, i dont know.

As i'm not familiar with the focus model i dont know if the 05-07's have keyless start. perhaps someone could enlighten me?

I can assure you the fit and finish on the Corolla is better than any Focus, as is it's sheer reliabilty and top notch build quality.

Where the Focus has the edge on the Corolla though is in it's driving dynamics. It's certainatly the more engaging car to drive without a doubt.

As for models with Keyless ingnition, Some 05-07 models definatly have it. I know of at least one 06 that has it and also a 07 example aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The Titanium was only available in 3 door hatchback here in Ireland. 5 door hatchback and 4 door saloon top spec model was the Ghia.

Common problems on that model petrol Focus were the power steering pump, alternator was also a problem on petrol models. Smaller issues were with the boot lock on the hatchback start acting up. It doesn't have a key lock but a sensor under the handle that can stop working if water gets into it from the rear wiper arm. Not an expensive fix but a PITA changing it if the boot will not open.

BTW the auto gearbox on these is not very modern and a large majority of auto models were probably rental cars at some stage of their life which could mean above average wear and tear. The 1.6 petrol Ghia and Titanium models had a more modern variable valve timing engine over the older 1.6 petrol engine found in the LX and Zetec. It was a more powerful engine and slightly better on fuel.

I can assure you the fit and finish on the Corolla is better than any Focus, as is it's sheer reliabilty and top notch build quality.

Thanks for that, maybe what i meant to say is that the focus interior just looks better.
    bazz26 wrote: »
    BTW the auto gearbox on these is not very modern and a large majority of auto models were probably rental cars at some stage of their life which could mean above average wear and tear.

could you elaborate on the gearbox?

I'm beginning to think this high mileage ghia is either ex rental or a company car, what else could explain an average of 18,000 miles a year?

the fact it's fully serviced, and has the timing belt done and has an NCT for 2 years (not 1 like i had thought) makes me feel a bit better..... but that mileage...

here's the ad.

The auto box on that model Focus is not very modern compared to some other auto boxes out there and is not the most fuel efficent. The ad says it had 1 previous owner and is a D reg being sold in Cork. I'd be interested to see who traded it in or was it bought through the trade. Try and find out who owned it last or at least find out if it was a private individual or a company? Hire companies tend to keep autos on their books alot longer than manuals as they don't get alot of them and they get longer out of them.

What warranty is the dealer offering? Given the mileage I'd say it's the bare minimum. Also do you specifically need an auto or is just because that one became available?

bazz26 wrote: »
    The auto box on that model Focus is not very modern compared to some other auto boxes out there and is not the most fuel efficent. The ad says it had 1 previous owner and is a D reg being sold in Cork. I'd be interested to see who traded it in or was it bought through the trade. Try and find out who owned it last or at least find out if it was a private individual or a company? Hire companies tend to keep autos on their books alot longer than manuals as they don't get alot of them and they get longer out of them.

What warranty is the dealer offering? Given the mileage I'd say it's the bare minimum. Also do you specifically need an auto or is just because that one became available?

bare minimum is right, 3 months. dont specifically need an auto, but i do some (not a lot) of driving in the city after living for a few years in the midlands, so the stop/start clutching in my commute annoys me slightly (but that could be the age of my current car)

well i drove all 4 focusses (focii?) today ( the corolla was sold) and it's as i feared: the 07 ghia auto with the high milage was the nicest one. damn. the 06 lx manual hatch was that little bit more fun to drive, but the 07 was more solid and more luxurious.

I did find a couple of little problems with the 07: the drivers electric mirror doesnt work (no matter which way you switch it, it adjusts the passenger one) and the passenger mirror has the plastic at the bottom missing. also, there is some standing water in the spare wheel well. I loved driving it though, it was solid.

they wont budge on the price though, €4900 cash. their reasons: they shift 07 focusses for €6k+ all the time, this is priced to sell due to the milage. they wouldnt even accept a trade in or fix what i pointed out to them.

I still think i want this car though. am i making a horrible mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

In short, yes.
    There is no shortage of Focus' in the country and you're buying one with a lot of obvious problems.
    Walk away from that Ghia and have a look around for a week or two. Theres no real need to get a Ghia model to get a nice, reasonably speced car.
    There are some nice zetecs out there to be had for your budget and I imagine you'll get an 07 lx or zetec with connection pack(Keyless entry, bluetooth, alloys etc) if you can stretch your budget a bit.
    Whatever you do, take your time. Don't let the heart rule the head

I'd hold out for a nicer one.

you're right. chicking this one out tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

OP, here's a Titanium Focus 1.6 petrol with low miles, NCT till next May, well specced and only up the road in Kilkenny.
    Bang on 5 Grand. Probably get a couple of hundred off if you roll up with cash in hand too.
    Enough for 3 months tax at least, as none is mentioned in the ad.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4816214

Pique wrote: »
    OP, here's a Titanium Focus 1.6 petrol with low miles, NCT till next May, well specced and only up the road in Kilkenny.
    Bang on 5 Grand. Probably get a couple of hundred off if you roll up with cash in hand too.
    Enough for 3 months tax at least, as none is mentioned in the ad.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4816214

Not bad, nice looking car. whats missing from this that would be in the ghia?

As mentioned above, Titanium is the top spec, followed by Ghia.

However, someone 'could' order a new Ghia and then add extra options which would make it higher specced than a standard Titanium.

Very few people in Ireland do this, however, so as a rule, Titanium > Ghia.

Interesting, but looking at the dash pic of the ad you posted i dont see as much controls on the wheel as the ghia (cruise control for example)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭PyeContinental

I found it very worrying that someone should get so emotional about a 1.6 litre Ford Focus as to say that his "heart was set on it". If a friend of mine said this to me, not to mention getting out a loan for the full price, I'd tell him to calm himself down bigtime and to cop on to himself. Nobody should be getting this excited about such an ordinary car.

Sorry if that sounds mean, but you really do sound like you need a reality check.

I found it very worrying that someone should get so emotional about a 1.6 litre Ford Focus as to say that his "heart was set on it". If a friend of mine said this to me, not to mention getting out a loan for the full price, I'd tell him to calm himself down bigtime and to cop on to himself. Nobody should be getting this excited about such an ordinary car.

Sorry if that sounds mean, but you really do sound like you need a reality check.

what the **** is your problem with what i like? sorry if my tastes are "ordinary" but i neither need, nor can afford a luxury car. and if can get a nice, decent car for under 5k so much the better. and as for getting a loan for the "full price" did you even read my op? i'm buying a second hand car. or maybe you have 5k just lying around? i sure as hell dont.

i need a reality check allright....sure may as well buy that aston ive been admiring...

whats not ordinary to you mr lah de ****ing dah?

This is a motoring forum and not the Dr Phil show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 manarocket

Try a Volvo, also a BMW 316 if u don't want to go any higher than 1.6, these are better than fords u might have to go a year or 2 lower but much better buoy cars and better driving experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Yes OP don't enjoy getting a new car, you must only enjoy cars as long as they have a power to weight ratio of at least 200bhp per tonne, if it is below that you must hate everything about it.:rolleyes:

Pyecontinental must be a great guy to hang around with....I get excited over a feckin curly-wurly, he'd hate me!

Interesting, but looking at the dash pic of the ad you posted i dont see as much controls on the wheel as the ghia (cruise control for example)

Good point.
    OK well I'm stumped. Will let the Ford experts answer that one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

manarocket wrote: »
    Try a Volvo, also a BMW 316 if u don't want to go any higher than 1.6, these are better than fords u might have to go a year or 2 lower but much better buoy cars and better driving experience.

Yep, until something breaks in it & its 3X dearer to fix than the focus.

what the **** is your problem with what i like? sorry if my tastes are "ordinary" but i neither need, nor can afford a luxury car. and if can get a nice, decent car for under 5k so much the better. and as for getting a loan for the "full price" did you even read my op? i'm buying a second hand car. or maybe you have 5k just lying around? i sure as hell dont.

i need a reality check allright....sure may as well buy that aston ive been admiring...

whats not ordinary to you mr lah de ****ing dah?
    Try to calm down. I read the whole thread, including your original post.
    You said you were "waiting, fingers crossed, for a loan from the bank for 5k", all of which you are going to spend on a car. That's what I mean by full price. You're spending the whole loan on the price of the car.

As someone said to you already in the thread, you're used to a '97 Corolla, which you've been driving for 15 or 16 years, so if that's all you're used to, a Focus might seem comparatively lovely.

You don't want to hear any dissenting voices, so I'll take my opinions elsewhere. You're mistaken if you think I'm saying you need to spend more and if you think I'm comparing to an Aston Martin. I've bought many cars for much smaller budgets that were much more special in every way than a Ford Focus.
    This is a motoring forum and not the Dr Phil show.
    I think I understand now the difference between a motoring forum and a car enthusiasts forum.

you're used to a '97 Corolla, which you've been driving for 15 or 16 years, so if that's all you're used to, a Focus might seem comparatively lovely.

If you "read the thread" you'd know I've owned the corolla for 7 years. So please, enlighten me, my budget is 5k, so if i dont have to spend the full loan, i wont. what extraordinary cars that are reliable, cheapish to run and maintain, and at least 1.6 can be got for that or less? genuine question, no sarcasm.

Mea culpa, I misread that as "I've owned the car from new". Still, driving a '97 Corolla for 7 years does point to the same thing - that your baseline for what driving pleasure or a well appointed interior in a car is, is very low.

TBH, I'm not inclined to help you with your hostile attitude, and anyway I don't think it's been established that you are in fact looking for anything other than a "beige econobox", so best of luck deciding between Titantium and Ghia.

Mea culpa, I misread that as "I've owned the car from new". Still, driving a '97 Corolla for 7 years does point to the same thing - that your baseline for what driving pleasure or a well appointed interior in a car is, is very low.

Which i acknowledged in the thread. I know i'm not used to the finer driving things in life.
    TBH, I'm not inclined to help you with your hostile attitude, and anyway I don't think it's been established that you are in fact looking for anything other than a "beige econobox", so best of luck deciding between Titantium and Ghia.

I've also said i neither need nor can afford anything more than that, I've always liked the look of the focus, so my apologies if my standards arent up to yours, but wading in here telling me to "cop myself on" and that i "need a reality check" arent supposed to rustle my jimmies? comes off as a bit pretentious if you ask me, but my question to you still stands.

"This is the largest auto i could afford"

You do need someone to tell you to cop on and to not be so emotional about the purchase of a utilitarian commuter car with borrowed money.

If I was looking for something special, there are lots of possibilities for 5k or less, but you're looking for something reliable and comfortable for commuting. I saw a 2000 Honda Accord with a perfect leather interior sell for 1K recently. That's the kind of thing I'd be looking for.

You do need someone to tell you to cop on and to not be so emotional about the purchase of a utilitarian commuter car with borrowed money.

If I was looking for something special, there are lots of possibilities for 5k or less, but you're looking for something reliable and comfortable for commuting. I saw a 2000 Honda Accord with a perfect leather interior sell for 1K recently. That's the kind of thing I'd be looking for.

My apologies for getting excited about buying my second, and most likely first decent (by my standards) car.

2000 is too old, i'd want to be coming up more than 3 years. try 05-07. I dont want to swap a 16 year old car for a 13 year old one.

The number plate does not have so much bearing on what a car is like to be inside, what it's like to drive, and how much it is to service and maintain. You also need to realise that the 5k is a loan which you'll be paying back long after you've stopped feeling excited about the car.

I'm not going to go searching the ad sites for you. I just mentioned the Accord because it's comfortable and reliable and with leather interior can feel luxurious. Those seem to be the qualities you are looking for so it was an example that there are other choices.

Anyway, go ahead and do what you like. Buy on impulse and regret at leisure.

OP, I wouldn't worry too much about old Accords or people who call you names based on your choice of preferred car.

The Focus is a fine car. Stylish, reliable, safe and comfortable. They wouldn't sell in such numbers if they weren't.
    The Mazda 3 is another option that was mentioned. You could look at the likes of Citroen C4, Seat Leon, Skoda Octavia or Opel Astra also.

They're all in and around the same class of car, with some being better at driving dynamics and others winning on comfort or space.

Personally, I like the look of the Focus an if it's what you want, there are so many around that finding the specific one you want will be easy enough. You may as well try to get one with all the toys (Leather, bluetooth, cruise, sunroof etc) as you want to have it as future-proof as you can if you intend holding onto it for a few years.

If the OP wants a Ford Focus then that's their business and if they get excited at the thought of getting a new car then fair dues to them too. Who are you or anyone else to begrudge them that because it doesn't conform to your definition of what should be an interesting car?

I've written far more on this thread than I intended to. I'm going to try to be brief for clarity. Bank loan + emotional and or hasty decision making when buying a car usually leads to regret. You've seriously misunderstood if you think I somehow resent him wanting to buy a Ford Focus.

A Ford Focus isn't an interesting car. It's a utilitarian car, and if anyone is getting excited about one to the point where his heart is overruling his head, then he would do well do take time to get some perspective.

I doubt I'll be back to this thread, so carry on as you were.

I've written far more on this thread than I intended to. I'm going to try to be brief for clarity. Bank loan + emotional and or hasty decision making when buying a car usually leads to regret. You've seriously misunderstood if you think I somehow resent him wanting to buy a Ford Focus.

A Ford Focus isn't an interesting car. It's a utilitarian car, and if anyone is getting excited about one to the point where his heart is overruling his head, then he would do well do take time to get some perspective.

I drive a Ford Focus and I can tell you one thing, it sure beats the pants off any 2000 Honda Accord...

Awh, you were such craic too :rolleyes:

dar83 wrote: »
    I drive a Ford Focus and I can tell you one thing, it sure beats the pants off any 2000 Honda Accord...
    Good for you. :)

Will definitely leave you to your group-think now.

Good for you. :)

Will definitely leave you to your group-think now.

Haha. You're a gas man with your "enthusiast" ideas, and them being a 2000 Honda Accord.

Good luck. ;)

Can't seem to leave this thread alone. :o
    Never said the Accord was an enthusiast car. It fulfills the criteria needed here for a commuter car which is comfortable and reliable, and is also affordable to buy and maintain.
    You're attempting to engage in point-scoring with me by arguing that your bland commuter car is less bland than another bland commuter car.

What if i dont like Honda accords? :D

anyway, the focusses i saw today werent worth my time. I wont be buying this week anyway, so theres no hasty decision for you to worry about Pye.