Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is €50 enough?

• 12-04-2013 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭anndub

What's the going rate for a Confirmation these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

One million dollars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

No, you'll need to give more now that the grant is no longer available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Big Lar

Ah Christ €30.00 is plenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

A bouncy castle and a card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

anndub wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

6 cans of Bud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Ah heor they took me Communin 'llowance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

€5 is fine.

The parents are only going to take the money and spend it themselves anyway whilst 'saving the money' for the kid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

:eek: Are you serious? FFS the little scrote should be more than happy with €10. :mad:

I thought that shoite went with the Celitc Tiger. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Trying to figure out how much you're going to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭anndub

We'll only be getting ham sandwiches and potato salad afterwards. Should I knock a few quid off for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

We'll only be getting ham sandwiches and potato salad afterwards. Should I knock a few quid off for that?

Bring a spongecake, that'll more than make up the cost.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Amronoc

First Communion, sigh....when will people learn its a load of balls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Id say €20 is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭anndub

You're thinking of the one with the dresses. I'm talking about the one where you swear to never drink alcohol, then head off to watch your relatives drink for the day while totting up your earnings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lifetime membership with one of the most antiquated, draconian, sexist, ultra conservative, backward, prejudiced, out of touch organisations on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Get a nice devotion said for them. Kids are mad for that shit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

20 quid is grand, 50 is too much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭lennyloulou

giving 50e to 3 nephews- 150e FFS!
    20e to a friends kid
    I think its mad
    hubbie wont change his mind
    putting away a few quid a week for the feckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

€50???????? Cheepo

Remortgage the gaff for €20k and send the kid to Disneyland by jetski.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I would congratulate them on receiving the sacrament and explain you believe the custom of giving money belittles the spiritual significance.

Bound to reduce the number of invitations you receive in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pack of Tayto, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

A little Gideon's New Testament Bible.
    Isn't that what the day is about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Am I the only one who's noticed thus far the amount of people confusing COMMUNION with CONFIRMATION?

As for money... **** all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

€50 to a kid who'll be on Boards in five years declaring religion a farce and the Catholic church the scourge of society? You're mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭CrazyChick18

Depends on how you are related to the child. My brother is making his and will be 50e in card and all aunts/uncles usually do the same.

Where's a cousin or friends child 20/30 is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

2 fiddy is loads;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Lapin wrote: »
    Lifetime membership with one of the most antiquated, draconian, sexist, ultra conservative, backward, prejudiced, out of touch organisations on the planet.

Clontarf golf club ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

giving 50e to 3 nephews- 150e FFS!
    20e to a friends kid
    I think its mad
    hubbie wont change his mind
    putting away a few quid a week for the feckers

Then let hubby pay if he wants to fritter away money and keep your own money in your pocket! why do you feel obliged to give money when you obviously don't want to?

Leaving aside the revulsion I feel about indoctrinating a child into a parent's religion..are any of these kid's parents even practising Catholics? and I don't mean pick and mix so-called Catholics who go to mass at xmas and Easter, I mean do they adhere fully to the beliefs and practices of the RCC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Surely all this does is teach kids they can get a **** load of money for **** all?

Give them a new bible and prayer beads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

bluewolf wrote: »
    Give them a new lovers bible and anal beads

Bluey, you are one crazy mo'fo'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Engine No.9

Don't you mean tree fiddy :D

Miike wrote: »
    Am I the only one who's noticed thus far the amount of people confusing COMMUNION with CONFIRMATION?

Well as they're both apparently all about how much money is spent and both ceremonies are now devoid of any religious or spiritual meaning for the kids it's an easy mistake to make ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OP you could make a donation to a children's charity on behalf of the child, then print out the receipt and put it in an envelope before you present it to the child.

It teaches them the true meaning of it's better to give than it is to receive and it's a lesson that'll stay with them a lot longer than the couple of euro they'll get in an envelope and pìss away a few minutes later on a phone or a games console, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

3 hail a murries and 4 where is me farder.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    OP you could make a donation to a children's charity on behalf of the child, then print out the receipt and put it in an envelope before you present it to the child.

It teaches them the true meaning of it's better to give than it is to receive and it's a lesson that'll stay with them a lot longer than the couple of euro they'll get in an envelope and pìss away a few minutes later on a phone or a games console, etc.

Sound good Czarcasm. Have you tried this yourself though, and if so how did it work out?
    Just curious like :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

It was £20 when I was doing it. It was €50 by the time by brother was doing it in 2004. It must have gone up to €80 by now.

By doing it, I mean making the confirmation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

€10 to neighbours kids , €20 to friends kids and €50 for nieces and nephews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Pay their iPhone bill for the month. That will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Imagine the look on the kids face when your card says a donation has been made in their name, it's fcuking priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I gave €50 to my Godson. Other nephews and nieces got €20 and the neighbours kids can bog off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Imagine the look on the kids face when your card says a donation has been made in their name, it's fcuking priceless.

Make sure it's a donation to The Human Fund.

Human, we speak light of it now, but we are entwined with non humans, smiley face and big people nappies (diapers).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

My cousin got over a 1000 for his communion. What the fuq does an 8 year old do with 1000 euro?

No wonder the country is broke.

syklops wrote: »
    My cousin got over a 1000 for his communion. What the fuq does an 8 year old do with 1000 euro?

No wonder the country is broke.

lots of sweets, and the odd bitchisness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Nelly 21

For me it depends on how you're related to them, my god child got her confirmation I gave her E100, when my nephew got his I gave E20 and when my cousins child got his I gave him E10. E50 per child is outragous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Back in 2003 my wife's niece was getting her first communion. The minute it was over and they were outside the door of the church she got her mother to open the envelops so she could get the money and the mother took the cards and balled them up in her bag :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Heh, I don't recall getting anything for my confirmation or communion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

£52 for my communion and £90 for my confirmation...so being from cavan they are still in my account untouched :P