Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rebecca Knox SIGNS WITH WWE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cena

rovert wrote: »
    http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/wrestler-rebecca-ready-to-take-on-the-world-29181218.html

The best young wrestler of her generation before she first stopped Wrestling

Knew this since about October not sure if I mentioned it here but it I wasn't confident in the people who told me.

any pic of her

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

cena wrote: »
    any pic of her

sighs

216616_2325315331006_1193312681_32877357_2229782_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

any pic of her

Here you go < google images >

I'm suprised she hasnt got signed sooner tho. She is a good looking woman who can actually wrestle.

She finished her studying last year and Visas are a long wait

Yeah. Was just reading her wiki there. Seems she was doing a fitness course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cena

Who did she wrestle for in Ireland

She originally wrestled for NWA-Ireland. She was trained by Fergal Devitt.

Yeah. Was just reading her wiki there. Seems she was doing a fitness course.

Acting in DIT.

This should fill people in on her background:

Paige and Knox on the same roster Sweet Jesus.

Oh it was acting.

I reckon alot of current irish indie guys must be going mad jealous that Joey Cabray, Rebecca Walker and now Rebecca Knox have signed with WWE :P .. it's only natural to have envy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Only saw this now. Sensational worker, delighted for her. I remember doing some chain with her before in training, when I was still pretty inexperienced, and I couldn't keep track of everything she was doing she was that quick and skillful. I've been lucky enough to be able to be in the ring with some of the best this country has provided and that NEVER happened with anyone else, I was blown away. Also saw her in the women's contest of Mr Ireland a few years back and she was in phenomenal shape then too. Has the look they like too, obviously. Didn't know she was still wrestling tbh. She should do very well for herself there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

This still blows my mind as a signing story. I know she has be training and working out hardcore but she has only had what 2-3 matches in front of an audience in the last 5 years? I know WWE sign untrained models but on that front she has no press photos of her posing or being a Wrestler. There's nothing on her social media pages I think either.

I guess that was design if she was under a Paige/Brittani Knight level confidentiality agreement where you couldn't tell anyone and WWE is monitoring all your public communications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

This still blows my mind as a signing story. I know she has be training and working out hardcore but she has only had what 2-3 matches in front of an audience in the last 5 years? I know WWE sign untrained models but on that front she has no press photos of her posing or being a Wrestler. There's nothing on her social media pages I think either.

I guess that was design if she was under a Paige/Brittani Knight level confidentiality agreement where you couldn't tell anyone and WWE is monitoring all your public communications.

Sorry to derail this, and of course, kudos to Ms. Knox, but is there a link to the Channel 4 doc that Paige did about her wrestling family? I missed it when it was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,809 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Sorry to derail this, and of course, kudos to Ms. Knox, but is there a link to the Channel 4 doc that Paige did about her wrestling family? I missed it when it was on.

It was on channel 4 so It should be on 4OD.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I wonder if she went to Florida and paid to take part in one of the try outs FCW have or was she recruited/given a try out by someone who remembered her?

either way its a great story considering she was hurt and had to leave wrestling at one point.

You've answered your own question there really. It's not only a thing with girls either, guys get tryouts pretty much based on the basis of either promo pics or contacts/tip-offs from reliable sources. The reality is that 'the look' is the hardest of tools for people to get, the rest can be worked on and refined within a year with their trainers, but if someone can't get themselves in shape or (in the case of women) looking amazing on camera, then they're useless to WWE.

The fact that she actually can work is a nice bonus for them, as far as they're concerned. And it'll really stand to her in developmental and if she gets called up to the big leagues. Both her and Paige have the potential to be big on a Trish Stratus-level there, they're in a different league in the ring to a lot of what's already there, so all they need to learn is how to adapt what they already know to TV and the big crowds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I mistakenly read the thread title as "Amanda Knox signs with WWE".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Congratulations to her, always great to see another Irish talent make the big leagues.

Trying not to troll here but is the Irish Herald a reliable source for a wrestling story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,701 ✭✭✭JJayoo

They could put her in as the girlfriend/sister of sheamus.

leggo wrote: »
    You've answered your own question there really. It's not only a thing with girls either, guys get tryouts pretty much based on the basis of either promo pics or contacts/tip-offs from reliable sources. The reality is that 'the look' is the hardest of tools for people to get, the rest can be worked on and refined within a year with their trainers, but if someone can't get themselves in shape or (in the case of women) looking amazing on camera, then they're useless to WWE.

The fact that she actually can work is a nice bonus for them, as far as they're concerned. And it'll really stand to her in developmental and if she gets called up to the big leagues. Both her and Paige have the potential to be big on a Trish Stratus-level there, they're in a different league in the ring to a lot of what's already there, so all they need to learn is how to adapt what they already know to TV and the big crowds.

Paige's popularity on the Full Sail campus is getting absurd. She got an Austin pop on last week's NXT. Heard Emma's (the girl who dances) is even louder.

Guess I am going to have dig out Shimmer Vol 3-6 some time soon. Sooo pissed that she wasn't able to do her 60 minute Iron Woman match with Daizee Haze as it was so well built up.

Charisteas wrote: »
    Congratulations to her, always great to see another Irish talent make the big leagues.

Trying not to troll here but is the Irish Herald a reliable source for a wrestling story?

The traditional Wrestling media hasn't said peep. But I don't think the Herald would make up a story about an obscure Wrestler. Not that desperate or creative.
    JJayoo wrote: »
    They could put her in as the girlfriend/sister of sheamus.

She is a zillion times a better heel.

But if they decided to include her in a story line with Sheamus they could pretty much put her on tv immediately. Her onscreen wrestling might be limited but she would get airtime/experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

JJayoo wrote: »
    But if they decided to include her in a story line with Sheamus they could pretty much put her on tv immediately. Her onscreen wrestling might be limited but she would get airtime/experience.
    Jealous ex then?

Not sure why she needs to be with Sheamus but anyway.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Jealous ex then?

Not sure why she needs to be with Sheamus but anyway.

The jealous ex thing could be perfect. Cena could start ploughing her, the perfect way to turn him heel and turn Sheamus into the main babyface :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭QikBax

Sheamus tweeted:

"Massive Congrats 2 @RebeccaMQuin who just signed with the WWE.Really looking forward to seeing her & @RealPaigeWWE tear it up in a WWE ring!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

I hadn't heard of her before but just checked out a promo of hers on youtube where she calls Allison Danger a knacker straight out, I'm in love already :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

In 3 years time WWE roster could be bloody incredible with the talent already there plus the seriously good people in developmental. Someone somewhere in recruitment deserves a pay rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Had no choice to start looking into recruiting on the indies really,all the Brock/Angle/Lashley type amateur athletes and failed college football players they successfuly recruited in the past are now choosing to try their hand in MMA these days instead of wrestling.

Plus the success of Punk/Bryan etc also probably helped.

Had no choice to start looking into recruiting on the indies really,all the Brock/Angle/Lashley type amateur athletes and failed college football players they successfuly recruited in the past are now choosing to try their hand in MMA these days instead of wrestling.

Plus the success of Punk/Bryan etc also probably helped.

What's even better is that guys can genuinely feel like they'll get a decent chance if they sign with WWE now which wasn't always the case in the past.

I hadn't heard of her before but just checked out a promo of hers on youtube where she calls Allison Danger a knacker straight out, I'm in love already :D

Her personality in the ring was dynamite turning Paddywhackery on it's head by trolling the Yanks with it.

Shame her Shimmer stuff isn't on online as Shimmer and fans rightfully watch and report illegal videos like a hawk. But trust me her mat wrestling and suplexes were better than all but an elite few of men let alone women. She wasn't a flyer at all but she was definitely on par with Fergal Devitt on the mat. On that note this signing Fight Factory Pro has likely solidified itself as the best school in Europe.
    What's even better is that guys can genuinely feel like they'll get a decent chance if they sign with WWE now which wasn't always the case in the past.

If Rebecca did sign back then/in her early 20s it would have been a complete disaster for an impressionable woman. For women back then it was all about doing HGH (as most Divas did then), botox and as the environment was so based on looks and catty shoving a load of Valium down you as you were so depressed.

On that note this signing Fight Factory Pro has likely solidified itself as the best school in Europe.

I've no problem with Fight Factory and, to be fair, they have churned out several talented wrestlers (which shows they are a reputable school)...but I take issue with this statement. In indie wrestling, the cream rises to the top. You look at Chris Jericho and Lance Storm, for example, who were trained in the 'legendary' Hart Dungeon but didn't rate their training at all...they got where they were solely on the fact that they worked their arses off.

A school can only teach you so much, so the illusion that there's a 'best' school is just human nature to naturally compare and contrast rather than actually understanding the nuances of a certain situation. Wrestlers learn the basics in schools then the rest in front of a crowd (once they make their debut the school is more 'practise' than learning - to develop new ideas etc - if that makes sense). Then it depends on how much you're willing to work on yourself, how much you're willing to put yourself out there and who you're lucky enough to encounter along the way to help you get to the next level.

The idea that a school can get you to the top is a massive fallacy, even good wrestling schools operate on a 95% 'failure rate' (because the vast majority, myself included in this statement, don't have what it takes to succeed at a high level). Schools only push this angle to sell potential trainees on their product. It's marketing, nothing more.

For those who think I'm arguing this because I used to be with IwW, I'll say hand-on-heart that Sheamus didn't get where he got because of the IwW school either. He got there through his own hard work and dedication. And to credit IwW for 'creating' him is simply wrong (though they did him a lot of favours; the company was built with one of its main goals being to get Sheamus to the WWE).

In short, Rebecca Knox got signed because of Rebecca Knox, not because of FFPW (well, NWA-Ireland as it was known then) or anyone else. Same with Sheamus, Devitt, Joe Cabray etc. The guys in the respective promotions of those who 'made it' should take heart in that they played a small part in getting them there, but only a small part.

I don't disagree with the thrust of your point. I don't want to get into a flame war about schools . Just personally I've always thought FFPW/NLW/NWA Ireland turned out people with very strong (British style) fundamentals compared to mixbag IWW talent at the very least from this outsider's perspective. One school has sent wrestling wrestlers all over the world and other one had someone who worked on their presentation until WWE scooped them up and the another wrestler worked on comedy is still making a serious go of it in England. I know real life and injuries got in the way for some in IWW but at the end of the day that was the story. IWW did put on some kick ass with and without fly ins.

Until someone tells me otherwise I still think what I said about FFPW is true.

Oh no, don't get me wrong, the last thing I want is a flame war or anything along the lines. Sorry if it came across that way, I'm just chatting like. That's a fair point though, the wrestlers that a certain promotion churn out are definitely a fair way to judge what product you enjoy best. I wouldn't disagree with that at all.

All I'm saying is that schools play a very small part in someone's overall outcome, in that if a wrestler works hard enough and has the ability, they'll make it regardless of where they train. Sheamus, Devitt and Knox would've likely made it even if they'd have started out in a school where the 'promoter' routinely threw wrenches at the ring. For example, Sheamus was massively underwhelmed by the first school that he trained to become a wrestler in while in the States, so he came home and ended up finding a school there that taught him what he needed to know to move to the next level (All-Star). He made it happen for himself regardless of setbacks. Therefore there is no real 'best' when it comes to schools set up for wrestlers to make it in. Those who are going to succeed, will succeed.

Until someone tells me otherwise I still think what I said about FFPW is true.

... and i'm that person :pac:

Lol nah, but seriously, Leggo is right. These guys get themselves signed. Doesn't matter what school they go to.

Dare I be so blunt, the level of training in Ireland isnt the best (actually, the same goes for near enough every where else too) Generally you are thought the fundementals. Then you go out and learn/obtain the rest on your own. I think it's unfair to say what school is the best or not ... because it all comes down to the individual.

leggo wrote: »
    Oh no, don't get me wrong, the last thing I want is a flame war or anything along the lines. Sorry if it came across that way, I'm just chatting like. That's a fair point though, the wrestlers that a certain promotion churn out are definitely a fair way to judge what product you enjoy best.

Also any Irish person thinking of becoming a wrestler doesn't have to fly to American or the UK for their initial training given the success of FFPW in turning out quality wrestlers.
    ... and i'm that person :pac:

Lol nah, but seriously, Leggo is right. These guys get themselves signed. Doesn't matter what school they go to.

Dare I be so blunt, the level of training in Ireland isnt the best (actually, the same goes for near enough every where else too) Generally you are thought the fundementals. Then you go out and learn/obtain the rest on your own. I think it's unfair to say what school is the best or not ... because it all comes down to the individual.

Judging the school by it's graduates is a more than fair basis IMO. Who else in Europe is having similar success?

But have you not been listening to me or Leggo? :confused:

Your wrestling school is the starting point. Where you learn the fundementals. It's actually what you learn AFTER that is what will make you get signed or not.

It's the individual, not the school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

In 3 years time WWE roster could be bloody incredible with the talent already there plus the seriously good people in developmental. Someone somewhere in recruitment deserves a pay rise.

Or john laurinaitis deserves a serious kick up the backside for doing a terrible job for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Is this not part of the new Triple H recruitment direction? Seems like since Triple H upped his backstage role, we've seen more influx of new talent in the last 2 years then we had in the last 8 or more years.

Charisteas wrote: »
    Is this not part of the new Triple H recruitment direction? Seems like since Triple H upped his backstage role, we've seen more influx of new talent in the last 2 years then we had in the last 8 or more years.
    I hope so because if it is down to Hunter then well keep seeing more of the same and that alone gives this fan a reason to keep watching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Christ, even as an Irishman her accent is like nails on a chalkboard. Knacker Sheamus in a wig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Les Ferdinand

I don't think that's her real accent. As far as I know she's from Clontarf, a fairly affluent part of Dublin and has a "posher" accent than the vid above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Her personality in the ring was dynamite turning Paddywhackery on it's head by trolling the Yanks with it.

Shame her Shimmer stuff isn't on online as Shimmer and fans rightfully watch and report illegal videos like a hawk. But trust me her mat wrestling and suplexes were better than all but an elite few of men let alone women. She wasn't a flyer at all but she was definitely on par with Fergal Devitt on the mat. On that note this signing Fight Factory Pro has likely solidified itself as the best school in Europe.

If Rebecca did sign back then/in her early 20s it would have been a complete disaster for an impressionable woman. For women back then it was all about doing HGH (as most Divas did then), botox and as the environment was so based on looks and catty shoving a load of Valium down you as you were so depressed.

HGH?

MrMac84 wrote: »
    HGH?

Human Growth Hormone. A "steroid". It keeps you lean while reducing your body fat.

Compare the bodies of Torrie Wilson, Dawn Marie, Sable etc of those currently on the roster. There is a noticeable difference.

All allegedly obviously.

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Christ, even as an Irishman her accent is like nails on a chalkboard. Knacker Sheamus in a wig.

That's not her real voice just the heel character she was doing. This is her real:

From 2 years ago when she returned to Shimmer and Wrestling to manage the riotous Knight family - Britani (WWE's Paige) and her mother Sweet Saraya.

Yeah, what I'd say on that point is that Ireland does the best with what it's got. This is the first 'generation', so to speak, of Irish wrestlers who are making it internationally...so with any sport the way it works is that they bring their knowledge back home when they're done and train up another generation that they themselves have inspired (Conor McGregor could do similar good work in the UFC).

By opening the door and showing people back home it can be done, in theory they've opened the net wider for more athletically gifted people to consider wrestling a viable option. For example, some 10-year old kid who could've been an amazing footballer for Ireland might be watching Sheamus in WWE right now and decide THAT'S what he wants to do with his natural athletic ability instead. That's not so much a recognised 'thing' here, but that idea is HUGE in the States where football, basketball, baseball, hockey and soccer are ALL competing for the athletic kids. And it's huge for good reason: because it works. Look how success has bred success in boxing here for generations now.

Considering that training here essentially started from scratch within the past decade or so, for a small country like this to be churning out so many success stories is somewhat impressive. But, in saying that, that also means that there are no Irish wrestlers who've wrestled longer than a decade...so it suffers on that basis also.

Human Growth Hormone. A "steroid". It keeps you lean while reducing your body fat.

Compare the bodies of Torrie Wilson, Dawn Marie, Sable etc of those currently on the roster. There is a noticeable difference.

All allegedly obviously.

Thanks.had never heard of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Reebrock

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Thanks.had never heard of it

We have lazier divas?

Reebrock wrote: »
    We have lazier divas?

Huh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭FFPW Office

First off thanks Rovert for the kind words about our school. It isn't stretching the truth to far to say that our small little school out in Bray has made waves all around the world with some of the biggest promotions around. I think its justified to say we are the best school in Europe hands down with the amount of success with have had with people who started in our school.

My main point about posting this is... Did anyone know the Rebecca Knox recently wrestled 2 shows for Fight Factory Pro Wrestling? If so, did anyone go to the show(s)?

Its very frustrating as a wrestle in Ireland because we are all trying to create a busy wrestling scene here but it seems the fans in this country don't come out and support it. I use the Irish promotions thread as an example. Shows get announced and no one talks about it. The talent in this country is world class in the ring, even if the promotions hosting it aren't. I think that's proved by the fact Devitt(NJPW) Tracey, Devlin, Maxer, Boyd and (soon) Morrisey will all have wrestled in Japan with Zero-1. Rebecca is WWE bound along with Cabray and Rachel. Everyone above has wrestled stateside and across Europe. Plus the next gen at FFPW have been having some of the best matches I've seen in years. There are at least 10 others on this isle that can have great matches. Not just good matches.

To the point, I'm not going on the offensive to fans here. I'm just trying to point out that more people should be coming to support Irish wrestling, there is like 6 shows in May alone between us, MSW, NLW and wrestling.ie, Zack Sabre Jnr from NOAH/WxW will be over for at least 1. Its time to start creating a buzz about what we all love, because the talent is HERE now, at least untill WWE sign it up.

I admit to being a fairly terrible Wrestling fan in terms of attending local shows. But in my defence both Naas and Bray are a bit of a pig to get to, I am studying at the moment and I have all sorts of family commitments. I have attended two shows near me in past year or so.

On Rebecca specfically I remember her first match being mentioned on shortish notice and the second one I don't I heard about in advance.

FFPW was going to upload her first match on Youtube but didn't I can fully understand given the WWE news Rebecca probably didn't want it out.