Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill repeats - North Co Dublin

• 04-04-2013 9:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭

With bright evenings here at last, need to do some hill repeats, looking for an alternative to Howth. Are there any hills, possibly longer than Howth (from Sutton side) out around Swords, Lusk, Skerries?

Staggerlee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Strava is your friend here for sure. But from my recent lost adventure in the Ard Cath / Stamullen/ Snowtown there are no shortage of lumps and bumps. Garristown/Oldtown area also has some nice drags on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

just north of swords is Naul, Ballyboughal etc. Lots of hills that way. Look at the segments on strava aswell - you might be able to get some from there.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Ardgillan on the coast road between Skerries and Balbriggan - short and sharp - 80m of climbing over 1.8km

The Nag's Head from the Old N1 (R132) at 5 Roads - slightly longer but not so steep with a nice kick-up at the end if you take the right turn to the quarry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

This climb up to Bellewstown from the Juilanstown to Duleek Road is around the toughest I have come across in the NCD area. It may be a little out of your way but its worth a go.

detones wrote: »
    This climb up to Bellewstown from the Juilanstown to Duleek Road is around the toughest I have come across in the NCD area. It may be a little out of your way but its worth a go.

evil climb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I head straight up from Ballyboughal heading in the Naul direction until you cross the motorway and then turn round and head back the same way, plenty of climbs one after the other without the boredom of repeats, and you get them all from the other side on the way back!

lennymc wrote: »
    evil climb.

Sure is, last time I went up someone had painted a nice smiley face on the road near the end just at the steepest part, masochists!

Going to hit it this weekend and try make it without breaking out the granny gear.

this one time at the end of 95k training spin i convinced a club mate (who is on here) that we should do it. Oh how he cursed me. Oh how I cursed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Sure is, last time I went up someone had painted a nice smiley face on the road near the end just at the steepest part, masochists!

That was the nice man that runs Swords CC's annual sportive. If you want to know about hills in NCD/Meath, it's the event for you - think Tour of Flanders without the arse pinching. A plethora of hills are available - http://app.strava.com/activities/23595773 . Shameless (early) plug for this year's event which will be run the same day as the Worlds - plan is to select a venue for riders to watch the closing stages after their exertions.

I wouldn't be a fan of overly long hill repeats. The final steep section of Snowtown from the North works well - http://app.strava.com/activities/22900544#408886036 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭brasshead

Ardgillan x 5 times. There are some Swords CC riders on here who have been known to do it under cover of darkness (masochists :D).

I also like the Nags head too as it's a longer descent allowing for more recovery time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭bren_mc

this one time at the end of 95k training spin i convinced a club mate (who is on here) that we should do it. Oh how he cursed me. Oh how I cursed me.

i'm still cursing you lenny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭furiousox

That was the nice man that runs Swords CC's annual sportive. If you want to know about hills in NCD/Meath, it's the event for you - think Tour of Flanders without the arse pinching. A plethora of hills are available - http://app.strava.com/activities/23595773 . Shameless (early) plug for this year's event which will be run the same day as the Worlds..

Yes but will non-club members be able to take part this year?
    Otherwise it's a club spin, not a sportive.

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Only very recently discovered Nags Head, very comparable to the Sutton side of Howth hill.

I like Snowtown North (heading towards Naul), and used to do the odd repeat session on Greenanstown, which is the next road parallel to Snowtown North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Non-members welcome this year to the best of my knowledge. There are rumours of online entry and other new-fangled innovations. Offerings being made to the weather gods in order to achieve our target of getting the number of finishers into double figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

bren_mc wrote: »
    i'm still cursing you lenny :D

I hear you Bren, i did the commute into work this morning with him, so i was naturally cursing him all day! To make matters worse we had a head-wind on the way home this evening, so there was no end of cursing him there too....im tired of cursing now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Yeah that headwind caught me out on the way home yest.
    And padjo I believe some bollix on a Blue Audi 'beeped' at yis just after applegreen but yis never waved back.

Anyway all this talk of North County Dublin reminds me of this http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056759493

Anyone have an appetite for a version 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

bcmf wrote: »
    And padjo I believe some bollix on a Blue Audi 'beeped' at yis just after applegreen but yis never waved back.

I thought that was a gyppo!!! Ha ha.....sorry! Thanks for bipping though!

OP, there are a number of climbs up to Bellewstown which are ideal for repeats, that Strava link will show you which might fit your requirements best. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

evil climb.

Never done it, but have cycled the duleek road alot this winter and that climb has been taunting me all year, "come and have a go if you think your hard enough".

What's it like coming back down, looks a bit hairy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Anyway all this talk of North County Dublin reminds me of this http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056759493

But that was just the for the weak version of the boards evil 200....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

drogdub wrote: »
    Never done it, but have cycled the duleek road alot this winter and that climb has been taunting me all year, "come and have a go if you think your hard enough".

Never actually gone down it. Usually too zonked to even contemplate so I just roll on in whichever direction the wind is blowing.

drogdub wrote: »

I like it

http://app.strava.com/segments/1219314

i told ye, I recognised ye, saw it was you and kind of hid my face and looked the other way (ye know the way you do when you see someone you dont really want to talk to.... :p)

OK OK but I have my sons super soaker loaded for the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

colm_gti wrote: »
    Only very recently discovered Nags Head, very comparable to the Sutton side of Howth hill.

I like Snowtown North (heading towards Naul), and used to do the odd repeat session on Greenanstown, which is the next road parallel to Snowtown North.

Got a Strava link Colm? Loads of hills up in NCD I'm completely unaware of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Just make sure your brakes are up to snuff. There's a few dips and potholes too, from what I remember.

Got a Strava link Colm? Loads of hills up in NCD I'm completely unaware of.

I do of course....

Nags Head

Snowtown

Greenanstown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Rita1

Come up to Donegal

http://app.strava.com/segments/2608301

I dont know how to hyperlink the name of it but it called "The Brae Road".

You can stay in my house at the top of this if you like :D

I just learned how to do it: The Brae Road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Managed to get lost out NCD way yesterday (on purpose of course) and came across quite a long, strenuous enough (im not exactly a climber, so YRMV) climb between Ashboure and Garristown. No idea of names, but maybe someone knows.

Ashbourne to Garristown is uphill enough alright, don't think any of the climbs have actual names though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

colm_gti wrote: »
    Ashbourne to Garristown is uphill enough alright, don't think any of the climbs have actual names though.

Probably an idication that it's not as steep as I thought it was. All tough climbs have names :)

No, no, that spin is definitely pretty tough when you're going full gas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Rita1 wrote: »
    Come up to Donegal

http://app.strava.com/segments/2608301

I dont know how to hyperlink the name of it but it called "The Brae Road".

You can stay in my house at the top of this if you like :D

I just learned how to do it: The Brae Road
    You should try the Gap of Mamore- http://app.strava.com/segments/700540 - not too far from you.

I'm still traumatised after it. The most difficult physical thing I've ever done - my nose even began to bleed as I neared the top (and the bloody Garmin didn't register the segment properly after all the effort!). Most of the top of the leaderboard are 2012 Ras riders - 24th May.
    The backbreaker comes soon afterwards when the contenders slug it out on the legendary Mamore Gap.

You should try the Gap of Mamore- http://app.strava.com/segments/700540 - not too far from you.

I'm still traumatised after it. The most difficult physical thing I've ever done - my nose even began to bleed as I neared the top (and the bloody Garmin didn't register the segment properly after all the effort!). Most of the top of the leaderboard are 2012 Ras riders - 24th May.

:D This is so funny, I can't stop laughing.

I know all about Mamore and your dead right its a tough climb, what a deaster regarding your Garmin you should have started again when you got it sorted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Grown men have wept with joy having reached the summit of Mamore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2312579

Some good NCD hills in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

chakattack wrote: »
    I hadn't the energy to weep. I just let the bike fall and collapsed in a heap on the side of the road and lay there for about 10 minutes disregarding the blood running from my nose and the few motorists staring at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

chakattack wrote: »

I fell into a ditch after the hill climb champs there one year. Didn't get out for a good ten minutes.

I hadn't the energy to weep. I just let the bike fall and collapsed in a heap on the side of the road and lay there for about 10 minutes disregarding the blood running from my nose and the few motorists staring at me.
    Raam wrote: »
    I fell into a ditch after the hill climb champs there one year. Didn't get out for a good ten minutes.

The joys of Mamore Gap.....come up if you think your hard enough:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Skerries to Lusk via Barnageerah, Balrothery and Manowar has a lovely collection of tough climbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭ian_rush

Not sure what makes a good repeat but these are decent digs that nobody seems to have mentioned. I can't imagine wanting to repeat bellewstown after getting over it once.

http://app.strava.com/segments/1353657

http://app.strava.com/segments/685988

http://app.strava.com/segments/811824

As a matter of interest, what is the approach to doing repeats. Does one just reach the top, turn around straight away and do it again? Or are you supposed to recover and then go again? Is that boring as ... or does spitting bronchiolar blood distract you enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭ian_rush

That deserves its own thread.

Did it earlier today.
    It's short and intense, a lot harder than the Naul climb.
    Gotta be added to the regular training spin though!

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    Did it earlier today.
    It's short and intense, a lot harder than the Naul climb.
    Gotta be added to the regular training spin though!

Going to hit it in the morning all going well. Will do a few of the others mentioned too. Its a big effort to get my fat arse up these hills. I do expect to see my weatabix launched at some stage.

When I got to the top I hung a left, then took a right which gives you a bit more climbing up to the Naul.

CPL 593H

ian_rush wrote: »

Was thinking about it today and ,like the last time, I have the bones of a (tough) route in my head and a coffee stop built in.
    Problem is getting a day. Anyway will start a thread in a week or two see what the reaction is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭brasshead

Here's another good one.

brasshead wrote: »
    Here's another good one.
    Also known as 'The Bog Berg' .
    Also known by me as 'One of those hills to be avoided if at all possible'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

brasshead wrote: »
    Here's another good one.

If you push on from there and up to Hollywood Quarry, you'll come out towards the top of the Nags Head climb.

Decent views on the way up.