If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Most annoying mispronunciation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

And I also hate people complaining about "ye." It's a perfectly cromulent word that's quite useful, making it clear you're talking to multiple people.

Ah ok, using the joke Simpsons word, grand so.

ruthloss wrote: »
    I also hate the 'do be' and the 'does be' brigade

That comes from translating Irish to English. I kinda like it, it's unique to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Ah ok, using the joke Simpsons word, grand so.

I actually think it is grand. Of course, one could also use words like "acceptable" or "legitimate," and the joke in The Simpsons was that "cromulent" was not a standard word, being only used in Springfield.

But it's actually quite a useful word, being more specific than "acceptable" or "legitimate" as it refers to language in particular.

That's what's so great about English: it's always expanding and becoming more flexible, using words from a variety of sources to fill niches where we don't have a particular word in English (we can also thank the Simpsons for "schadenfraude," and the Germans too, I suppose), embiggening the language every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

A teacher of ours gave up on us and said as she wrote on the blackboard.,

"When you see 'THREE' ....say.....'FREE', it's not quite right but it sounds better than TREE".:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

The way some English people don't pronounce the h in certain words. Like 'oliday' instead of holiday, or 'at' instead of hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Those idiots with that contrived pretentious moronic D4 (the ones who were not born anywhere near D4) accent who say everything is "Fuuntaaasssstiick", fantastic to you and me, the poverty stricken fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

English people who can't say 'Doherty' properly but instead say 'Dockerty'

Irish people who say derrby instead of Dahbey. (Derby)

we can also thank the Simpsons for "schadenfraude,"

For popularising it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I've discovered that to a lot of English people, we all sound like this.

the way some English people over pronounce the G at the end of words like its a word itself annoys me, "that got me thinkinggg-uh!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

As it's a soft c in discipline, I can't figure how they'd sound different. :confused:

Because they pronounce it with 2 hard s's - dis sipline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

THIGH-Land :confused:

What is the problem with (some Irish people) and Thailand?

Correctly pronounced as 'Tie-land'.

Irish people who say derrby instead of Dahbey. (Derby)

Yes, and while we are on that, there is no 'T' in WimblDon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

Coowers Light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

People that say prosidents instead of protestants. And I still have a mate that can't say hospital either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭scoobydoobie

Forgetting the letter g at the end of most words ending in ing,
    also missing t at the end of words, sambridge instead of sandwich,
    are, air, ur, r, instead of our, the worst is when you see people who pronounce words wrong thinking that is how it is supposed to be written,
    and txt talk is just ruining it all, init.:)

Shenshen wrote: »
    The car is called Pur-shou. .

Why would you randomly introduce an r into it? :confused:
    I could understand if you were from the UK maybe but puh, not pur

LordSutch wrote: »

Here we go with the h again. How is thigh pronounced differently to tie? Who puts so much emphasis on the h?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

My mother... much as I love her, is the WORST at this.

Vegetable becomes veg-e-table
    Umbrella becomes um-bur-ella
    Therapy becomes ther-u-by
    She has two friends called Violet and Cheryl. She calls them Voy-let and
    Ch-er-rill.

OH MY GOD!! It's SOOOOO annoying. And if she tried to pronounce a long word, she'll always stumble over the beginning. So something like Kinesiology will become "kin, kinay, knees, ology kin, knis"..... JAYSIS, it's not that hard!!!:mad:

I do love her though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

My main gripes are with:

1. People who pronounce Ireland "island".

2. People who say "crips".

3. People who say defin-I-tley

4. People who don't know the difference between prostrate and prostate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Here we go with the h again. How is thigh pronounced differently to tie? Who puts so much emphasis on the h?

Who? THAI-land is a very common pronunciation in Ireland.

Gotta be specific / pacific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭macsauce

Daveysil15 wrote: »

Wow. I don't know what to say to this one... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

For popularising it?

Yes, and introducing it to the English language, as there was no English word with "shadenfraude's" specific meaning.

People pronounce it like that because most words beginning with "th" are pronounced with the same sound as in "thigh," "thirty" etc. and most people don't mention the country too often. It might be more common in Ireland as some people here pronounce words like "Thomas" and "Thames" with with the "h" as well.

I don't understand how people don't understand why many people pronounce the word this way.

Wurly wrote: »
    My mother... much as I love her, is the WORST at this.

Vegetable becomes veg-e-table
    Umbrella becomes um-bur-ella
    Therapy becomes ther-u-by
    She has two friends called Violet and Cheryl. She calls them Voy-let and
    Ch-er-rill.

OH MY GOD!! It's SOOOOO annoying. And if she tried to pronounce a long word, she'll always stumble over the beginning. So something like Kinesiology will become "kin, kinay, knees, ology kin, knis"..... JAYSIS, it's not that hard!!!:mad:

I do love her though. :)

My Gran makes up words.

Her friend ran off to Canaidia and married a negroid.
    and her favourite music is CABINTEELEY....(Cavatina)
    She got wood 'pelvices' for her windows.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Raekwon wrote: »
    Everybody from outside the pale saying "Ye" instead of "You"

people from inside the pale saying yous, instead of ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

People who say briquettes as if it only has one syllable.

People who pronounce Daíl as "Doyle". They think they're speaking Irish but no, they just sound like dikcs

I used to have an English teacher who, when we were reading King Lear, pronounced "Gloucester" and "Glau-chester". When I corrected her, she wouldn't believe me - until I told her I was from there.

Henlars67 wrote: »
    people from inside the pale saying yous, instead of ye

It's yizzers, thank you very much!

macsauce wrote: »
    Wow. I don't know what to say to this one... :rolleyes:

Fie?:D

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    People who say briquettes as if it only has one syllable.

Really? I don't know how that would even be possible.

It's common enough to mispronounce it as "bri-kits" but that still has two syllables doesn't it?

Who? THAI-land is a very common pronunciation in Ireland.

So do you pronounce 'three' differently to 'tree'?