Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golovkin

• 30-03-2013 11:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭

Don't get on here as much as i like but i what about that Golovkin??
    Looks like he has what it takes to become a legend, just wish the big names would get in the ring with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Boooourns wrote: »
    Don't get on here as much as i like but i what about that Golovkin??
    Looks like he has what it takes to become a legend, just wish the big names would get in the ring with him.

I really like him too.

I'd love to see him get it on with Martinez as I think they are the best two out there. Hard fight to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

megadodge wrote: »
    I really like him too.

I'd love to see him get it on with Martinez as I think they are the best two out there. Hard fight to call.

Yeah agree, two big punchers. Pity Di Bella admitted he won't put them in against eachother, he said it wouldn't make financial sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Boooourns wrote: »
    Yeah agree, two big punchers. Pity Di Bella admitted he won't put them in against eachother, he said it wouldn't make financial sense.

In an ideal world it would make financial sense. Instead the likes of Chavez Jr will always be a bigger money spinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭qwabercd

He is a machine. Fantastic jab., great power behind it too Never seems to get hurt either.

The problem is, nobody's gonna want to fight him. Not a big name but a massive threat. Although he does seem to be generating more and more interest.

He would crush Chavez Jr imo and would handle Alvarez too. Admittedly he hasn't been tested properly yet but I think he could take Martinez also. Would be a great fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭qwabercd

He is a machine. Fantastic jab., great power behind it too Never seems to get hurt either.

The problem is, nobody's gonna want to fight him. Not a big name but a massive threat. Although he does seem to be generating more and more interest.

He would crush Chavez Jr imo and would handle Alvarez too. Admittedly he hasn't been tested properly yet but I think he could take Martinez also. Would be a great fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

He's got an entire division avoiding him which says it all. Eddie Hearn himself admitted that nobody wants to fight him.

HBO seem to be behind him though which hopefully means he'll keep getting exposure, and eventually one of the top contenders will take their chances. The fight with Sergio would be amazing, but Sergio's on the farewell tour right now. Golovkin's not the kind of fight he's looking for.

Boom

1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Just watched his KO on the Japanese chap.
    His right hand is something else

I think Golovkin might actually have to go to 168 to find a decent opponent at this stage. There have been some murmurings that Macklin might fight him later in the year, but other than that, nothing.

At this point, Sergio, Geale, Chavez Jr, N'Dam, Quillin, Macklin, Sturm, Pirog, Barker, and Rubio have all said no to him already. Brian Vera looks like the only fighter who might step up but HBO rejected him in the past afaik, and Chavez Jr is also courting him for his comeback fight.

His options at 160 are extremely limited. HBO were ok with him destroying Proksa and Rosado to establish him in the American audience but they're going to want higher calibre opponents if they are to keep giving him these dates. It's not like he's a Haymon fighter who can get paid for fighting anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

The only middleweight alive today who would beat Golovkin in my opinion is Sergio Martinez. GGG at his best is an animal.

Word is Golovkin vs Macklin is in the works for June 29th, solid progress being made in talks.

Macklin will be murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Oh god Macklin will be KO bad Golovkin is a beast and no dought this is Macklin's last shot at a world title really want him to become a champ but he wont beat Golovkin he should go after Pirog or Quillin or Geale his best chances at a belt

gggevspx.png

Henno30 wrote: »
    gggevspx.png

Haha, I suppose you caught GGG calling Rosado a good boy.

Anyone know what happened in the Chavez-Macklin negotiations? I had heard the Chavez side wanted it at 164, but I don't know if that would be enough to collapse the fight on its own. It's possible they saw too much risk in Macklin as well.

Either way, being the first 'name' to step to Golovkin is a brave move from Macklin if it goes ahead. Quillin and Geale are obviously the opponents people want, but even if he got neither, taking a tune-up first wouldn't be that unreasonable. If this fight happens in late June, Macklin will be getting in the ring with Golovkin having fought just a single round in the previous 15 months. Considering the magnitude of the challenge, that is not good. Maybe HBO or K2 made it worth his while.

Will be a good fight if it happens. Golovkin really needs to beat a top ranked middleweight soon to put the Martinez fight in the picture and defeating Macklin would do that for him.

Chavez is a cruiserweight on fight night lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Macklin is seen as easy money for these lads. What's this, his 3rd crack at a belt in recent times?

To be fair, Macklin gave Sergio Martinez more trouble than plenty of boxers, even scoring a KD.

A nothing knock down. He posed some problems, big deal. He's seen as a low risk fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Golovkin being overrated I see.

walshb wrote: »
    A nothing knock down. He posed some problems, big deal. He's seen as a low risk fight.

He gave the best middleweight in the world a great fight, was robbed against Felix Sturm, just destroyed a 33-2 Alcine in one round and is rated as the fifth best middleweight in the world by the Transnational rankings, best ranking system out there with only Quillin, Chavez, Golovkin, Geale and Martinez better than him.

Low risk my ass. He's high risk, low reward and would trouble most everybody he fights.

Fat Dan says both fighters have accepted the match-up, DiBella hashing out the details with Loeffler and K2. Looks like this is going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I agree Macklin isn't necessarily "world class" but he's certainly no bum and not a pushover by any means. He gave a spirited performance against Martinez, a man who has lost only to quality opposition with his defeat to Margarito coming 13 years ago. Martinez later avenged his loss against Paul Williams and has been sitting as undisputedly the best middleweight champion for a while now. A loss to the likes of Martinez is no great shame.

Similarly he was robbed blind against Sturm, I remember being sickened at watching the fight. Typical "German fighter in Germany" carry on.

They're his only two recent losses walshb, and he's still very capable and game for anyone as has been shown by the fact he is the only middleweight with the balls to step up and fight Golovkin. He deserves a bit of credit to be fair. Similarly he's by far and away the best Irish contender we have at the moment and for some reason often got overlooked by fans in favour of the very mediocre Andy Lee.

FTA69 wrote: »
    I agree Macklin isn't necessarily "world class" but he's certainly no bum and not a pushover by any means. He gave a spirited performance against Martinez, a man who has lost only to quality opposition with his defeat to Margarito coming 13 years ago. Martinez later avenged his loss against Paul Williams and has been sitting as undisputedly the best middleweight champion for a while now. A loss to the likes of Martinez is no great shame.

Similarly he was robbed blind against Sturm, I remember being sickened at watching the fight. Typical "German fighter in Germany" carry on.

They're his only two recent losses walshb, and he's still very capable and game for anyone as has been shown by the fact he is the only middleweight with the balls to step up and fight Golovkin. He deserves a bit of credit to be fair. Similarly he's by far and away the best Irish contender we have at the moment and for some reason often got overlooked by fans in favour of the very mediocre Andy Lee.

Macklin is world class! He's ranked in the top five in the world!

Yes, fair play to him. I still think that the best in the world see him as nothing to really worry about. I thought he beat Sturm. Martinez beat Macklin fairly comfortably. A few problem moments, but when Sergio stepped it up he was far too good. I see Macklin like I see Barker and Lee and Murray. Decent euro level fighters who will always come up short againts real quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

I think there's truth in both sides of the opinions so far on Macklin. To me he is a world class fighter, but it's generally for about the first 7 or 8 rounds. If he doesn't KO a decent opponent within that time frame I worry about him because he starts to flag.

Macklin is world class! He's ranked in the top five in the world!

You know what I mean, there is a huge gulf between him and the likes of Martinez.

walshb,
    I see Macklin like I see Barker and Lee and Murray

I'd rate him a far better fighter than Lee or Barker.

You know what I mean, there is a huge gulf between him and the likes of Martinez.

walshb,

I'd rate him a far better fighter than Lee or Barker.

Why far better? What has he done to show that he is far better?

This is where I suppose I am coming from. Ratings don't always tell the whole story.

He beat Sturm anyway, regardless of what the judges said on the day, and he made a good show against Martinez. Similarly he has a better gas tank, is stronger than Lee, has more power than Lee and seems to make shorter work of his opponents. I think he'd knock Lee out within six rounds to be honest.

Let's see him and Lee fight. I don't think he hits harder. May have the better gas tank. Not a heavy hitter. Decent hitter. BTW, Sturm to me is one the weakest MW alphabet MW champs in history.

He definitely has the better gas tank. Any time I've seen Lee he's gotten utterly knackered half way through the fight, the fight against McEwan being one example where he was flagging completely (and losing on points) until he got the knockout. Similarly I think his power is in question with him being completely unable to hurt Chavez Jr, although they have an identical KO ratio my opinion is that Macklin poses more of a threat.

Regardless of Sturm being a poor champion, he's better than any opposition Lee has faced.

I'd love to see a fight between Lee and Macklin but it's one that Lee needs far more.

Beat better opponents. :pac:

Lee looked pitiful in his last fight, by the way. If he were to fight Macklin in that state he'd get brutalized.

I'd still pick JCC to beat Macklin. No point in extrapolation. Nobody knows how a Lee-Macklin fight goes. To me both are at or close to the same level. If that is world level, so be it. To me they do not at all excite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

I said it many times that Lee was going nowhere ,be one way traffic against Macklin

Macklin would beat Lee. Andy wouldn't be able to cope with the pressure. Lee's best chance at middleweight would be against a guy like Quillin who won't be looking to walk him down, a guy who wants to box on the outside like Lee does.

According to boxrec Golovkin is fighting Macklin. Great fight if true, a real indication of how well Golovkin will do against the big boys.

http://boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=356831&cat=boxer

The best fighter GGG has fought so far is only Proksa, who lost to Kerry Hope. To be fair, at least Golovkin knocked him down multiple times and brutalized him, like he should do.

I think this is a bigger fight for Golovkin than it is for Macklin. No one is going to expect Macklin to win, and realistically Macklin is never going to be a tier one titlist anyway. Weak titleholders are what he's after and he can still go after them no matter what happens in the 3G fight. If he goes the distance, or if he even puts up a real fight for 8-10 rounds then he'll enhance his reputation.

For Golovkin it's his first fight against a contender who has some name recogition at the top level. Nobody in the US knew who Proksa was, but Macklin has fought Sergio and scored a first round knockout on HBO against Alcine. So a lot of people are going to use this fight to gauge how real Golovkin is. A lot of people are going to use it as a point of comparison between Golovkin and Sergio, and an equal number of people are going to be waiting to pounce in the event of an unimpressive performance and declare him a hypejob.

If Golovkin blows Macklin out, and there's a very real chance of him doing that, then the Sergio fight is very much in the picture. And with that pampered moron Chavez Jr saying today that he's not interested in a rematch with Martinez it could be in the picture even sooner than we think. But either way the expectation level is extremely high now for Golovkin. Anything less than fireworks will elicit a harsh response from the critics.

I think this is a bigger fight for Golovkin than it is for Macklin. No one is going to expect Macklin to win, and realistically Macklin is never going to be a tier one titlist anyway. Weak titleholders are what he's after and he can still go after them no matter what happens in the 3G fight. If he goes the distance, or if he even puts up a real fight for 8-10 rounds then he'll enhance his reputation.

For Golovkin it's his first fight against a contender who has some name recogition at the top level. Nobody in the US knew who Proksa was, but Macklin has fought Sergio and scored a first round knockout on HBO against Alcine. So a lot of people are going to use this fight to gauge how real Golovkin is. A lot of people are going to use it as a point of comparison between Golovkin and Sergio, and an equal number of people are going to be waiting to pounce in the event of an unimpressive performance and declare him a hypejob.

If Golovkin blows Macklin out, and there's a very real chance of him doing that, then the Sergio fight is very much in the picture. And with that pampered moron Chavez Jr saying today that he's not interested in a rematch with Martinez it could be in the picture even sooner than we think. But either way the expectation level is extremely high now for Golovkin. Anything less than fireworks will elicit a harsh response from the critics.

Good post. I doubt that Golovkin blows him out early doors, but there's no way Macklin can win this fight, in my opinion. Lad's notorious for blowing his gasket and tiring out in the late rounds.

Golovkin seems sturdy as hell so far in the professional ranks, so Macklin isn't taking him out. He's going to have to try and outbox him, which may work for a while, until he gets caught by a tremendous punch.

GGG by mid-to-late stoppage I reckon. Macklin's a good middleweight but Gennady is a stylistic nightmare for him. Iron chin, decent stamina, laser-like accuracy, crushing power, etc.

Macklin would beat Lee. Andy wouldn't be able to cope with the pressure. Lee's best chance at middleweight would be against a guy like Quillin who won't be looking to walk him down, a guy who wants to box on the outside like Lee does.

Yes, but Mackclin isn't all that rough or strong at MW. He's not a JCC kind of man. Big, rugged and strong, with heavy hands. Mackilin also isn't a great hitter. Lee may cope a lot better against a weaker MW. I would still favour Macklin, but only because Lee's stamina isn't as good. If Lee had more gas I may sway with Lee.

I had Macklin beating Sturm in a close fight. But, what stood out for me was how Sturm looked clearly superior anytime Sturm bothered to commit and open up. Sturm just wasn't busy enough. Plus, Sturm just isn't all that great!

Yes, but Mackclin isn't all that rough or strong at MW. He's not a JCC kind of man. Big, rugged and strong, with heavy hands. Mackilin also isn't a great hitter. Lee may cope a lot better against a weaker MW. I would still favour Macklin, but only because Lee's stamina isn't as good. If Lee had more gas I may sway with Lee.

Lee looks a really physically weak middleweight to me, weak enough for even Macklin to overwhelm him with activity. He's so upright and rigid that once guys get inside the jab he's really vulnerable. He doesn't have a terrible chin or anything but he has no defence on the inside, and he doesn't have the footwork to stop a guy cornering him. All that leads to him getting involved in slugging matches he's not at all suited for.

The interesting thing about Macklin would be the amount of leather he'd eat on the way in, given that he doesn't have any defence either. It's possible that Lee catches him with something significant given that his right hand is very respectable, but that's the only way he'd get out of that fight with a win unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Good news from Sky Sports.

Just announced we will be showing the huge fight between @mattmacklin & @gggboxing on June 29th! Huge night of boxing from Bolton & the USA.

Can't see it ending well for Macklin though.

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭Frank Gallagher pissed

Barker is definitely inferior to Macklin and Martin Murray imo, but theres a big possibility he could be a world champion in August.

Good matchmaking on their part. Geale and Quilin would have been alot easier than Sergio in Buenos Aires with a 40k crowd and Golovkin.

Whos Macklins promoter anyway? I know Murray is with the Hattons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Barker is definitely inferior to Macklin and Martin Murray imo, but theres a big possibility he could be a world champion in August.

Good matchmaking on their part. Geale and Quilin would have been alot easier than Sergio in Buenos Aires with a 40k crowd and Golovkin.

Whos Macklins promoter anyway? I know Murray is with the Hattons.
    Brian Peters is his promoter i am really suprised he hasnt split and signed with a big uk promoter wouldnt think Peters can offer much, I dont fancy Barker to win in Augest while Geale is by no means anything special Barker for me is really only European level and i think Geale is above that level, i'd fancy both Macklin and Murray to beat Barker and i would be on the fence with Barker vs Lee

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭Frank Gallagher pissed

Thought as much. Yeah I think he could have done better with Warren or Hearn. This is his 3rd world title fight in 4 fights and there is a high likely hood of him getting sparked out. I mean, where does he go from there? Hes done well to get these shots but there are easier fights out there. Geale or Quillin for example.

I think Sergio is done looking at his injury and the Murray fight. I guess we will see later this month if Golovkin is the real deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Is Lou Di Bello not Macklins promoter?I know Peters is involved but I thought DiBello called the shots or is it a 3 fight deal or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

yabadabado wrote: »
    Is Lou Di Bello not Macklins promoter?I know Peters is involved but I thought DiBello called the shots or is it a 3 fight deal or something.

DiBella is his promoter, Peters his manager.

1v8la.jpg