Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How far would you drive your tractor...

• 30-03-2013 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

to collect a low loader?

I’ve bought a new low loader from a supplier 175 km away. He wants 500 euro to deliver it, my tractor can do 40 kph , strongly considering travelling for it, 100 euro in diesel should do me. I can probably get cheaper quotes from hauliers but probably not less than 300. Anybody interested in a days tractor driving ???? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭NewBeefFarmer

more importantly what you driving?

135 or a JD?

what year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

From where to where? Maybe someone on here knows someone, if you know what I mean.;)

Post edit - It was Whelan1's hubby I meant, but he's pissed. Can you wait till he sobers up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Whelan 1,s oh collected a dump trailer for me along east coast
    Good rate no problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

dar31 wrote: »
    Good rate no problems

Goin on the chitchat thread, I'd give him him a few days to recover. He's under the weather! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Good rate no problems

Was going to suggest that too, it would be a long day on a tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Bizzum wrote: »
    Goin on the chitchat threaf, I'd give him him a few days to recover. He's under the weather! :-)

Must of missed that, better catch up on what's goin on around these parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

If its in the east going west load it to the hole with straw and youll twist a few pound out of it.

Must of missed that, better catch up on what's goin on around these parts
    Theres more to life than work :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

more importantly what you driving?

135 or a JD?

what year?
    1954 Ferguson 20 ....... TVO!:D

125hp '09 Massey

mf240 wrote: »
    If its in the east going west load it to the hole with straw and youll twist a few pound out of it.
    Thought of that too, travelling from north to north west, 8x4x4 bales of straw in Tyrone £70, not much to be made on them I'd say.

well, ull easily do it.

if u can take a day out to save 400 euro go for it.

id do it, take me time, radio on, (headphones) . . . sher.. . pitty its not wet. . . can you leave it for a wet day, i think rain is promised in August ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

remember going to draw silage for a guy once. set the odometer on the tractor leaving the yard as we were working on a different crew. when we got home that night it had clocked up 213 miles (341 km). also for the last few years the same crew have delivered seed barley to a depot that is 58 miles from base(93 km) and we never leave until after dinner to go, but we do have 50k tractors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Personally would get it delivered every time. Hate taking a tractor on the road at any distance,what with other drivers and rules to be watchin.and big new tyres getting burnt off

jp6470 wrote: »
    Personally would get it delivered every time. Hate taking a tractor on the road at any distance,what with other drivers and rules to be watchin.and big new tyres getting burnt off

I agree, artics overtaking on narrow stretches is never nice and the tyre wear is worth thinking about, but than again as DMAXMAN points out its only the equilivant of a day drawing silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Im sure the extra €400 to get it delivered could be better spent! There is a fella near me that goes from near tipp town to kildare once a week with a load of straw and stops on the way back for silage not a bother. 175k @ 40kph is about 4.4 hrs each way, easter holidays now some handy young fella would be easy got (if you would trust em with your shiny new trailer)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

go for it handy days pay and tyre wear is next to zero with no load behind and if you have time on your side go at 35k and 75 euro of diesel will do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 massey6480

Collect it youself lad have driven limerick to tralee on a good few occasion`s with lowloader and tractor on board .As long as the trailer is road legal you`ll have no problem`s . If nothing else you`ll get to see the country side.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

A lad beside us drove two 390s without cabs from waterford to galway in the early nineties , the father went with the same lad before my time to collect a screen from waterford with a 634 international . Three of them went down and took turns driving the tractor and the other two stayed behind in a van :eek: . Ill ask him the time it took again , I remember he said they had to draw straws to pick who could drive it through the village :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Milton09 wrote: »
    to collect a low loader?

I’ve bought a new low loader from a supplier 175 km away. He wants 500 euro to deliver it, my tractor can do 40 kph , strongly considering travelling for it, 100 euro in diesel should do me. I can probably get cheaper quotes from hauliers but probably not less than 300. Anybody interested in a days tractor driving ???? :)

Why did you go to a supplier 175 km away? Why didn't you bargain a delivery price when making the purchase?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

500 is way ott, oh charges a euro per km...

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why did you go to a supplier 175 km away? Why didn't you bargain a delivery price when making the purchase?

Wanted it straight from manufacturer (Chieftain) as it has a lot of extras and some custom bits. Pushed him to the limit when ordering, he wasn't for shifting in the 500.

whelan1 wrote: »
    500 is way ott, oh charges a euro per km...

Is that each way Whelan1?

yes, he has to get to the place, alot of people forget that

if you put an ad on dd, there might be someone looking for a backload, what part of the country are you in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

went from south meath to warrenpoint to collect a trailer, went at 9 stop in hanlons in dundalk for an hour and stop for dinner for an hour and was home at half 4! tractor could do 54 kph tho!

rs8 wrote: »
    went from south meath to warrenpoint to collect a trailer, went at 9 stop in hanlons in dundalk for an hour and stop for dinner for an hour and was home at half 4! tractor could do 54 kph tho!
    but if you add up what diesel you used, what you paid for your food and your time what was the cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

if you put an ad on dd, there might be someone looking for a backload, what part of the country are you in

or handyhaulage.ie ive used that once onlly got two calls but were good quotes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

but if you add up what diesel you used, what you paid for your food and your time what was the cost?

under €100 tbh! tractor isnt bad on diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 limiter12

I drove from charleville co.cork to clane co. monaghan with a low loader carrying machines for an civils contract. Dropped off the load picked up a machine dropped it down to dublin. And then took a backload to clane again. That was in a deere with a forthy k box and triaxle lowloader. Head up on sunday you will there before you know it. 430 euros in the arse pocket simples. Or you could always arrange to meet half ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Wanted it straight from manufacturer (Chieftain) as it has a lot of extras and some custom bits. Pushed him to the limit when ordering, he wasn't for shifting in the 500.

I have a lad bringing a silage wagon out of tyrone next week to sligo.
    PM me and i can sent you his details he might fit it.
    I'll know full details an tuesday.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Wait till monday after noon, all the townies will love ya when (if) you pull in.;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

limiter12 wrote: »
    I drove from charleville co.cork to clane co. monaghan with a low loader carrying machines for an civils contract. Dropped off the load picked up a machine dropped it down to dublin. And then took a backload to clane again. That was in a deere with a forthy k box and triaxle lowloader. Head up on sunday you will there before you know it. 430 euros in the arse pocket simples. Or you could always arrange to meet half ways.

are you sure you dont mean Clones? Or Clane in kildare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

moy83 wrote: »
    A lad beside us drove two 390s without cabs from waterford to galway in the early nineties , the father went with the same lad before my time to collect a screen from waterford with a 634 international . Three of them went down and took turns driving the tractor and the other two stayed behind in a van :eek: . Ill ask him the time it took again , I remember he said they had to draw straws to pick who could drive it through the village :D

The oul boy and his brothers got a gig cutting the grass between the runways and taxiways in Shannon airport for silage in the early 70's. He used to hit off at first light with the harvester on an early summer morning probably 4.30/5.00 am the rest would leave a few hours later they'd catch him near Limerick @ around 1 o'clock. He'd still have a couple of hours to do before he got there at that stage.

The job only lasted 2/3 years. After the first year the aer rianta guys drew out the loads so a few less tractors went. They were tipping it to be reloaded onto trucks in a lay-by near the airport. None of yer fancy 40k/50k boxes that time:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

The oul boy and his brothers got a gig cutting the grass between the runways and taxiways in Shannon airport for silage in the early 70's. He used to hit off at first light with the harvester on an early summer morning probably 4.30/5.00 am the rest would leave a few hours later they'd catch him near Limerick @ around 1 o'clock. He'd still have a couple of hours to do before he got there at that stage.

The job only lasted 2/3 years. After the first year the aer rianta guys drew out the loads so a few less tractors went. They were tipping it to be reloaded onto trucks in a lay-by near the airport. None of yer fancy 40k/50k boxes that time:D.
    They may have tipped caps at each other somewhere along the way :D
    Not many places like that to get grass anymore , we used to take round bales of hay/silage off the hospital here in galway one time . I would be days picking cans and rubbish out of it before it was baled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

When I was in secondry school in Limerick, there was one farmers son there who used to cut the heavy grass after the summer holidays. He'd be driving the tractor around outside with everyone else sitting in class, looking out at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 CAtocork

At 20 euro/hr for your tractor, 100 euro for your fuel and another 100 for your wages, it's a break even situation.
    I personally would not do it on my JD 6810, as I feel the field is the place for an oil driven 4X4 tractor.
    I do however have a 40 kph 2 wheel drive ford 8200 that I would do it on if I had nothing else to do.

its all grand when everything goes ok, but if you get a puncture etc... it makes a mess of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

If it was me this is the way I would look at it
    10 hr round trip at 10 euro an hour for the driver = 100
    diesel = 100

= 300 left over

300 to go towards your tractors running costs or 30 euro per hour. I would do it. Or rather my tractor would do it and I would sit at home and let a local lad who likes tractor driving to drive my tractor and collect it.

Or ring your local farmers son who draws silage for the local contractor using his own tractor and the contractors trailer (common enough around here way of doing things). These lads get about 28/hr and supply there own fuel/tractor/driver. Pay him 30/hr to be nice. = 300 so you saved 200 and you and your tractor never left the yard.

Or find a cheaper lorry to collect it

Left the house this morning at 04.00 and got back at 16.30, 35Kph all the way.

Not sure exactly how much diesel yet but it was slightly over a tank full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Fair play man. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

A 125hp Massey should hold around 250litre of diesel what is the model

Did you really save anything at all when time tyre wear depreciation etc and own labour are taken into account

stanflt wrote: »

Did you really save anything at all when time tyre wear depreciation etc and own labour are taken into account
    i get1 fill of tractor diesel a month, it ran out before the end of march so brought tractor to shop and put 60 euro of green in it, the needle went to half full:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

i get1 fill of tractor diesel a month, it ran out before the end of march so brought tractor to shop and put 60 euro of green in it, the needle went to half full:eek:

In the machinery ring here there is a tm125 01 and an 03 tm120

The 125 only has half the size tank of the 120 yet when working will do more work cause of the bloody emission regulations. My advice Whelan is never ever trade up cause diesel use will kill you

no intention of changing unless something happens to it

is that loader not picked up yet? :P

nearly do it myself for the lad at this stage!. :D

Nothing saved if I were to charge for my time, but as it happens this partiular saturday I could afford the time, plus I got to inspect it before it was delivered.

I had an older model, older engine of the same tractor and was better on diesel, same with all new engines these days.

Have a '95 case 125hp and a '01 case 110hp similar engine, but the '01 seems to use more diesel.
    Have also noticed that the digger is using more than it used to :confused:

600 litres always did me a month, not anymore, its a joke! is it different diesel or something?

Think so, glad i'm not doing much with the digger. It could get through €12-15k a year :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

If all of us farmers took own labour into account on the farm, we'd make nothing, if not running at minus figures.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

we seem to be flying through diesel here too compared to a few years ago. i think we all inclined now to use the bigger tractor for everything. I find myself now using the ford 5000 alot more instead of the bigger tractors. the 5000 will spread all the fert, do the topping, spread dung, rolling and will even draw silage in the summer compared to using the f140 or 110-90 for these jobs sure its double the power which is being completely wasted.