Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

temple bar riot video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Only lasted about 40 seconds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Austrian hooligans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

football hooligans maybe looked a bit organised. cops did well there they were lucky the "rioters" were wimps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

Is that what a riot looks like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

back in my day buses wer burned out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Rival Austrian soccer "fans", that's all. This happened back on Tuesday night and was in the news almost immediately.

As an aside, I think the bouncers reacted very well*

* I am not a bouncer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Have a look at this if you think that is good.

Bohs and rovers

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=dVW-2FkHpog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

Have a look at this if you think that is good.

Bohs and rovers

http://m.youtube.com/index?&desktop_uri=%2F

Its not that I thought the temple bar one was mental, was just wondering if people knew who was rioting, as they didnt appear to be Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

anhedonia wrote: »
    as they didnt appear to be Irish.

Ok, you're right.. they weren't Irish. Apparently they're apposing Austrian league team fans. It was preplanned..

What I'd like to know, is how from that video could you possibly say they wouldn't appear to be Irish? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭CONM

Ok, you're right.. they weren't Irish. Apparently they're apposing Austrian league team fans. It was preplanned..

What I'd like to know, is how from that video could you possibly say they wouldn't appear to be Irish? :P
    There's sound on the video!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Get BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SB2013

Probably by the foreign language they used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Gardai did well, very fast response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Teebor15

Fair play to the guy sortin out the bike at 05.40 ...yeah that bike had been looking for trouble all evening..sher he was locked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

It was one group of lads, the tall lad in the grey hoodie is put out one door of the pub, tries to get in the other and is refused there too.. Winds up his mates, the Garda public order unit (the lads in black) come running down from the Fitzsimmons direction and give a flew clatters.

Bouncers done well pulling down the shutters and keeping calm, bet most of the people in the bar didn't even know there was trouble outside.

No biggie really.

It was one group of lads, the tall lad in the grey hoodie is put out one door of the pub, tries to get in the other and is refused there too.. Winds up his mates, the Garda public order unit (the lads in black) come running down from the Fitzsimmons direction and give a flew clatters.

Bouncers done well pulling down the shutters and keeping calm, bet most of the people in the bar didn't even know there was trouble outside.

No biggie really.

What public order unit? They're regular Gardaí as far as i can see. And it's clearly a meeting of two gangs as opposed to some guy getting upset about being refused entry.

SB2013 wrote: »
    What public order unit? They're regular Gardaí as far as i can see. And it's clearly a meeting of two gangs as opposed to some guy getting upset about being refused entry.

I asked the lads, I know them well actually.

No one hurt, no damage to property. It happens more than people realize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,228 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

typical gardai he sees somebody moving out of the corner of his eye and then runs and bashes him over the head the guy isn't doing anything but just its another robocop

interesting that people can't see the difference between two gangs and gand riot cops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

typical gardai he sees somebody moving out of the corner of his eye and then runs and bashes him over the head the guy isn't doing anything but just its another robocop

interesting that people can't see the difference between two gangs and gand riot cops

Typical Gardai?

That's a fairly tame reaction in comparison to the one that they would be used to from Austrian police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Wahay... there's always one.... F*ck the pigs and all that eh? Sure those lads were peaceful and just wanting to hug people and the gardai brutalised them and infringed their human rights etc etc blah blah yawn.

I asked the lads, I know them well actually.

No one hurt, no damage to property. It happens more than people realize.

Well lads have a tendancy to talk up stuff like that. They all appear to be wearing regular uniforms in the video. And while I have no doubt the first group had already caused a bit if trouble to warrant the attendence of the Garda car that was already there, the actual riot would appear to be between two groups of fans.

I agree that this kind of stuff happens a lot more than people realise but it's generally the regular Gardaí that handle it. In the more remote places they often have the help of the bouncers as well as backup will be much longer arriving. I'm glad that this video shows a glimpse of what Gardaí have to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

I suspected they might not be Irish when I heard them chanting in a different language. Wasnt sure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Teebor15 wrote: »
    Fair play to the guy sortin out the bike at 05.40 ...yeah that bike had been looking for trouble all evening..sher he was locked!

He seem to be the antagonizing the police upfront, but when garda charged seem to end at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

All hooligans are scum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

No biggie really.

thats just not true , there was only two cops there to start with , the usual for a weeknight in temple bar, then back up arrived and the row broke up,

dont know who you think your talking to mate but your wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

thats just not true , there was only two cops there to start with , the usual for a weeknight in temple bar, then back up arrived and the row broke up,

Thats what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

If that was here ( austria) and they even threatened the cops, they would have been battered, proper battered.

The Austrian police do not fück around.

And there is no public CCTV here, so they are pretty safe to dole out the bashings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The amount of people presumably receiving that video, apparently not watching it all and then sending it on describing it a "riot", is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

When i saw that first i thought fair play to the first two Guards (is one of them female?),very brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I stopped looking when one guard broke it up :rolleyes:

All these wannabe hardmen are cringeworthy!

dont know who you think your talking to mate but your wrong

I work a door just around the corner from it, ain't a thing you can tell me about the goings on in Templebar.

But you continue to live your experience of Templebar through youtube cctv footage, sigh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

For the first few seconds I thought it was going to be a harlem shake video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Temple Bar Riot, aren't they a U.S skate punk band :)

I work a door just around the corner from it, ain't a thing you can tell me about the goings on in Templebar.

But you continue to live your experience of Templebar through youtube cctv footage, sigh.

you assume that im a keyboard warrior ,,, for shame for shame

how do you know i wasnt one of the fellas who arrived as back up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Very little actually happens in the video. A gang of Austrian fellas faffing about pretend fighting West Side Story stylee. Cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Was there even one punch landed in that entire video?

Call that a riot?

you assume that im a keyboard warrior ,,, for shame for shame

how do you know i wasnt one of the fellas who arrived as back up

Because Guards don't have beards, and I have a feeling you're not Austrian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Bunch of gobshítes.

Great reaction from the bouncers and response time from the Gardaí.
    Well handled I'd say, hopefully those rival Austrian fans are gone back to their own country now, don't bring that shít here, please.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Was there even one punch landed in that entire video?

Call that a riot?

Whoever titled that video would pee their pants if they ended up in the middle of a real riot zone.

Because Guards don't have beards, and I have a feeling you're not Austrian.

misinformed again makikomi lol you shouldnt believe everything you read onthe internet or hear on the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

misinformed again makikomi lol you shouldnt believe everything you read onthe internet or hear on the door

Eh no. Only with doctor's permission are you allowed sport a beard AFAIK.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

One hard man took on a bicycle all by himself .... and won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

anhedonia wrote: »
    I suspected they might not be Irish when I heard them chanting in a different language. Wasnt sure though.

How dare you make that assumption, they could be shiny new Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Usually, those fights are pre arranged. But if you do it in a foreign country, you pick a venue, which is famous, like Temple Bar. If that happened in Austria, they would have met somewhere out in the open, parking lots near the motorway are popular or a forest. Not joking, I wrote my thesis paper in college about that stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Can we please change the title to "a few knobs make noise and jump around like monkeys in templebar"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Can we please change the title to "a few knobs make noise and jump around like monkeys in templebar"?

I'd rather 'Myths Of Germanic Organisation Skills Dispelled'.