Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show, March 29th, 2013

• 29-03-2013 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Happy Easter Everyone!

Happy-Easter-with-Birds-and-Eggs.png

easter.jpg

I've absolutely no idea who will be appearing on the show tonight as there is nothing on the tweet machine as yet :(

I'll update this post as soon as any information becomes available :)

The Guestlist

Brendan Grace and Declan Nerney
    Chef Dylan McGrath
    TV presenters Darren Kennedy, Angela Scanlon and Laura Whitmore
    Autism discussion
    Former X Factor contestant, Mary Byrne
    Co-presenter of RTE's Four Live, Maura Derrane
    Trad music by Seamus Begley
    Discussion about Medugorje and miracles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Do they have a LLS on GF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

efb wrote: »
    Do they have a LLS on GF?
    Yes, there was a time under Gaybo's reign when there was no Late Late Show on a Good Friday but for the last ten years or so there has been a show. Sometimes the show was a pre-record, usually of the season's highlights. You'd be struggling to fill such a programme these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Tony Blair might well be on, he was on radio this morning. 15th anniversary of Belfast Agreement.

mike65 wrote: »
    Tony Blair might well be on, he was on radio this morning. 15th anniversary of Belfast Agreement.
    I wonder would the bold Bertie appear with him??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

From the RTÉ website. (Sorry I can't get the link to work. ;))

Special guest and popular RTÉ Superstar, Twink will mark her 250th appearance on the Late Late Show to discuss her recent panto success in Limerick and showcase her latest creative line in Hot Cross Buns !

Lapin wrote: »
    Nice try, we're not falling for that one :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Hot Cross Buns,
    Lets hope nobody gets burnt and the buns are not too cross.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Surely they mean she's celebrating her 250th Birthday? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Now, Lapin. You know I like you a lot, but we are going to have to have a chat about these mischievous posts about T***k appearing on the LLS. :mad::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Indestructable

Brendan Grace to open with a song, a charity single. Mary Byrne to sing a song, chef from Northern Ireland. Eh three young TV presenters and a group on talking about miracles in Medjugorje.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Yes, there was a time under Gaybo's reign when there was no Late Late Show on a Good Friday but for the last ten years or so there has been a show. Sometimes the show was a pre-record, usually of the season's highlights. You'd be struggling to fill such a programme these days.

I thought so too MrsD, but the LLS historians reckon Pat never did Good Friday either.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65195779&postcount=1
    The Late Late Show 02/04/10
    For the first Good Friday 'Late Late Show' in 15 years, Ryan Tubridy will be joined by an all-star line-up of musical guests.

I remember Gay doing one Good Friday in the nineties, he said it was accidentally scheduled so they just did it. I think he didn't bother after that.

Brendan Grace to open with a song, a charity single. Mary Byrne to sing a song, chef from Northern Ireland. Eh three young TV presenters and a group on talking about miracles in Medjugorje.
    Did you just make all that up? :eek:

Skid X wrote: »
    I thought so too MrsD, but the LLS historians reckon Pat never did Good Friday either.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65195779&postcount=1
    Good Lord, my mind is playing tricks on me again and I can't even blame it on the drink :D

image.jpg

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/sectors/media-and-marketing/star-salaries-at-rt%C3%A9-were-financially-unsustainable-and-offensive-to-many-1.1341003

How's about a caption competition to keep us going until we have some guest news?

"So I says "No, seriously - €723,000 a year, loads of time off and they let me swan over to the BBC whenever I like", so Obama says "I'm in the wrong job, can you put in a word for me?"

image.jpg

How's about a caption competition to keep us going until we have some guest news?

As Pat bent over in agonising pain brought on by a sudden heart attack, Ryan seized the moment to ask him if he was available to appear as a guest on tonights LLS if he survives, and describe the pain and agony he suffered in minute detail for the entertainment of the viewers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Tonight's guests include Miriam O'Callaghan, Joe Duffy. Marian Finucane, Derek Mooney etc. The panel will discuss the difficulties facing them as they try to adjust to life on their drastically cut salaries

Apparently it is a pre-record tonight.

Probably wise, it would be cruel to ask the Audience to sit through the show without having had a few drinks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Just saw on twitter Darren Kennedy & Laura Whitmore are on....to talk about what l do not know :confused: oh and someone called Dylan McGrath? is that the "try to look so angry like Gordon Ramsey" chef??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Who else would prefer a film!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

I nominate The Life of Brian for the day that's in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Me! I've been saying that for years though and it hasn't happened yet!

Over the last few months Tubs has been leaving really sad and seriously depressing items until last and I and many others have gone to bed very upset. I'm taking no chances this evening :mad:

I'm going to Sky+ Gaybo Laughs Back. It's on RTE 1 @ 6:30pm and for the people who miss it, it should be on the RTE Player.
    gaybo.jpg
    Gay Byrne presents a selection of the funniest moments from The Late Late Show, featuring comedians including Billy Connolly, Spike Milligan, Brendan O'Carroll and Niall Toibin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

l'v seen Gaybo laughs back at least 3 times now :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Also on tonight...Larianne from boards.ie (somewhere in the audience)!

Ah here, you're slipping up Welsh Megaman :p

Larianne was supposed to appear on the SNS last Saturday night but she ended up giving her tickets to her parents and her auntie.
    Larianne wrote: »
    Was meant to go to this tonight but sent my parents and auntie off to it instead! :D

jos28 wrote: »
    Tonight's guests include Miriam O'Callaghan, Joe Duffy. Marian Finucane, Derek Mooney etc.

The panel will discuss the difficulties facing them as they try to adjust to life on their drastically cut salaries
    There will be no audience prizes this evening, instead there will be a basket collection during the Ad break in support of the financially strapped RTE stars.

topimages-stewardship.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I'm going to Sky+ Gaybo Laughs Back. It's on RTE 1 @ 6:30pm and for the people who miss it, it should be on the RTE Player.

Episode 1/6 too. Missed this the first time (or four) that it was on, so I've sky+ed it. :)

The 'Gaybo Laughs Back' Complete Double DVD Boxset is on sale for €7.99 on the RTE Shop website, you could buy worse ;)
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS0jc9MuPi3DLALLZxH50WWl5G-IfcefM2RL9is3Gcs_b3EDmP3

http://shop.rte.ie/Product/Gaybo-Laughs-Back-The-Complete-Collection-DVD-Box-Set-2-DVDs/1288/2230.9

Classic Comedy Moments With:
    Frank Carson
    John Cleese
    Billy Connolly
    Eamon De Buitléar
    D'Unbelievables
    Dustin
    Lenny Henry
    Rod Hull & Emu
    Patrick Kielty
    Graham Norton
    Kevin McAleer
    Spike Milligan
    Dermot Morgan
    Dylan Moran
    Brendan O'Carroll
    Tom O'Connor
    Andrew Sachs
    Maureen Potter
    Tommy Tiernan
    Peter Ustinov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

image.jpg

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/sectors/media-and-marketing/star-salaries-at-rt%C3%A9-were-financially-unsustainable-and-offensive-to-many-1.1341003

"Dya see that?" said Tubs, "That's one of those fools who forks over a wad of wonga and expects a 'world class public service broadcaster'. Huh, what do they want for the buttons we get paid? A BBC service on a TV3 budget??"

"Ah no, stop it Ryan!" gasped Pat, "you're killin' me!!"

The 'Gaybo Laughs Back' Complete Double DVD Boxset is on sale for €7.99 on the RTE Shop website, you could buy worse ;)

That is a very reasonable price, and I see it is a region free DVD. It would be a nice present for someone living abroad who remembers the show during Gay's era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Saw on facebook that accordion player Seamus Begley is also on.... for any diddly diddle music fans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Funnyonion79

Hi All,

It's definitely a pre-recorded show - it was filmed last night. I can tell you that Maura Derane is on talking about autism, and Declan Nerney and Mary Byrne are also guests.

So yes, it looks like that's who they found skulking about the RTE canteen late, yesterday evening.

I think I'll have to give it a miss and watch The Good Wife and the Criminal Minds that I sky-plused instead - along with a few glasses of cheap French wine.

Happy Good Friday everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

They think we will attract bigger advertising revenue for RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Film 4 have been running a trilogy week.
    They had the Godfather series on earlier in the week, tonight it's the final installment of Lord of the Rings, "Return of the King".

Nice....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Film 4 have been running a trilogy week.
    They had the Godfather series on earlier in the week, tonight it's the final installment of Lord of the Rings, "Return of the King".

Nice....

Yup, wonder if Frodo will make it. The tension is killing me.

Apparently Jesus's dying words on the cross were "Don't give those Irish feckers any drink on Good Friday".

So I had to go to the off licence yesterday to stock up for tonight.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ8phjG1QR6AmTAcO0L3ti0SD8z2AWKjGe8pInfN01fM1Uy57FB

Although I might have to bring a bottle or 3 to the house party I'm going to instead of staying in to watch Tubbs !

Enjoy the show and don't overdo it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Apparently it is a pre-record tonight.

Probably wise, it would be cruel to ask the Audience to sit through the show without having had a few drinks in advance.

Indeed.

Larianne was supposed to appear on the SNS last Saturday night but she ended up giving her tickets to her parents and her auntie.

No, he is correct. :o
    Hi All,

It's definitely a pre-recorded show - it was filmed last night. I can tell you that Maura Derane is on talking about autism, and Declan Nerney and Mary Byrne are also guests.

Brendan Grace and Declan Nerney on first.
    Then Dylan McGrath
    Then Angela Scanlon, Laura Whitmore and Darren Kenndey talking about living in London
    Then a family talking about autism
    Maura Derrane is next up
    And finally, some people talking about 'miracles'.

Music from Brendan and Declan, two fiddley idley types, and a special 'rollin' appearence from Mary Byrne. Wait till you see those hips move!!

Got an overnight stay! WHOOOO. Was bored outta my tree by halfway through. Surprisingly, Tubridy is very engaging with the audience during the breaks. Completely different to how he interviews. Although perhaps he says the same thing to the audience every week, so he has it down to a fine art! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

image.jpg

"So I says "No, seriously - €723,000 a year, loads of time off and they let me swan over to the BBC whenever I like", so Obama says "I'm in the wrong job, can you put in a word for me?"

HA HA we make more money than you,and you pay for it.:mad::mad::mad:

Then Dylan McGrath
    Then Angela Scanlon, Laura Whitmore and Darren Kenndey talking about living in London
    Maura Derrane is next up

Music from Brendan and Declan, two fiddley idley types, and a special 'rollin' appearence from Mary Byrne. Wait till you see those hips move!!

Got an overnight stay! WHOOOO. Was bored outta my tree by halfway through. Surprisingly, Tubridy is very engaging with the audience during the breaks. Completely different to how he interviews. Although perhaps he says the same thing to the audience every week, so he has it down to a fine art! :pac:

Welsh Megaman, I want to humbly apologise for doubting you.

Larianne, thanks for all the info :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 425 ✭✭Dreamertime

Indeed.

Then Dylan McGrath
    Maura Derrane is next up

Was there plenty of booze? :)

What were you wearing ;)

Was there plenty of booze? :)

What were you wearing ;)

You can have as much wine as you want before hand.

Ha, that I'm not telling. Pretty sure I'll be in shots though. :o

You can have as much wine as you want before hand.

Ha, that I'm not telling. Pretty sure I'll be in shots though. :o

You do know we'll all be speculating which one you are now. It might be more entertaining than the show itself :D

Damnit! :(

Don't be mean now. :o

Damnit! :(

Don't be mean now. :o

Ahh I'm only messing :)

How was Brendan Grace? He didn't seem well at all, the last time he was on for his 40th anniversary in the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,738 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Was gonna watch return of the king, but this thread is particularly funny this week so far. Might stick around for it. :)

Kinda weird to hear ryan is so good with the audience. I often get the impression he dosn't really want to be there.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Was gonna watch return of the king, but this thread is particularly funny this week so far. Might stick around for it. :)

Kinda weird to hear ryan is so good with the audience. I often get the impression he dosn't really want to be there.

"The Late Late Show Thread - Better than Lord of The Rings"

Thanks Donie, I will use that (sort of) quote the next time we get someone whinging "why do you all watch it if you don't like it." (Probably before 10 o'clock tonight)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Funnyonion79

I went to a few Tubridy Tonight shows and he was always great with the audience then as well. Very funny and witty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,738 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

"The Late Late Show Thread - Better than Lord of The Rings"

Thanks Donie, I will use that (sort of) quote the next time we get someone whinging "why do you all watch it if you don't like it." (Probably before 10 o'clock tonight)

I should probably qualify that by saying the one and only time i watched ROTK i fell asleep. For a few hours.

But the point still stands!

Ahh I'm only messing :)

How was Brendan Grace? He didn't seem well at all, the last time he was on for his 40th anniversary in the business.

He was alive and kicking last night.

Just so you know, the show isn't any way exciting, at all. Well apart from Mary and her hips don't lie movements. :pac:
    Ol' Donie wrote: »

Very surprising! Kept going on about how his water was actually gin! And had the craic with the boom operator who was a ginge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,490 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

I went to a few Tubridy Tonight shows and he was always great with the audience then as well. Very funny and witty.

Seriously? I always found him really condescending to the audience on that show. Remember he had this regular thing where he'd trot up the steps about half-way through the show, single out the most nervous looking person or couple he could find and plonk himself down and act pretty sh1tty to them. Usually with a very smug condescending tone.
    Seemed to me he learned his trade watching old re-runs of Mike Murphy on Winning Streak! :rolleyes: