Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I have a mortgage like everyone else in the country

• 27-03-2013 4:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭

I constantly hear this line being trotted out in the media, usually along with some borderline sob story.
    It is not simply not true.
    There are 792,096 private residential mortgage accounts for principal dwellings in the country of which ~15% are in arrears.
    There are plenty of homes that are mortgage free and approximately 475,000 households rent.

So shut up about everyone having a mortgage and start talking about bailouts for the poor renters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

Renters have bailouts, social welfare rent allowance,tax credits, affordable housing schemes, council housing.

Maybe you can educate yourself on the options?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I have a mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I don't know what a tracker mortgage is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Not everyone has a mortgage. I certainly don't. Ah, the freedom to move with a month's notice, no bridging loans, no buying the entire contents of a house, no paying a rake of chancers just to get the keys...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

I have a tracker mortgage. I don't know what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Terry1985 wrote: »
    Renters have bailouts, social welfare rent allowance,tax credits, affordable housing schemes, council housing.

And to think that I've been paying my rent the last 8 years like a complete sucker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Thinkly veiled I don't have a mortgage responce.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Fair play to ya
    I rent like everyone else in the country :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I rent and get no help at all. And I wasn't entitled to social housing because demand is so high in my area that a homeless single mother with 2 kids is still short of the points needed!
    And before someone says its cheaper than a mortgage, its £20 per month dearer and at the end of the deal someone else owns the house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I have a mortgage.
    Me too, and I can only fit 4 cars in my driveway... I demand a bailout for my inadequate property!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

I have a mortgage, it's not just hospitals that have 'em:mad:

smash wrote: »
    Me too, and I can only fit 4 cars in my driveway... I demand a bailout for my inadequate property!
    You're only eligible if you don't have decking and a hot tub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Renters are not entitled to social welfare if they work fulltime.

Tax credits of a couple of hundred quid per year while paying a grand a month in rent, yes its a huge bailout? :rolleyes:

affordable housing schemes - abolished

council housing - you need a low income and be on a waiting list for many years to avail of council housing.

You're only eligible if you don't have decking and a hot tub.

I got rid of my hot tub for a walk in shower. Can I have money now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

gurramok wrote: »
    Renters are not entitled to social welfare if they work fulltime.

Tax credits of a couple of hundred quid per year while paying a grand a month in rent, yes its a huge bailout? :rolleyes:

affordable housing schemes - abolished

council housing - you need a low income and be on a waiting list for many years to avail of council housing.

Tax credits for renters are gone gone gone.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I'm a mother Joe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Terry1985

I rent and get no help at all. And I wasn't entitled to social housing because demand is so high in my area that a homeless single mother with 2 kids is still short of the points needed!

if you're employed you get €1000 rent relief off your tax bill.
    if you are unemployed there's rent allowance.

i believe rent allowance is at least €500 a month depending on county?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Do you have sky TV, If so, You get nothing..:pac:

It depends, if it's large enough to accommodate at least 2 people with gold-plated accessories and marble tiling, then yes.

gold-plated accessories and marble tiling, then yes.

Pft, I'm not that tacky.

Time to apply for your bailout then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Need bailouts for non-renters and mortgage-free property owners.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

You can nearly double that figure as its usually two people to a mortgage, not always but usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I have a tracker mortgage, thank god. Big thanks to all the test of you subsidising it for me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I have a tracker mortgage, thank god. Big thanks to all the test of you subsidising it for me
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I have a mortgage just like everyone else in the country. The other half don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Fair play to ya
    I rent like everyone else in the country :)

You'd want to get a foot on the property ladder. The only way prices will go is up. Renting is dead money.

Have a look at how much you've paid off the capital compared to how much you've actually paid in repayments and then still tell me it's subsidised.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I believe that was abolished? Also even for somebody in Dublin rent allowance is max 300ish,and you don't get the full amount

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

I've no mortgage. Just saying like. I bought it old-fashioned style. With money. There were some odd looks. Apparently it's not the done thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

i have a tractor morgage too, ****in ripoff

Dwork wrote: »
    I've no mortgage. Just saying like. I bought it old-fashioned style. With money. There were some odd looks. Apparently it's not the done thing.
    You win the lotto then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

You win the lotto then?
    I did. €4 on a scratchcard in 2007. I was feckin ecstatic. I also once got 2 numbers in the Euromillions. My best ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Rent allowance is incredibly difficult to get and they are making it harder. It's not as simple as filling out a form and hey, presto €500 goes towards your rent. First you have to get on the Housing list and then contact your CWO. The limits are very low. For example, the cut off for a single person in shared accommodation in Galway is roughly €53 per week. The average rent is about €75 per week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

pwurple wrote: »

Tax credits for renters are gone gone gone.

I still claim mine! ;) They're being phased out over seven years, but still worth a bit.

People who have been renting since before Dec 2010 can still claim them, up to four years back. Would work out at quite a bit for anyone who's eligible but hasn't been claiming to date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Wrong on both counts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Have a look at how much you've paid off the capital compared to how much you've actually paid in repayments and then still tell me it's subsidised.

I've paid off 125k in 11 years. 16 years and I'm mortgage free!

To clarify though that's mostly because I was given a lump sum, not because I'm any good at saving money. The low interest rate is still an utter blessing though in terms of making the monthly payment affordable. Long may it last please God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I don't know what a tracker mortgage is.

A variable-rate mortgage, adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM), or tracker mortgage is a mortgage loan with the interest rate on the note periodically adjusted based on an index which reflects the cost to the lender of borrowing on the credit markets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Renters have the best bail out of all...

The ability to buy a house for a fraction of the cost the rest of us did. Oh what I wouldn't do to be eligible for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Renters have the best bail out of all...

The ability to buy a house for a fraction of the cost the rest of us did. Oh what I wouldn't do to be eligible for that.

Except that when you ignore the sticker price and factor in interest rates (and where they are expected to go) to compare the actual cost of buying a house then in many cases those who bought at the height of the boom on a tracker may well end up being better off then said renters and thats not even including the cost of the rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

I found a house I liked in 2002, but opted to rent rather than buy. The rent I have paid would have bought the house, but hey, I can still buy it now for the same price I could have paid 11 years ago. Still, I console myself with the knowledge I can move away with 28 days notice, free of the shackles of owning anything and free to start over again.

Please stop the whinging about others. NOONE really knows their neighbours circumstances. Those that are in negative equity, unemployed, struggling in low paid employment, please believe that things WILL get better. Hang in there and look to the future, rather than wondering what everyone else has or has not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

seriously? do you really think that?

you need to educate yourself on renters - also ask yourself why there are loads of council houses lying empty - ask your council, ask them about the affordable housing they have and what they "offer". Your answer is very simple (above) but completely ignorant to reality