Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attendances at an all time low

• 25-03-2013 3:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 357 ✭✭

The attendance in Croke Park at the weekend surely confirms that GAA is on the wane?

They must have been treble the crowd at the Leinster Rugby game. This was just a league game as well.

Probably more at the League of Ireland games too.

Apparently only 6k showed up the watch Kerry and Cork.

Do fans not bother going to games or is the media refusing to accept the GAA really isn’t as popular anymore?

Are people to afraid to admit that they have zero interest in the GAA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭sffc

The attendance in Croke Park at the weekend surely confirms that GAA is on the wane?

They must have been treble the crowd at the Leinster Rugby game. This was just a league game as well.

Do fans not bother going to games or is the media refusing to accept the GAA really isn’t as popular anymore?

Grand so OP - I'll be expecting a ticket for the final in September from you. Will I pm you my address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Cork and Kerry playing in Dublin ....in March.

I can't believe everyone didn't drop what they were doing and drive across the country to enjoy the capital's fine weather...in March.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Cork and Kerry playing in Dublin ....in March.

I can't believe everyone didn't drop what they were doing and drive across the country to enjoy the capital's fine weather...in March.

When was this match :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 357 ✭✭ballygowan1

The match was in Tralee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Not really true

http://m.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2308121703-gaa-set-to-welcome-one-millionth-spectator/

In particular the link has the following
    GAA match attendance figures for 2012 remain vibrant and in line with those of last year and Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Liam Ó Néill acknowledged the ongoing support and loyalty of members and supporters over the course of the summer.

He said: “Our attendances have been hugely encouraging and leaving the numbers themselves aside the atmosphere and sense of occasion our supporters help create lie at the heart of the games and what make them so enticing to so many.

“I would like to thank everyone who has attended one of our games this summer and in many cases those who have been multiple attendees.

sffc wrote: »
    Grand so OP - I'll be expecting a ticket for the final in September from you. Will I pm you my address?

I am not talking about finals here. That so completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

The statistics that state that Gaelic football is the top spectator sport on the country are wrong then because Leinster got a bigger crowd than Dublin this weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

good weather brings out the GAA fans

rugby fans go to have a few pints.
    something you cannot do at GAA matches, for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

I'm sure if you added up the attendances for all the twelve counties of Leinster in action across both GAA codes this weekend you would easily surpass the crowd for the Leinster egg chasing game! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

It's been a miserably cold Spring. I'd be surprised if attendances for all outdoor sports haven't suffered a bit.

I'm sure if you added up the attendances for all the twelve counties of Leinster in action across both GAA codes this weekend you would easily surpass the crowd for the Leinster egg chasing game! :P

I am afraid you have made youself look very silly. Everyone knows that Leinster rugby is 90% a South Dublin following.

So you are wrong there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

I am afraid you have made youself look very silly. Everyone knows that Leinster rugby is 90% a South Dublin following.

So you are wrong there.

It's you who is wrong. The following is from all over the province

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

So you are wrong there.

Going off topic there a bit, but I'd say you'd want to check the breakdown at this stage. Only 3, or 20% of the starting 15 at the weekend are from South Dublin. The game has a far wider appeal in the province these days.

So you are wrong there.

You asserted that the GAA's appeal is on the wane. It doesn't say much for Leinster Rugby's appeal if their following is 90% South Dublin then! I'm sure the GAA will survive.

So you are wrong there.

What about the Munster Connaught game on Saturday night that only had 8k?
    I'm sure if you added up all the attendances of GAA league games that took place in both provinces over the weekend that it'd aggregate to over 8k?

Do you not think the attendances were very very poor for a sport that is apparently so popular?

If you are comparing attendances with provincial rugby teams when should you not compare it with the inter-pro hurling and football thing that was on recently?

It seems so many are in denial that GAA really is in massive decline.

Do you not think the attendances were very very poor for a sport that is apparently so popular?

If you are comparing attendances with provincial rugby teams when should you not compare it with the inter-pro hurling and football thing that was on recently?

It seems so many are in denial that GAA really is in massive decline.

Can you back this up or is this your own opinion?

I have nothing against rugby for the matter but your argument can be easily rebuked through the fact that GAA gets more spectators annually than rugby or soccer.

Don't forget that there are more GAA clubs in Cork than rugby clubs in the whole of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Fianna Fowl

Dublin have averaged c.20,000 for their 5 games in Croke Park so far this year. Considering it has been baltic and the 2 biggest attendance draws would be Donegal as All Ireland Champions and Kerry because they are Kerry were both away games then i would suggest that the league following for Dublin has never been higher.

Dublin played Kildare in the O'Byrne cup in front of 6K in Parnell park (a meaningless GAA competition, rugby equivalent is the Pro12)

2013 Dublin league attendances against Cork (28,693), Mayo (21,156), Kildare (15,389), Tyrone (19,884) and Down (10,825). 95K in total.

Compares well with 2012 when 97K went to Dublin's home league games and 2011 when 117K went. Before 2011 league games in Parnell park would have attracted 4-8K

For insular Dublin rugby supporters, Leinster is in fact 12 counties, of which Dublin is just one albeit a significant population centre. Rather than looking over the fence jealously at the GAA’s ever growing support base and infrastructure I think you should focus closer to home. Look at what has been happening to Welsh rugby over the last 3 years with falling attendances and the star players departing in their droves. Leinster this year have not qualified for the latter stages of the H Cup and are beginning to lose their key players to France/England. The general economy is still going south, how long can the general taxpayer continue to finance tax rebates to rugby players? As for rugby attendances, there has been tendency in the past to count every ticket sold at rugby games rather than actual attendance, makes a big difference considering the number of season tickets that are sold for the junket fans. Will the Pro12 exist in 5 years time? Will it just become an ITM cup type competition with all the top players playing in France or England. Money talks and the writing is on the wall.

Back to sport and away from plc’s & franchise’s, Dublin, Tyrone, Kildare and Cork/Mayo for the league semi’s. Could draw 40K in Croke on the 14th April, especially if Mayo beat Cork as Cork fans just don’t travel for league football. Biggest attendance scenario for the final would be Dublin V’s Kildare, that could pull in +50K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

There were swathes of empty seats at the RDS on Saturday. Hadnt seen the North and South stands so deserted in a while. Odd considering both teams were fighting for 1st in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

As for rugby attendances, there has been tendency in the past to count every ticket sold at rugby games rather than actual attendance, makes a big difference considering the number of season tickets that are sold for the junket fans.
    That makes sense then. RDS looked half empty yet according to official figures it was 90% full :eek:

iDave wrote: »
    There were swathes of empty seats at the RDS on Saturday. Hadnt seen the North and South stands so deserted in a while. Odd considering both teams were fighting for 1st in the league.

But the official attendance was 16,156.....how could this be in when the RDS capacity is 18,500.

Surely you are not implying that the official attendance at a rugby game is not the number of people who passed through the stiles........ but a mythical figure based on total number of season tickets sold plus total number of tickets sold for any one game. So 13,500 season ticket holders and another 2,500 people actually bought a ticket but how many actually turned up....anyone's guess:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

But the official attendance was 16,156.....how could this be in when the RDS capacity is 18,500.

Surely you are not implying that the official attendance at a rugby game is not the number of people who passed through the stiles........ but a mythical figure based on total number of season tickets sold plus total number of tickets sold for any one game. So 13,500 season ticket holders and another 2,500 people actually bought a ticket but how many actually turned up....anyone's guess:D

By George I think you've got it!!!!

Also lets not forget the elephant in the room regarding GAA attendances and how they're reguarly under-estimated. I remember being in Portlaoise for a double header in 2010, Meath v Offaly and Louth v Longford. Everyone in the main stand laughted when it was announced there were 7k at it when it was obvious the ground was three quarters full

iDave wrote: »
    By George I think you've got it!!!!

Ah now IDave lets not jump to conclusions, until Ryle Nugent and his Blackrock college chums from various big 5 (or is it 4 these days) auditing firms declare it to be true then we are merely lowlife GAA plebs who are not fit to tie the shoelaces of these fine fellows from Clongowes, Mary’s & Belvo who diligently report the official attendance from the RDS with such accuracy. No rounding up or down for these gentlemen, 16,156, not a man or dog less.

I have my own suspicions, when the ratings agencies were getting rid of all that dead wood around 2008, Leinster rugby cushioned the fall for a few of these fellows, now deception is so inbred to this insular group that they actual believe their own spin. Ireland went from AAA to bankrupt in the space of a few months, curious to see where rugby will be in 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Dublin have averaged c.20,000 for their 5 games in Croke Park so far this year. Considering it has been baltic and the 2 biggest attendance draws would be Donegal as All Ireland Champions and Kerry because they are Kerry were both away games then i would suggest that the league following for Dublin has never been higher.

Dublin played Kildare in the O'Byrne cup in front of 6K in Parnell park (a meaningless GAA competition, rugby equivalent is the Pro12)

2013 Dublin league attendances against Cork (28,693), Mayo (21,156), Kildare (15,389), Tyrone (19,884) and Down (10,825). 95K in total.

Compares well with 2012 when 97K went to Dublin's home league games and 2011 when 117K went. Before 2011 league games in Parnell park would have attracted 4-8K

For insular Dublin rugby supporters, Leinster is in fact 12 counties, of which Dublin is just one albeit a significant population centre. Rather than looking over the fence jealously at the GAA’s ever growing support base and infrastructure I think you should focus closer to home. Look at what has been happening to Welsh rugby over the last 3 years with falling attendances and the star players departing in their droves. Leinster this year have not qualified for the latter stages of the H Cup and are beginning to lose their key players to France/England. The general economy is still going south, how long can the general taxpayer continue to finance tax rebates to rugby players? As for rugby attendances, there has been tendency in the past to count every ticket sold at rugby games rather than actual attendance, makes a big difference considering the number of season tickets that are sold for the junket fans. Will the Pro12 exist in 5 years time? Will it just become an ITM cup type competition with all the top players playing in France or England. Money talks and the writing is on the wall.

Back to sport and away from plc’s & franchise’s, Dublin, Tyrone, Kildare and Cork/Mayo for the league semi’s. Could draw 40K in Croke on the 14th April, especially if Mayo beat Cork as Cork fans just don’t travel for league football. Biggest attendance scenario for the final would be Dublin V’s Kildare, that could pull in +50K.
    Good post but the last paragraph is very optimistic on your part.

Last years double header of Division 1 and 2 finals drew well under 30,000, bearing in mind three of the better supported counties were in action.
    ie. Mayo, Kildare and Tyrone.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Good post but the last paragraph is very optimistic on your part.

Last years double header of Division 1 and 2 finals drew well under 30,000, bearing in mind three of the better supported counties were in action.
    ie. Mayo, Kildare and Tyrone.

fair enough

but if the likes of Cavan, Roscommon, Sligo, Monaghan, Leitrim etc got to a league final there would be a bigger chance of their fans going
    but they'd have a smaller support due to population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭randd1

What population do Leinster have as a province? 2.2 million? And they got a reported crowd of 17k?

Kilkenny v Waterford have a population between them of 225,000 and had 6900 at the match last week, and that was a relatively under-estimated crowd number considering U14's get in free.

Going by those stats, there was a draw for the rugby of 0.7% of the population of Leinster.

The draw from the population of Kilkenny/Waterford for a league game in March? 3.06%, over four times the amount.

So, you can think all you like that rugby is clearly more popular than the GAA. The truth is the GAA attendance figures overall, and in terms of percentages, wipes its a*se with the rugby figures.

And its also worth bearing in mind the GAA attendances are for its secondary competition at a time of the year when the weather is poor for its sports. If you want a true comparison, then compere the rugby attendances to the GAA championship crowds this year and I suspect the figures, and percentages, wont even be able to be scaled.

And to burst your bubble even further, the draw for the club finals, from just four parishes in the country, drew 28,000, far more than the attendance for Leinsters game. The GAA is clearly dying indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

For the most part all three sports have good support. what's the problem?

also, how is the Pro12 meaningless? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

All joking aside are crowds of 10-15k enough to justify openin croker for these games,given the oft-quoted 30k break even crowd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭randd1

harpsman wrote: »
    All joking aside are crowds of 10-15k enough to justify openin croker for these games,given the oft-quoted 30k break even crowd?

I'm not sure, but I think that was when the loan repayments and insurance costs were much higher.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Guards and stuff have to be paid to open Croke Park.

Personally, I'll never understand why sports compare with each other, it's never comparing like for like, GAA has far more games, rugby is professional, League of Ireland has a massive following, games take place at different times, but it really doesn't matter, it's all sport.

BTW, I'm a Munster and former Clare season ticket holder, I find Munster far better value for money, not only can you have a beer and the game is on in a far better ground, but the whole production of the games is better, rugby seems to know they are in the entertainment game whereas GAA just rely on people going to see their games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Zero. Yeah it was just me and the seagulls in Pearse Stadium yesterday. I was cursing my luck, as if there were a few other people there then I could have slipped out and watched some Robot Direct highlights on youtube. Being the only one there was tough but had its advantages like the ref halting the game whenever I had to go to the jacks.

The managers had a quiet word with me after, said this is the last year as it'll be all packed up. I felt the same sadness as one does when a familiar pub closes its doors for the last time. Oh well. Time to close the forum lads.

harpsman wrote: »

Yes if the CCCC are to be believed:
    A figure of 32,000 has been bandied about as the crowd needed at Croke Park for the GAA to break even.

"That idea is rubbish and over-simplified," said McGill. "The figure is based on 640,000 people coming to Croke Park for 20 games. Break that down and it’s 32,000 a game.

"Did Sunday cost us? No. The idea that it does is a misinterpretation, an urban myth and it’s not accurate. If there is an accurate figure, I would guess it to be 5,000."

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2012/0417/ireland/mcgill-cccc-to-review-croker-league-semi-finals-190815.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

The GAA could give the league a boost by using it to seed teams when it comes to the qualifiers. Have the top 8 teams based on league placings in one pot, the rest in the other pot and a separate draw to determine home tie. It's a simple deft touch that could give the league that bit of a competitive edge it could do with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Clareman wrote: »

Personally, I'll never understand why sports compare with each other, it's never comparing like for like, GAA has far more games, rugby is professional, League of Ireland has a massive following, games take place at different times, but it really doesn't matter, it's all sport.

BTW, I'm a Munster and former Clare season ticket holder, I find Munster far better value for money, not only can you have a beer and the game is on in a far better ground, but the whole production of the games is better, rugby seems to know they are in the entertainment game whereas GAA just rely on people going to see their games.[/QUOTE]

not sure I get you. rugby doesn't rely on people going to games? personally, I like to be entertained by the games, regardless of whether its the Artane band or U2 playing at HT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

BTW, I'm a Munster and former Clare season ticket holder, I find Munster far better value for money, not only can you have a beer and the game is on in a far better ground, but the whole production of the games is better, rugby seems to know they are in the entertainment game whereas GAA just rely on people going to see their games.

I'd go to the odd game up in Thomond Park but the H Cup games are the only one's worth going to really, and I have gone to a good number of Pro 12 games. There isn't much of a competitive edge in the Pro 12 when qualification to the H Cup is straightforward enough. The GAA league have the same issue though, they are essentially preparation for the championship. The league of ireland on that score is the only competitive league, they need to finish in the top 3 to get into Europe. Despite that competitiveness they've the least support!

I've been to Thomond Park and the Gaelic Grounds in recent weeks, despite the GAA league's lack of a competive edge, I'd still head there ahead of Thomond. I suppose if people want a franchise type model, rugby is the place to go. There's still a place for the rough and rugged character of the GAA landscape despite all it's ills and shutting out of hurling minnows who would like to develop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

The GAA could give the league a boost by using it to seed teams when it comes to the qualifiers. Have the top 8 teams based on league placings in one pot, the rest in the other pot and a separate draw to determine home tie. It's a simple deft touch that could give the league that bit of a competitive edge it could do with.
    Eh-not sure what you re talking about.
    Are you referring to the first round qualifier draw? Would the div 1 and 2 teams not automatically be in the seeds anyway.
    Or are you talking about something else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Have you any statistics to back this up OP? Surely you're not going to make such a sweeping statement based on the attendances for one weekend!

league should affect the draw for the championship (can never understand why it is done so far in advance anyway)

eg if Carlow did well in the league they would not be in the preliminary round
    likewise, if Fermanagh did crap, they would be in the preliminary round

if limerick or clare went well in the championship they might get a bye to semi final, same in Connacht.
    then when the qualifiers come around, teams that did well in the league and were 'seeded' higher would get against teams who did worse in the league. Simples.

Imagine the buzz if the draw wasn't done till after the league!!!
    then teams wouldn't be spying on each other or so cagey during the league games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Embarrassing thread with an obvious trolling element.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Have you any statistics to back this up OP? Surely you're not going to make such a sweeping statement based on the attendances for one weekend!

I do believe he won't, think of a fig roll and spell it like tissue :D

yop wrote: »
    I do believe he won't, think of a fig roll and spell it like tissue :D

Sure he might have a point though. There was hardly even a hundred at the Mayo v GMIT match back in January. The weather was better then than it is now! The recession is making the more savvy consumer turn to rugby!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Sure he might have a point though. There was hardly even a hundred at the Mayo v GMIT match back in January. The weather was better then than it is now! The recession is making the more savvy consumer turn to rugby!

GAA is in da cline, in 2 years no one will play it or support it. The IMF will ban it then.

yop wrote: »
    GAA is in da cline, in 2 years no one will play it or support it. The IMF will ban it then.

Croker will be sold off to pay for the banks. Hyde Park will be turned into low rent housing...

Not The Hyde...the prize jewel of the GAA's crown!

Wouldn't that be a dream.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

?????? I'm confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The Hyde will be the GAA's Alamo, its last stand. With Generalissimo Ryle Nugent at the gates demanding an unconditional surrender the Rossies will give it one last hurrah.

However, Ryle will use one too many sickening cliches and from his own ranks a traitor, RTÉ megaman Marty Morrissey, will emerge to stab him in the back. "ZEEEEBOOOoooooo" Nugent will cry out, but to no avail as Brian Carty and Darragh Maloney feast on his brains!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

League of Ireland has a massive following
    megadodge wrote: »
    ?????? I'm confused.

That one threw me as well. it's a niche sport in Ireland outside of internationals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭ted1

You need to compare county football to the AIL league not provincial matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭The Showstopper

I heard 400 was the estimated crowd at the Drogheda United game on Sunday afternoon. I'd imagine there was a good few more next door. Probably better of comparing with the number of people going to watch soccer in England every week.