Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why young 'uns should not be let drive sports cars..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

only the fifth time today :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

shinkansen wrote: »

how on earth does this happen...really.
    With the accelerator generally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Sgt Bob Patterson, of Suffolk Police, said investigators had been at the scene to assess how the accident happened.

"At this early stage we could not speculate as to what has caused the crash," he said.

A police spokesman said it was "far too early to say if the crash is weather related or not. This will all make up part of the investigation."

What do you know that the cops don't, OP? You should give them a call!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Next thread will be:

Bought Audi TT but it failed HPI Check :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

The thread title "why young 'uns should not be let drive sports cars.." is loaded with misconceptions,presumptions,cliches,stereotypes and pre judgement - hope it all works out peachy for you OP.

You'd be one rotten Father,uncle,brother etc if one of your family were unfortunate to have an accident under 30 in a "sports car" and all you could muster was "why young 'uns should not be let drive sports cars.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Shaunie306

Maybe your title should be why gob****es shouldn't drive 'sports' cars, the car is irrelevant as is the age of the driver,

Im now 23 but in my short 6 years of driving I have gone through a few cars, a legacy b4, audi s3, two mk2 gti's( 8v and 16v) and a mk4 gti, thats just the ones that people would label as 'sports' cars Im young and had the scooby at 19, shouldn't I be dead somewhere?? Its all about the driver at the end of the day, I know people at 17 that will kill themselves and others with their driving but I also know of 35+ yo that have that mentality but now.ot has been mixed into a lethal concoction of stupidity and the heir of been a "mature driver".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭yaeger

Audi TT = Sports car. Get off the stage

yaeger wrote: »
    Audi TT = Sports car. Get off the stage

The reality of it is that the Audi TT is a sports car,in the very same way a BMW 520d is a "High powered saloon" people see certain types of cars and apply tags and assumptions this thread proves it.

The guy who was driving that TT is apparently in a bad way in hospital so i wish him all my best,the how and why are for a later date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Keith Shales, 66, who lives in nearby Cotmer Road, said: "When I got there and saw the car through the hole in the hedge I thought 'That looks serious'.

You-Dont-Say.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

A TT wouldn't be the most powerful car in the world....230bhp aren't they?

That's not powerful really, it's just a pleasant amount of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

In fairness only the OP referred to the TT as a sports car. Also report only says driver was in his 20's i.e. could be 20 to 29. If is the latter, hardly a "young un". All in all thread fail:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 228 ✭✭shinkansen

the Auti TT is a sports car ffs...

especially the one in the pic.

what is it so, a family hatchback.

"MODEL
    TT QUATTRO (225 BHP)

COLOUR
    RED"

deffo not a sports car that.

An Audi manages to lodge itself a few feet up some poor gits sitting room wall and you're all worried about whether she's a "sports car" or not.... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

the Auti TT is a sports car ffs...

especially the one in the pic.

what is it so, a family hatchback.
    A noddy car.

MugMugs wrote: »
    An Audi manages to lodge itself a few feet up some poor gits sitting room wall and you're all worried about whether she's a "sports car" or not.... :confused:

not me, but people here saying its not a sports car.

i am sure the marketing people at audi are working over time on the audi tt brochure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Thread title is a fail anyway,with a nice obnoxious undertone..Age is irrelevant, driving ability and common sense are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

According to the motors board :D

idenchart.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

There are just as much idiots in their 30s 40s and 50s that'd do same damage and drive just as careless

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 Banganditsgone

now lets get things right might be young people that crash but its all the old people that àre drink driving its not fair how the young people always get blamed its stuiped and its all the old boys drink driving sure look there a few weeks ago some drinking tds wanted to bring in a law saying its ok for them to drink drive a load of poo if you ask me . the young people should be brought out in a evo,subaru , civic , colt ,startlet and shown how to send them on look at the isle of man`they bring the young people out in fast cars and show them how to drive propper(rarely hear about a crash over there) which i think is a good idea but no us irish have to wait until like a million people to die before they cop on i dont know backwards ireland i guess .:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

How the hell did he manage to get the car so high into the house?

well he must have been utilising most or all of the audi's impressive array of horses to get it that high in the air, and in a 30 residental zone that guy is an idiot and should not be on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The TT RS is a sports car, the 225 is a coupe, a nice one at that.

Looks like a bit of understear into the curb by the looks of the road. Mad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 Banganditsgone

its not fair when some the age of 17 that starts driving and has a small car and then some rich boy whos mammy and daddy buy him tt and the heavy foot child loses it rich people shouldnt drive as they think they own the place cause they have money the should stick to the back seat driving the way their parents get drove around imj sorry if it seems harsh but people with money dont care cause all they think of whats bigger their penis or their bank balance ...

well he must have been utilising most or all of the audi's impressive array of horses to get it that high in the air.
    Love it. This post, so simple yet so perfect!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

its not fair when some the age of 17 that starts driving and has a small car and then some rich boy whos mammy and daddy buy him tt and the heavy foot child loses it rich people shouldnt drive as they think they own the place cause they have money the should stick to the back seat driving the way their parents get drove around imj sorry if it seems harsh but people with money dont care cause all they think of whats bigger their penis or their bank balance ...

Eh, am I missing something here? Since when is a second hand TT expensive? It'd probably cost you a couple of grand to get one.

Who knows what happened to the guy. He could have fainted at the wheel for all we know.

Eh, am I missing something here? Since when is a second hand TT expensive? It'd probably cost you a couple of grand to get one.

Who knows what happened to the guy. He could have fainted at the wheel for all we know.

Punctuation. :pac:

i think the point he is making is of rich sugar daddy's giving their kids high performance cars they are not able to drive.

its a valid point.

people who work hard for a motor and dont rely on rich daddy's income would be more attentive., unlike some guy who has rich parents normal joe public next door knows if he has a fender bender it will be out of his pocked, not his rich daddys or mommys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Ah yeah paint everyone with one brush because of this person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

i think the point he is making is of rich sugar daddy's giving their kids high performance cars they are not able to drive.

its a valid point.

people who work hard for a motor and dont rely on rich daddy's income would be more attentive., unlike some guy who has rich parents normal joe public next door knows if he has a fender bender it will be out of his pocked, not his rich daddys or mommys

Where's this rich daddy crap coming from? A TT is cheap to buy, 3/4000 would buy one. You can buy cars that are a lot faster for cheaper too. The point is just nonsense being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Rippy

Do I remember something about quite a lot of TT s running out of road due to insufficient rear downforce ( botched aerodynamics ?)
    I think they changed the rear spoiler ?
    May not be relevant but might be ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭scwazrh

An Audi driven by a tosser that can't drive.thats not a surprise .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Why are there do many idiots on boards at times? Maybe some are trolls?

A TT is easy to drive. I wouldn't call them a performance car as some here have. Some only have 180bhp!

Fools love to comment when they know nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

its a valid point.

Not really sure what you two are going on about but
    A man is seriously ill in hospital

aye, cant say i have any sympathy for him, what if a couple were wheeling kids in a pram on that corner.

well he would probably have flew over their heads but still......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Something very similar happened in Ireland in 2011. It involved a 24 year old Audi TT driver and a 38 year old Audi A5 driver. Tragically the 24 year old lost his life. The 38 year old had his 13 year old kid and his kids mate in the car, from what I can gather, there were numerous injuries. The A5 ended up entering a house and pinning another child underneath it.

It sounds like the older A5 driver tried to race and overtake the younger TT driver and made a balls of it.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/health/miracle-more-werent-killed-in-fatal-crash-164355.html

I had the displeasure to drive from Galway to Dublin on Patricks day and see this exact type of carry on from the Audi/BMW/HyundaiSUV diesel driving, selfish, overweight thirty something, "my car is indestructible" brigade on their way to the GAA matches in Croke park, probably a bit pissed from the night before.

There was a young fella in front of me most of the way in a modified car, he stuck to the limit in the driving lane and drove impeccably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

aye, cant say i have any sympathy for him, what if a couple were wheeling kids in a pram on that corner.

At quarter to two in the morning! :eek:

LOL

lets move on, was just trying to put things in perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Something very similar happened in Ireland in 2011. It involved a 24 year old Audi TT driver and a 38 year old Audi A5 driver. Tragically the 24 year old lost his life. The 38 year old had his 13 year old kid and his kids mate in the car, from what I can gather, there were numerous injuries. The A5 ended up entering a house and pinning another child underneath it.
    In all fairness, you have no idea it was appreciably similar other than the model of car and the fact one hit a building. The earlier Irish one was a street race with two morons who didnt even know each other on backroads, the other is an ongoing investigation into a crash with single vehicle and occupant in a housing estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Matt Simis wrote: »
    In all fairness, you have no idea it was appreciably similar other than the model of car and the fact one hit a building.

They are the similarities. I didn't say it was in any other way similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

OSI wrote: »
    Serious amount of speculation and insinuation going on from people that weren't there. How do you know there wasn't a mechanical fault? How do you know the driver didn't suffer a heart attack, stroke or similar? You don't. Instead you'd rather sit on your couch and bad mouth someone you don't know for having the audacity of owning something that probably brought them pride and joy. The begrudging brigade of this country is positively sickening at times. Stick to chinese whispers in the church yard on Sundays FFS.

Agreed, plus there's seems to have been influx of posters onto the motoring forum who basically hate cars.

tbh its highly unlikely a 20 something male have a heart attack.

given the time of the accident it was probably wreckless driving, hopeless more like.

doesn't really take too much insight to see this.

I like cars but some people think they are invincible once they get behind a wheel.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    In all fairness, you have no idea it was appreciably similar other than the model of car and the fact one hit a building. The earlier Irish one was a street race with two morons who didnt even know each other on backroads, the other is an ongoing investigation into a crash with single vehicle and occupant in a housing estate.

well, for him to even get stuck into a building almost a floor up he must have been travelling at an insane speed you dont need to be a road traffic collision expert to figure this out.

it was a 30 zone also so that's borderline suicidal driving there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Where'd you get your medical degree?

Because college stress, beer, chipper and smokes does wonders for young lads hearts.

Jesus there is some horse **** being posted on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

given the time of the accident it was probably wreckless driving, hopeless more like.

doesn't really take too much insight to see this.

I like cars but some people think they are invincible once they get behind a wheel.

A fella that went to the same secondary school as I did, died at the age of 17 in 2000, while playing football. He had a heart attack.