Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Effin Chinese tyres

• 20-03-2013 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭

took my wife's Fiesta in to the garage with what i thought was a grumbling whel bearing....turns out one of the back tyres has lumps all over it, wheel bearings perfect.....

SONAR brand....so that's both tyre dealers in my town I'm not going back to! ()the last time she got tyres the other one put sh1te Chinese tyres on too.....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

What did she ask for when she went to get tyres fitted?

In my experience asking for 'good', 'cheap' or just 'new tyres' means they fit the cheapest tyre going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Surely they only put on what she asked for/was willing to pay for/chose from the list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

When you pay 25 euro a corner for a tyre that's what you get, did you expect to get good tyres for less than a tank of petrol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

corktina wrote: »
    took my wife's Fiesta in to the garage with what i thought was a grumbling whel bearing....turns out one of the back tyres has lumps all over it, wheel bearings perfect.....

SONAR brand....so that's both tyre dealers in my town I'm not going back to! ()the last time she got tyres the other one put sh1te Chinese tyres on too.....:mad:
    Did your wife specify that she wanted premium tyres or did she just ask for new tyres to be fitted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Cheap tyres does equal poor grip but imo you should expect them not to come out in random bulges. If they are not worn, I would bring them back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 228 ✭✭shinkansen

dont understand why people put on $hit tyres, if someone cant afford a decent tyre they cant afford to drive in the first place imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

mickdw wrote: »
    Cheap tyres does equal poor grip but imo you should expect them not to come out in random bulges. If they are not worn, I would bring them back.

I'd be of the same opinion; performance aside, the least you could expect from a tyre is that it's round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Merl1n

taken into account that your only contact with the road is the tyre its a bad place to try save money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

shinkansen wrote: »
    dont understand why people put on $hit tyres, if someone cant afford a decent tyre they cant afford to drive in the first place imo.

I asked and:

a - "Tyres are tyres right?"
    b - "It has an E mark so it must be ok"
    c - "I asked the tyre fitter for the cheapest brand and they wouldnt supply a bad tyre would they?"
    d - "Sure why would I need some fancy brand name, Im not a boy racer/enthusiast"

I found many of the tyre sellers (big or small, primarily the Irish staff) seem to be conveniently unaware of how **** Chinese tyres are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Merl1n wrote: »
    taken into account that your only contact with the road is the tyre its a bad place to try save money

The Zafira will be needing boots changed and I will be glad to be rid of the shoite yokes on it. They came with the car from a "private" dealer,,,,you know the type....i'm selling for a friend. Car was grand, but rubbish tyres.

Matt Simis wrote: »

I asked and:

a - "Tyres are tyres right?"
    b - "It has an E mark so it must be ok"
    c - "I asked the tyre fitter for the cheapest brand and they wouldnt supply a bad tyre would they?"
    d - "Sure why would I need some fancy brand name, Im not a boy racer/enthusiast"

I found many of the tyre sellers (big or small, primarily the Irish staff) seem to be conveniently unaware of how **** Chinese tyres are.
    I also find that your average joe will go to who ever is the cheapest regardless of what brand is being supplied. Maybe this partly explains why tyre places fit the cheapest tyres possible, with fear they might lose some ones custom to the next tyre place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    I also find that your average joe will go to who ever is the cheapest regardless of what brand is being supplied. Maybe this partly explains why tyre places fit the cheapest tyres possible, with fear they might lose some ones custom.

So offer customers the choice I say. Cheap crap pay less. Good rubber pay more. On a wet road, i'd be happy to have the extra few euro on my rims than in my wallet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

Chinese tyres are great ..... on bonfires.

goz83 wrote: »

So offer customers the choice I say. Cheap crap pay less. Good rubber pay more. On a wet road, i'd be happy to have the extra few euro on my rims than in my wallet.
    Your average joe is more concerned about price rather than brand or quality that's why tyre places will fit the cheapest unless you specify you want a premium brand. To your average joe all new tyres the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

Buy cheap, buy twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I'm just curious has anyone ever heard of winda tyres. They Are obviously Chinese tyres but I'm wondering in the grand scheme of things how bad are they. They are made by wonda boto tyres. I bought a focus a month ago. I never buy Chinese tyres always buy Bridgestone etc but the seller put 4 new tyres on it before he sold it to me. I seen the receipt they are brand new. I am hoping to get some bridgestones soon but just wondering has anyone ever heard of the brand.
    Sorry op for hijacking the thread but I thought if ask while we're on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm just curious has anyone ever heard of winda tyres

There's some mention of them here. Looks like it's just another random brand name from a large Chinese tyre company.

What are they like in the wet? On my old car on cheap tyres I used to get crazy wheelspin taking off from a hill start in the wet at times! (A 1.4 Corolla :pac:).

You could probably also try braking hard in the wet to see if the ABS kicks in and/or you skid.

Part worns might be an option if you really wanted rid of them. Kellehers in Ballincollig have a decent enough selection and you can have a good look at the tyres before purchase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

for the record....she asked for Good Tyres and when I went back to complain that they came 19th out of 20 tested in the survey I read, they said they ARE good tyres...they clearly aren't.....I'm now in charge of all tyre buying.

Thanks redisle. Funnily they don't seem to bad in the wet. I've tried breaking hard in the wet a few times and the car doesn't seem to skid at all. If you take of hard they spin a small bit. I might leave them on it a while as they are brand new and we are coming into summer. There not as bad as I thought they would be but after they wear abit they will probably go downhill alot quicker than a good branded tyre.

for the record....she asked for Good Tyres and when I went back to complain that they came 19th out of 20 tested in the survey I read, they said they ARE good tyres...they clearly aren't.....I'm now in charge of all tyre buying.
    Asking for just "good" tyres won't make a blind bit of difference to what any tyre place will give you. You must specify the brand you want if you're to get what you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

I normally ask and they will give 3 prices budget midrange or premium and decide from there which ones i want.

Asking for just "good" tyres won't make a blind bit of difference to what any tyre place will give you. You must specify the brand you want if you're to get what you expect.

"I" didn't buy them

In my experience in "her" eyes its still YOUR fault

Actually that's a bit unfair unless she is complaining.

"I" didn't buy them
    Your wife did though and never specified which brand she wanted so what were you expecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Well I went into a tyre garage once asked for the best brand he had, he sold me complete **** lesson learned.
    He balanced them all over the shop had to get them balanced elsewhere as I had driven down the country.
    Went back to him he told me he wouldn't take them back as it was my wheels that where throwing his balancing machine off.
    They are an excellent tyre come recommended on the tyre shop ratings blah blah blah.

For €80 each I was screwed, little tyre place I thought I could trust more.
    Told him I won't be seeing him again.

So to the OP it's not your wives fault entirely she asked for a good brand recommended by the expert the person she thinks is trustworthy sometimes it's just the garage buying in **** selling it for good tyre money to make a few extra quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Specifying the brand nowadays is no guarantee that you will not get a Chinese- manufactured tyre. Most of the top brands coming in here are manufactured in the Far East.

What do you mean by no gaurantee? If a tyre place doesnt have the brand you want you move onto the next tyre place.

Also what top brands are made in the far east? Imo it's not where they are made that is important, the quality and brand is the far more important imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm in charge of herself's car, she's lazy that way.
    Only brand tyres goes on, namely Uniroyal Rainexpert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

What do ye find is a good brand of tyre

Bridgestone turanzas are the ones I always buy great grip last fairly long. They are reasonably priced considering the quality.

Bpmull wrote: »

Bridgestone turanzas are the ones I always buy great grip last fairly long. They are reasonably priced considering the quality.
    +1 but I don't think they last overly long. Good grip though.

Hankooks are a good all round tyre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

Thanks to a few boardsie words of wisdom I'm a convert when it comes to tyres. Used to be any aul ****e, now, only premium tyres. Namely Conti WinterContact T850s and Michelen PS3's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

I always buy GoodYear, they've yet to let me down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Anything Pirelli, if they're good enough for F1 cars they're good enough for my car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Anything Pirelli, if they're good enough for F1 cars they're good enough for my car :pac:

Never liked Pirelli tyres, had them on a couple of cars and found they didn't last too long and went off fairly quickly.

Goodyear eagle F1's are excellent as are michelin pilot sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

They're ****e on the F1 cars though and will ruin this season like they ruined much of the last :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Neilw wrote: »
    Never liked Pirelli tyres, had them on a couple of cars and found they didn't last too long and went off fairly quickly.

Goodyear eagle F1's are excellent as are michelin pilot sports.
    They're ****e on the F1 cars though and will ruin this season like they ruined much of the last :pac:

Any of the ones I've had were grand and I do a bit of getting around, so I'll report back in a couple of months
    Ah in fairness now that was probably the drivers fault :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

biko wrote: »
    I'm in charge on herself's car, she's lazy that way.
    Only brand tyres goes on, namely Uniroyal Rainexpert.

Best tyres I've ever had on. Perfect for Irish weather.
    Have Rainsports on the car now as it happens but shall be getting 4 Rain Experts on soon enough.

Your wife did though and never specified which brand she wanted so what were you expecting?

what was I expecting? decent treatment of a customer who doesnt know one end of a car from a hole in the hedge. Fact is BECAUSE of this they ripped her off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

shinkansen wrote: »

A lot of people wont have €300 for a new set of tyres in one go. If you can get them for €100 but replace them 3 times as often it makes good financial sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

what was I expecting? decent treatment of a customer who doesnt know one end of a car from a hole in the hedge. Fact is BECAUSE of this they ripped her off.

Not really, unfortunately some customers want whatever will pass an NCT. The cheapest way to do that is with some part-worn no-namers.
    You need to do some research and ask for what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

It can be a no win situation selling tyres to people who haven't a clue. For 99% of people cheapest is best, how were the guys in the tyre centre to know that you were in the 1% who actually know their arse from their elbow when it comes to tyres?

I suppose you know this now already but in future you should take over tyre shopping duties yourself. I wouldn't rule out going back to the same tyre shop either, when they realise you know what you are talking about you might find they are actually good to deal with. I doubt they ripped your wife off in the first instance, they probably just charged her the going rate for a budget tyre.

Finally, the type of uneven wear you describe which leads to a wheel bearing type noise does not only affect budget tyres, I have seen it happen to plenty of mid range and premium brand tyres as well.

Not really, unfortunately some customers want whatever will pass an NCT. The cheapest way to do that is with some part-worn no-namers.
    You need to do some research and ask for what you want.

Again, it was not me buying the tyres, it was a person who knows nothing and asked for tyres that were good tyres ..and was sold rubbish. If you went into a restaurant and asked for good beef, would you be content with mince?

It can be a no win situation selling tyres to people who haven't a clue. For 99% of people cheapest is best, how were the guys in the tyre centre to know that you were in the 1% who actually know their arse from their elbow when it comes to tyres?

I suppose you know this now already but in future you should take over tyre shopping duties yourself. I wouldn't rule out going back to the same tyre shop either, when they realise you know what you are talking about you might find they are actually good to deal with. I doubt they ripped your wife off in the first instance, they probably just charged her the going rate for a budget tyre.

Finally, the type of uneven wear you describe which leads to a wheel bearing type noise does not only affect budget tyres, I have seen it happen to plenty of mid range and premium brand tyres as well.

George, I shouldn't need to do this. Had they recomended Premium tyres , she would have bought them and been quite happy. As it was they didn't bother to offer her a choice and their reasons for recomending them, they recomended cheap rubbish to make a fast buck, and told her they were good tyres. She trusted them...but they lose in the long run ...

also not uneven wear, actual multiple bulges...

Tbh I sincerely doubt that they ripped her off. She was very unspecific when she only asked for ''good'' tires, The tire place could of and probably did assume that like many people in this country that she wanted good thread for not too much money. It was up to you to tell her to get a premium brand and you failed to do so, thus it's you sir who is to blame for the whole thing IMO.

v7nqGOLj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Tbh I sincerely doubt that they ripped her off. She was very unspecific when she only asked for ''good'' tires, The tire place could of and probably did assume that like many people in this country that she wanted good thread for not too much money.
    Tyre places shouldn't assume anything on the customers behalf. It doesn't take that long to check whats in stock in a particular size, and give the customer a few options to choose from.

Being lazy and getting better markup on chinese rubbish is probably why they like to assume, though.

Oh, and good tyres & chinese made don't equate. In fact the chinese themselves tend not to buy most of the stuff made in china, they don't trust the quality.
    It was up to you to tell her to get a premium brand and you failed to do so, thus it's you sir who is to blame for the whole thing IMO.

No, it was up to the business to present the customer with a choice, as the request was ambiguous. Nobody bar the company is to blame here, certainly not corktina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

From talking to someone who runs a tyre centre. When average joe rings him up looking for "good" tyres he usually recommends one of the mid range brand or premium branded tyres. 9 out of 10 times the reaction on the phone is "Christ, I wasn't planning on spending that much, do you have anything cheaper?". He then says he has a budget unknown brand for alot cheaper and the answer is "sure their grand, I'll drop down and you can put them on".

So average joe's definition of a "good" tyre nearly always means "the cheaper than that". These are the tyres that sell the most so this is what he stocks and makes a living from. Anything odd in size or high end is bought on order only as he simply cannot afford to have expensive stock lying around when most will not buy them.

So I can see how difficult in selling tyres to your average joe, if you try and sell them a decent tyre they complain they are being fleeced, if you sell them a cheap tyre they complain they were sold rubbish.

Tyre places shouldn't assume anything on the customers behalf. It doesn't take that long to check whats in stock in a particular size, and give the customer a few options to choose from.
    She was only told to get good tires. According to Corktina she doesn't know anything about tires so if given a choice would probably go for the cheapest anyway and who is to say she wasn't given a choice.
    Being lazy and getting better markup on chinese rubbish is probably why they like to assume, though.
    What makes you think they are getting a better mark up on Chinese tires? Also I didn't say they assumed, I said they ''probably'' did assume.
    Oh, and good tyres & chinese made don't equate. In fact the chinese themselves tend not to buy most of the stuff made in china, they don't trust the quality.
    Who said they did equate? How do you know what the Chinese buys or doesn't buy, where are you getting your facts from? link please?

No, it was up to the business to present the customer with a choice, as the request was ambiguous. Nobody bar the company is to blame here, certainly not corktina.
    Exactly and that's why it's Corktina's fault. Had he told his wife specifically what tires to get for her car none of this would of happened. Instead he told her to get ''good tires'' which could mean different things to different people.

Tbh I sincerely doubt that they ripped her off. She was very unspecific when she only asked for ''good'' tires, The tire place could of and probably did assume that like many people in this country that she wanted good thread for not too much money. It was up to you to tell her to get a premium brand and you failed to do so, thus it's you sir who is to blame for the whole thing IMO.

If you believe it is my place to go buy the tyres in our household "for the little lady" , isn't that a bit sexist ?