Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your 'pet hate' ?

• 20-03-2013 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

As the title suggests, leave a message describing your pet hate.

My pet hate is when my family put the mayonnaise in the fridge, after I tell them to leave it out on the counter. The mayonnaise gets too cold in the fridge and I don't like it as much as I should!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Goldie hates the hoover.

Tiddles hates Goldie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

The volume on the television being on number which isn't nice and rounded like 35, 40, 45 or 50.

If it's 37, 42, 48 or 51 I usually blow my top and require a whiskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

being asked whats my pet hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Kittens , hate 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

People who spit.
    People who eat with their mouths open (and make noise).
    People who litter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭KT10

People who make tea for themselves and don't offer to make tea for others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

ray2012 wrote: »

My pet hate is when my family put the mayonnaise in the fridge, after I tell them to leave it out on the counter. The mayonnaise gets too cold in the fridge and I don't like it as much as I should!

"Trivial things that annoy you" thread, and in all fairness OP yours is the last post in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Truman Burbank

Is it 'yours' or 'all of yours'? It keeps its taste in the fridge, that's why they probably want it there. Just get another one and put your name in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Micra drivers.
    Spitters
    People who don't indicate
    Chewing Gum

And currently have a whole new level of hate for CNN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Human Resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Armchair fans who abuse athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

so youd prefer the ****s from rancid mayonaise then :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Auntie Psychotic

People who use text talk either online or in a text.
    I want to beat them to death with their phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Having to sit through those really annoying piracy clips (you can rarely skip them) when I've purchased a genuine DVD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

People picking their nose and eating it.....no problem if you do it in your gaff, just not in traffic or beside me on the bus.
    Weirdo's taking my earphones off my head on the bus to see if I am ok.
    A smelly person sitting next to me on a plane.
    People putting a milk carton in the fridge........with less than a cap full of milk left in it.
    When the ring pull of a can breaks off while trying to open it.
    Wet socks.
    Getting stung with sitting in the front of a taxi.......then the driver waffling the ears off me.
    When your lace snaps while tying your shoelace and having no immediate replacement.
    Looking for a pair of glasses for 20 mins and they are on your head.

I'm content otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Im a bit ov a grammer Natc. H8 wen ppl cant spel r rite proply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

currently "thinly veiled..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

People who don't know what an apostrophe is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

People just pushing the door closed, but not closing it properly so it's left open an inch or 2.
    It infuriates me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

People who leave milk out on the counter when making tea, die in a fire you fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

ladies who keep undressing in front of me for no particular reason, like I am suppose to do something, very upsetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

People that say "red sauce" -

Brown sauce is called brown sauce alright, but the thing you are thinking of is called ketchup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Funk It wrote: »
    People that say "red sauce" -

Brown sauce is called brown sauce alright, but the thing you are thinking of is called ketchup.

It is sauce and it is red.
    It is red sauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

People who roll forwards at red lights (sometimes they're over a car length over the line).

Then when the lights go green, they don't move! Agghhhh :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Cyclists.

People who stand in doorways.

All other drivers - get off my road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

NlGGERS

banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

few obvious ones for me:
    when people don't thank the bus driver when getting off the bus
    people talking in the cinema
    When people leave empty cartons of milk in fridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

wprathead wrote: »
    when people don't thank the bus driver when getting off the bus

Fairly understandable in some situations.....like when you are in a hurry to make a connecting bus and the pr*ck behind the wheel decides to wait at a stop until he catches the attention of the person handing out the Metro so he can get himself a free copy. Also acceptable to call him a w*nker as you're getting off the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

When people don't have their money ready when they have reached the till in a shop.. usually followed by them taking forever to put their change back into their wallet/purse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

People picking their nose and eating it.....no problem if you do it in your gaff, just not in traffic or beside me on the bus.
    Weirdo's taking my earphones off my head on the bus to see if I am ok.
    A smelly person sitting next to me on a plane.
    People putting a milk carton in the fridge........with less than a cap full of milk left in it.
    When the ring pull of a can breaks off while trying to open it.
    Wet socks.
    Getting stung with sitting in the front of a taxi.......then the driver waffling the ears off me.
    When your lace snaps while tying your shoelace and having no immediate replacement.
    Looking for a pair of glasses for 20 mins and they are on your head.

I'm content otherwise.

Heh, that was a hilarious thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭alph

People who spit
    People that don't put the milk back into the fridge when finished with it
    Any kind of nuts
    Chuggers
    Beggars
    Dublin bus and its prices (I used it today for the first time in about 1 year, it will be the last time)

Edit: I forgot one
    Smokers that blow smoke in your face / stink of smoke all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Volume of the TV must be an even number or multiple of 5.

Never, ever grab the first slice of bread out of the packet. What are you a mad man?

People who use 'loose' when they mean 'lose'

Littering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

It doesn't really like things being shoved up its arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭AtomMcC

People who sit at traffic lights with their foot on the brake pedal. Rear brake lights burn my bloody eyes!
    Have they never heard of a hand brake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

People who suck up their snots. Seriously people blow your nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Bastards who don't dim their headlights, I despise these people, I know that you are coming around that bend cause I can see your lights, you know the same, so why do you have to wait until you have come around the bend and are nearly passed me before you dim your lights you mildly retarded ass clown.

People who whinge all the time, yes you have problems, but so do rest of us why must you constantly complain about it you bore, I particularly hate, I'm tired, I'm hungry etc. I couldn't give less of a **** about what you are if I tried, why do you have to give the rest of the world a play by play of the monotonous boring ****e that suddenly enters your head.

Oh and this one particularly annoys me, people who ask me what I am eating, and then when I tell them they say yuck, or that's horrible. A, why do you care what I am eating? And B, what makes you think I want your ****ing opinion on it. Why, why WHY? :mad:

Also idiots who talk about stuff they know nothing about, for instance the recession, the war on terror, most things science related, and pretty much anything that is not in the daily ****ing star, you have decided to be an uneducated oaf, and that is fine, then why must you try to talk about things you know NOTHING about?

Also people who call anyone from the Middle East a paki, from eastern Asia a chinc, basically ignorant, poorly educated, poorly socialised mongoloids, then when corrected say, "same thing", really is it? Lets think about this retard. The amount of Irish people that I have encountered who say such things and don't think there is anything wrong with it is startling, and they are so stupid that they aren't even embarrassed by this ****.

I'm pretty sure that another thread like this came up a while back, I wrote very similar things, and ended by saying that I am a very angry person, I think I'll do the same here :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

People that say done instead of did. Not because it's wrong but because it completely baffles me, it not shorter, I don't think it's easier to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

People who buy you something and then go on about it for the next week, how much they spent and are you liking it enough and so on.

People who drive at 30kmh in an 80 zone
    People who take an age to drive off from a green light
    Kids on scooters in skateparks (it is not a creche)

There is just too much :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

humbert wrote: »
    People that say done instead of did. Not because it's wrong but because it completely baffles me, it not shorter, I don't think it's easier to say.
    Likewise, people who say 'I seen', instead of 'I saw'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

3 from me all are similar;

In shops why does the person ahead of me have to close their purse/wallet and put it in their bag or whatever before leaving the counter. Get out of the way and do it there.

At the bottom of escalators going upwards why does everyone with a wheelie suitcase have to stop dead and draw in the long handle before moving onto the escalator, as above just get out of the way and do it there.

Finally why are people so slow getting off planes, it really is infuriating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

People that say "like" after every sentance they say or write :mad:

ye know who ye are.....fcukin knobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

If I could keep Charlie Sheen in a cage, he'd be my 'pet hate'.......otherwise, I just hate him........and the word "irregardless" :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

City centre cyclists who seem to want to run me down on the path every day. I've stopped getting out of their way now. If they hit me I'm sure they'll do a lot more damage to themselves than me. Which would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

20 & 30 something males Guffawing with cheesygrins at their own quips every time in the pub. When they are the main event for their table who usually laugh along as well. Yee keep on buying the carlsbrgandheoni iauppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Larianne wrote: »

FYP

I hate people who butter toast and then scrape the remainder of the butter that's on the knife back into the butter dish/tub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭rosb

I hate people who have a full scale loud conversation on their mobiles right beside me on a crowded Luas....... I don't want to hear how busy and exciting their lives are, thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Spunge wrote: »
    NlGGERS

banned
    Things like this. People being cnuty just for the sake of being cnuty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

But a major one for me is women at the checkout. And no offense to women who don't do this but it's always women.

For Gods sake have your purse ready when it's time to pay and just give them a note instead of rummaging round for exact change. Ain't nobody got time for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭rosb

Sales Assistants who when they are serving you, chat away to their friend at the next till. I feel invisible, and want to go somewhere else where I will get a hello, thanks very much etc.