Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Travers interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Some controversial and risky remarks there.

He really disappointed in Gotenborg. I think he ran an 8.22 after his sub 8 mins in Athlone. Maybe the occasion got to him, or it was just not in the legs on that day. Isn't Gerry Kiernan his coach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Interesting that he considers core strength work "very important" but not speed work. Hope he does not lose that speed.
    I do not do any speed work with my new coach Jerry. We do not need to do it. All I need is strength training as I have proved. I do not need to work on my speed as I have it already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

walshb wrote: »

Sorry what is risky about being honest?

Him being honest isn't risky. Making statements like that about the sport is what is risky, and unless he has some actual evidence, then he should hold his tongue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

A sign of a good interview is when the reader wants to continue reading more of the athletes views. In this respect John is up there with Tom Chamney. Far too many boring Irish athletes out there. I say he needs to stir the hornets nest even more!

I wonder what Kenyans and Ethiopians would think about his comments?

Yeh, stir the nest more. Maybe next time he can get a swipe in at a few more countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ChickenTikka

Yeh, stir the nest more. Maybe next time he can get a swipe in at a few more countries.

Why the negativity regarding his interview. The man is a super young athlete. He has a few opinions on things and shared them in the interview. What's the problem. If he thinks some of the Kenyans and Ethiopians are overage for juniors, that's his opinion. I'm pretty sure we had topics on boards before debating the same and sharing anonymous opinions on the matter.

Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

This topic was discussed before here on boards, opinion at that time would concur with TRavers' view on the matter. Think it was after the last world juniors.

Are you for real?

Yes.

Why the negativity regarding his interview. The man is a super young athlete. He has a few opinions on things and shared them in the interview. What's the problem. If he thinks some of the Kenyans and Ethiopians are overage for juniors, that's his opinion. I'm pretty sure we had topics on boards before debating the same and sharing anonymous opinions on the matter.

I didn't think we had to have nothing but praise for the man?

I read the interview. I never said anything negative. I simply found it wrong for him to tarnish two whole countries because of a feeling he has. If he has some solid evidence then he should submit it. Had that been a Kenyan mouthing off about the Irish I would feel the exact same. He is implying/stating that the sport is corrupt. That's a serious allegation. Now, back it up or shut up, or better still, apologise and take it back.

Why the negativity regarding his interview. The man is a super young athlete. .

I enjoyed the rest of the interview. Yes, great athlete he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Him being honest isn't risky. Making statements like that about the sport is what is risky, and unless he has some actual evidence, then he should hold his tongue.

It's not risky or controversial when it's the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

It's not risky when commentators like steve cram and Brendan foster even bring up the issue while live on BBC. Well known fact that birth documentation in some African countries is poor. Anybody in the primary education system in Ireland will have first hand evidence of this!!!!

I'm not getting into this with walshb. He's not one to change his opinion.

I don't want to "get into" it with anyone. I assume the IAAF have rules, protocols and procedures in place when they create these championships? If so, are Ethiopia and Kenya immune?

I think it's a damaging mark for the sport that people can spout off this without a shred of evidence. It's bad for the sport. I wouldn't be arsed watching a sport that could be that bent. And how will it promote and encourage and prosper the sport if what Travers is claiming is actually true?

And, if Cram is spouting it off then he too is wrong.

Oh, and Travers himself said what he was saying was controverisal. He said this in the interview.

It reminds me of the sore loser, Ochigava, who claimed that the AIBA and Taylor were in cahoots and that the judges were favouring Taylor. Disgraceful remarks. It reeks of sour grapes!

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    It's not risky or controversial when it's the truth.

So it's the truth because what?

If it's the truth then the sport is a farce. Bent, corrupt and pathetic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's hardly headline news and even if it were, who is more entitled to ask the questions, than someone who has competed on the track as a junior against these athletes? The shock and horror of the keyboard warrior is amusing. A knight bathed in the glow of a monitor reflection, defending the honour and integrity of the African nations.

Will we ever get the answer to that age old question: How old is Haile Gebrselassie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

So it's the truth because what?

If it's the truth then the sport is a farce. Bent, corrupt and pathetic!

It's not as cut and dried as that. You don't even have to assume that it's a massive conspiracy on the part of the African countries.

There are certain socio-political and cultural reasons for why some African countries do not have high levels of birth registration, which means that getting reliable dates of birth for all athletes is harder. Check out the link below:

http://www.unicef.org/esaro/5480_birth_registration.html

In Ethiopia, only 5% of children in rural areas aged under 5 had their births registered.

At a senior level, this doesn't matter at all, but a junior level it has huge consequences because Irish athletes, for example, could be discouraged by being beaten in what might turn out to be later to be an unfair competition.

By the way, age fabrication happens in other sports, including boxing and football. It also happens in China and loads of other countries.

There are reliable tests for determining an athlete's age and all John Travers is saying is that these tests should be used more regularly to ensure that underage competitions are not compromised.

That's not particularly controversial.

Sacksian wrote: »
    It's not as cut and dried as that. You don't even have to assume that it's a massive conspiracy on the part of the African countries.

There are certain socio-political and cultural reasons for why some African countries do not have high levels of birth registration, which means that getting reliable dates of birth for all athletes is harder. Check out the link below:

http://www.unicef.org/esaro/5480_birth_registration.html

In Ethiopia, only 5% of children in rural areas aged under 5 had their births registered.

At a senior level, this doesn't matter at all, but a junior level it has huge consequences because Irish athletes, for example, could be discouraged by being beaten in what might turn out to be later to be an unfair competition.

By the way, age fabrication happens in other sports, including boxing and football. It also happens in China and loads of other countries.

There are reliable tests for determining an athlete's age and all John Travers is saying is that these tests should be used more regularly to ensure that underage competitions are not compromised.

I am not saying cheating and corruption does not go on in sport. It does. His matter of fact claim was for me wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭plodder

To change tack slightly - it's interesting that he was active in a number of sports before taking up athletics in 5th year at school. I wonder how common that is, ie. someone getting to a good international standard after taking up the sport relatively late? Are there other examples?

I'd say it's less likely in other sports, where the technical skills have to be learnt from a young age. If so, that's a great advantage for athletics (running at least), because there is that "window" of opportunity in the late teens. Transition year in school is one place it could be targeted specifically.

He claimed that cheating is happening in world events. That is very controversial. If true, then it's disgraceful.

I am not saying cheating and corruption does not go on in sport. It does. His matter of fact claim was for me wrong.

His exact quotation is: "Another thing, and I might come under controversy for this, would be sorting out the right ages for so called “juniors” from the likes of Kenya and Ethiopia."

He doesn't mention cheating, corruption or any of the other stuff that you do.

He says "sorting out the right ages".

That's about as gentle (and understanding) as you can be about the problem.

There are documented facts for why Kenya and Ethiopia might have problems with birth registration, so to talk about "sorting out the right ages" is not particularly controversial, at all.

From the Haile article:
    Age falsification begins early. Scouts for running clubs based in Addis Ababa regularly recruit athletes in rural youth running projects sprinkled throughout the country. The better athletes in these clubs present themselves as younger than they really are to curry the interest of the scouts. While the scouts might make some effort at verification during the recruiting process, formal age determination does not happen until much later, when the best young runners earn their first opportunities to compete outside Ethiopian borders and must obtain passports.

t is unclear whether the Ethiopian Athletic Federation or the Ethiopian government participates, or has participated, in age falsification at this level. Ash believes this is not a current practice. "I feel the government does a pretty good job of determining ages non-generously," he said. "The Ethiopian Athletics Federation also, in my experience, tends to be very above-the-table and honest." But Ash conceded that, even when acting in good faith, the government and the federation often lack the documentation and information needed to make an accurate age determination, leaving plenty of room for individual athletes to pull one over on them.

His exact quotation is: "Another thing, and I might come under controversy for this, would be sorting out the right ages for so called “juniors” from the likes of Kenya and Ethiopia."

He doesn't mention cheating, corruption or any of the other stuff that you do.

He says "sorting out the right ages".

That's about as gentle (and understanding) as you can be about the problem.

There are documented facts for why Kenya and Ethiopia might have problems with birth registration, so to talk about "sorting out the right ages" is not particularly controversial, at all.

Did you read all the quote?

"It is so unfair. You can clearly tell there are 30 year olds competing at U20 level in World Juniors and Youths etc."

If that isn't a claim that cheating is happening then what is? In effect he has come out and claimed that the IAAF are sanctioning events where it's clear that cheating is occurring

And, he himself said what he was about to say was controversial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

I thought the age thing was the least controversial part of the interview given the problems of age falsification.

For me, it was an Irish athlete admitting in front of the world, that he didn’t know who Eamonn Coughlan was.

What is he trying to say?

Not "in effect", but what does he ACTUALLY identify as the problem??

"Sorting out the right ages."

He didn't say his opinion was controversial, he said that he "might come under controversy for this."

And why?

Because someone, somewhere, is going to jump on what he said, misconstrue it for dramatic effect, and then ignore all of the available evidence so that they can continue to complain about a controversy which they themselves have created.

You are on your own.

That doesn't necessarily mean that you are wrong. But, on the balance of probability, in an evidence-based argument, it does mean you're less likely to be right.

Well, if I am on my own then the sport is fecked. The IAAF are a sham. Because, according to Travers and many more there is cheating happening in IAAF events. Clear cheating. That is damning. If the IAAF impose rules and protocols and countries pass those rules and protocols then are we not to take these events as being above board?

BTW, Travers did not produce any evidence. It's clear to everyone was the best he could come up with? Well, I hope to god it's not clear to the IAAF, because if it is?

Well, if I am on my own then the sport is fecked. The IAAF are a sham. Because, according to Travers and many more there is cheating happening in IAAF events. Clear cheating. That is damning. If the IAAF impose rules and protocols and countries pass those rules and protocols then are we not to take these events as being above board?

BTW, Travers did not produce any evidence. It's clear to everyone was the best he could come up with? Well, I hope to god it's not clear to the IAAF, because if it is?

I'm going to try this one final time.

Age falsification may not be deliberate - it is not necessarily the same thing as deliberate cheating.

It doesn't matter, the tests do not discriminate between whether it is deliberate or not.

But John Travers is suggesting that the tests are perhaps not used as comprehensively as they could be. The fact that the tests exist surely suggests that this is an issue for the IAAF too?

Deliberate or not, the issue for John Travers is "sorting out the right ages". He is highlighting an issue that the IAAF and athletics community should work harder at (and they acknowledge it is an issue).

Forget the bluster and outrage and focus on the intent of what he said.

Btw, I've seen some boxers suggest there is age fabrication in olympic boxing. Is this true? Clearly, the AIBA are a sham. Because, according to some boxers there is cheating happening in AIBA events. Clear cheating. That is damning. If the AIBA impose rules and protocols and countries pass those rules and protocols then are we not to take these events as being above board?

They claim that cheating is happening in world amateur boxing events. That is very controversial. If true, then it's disgraceful.

If it's the truth then amateur boxing is a farce. Bent, corrupt and pathetic!

Like I said, if the IAAF set rules, then they either can be passed or not? If the AIBA were running events that showed clear rule breaking then yes, it too would be bent. Until the organisations come up with the "perfect" system then that is how it is, and accusing countries of clear cheating with no evidence to me is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Like I said, if the IAAF set rules, then they either can be passed or not? If the AIBA were running events that showed clear rule breaking then yes, it too would be bent. Until the organisations come up with the "perfect" system then that is how it is, and accusing countries of clear cheating with no evidence to me is wrong.

Age falsification happens in most sports.
    http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/2012olympics/2012-08/11/content_15665157.htm
    Enough with "shock, horror" response - its trolling.

The fact that he took up athletics relatively late and that he does no speedwork is of much more interest to real athletics fans.

dna_leri wrote: »

The fact that he took up athletics relatively late and that he does no speedwork is of much more interest to real athletics fans.

And worse:

http://deadspin.com/5931226/was-this-disgraceful-olympic-boxing-match-fixed

Did I say it didn't happen? No shock or horror whatsoever from me.

Less of the trolling crap as well. I wasn't aware that this thread had to go a "certain way."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Absolutely, I was very surprised to read both facts. Travers is now, what, 21? That means he's only been involved in athletics for 5 years maximum. That probably attributes to the lack of strength that he alludes to several times in the interview. Surely, as seen from the indoor season, there are much faster times to come from him in the future.

The fact that he does no speedwork maybe because he (or his coach) has decided to work soley on his weaknesses for now? I would have thought that he'd introduce speedwork again once he's happier with his strength.

And who doesn't know who Eamonn Coughlan is? The youth of today:rolleyes:

Did I say it didn't happen? No shock or horror whatsoever from me.

Less of the trolling crap as well. I wasn't aware that this thread had to go a "certain way."

unless he has some actual evidence, then he should hold his tongue :P

I think you are right the topic about john should be what a bright future he has.Most athletes don't say SFA but we need more athletes like him who tells it as it is.
    You will also find alot of athletes will do a winter training and very little speedwork during indoors unless they have it as their main target.Very difficult to run well both indoors and outdoors.

Ps the thread was going a certain way due to silly comments you made.I don't think the coutry of Kenya will worry too much about what John Travers says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Paranoid Mandroid

Cleanman wrote: »

And who doesn't know who Eamonn Coughlan is? The youth of today:rolleyes:

ha, check out this pic from the photoshop comp page: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83600236&postcount=7

Took me a while to spot the joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 InsaneBolt

Got it immediately. I wonder did the kid get reprimanded.:)

InsaneBolt wrote: »
    Got it immediately. I wonder did the kid get reprimanded.:)
    It's from a Photoshop competition, so I'd guess... no.