Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proud to be Irish

• 17-03-2013 1:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭

Well Enda Kenny is a proud man as he marched up Fifth Avenue :
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny marched up Fifth Avenue in Manhattan today as part of New York’s 252nd St Patrick’s Day parade.

The Taoiseach told attendees of the progress that had been seen in the Irish economy in recent months.

“Our economy is entering its third consecutive year of growth. Competitiveness is up. Prices and costs have fallen back to 2003 levels,” he said

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/us-support-invaluable-to-irish-recovery-1.1328703

Regardless of the economy - Its great to be Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Ah good aul Enda....still lookin' for that pot o' gold!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Prices and costs have fallen back to 2003 levels,” he said

*Looks at ESB bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Tis all-right here I suppose. My appendix operation would have bankrupted me in America for instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

mikom wrote: »
    *Looks at ESB bill.

*shudders looking at gas bill:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Where??

Ah Jayses :( I was in good form, now Im not, if he thinks that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

mikom wrote: »
    *Looks at ESB bill.

Ahem.

It's Electric Ireland to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Regardless of the economy - Its great to be Irish

Your husband's assassination aside Mrs. Kennedy, how was the trip to Dallas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The deluded lying cretin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Chucken wrote: »

Where??

Probably the governments wages bill, can't see any other bills dropping to 2003 levels anywhere...

Where??

Now Chucken, if we were all to put our problems on the table ..........:D

Now Chucken, if we all to put our problems on the table ..........:D

Touche. :P

Hes lying though.

Either way, I am very proud to be Irish. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Glad to see our tax money being well spent on endas nice little junket

maxfresh wrote: »
    Glad to see our tax money being well spent on endas nice little junket

Ya, he should just stay here and not promote the country at all...on our National holiday.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

The spineless little weasel with that scrawny civil service head on him might as well go over there and spin his yarns cause most of us stopped believing his bull**** here a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Ya, he should just stay here and not promote the country at all...on our National holiday.:rolleyes:

Ye why not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I Like 5 penny Ice pops

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Sure we've turned the corner.

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Sure we've turned the corner.

Into a cul-de-sac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Into a cul-de-sac.

With a "No-Entry" sign on the way back out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Prices and costs have fallen back to 2003 levels

have a word with Dublin Bus ya lying prick - @ End@

Nationalism is an outdated ideal in the age of the internet and open borders within the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

No not really, I don't like the Irish, I'm like one of those self hating Jew guys. I dislike my own kind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

How that chancer and his party got into power is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

For all its faults and problems Yes I am proud to be Irish.

Happy st patricks day to you all :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I am Irish and will always be Irish. I leave pride to personal achievements. Being "proud" to be Irish is like saying I'm proud to have a nose - it's how I was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Our leader in New York talking Up Ireland's economy in an attempt to portray us in a positive light for investment. Madness, whats sort of an eejit is it...Oh wait..He's doing exactl;y what he shoudl be doing..

Seriously, what, he should stand there and go, ye know what America, We're fecked!! In the crapper, On a sinking island with no hope of an underfunded lifeboat service to bail us out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Nationalism is an outdated ideal in the age of the internet and open borders within the EU.

Wait a sec there, what's all this 'Ireland's debt' business?

It's okay to make catastrophic monetary problems a national issue but reject Nationalism?

How neat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Anyone know if there is a book depository on 5th Avenue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭ManMade

I'm struggling to think of anything that costs the same now as in 2003.

Maybe houses but come on enda there's more to living in Ireland than houses.

How much money has it cost the Irish tax payer for Enda and the lads to go all over the world on their annual jolly just to promote the country?

Money that would be better spent on schools, hospitals and one thousand other small vital things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Enda needs to realise that the usa and american companies couldnt care less about Ireland. all their companies want here is profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Chop Chop

He's a fúcking spoofer so he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Jijsaw

I am Irish and will always be Irish. I leave pride to personal achievements. Being "proud" to be Irish is like saying I'm proud to have a nose - it's how I was born.

You should be grateful for your nose, Voldemort didn't have one :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Is that Enda in the green wig holding the Irish flag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

How that chancer and his party got into power is beyond me.
    Because Fianna Fail raped and pillaged the country. We'd have voted Zig and Zag to oust those gangsters FFS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Sure arnt penny sweets still the same price

Stojkovic wrote: »
    Because Fianna Fail raped and pillaged the country. We'd have voted Zig and Zag to oust those gangsters FFS.
    Zig and Zag would have done a better job than the current shower,

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Every year we send most of our ministers off to other parts of the world on St. Patricks day. The intention is to use St. Patricks day as an opportunity to raise Ireland's profile and encourage investment.

He's hardly going to say it's all shoite in Ireland and everything's still total crap in that environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

With me shillelagh under me arm, and a twinkle in me eye, leave that rosey cheeked adonis alone. I ♥ Edna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

He needs a medical check up, we cannot have someone with alzheimer's running the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Gosub wrote: »
    Anyone know if there is a book depository on 5th Avenue?

There might be a grassy knoll ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    There might be a grassy knoll ?

There was certainly a knob there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

I for one think hes doing a great job. New York was the best possible place for him to go due to the Irish connections with the city. Brian Cowen went to Vietnam for petes sake. From a marketing point of view the choice of desination for most of the ministers has been excellent and the work of Tourism Ireland with turning landmarks green is remarkable.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-21809504

Every year we send most of our ministers off to other parts of the world on St. Patricks day. The intention is to use St. Patricks day as an opportunity to raise Ireland's profile and encourage investment.

He's hardly going to say it's all shoite in Ireland and everything's still total crap in that environment.
    The country is up to its eyes in debt and the clowns are still going away on these jollies in the name of raising our international profile. There is precious little investment heading this way at the moment and we will not see much for another few years at least .It makes more sense to cut our spending by only sending the president away at the most in the name of raising our profile.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

No it doesn't.

Two million spent by Enda and the lads on their junket says otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Two million spent by Enda and the lads on their junket says otherwise.

Have you any figures on what revenue these junkets earn though? Not just in companies basing themselves here but encouraging people to holiday here etc.

They've spent two million in worse ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

How much money has it cost the Irish tax payer for Enda and the lads to go all over the world on their annual jolly just to promote the country?

Money that would be better spent on schools, hospitals and one thousand other small vital things.

I hate this argument.

No-one died because he went to America, no-ones education is a worse off cos he went to America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Rasheed wrote: »
    Have you any figures on what revenue these junkets earn though? Not just in companies basing themselves here but encouraging people to holiday here etc.

They've spent two million in worse ways.

If anything seeing a tool like Edna would put people off coming here.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Zebra3 wrote: »

If anything seeing a tool like Edna would put people off coming here.....

Unlikely. It was the lads you get misty-eyed about who maimed and slaughtered people who dragged the name and reputation of this country through the gutter.