Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Brolly

• 15-03-2013 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭

Joe Brolly is a fcuking hero, What an incredible human being...

Just watched him on the late late, he gave a kidney to a friend, wonderful story.

This guy could teach us how to live........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

not yet wrote: »

Just watched him on the late late, he gave a kidney to a friend, wonderful story.

An absolute legend. A great great man and have absolute huge respect for him for what he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Steak & kidney pie anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Macailz

A gentleman, he was on the Nolan show a couple of months ago and his story seriously opened my eyes to being a donor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Amprodude wrote: »
    An absolute legend. A great great man and have absolute huge respect for him for what he did.

Close it nothing more can be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

Ah, sure he had two anyway, and it's not like he invented them. We all have moments of generosity that we later regret. Only last week I borrowed a fiver to a lad at work. Sorry now. No hope of getting it back.

I'm joking. relax.

no way am I not getting that fiver back.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I have to say that I never liked him as a GAA pundit. And then I watch him talking here just now. I feel deeply humbled now. Well done Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Was there one for everyone in the audience too?

....Fair balls to him all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Doesn't he only know the fella he donated it to for like a couple of years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭cuana

Admirable for sure! I have said to my brother ehhhhh I'll give you a kidney as a last resort :o mainly as I'm scared of surgery but would defiantly do it if if need be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Close it nothing more can be said.

True..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

He comes across as a smug arrogant wanker on TV, can't stand him as a pundit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Fcuk that,
    Id want at least 50 grand.

True..
    Hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Respect. But I reserve the right to call him a w*nker once the season kicks off :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I don't understand. Who wouldn't give a spare organ to someone they know in need?

c_man wrote: »
    Respect. But I reserve the right to call him a w*nker once the season kicks off :pac:

You have to give it to him though as a GAA analyst. He says and writes stuff to get people going. Genius.

Cydoniac wrote: »
    I don't understand. Who wouldn't give a spare organ to someone they know in need?
    Unless it's in the garage, and I've not used it in six months, I'd need to think about it. Especially if me having sex was not involved in your creation. Also, genius and GAA analyst in the one sentence jars somwhat.

Brolly wasnt even a close friend to this guy. They never socialised or anything to that degree but when Brolly heard he needed a kidney, he offered to give him one. That took courage on Brollys behalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭mikehammer67

he's a good guy

horrible pundit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

I have always thought him to be the most contemptible scrote on the planet until I heard the interview he did on radio a few months ago about this. He obviously is a good human being on some level.
    Yes it was an amazing thing to do, but tonight I thought his touching of the guy's arm constantlyon the late late was seriously cringy. The guy was clearly embarrassed by it.

I'm still not going to unlike the fb page "Joe Brolly is a bollox" though. - Cos he still is when it comes to football. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I have no ideas who he is.

How is he fixed for a giving of a liver?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

There are plenty of people who do amazing and kind things for other people every day and don't feel the need to make those facts known on national television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

I have no ideas who he is.

How is he fixed for a giving of a liver?

Does your computer not "do" google or did you post that just to try to be all cool and not into bogger sports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

johnr1 wrote: »
    Does your computer do google or did you post that just to try to be all cool and not into bogger sports?

I just don't know who he is. There is enough info in this story to carry it's own weight. I'm not interested in finding out about his past so didn't google, him. But I assume he is an ex GAA player and pundit. What more do I need to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

What more do I need to know?

What's the meaning of life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Augmerson wrote: »
    There are plenty of people who do amazing and kind things for other people every day and don't feel the need to make those facts known on national television.

He was giving up more of his time to raise awareness of donating. :rolleyes: It's working BIGTIME.
    Amazing story and very honest, fair play to him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Happyman42 wrote: »
    He was giving up more of his time to raise awareness of donating. :rolleyes: It's working BIGTIME.
    Amazing story and very honest, fair play to him.

I carry an Organ Donor card myself. So hold on to your rolleyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Was a cracking player in his day, I love the sparring between him and Spillane on the telly and he made an incredible human gesture to a friend.

Respect for that man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Didn't Rihanna write a song about him?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Amprodude wrote: »
    Brolly wasnt even a close friend to this guy. They never socialised or anything to that degree but when Brolly heard he needed a kidney, he offered to give him one. That took courage on Brollys behalf.
    I'd do the same, so would many out there. Would you not help out a friend in need if you had a compatible organ or blood? Who says you have to be best mates? I'm just not getting this whole stratospheric status he's been raised to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I'd do the same, so would many out there. Would you not help out a friend in need if you had a compatible organ or blood? Who says you have to be best mates? I'm just not getting this whole stratospheric status he's been raised to.

Basically because its a very serious operation, harder in the donar than the receiver, and now he has only one kidney should anything happen.

Yes, I'd like to think I'd help someone in need but it's a fair jump from a blood donation to a kidney. And if that person wasn't a close friend or family, I just don't think I would take all that risk.

Sure why is there anyone on the kidney transplant list if there are 'many people' out there that would make this sacrifice?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Most people wouldn't give a kidney even if they were dead.

Even when they know it could save a life

If there were more donors then less living people would have to go under the knife.

If you want to become a donor - just tick the box on the back of your driving license
    and mention it to your next of kin next time you see them

The transplant list is growing longer and there are only two ways of getting off it. :(
    http://www.organdonation.ie/facts
    In 2012 the total number of donors was 78 deceased and 32 live donors. There were 239 solid organ transplants performed: 163 kidney; 50 liver; 14 lung; 10 heart; 2 pancreas.

Total number of patients on the Transplant List in December 2012 was 563, 35 more people than at the end of the previous year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Brolly is a troll of a pundit but he might be okay when 'out of character'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A nice guy, he likes fcuking with people a bit but I find that funny. The time he played for Derry in a challenge match against Fermanagh in the late 90s whilst wearing tracksuit bottoms was particularly amusing to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

In other news, Declan Kidney has given a friend his spare brolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Met him going into the mater this morning and he was extremely nice. I couldn't place him at first but then copped it, always been a fan of his punditry tbh, felt he said it like it was more than most. Great guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

big b wrote: »
    In other news, Declan Kidney has given a friend his spare brolly.

what, he has spare family members? :/

just how far does this mans generosity go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Can't abide him as a commentator,heard him on the radio talking about his good deed and couldn't abide him then,that's all I know about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

So he has done a good deed. And now he's all over RTE, yakking about how good he for doing his good deed? G'way and shíte.

(I have no idea who this chap is, nor am I interested in finding out. I don't watch RTE, I have zero interest in GAA, and fúck yourself if you think I'm going to watch the Late Late.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Was it one AI he won and it makes him some sort of "expert" at the game. He may have done a good deed but it takes nothiong away from the fact he is a small minded tosser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Augmerson wrote: »
    I carry an Organ Donor card myself. So hold on to your rolleyes.

So people who go on the telly should only be talking to you? They would never be talking to the vast majority who don't make a decision about donating?

Mealy mouthed begrudgery is mealy mouthed begrudery.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Doesn't change the fact that i can't listen to him talk about the gaa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭seanm92

Was it one AI he won and it makes him some sort of "expert" at the game. He may have done a good deed but it takes nothiong away from the fact he is a small minded tosser.

Bit off the topic off the thread, but yes, this does make him an expert, winning an all-Ireland is something that less than 0.1% of people who have played the game achieve, so yes, I'd say Joe does know a thing or two about the game. Doesnt mean I like him as a pundit, but yes, he is an expert

Lets not forget, this isnt a GAA thread, why do so many people on here have to make a point of how much of a w*nker they think he is, the man has done an amazing thing in donating his kidney to someone else, why do people need to take away from that making him out to be a c*nt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

seanm92 wrote: »
    Bit off the topic off the thread, but yes, this does make him an expert, winning an all-Ireland is something that less than 0.1% of people who have played the game achieve, so yes, I'd say Joe does know a thing or two about the game. Doesnt mean I like him as a pundit, but yes, he is an expert

Lets not forget, this isnt a GAA thread, why do so many people on here have to make a point of how much of a w*nker they think he is, the man has done an amazing thing in donating his kidney to someone else, why do people need to take away from that making him out to be a c*nt?

Only heard him on the radio didn't notice him promoting donor cards particularly,didn't see it last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    He comes across as a smug arrogant wanker on TV, can't stand him as a pundit

Ha, have to laugh at people getting a dig in to someone who intelligently articulates his views. Ya, clearly arrogant and smug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

There's one kidney that nobody feckin wants, Declan feckin Kidney. Take him, just take him!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

seanm92 wrote: »

People can do good things and still be w*****s. Brolly is no different to all the people all over the world who carry a donor card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

darced wrote: »

But man everything on TV is real. OMG's. :rolleyes: