Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gamble at Wolverhampton Tonight

• 15-03-2013 4:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭

4 Murrphy horses smashed into favs. some bookies not taking bets.
    Anyone on or got info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    4 Murrphy horses smashed into favs. some bookies not taking bets.
    Anyone on or got info?

Loads of bookies now betting SP only on the races

Unfortunately no info however!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

FOUR horses in the care of trainer William Murphy and due to run at Wolverhampton this evening have come in for sustained across-the-board support with bookmakers this morning.

All of the quartet have been absent for more than two years and will be the first Flat runners that Naas-based Murphy has had in Britain or Ireland since 2009.

The maiden Musical Express is as short as 3-1 (from 16) for the 6.25. Ros Cuire, another maiden, is 4-1 (from 20) for the 8.00, Tumblecloud, off since 2009, is 4-1 (from 16) for the 8.30 while Toberogan is 3-1 (from 20) for the 9.00.

David Williams of Ladbrokes said: "It's not the first time we've seen a major gamble lined up at a meeting that happens when all eyes are supposed to be elsewhere.

"It has the look of 'when the cats are away the mice will play' but we cottoned on quickly enough and got out of the way."

The move has left a number of firms going SP only about the four races in question.

Martin Lane has been booked to ride all four of the horses who run in the colours of John Murphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Hope they all get stuffed. Chancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

lol jealous you weren't on at the big prices! Hope everyone of them romp home, no bookmaker going to get my sympathy!

Odds are at least one gets stuffed, if you fancy any other horse in the race at least you'll get a nice price

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

its skulduggery of the highest order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭BQQ

Some of them look very poor animals tbh.
    Wouldn't mind a small each way interest at fancy prices, but woudn't touch them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

How are they chancers? Not like they've been non trying all season.

Just an old fashioned gamble - best of luck to them.

If any part of it comes off it will have been an amazing training performance as much as anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Odds are at least one gets stuffed, if you fancy any other horse in the race at least you'll get a nice price

they only need one of them to win the prices they got this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Nothing illegal about it, plenty of trainers do it. I wouldn't agree with it but nobody said too much when Barney Curley used to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    How are they chancers? Not like they've been non trying all season.

Just an old fashioned gamble - best of luck to them.

If any part of it comes off it will have been an amazing training performance as much as anything

Sounds like a well hatched plot rather than skull duggery

Sorry I posted that before I saw what horses they are.

If they're off for ages that's fine, thought they might be those who are 000000 running last few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,513 ✭✭✭✭cson

Fair play to them if they land any of those, it'd be some touch. Granted they'll have been tuning up the horses for these races but if any of the them do win then its still a hell of a training performance after 2 years off the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

No different whatsoever to "keeping" one for Cheltenham... just cos it's a lowly meeting at Wolverhampton makes no difference... Willie Mullins would do this as quick as Willy Murphy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

VC have two of them priced up at 6/4 and the other 2 SP only.

The first one there wouldn't run out of your way. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

it was all a decoy for the 50/1 winner:D

Ladbrokes probably had a 50p ew accum and panicked!

still it will be interesting to see if one of them can win.

First one was a flop. Not surprising really, its very very hard to get a horse right for a flat race, especially as its been off for 2 years! It seems to be a bit easier for a horse to be plotted for a race over jumps as its easier to get a "stale" horse settled over say 2.5 miles than it is to get a horse back in the groove over say a mile on the flat. I hope he gets at least 1 winner tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

The 1st one coming last could be plan B.

I backed the one at 8.00.

And now he is 8/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,981 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    eland since 2009.

Musical Express is as short as 3-1 (from 16) for the 6.25. Ros Cuire, another maiden, is 4-1 (from 20) for the 8.00, Tumblecloud, off since 2009, is 4-1 (from 16) for the 8.30 while Toberogan is 3-1 (from 20) for the 9.00.

ros cuire looks like it has no chance on all know form 17 wins 16unplaced
    same could have been said about musical express (7runs 7unplaced and last tonite) with prices ranging from
    6/4 to 4/1 on oddchecker/roscuire
    you'd want your head examined to follow this one blindly
    tumblecloud looks to have zero chance either 7wins 7 unplaced

that leaves togerogan who has at least won a race

surely one of them will win
    i'd love to be a layer at the prices quoted though

the man's a trainer not a magician
    next two well down the field for sure
    and its 8s now, should be 20s+

ros cuire Timeform says: Long-standing maiden who made little impact in AW handicaps when last seen in 2010. Returns tongue tied
    if that was Returns with four new legs I'd back it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Johner wrote: »
    I backed the one at 8.00.

I fancy Cadmium Loch in that race.

I fancy Ros Cuire to be tailed off. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

8s into 5s lol

michaels nook is who im on

napalm the place and start again

It was 6/4 on VC, then opened at 3/1, then out to 8/1 and now back into 5/1. Haha.

Your man must have money on them all to be tailed off.

ah **** off

This is hilarious

what the **** is going on.did they pull the gamble when they heard my few quid was down.

wheres ****ing beadle

Prince of Fire in the next at Dundalk at 5/1. Never runs a bad race at Dundalk 3 wins out of 5 runs and 2 places. Should run a good race if its ready to go after a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Always amazes me when people are surprised when a gamble loses. If a horse gets backed from 50/1 into 3/1, the bookies are still offering 3/1. So they are still saying it'll lose 75% of the time. The vast majority of gambles are simply backing horses when they are overpriced, not sure fire winners. Of course you then have the mugs who all pile in when the value is long gone

there is losing and there is folding like hot laundry. useless ****

Prince of Fashion for me in the next at Dundalk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Prince of Fire in the next at Dundalk at 5/1. Never runs a bad race at Dundalk 3 wins out of 5 runs and 2 places. Should run a good race if its ready to go after a break.

7/2 now pp

Owryan wrote: »
    7/2 now pp

Opened up 7/2, got 5/1 on Betfred looked too big. Good e/w value anyway.

I'd say the layers are getting their money back after today, as someone has already said - this is hillarious.

a lot of weight on princeof fire but looks safe ew

looks a horrible race to bet on

In the words of handsome cake.

ah **** off.

This next Murphy one just went from 4/1 to 14/1 haha.

tumblecloud 14s

was 4 with lads and 6s in a few place and yet their previous
    two runners finished stone last
    some bookies werent even offering price, shame on them
    this cant win
    i wish you could back a horse to come last
    must be desperate to get a few quid back from today but
    what a horrible way to go about it by making up this crap
    that there was even a penny for these horses

johnny skull looks big enough at 9 ew
    too late though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

That made me lol :D

This one about 25s on bf lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Well if nothing else there is EW value on this 1, (if you could call it value),

I will be on this 1,

Tailed off again. :D

This Murphy bollox couldn't train pigs to be dirty.

balls johnny

tumble last i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Being bet along after 2f! Murphy's at home on betfair laying the lot :D

UNBELIEVABLE JEFF!

I backed Knotts horse.

ah **** off.