Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Spitting in the Gaa

• 11-03-2013 12:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,388 ✭✭✭✭

What is happening in players and suporters heads these days?

Over the last week we have Karl Lacey being spat at by a Tyrone supporter.

Footage from the Intermediate Football Final (from a few weeks ago) between Cookstown and Finuge emerged, where the Cookstown number 22 Jason Quinn spits in Paul Galvin's face.

Then to cap it all off, Emlyn Mulligan of Letrim apparently had blood spat in his face by his Offaly opponent.

bloodtweet.jpg

As I said when posting the Galvin video on the Kerry thread, spitting is the lowest of the low. Its cowardly, humiliating, disgusting, and when it comes to spitting blood a serious medical risk. Many harmful diseases can be passed on through someones blood, and I'd almost go as far as suggesting that It could be a criminal offence.

This is a serious issue, and must be cut out of the game immediately. Severe punishments, above the usual 1 or 2 match bans should be implemented for spitting of any kind IMO. Players should face a minimum of 6 months off for spitting at another player, likewise Supporters should face a ban from all Gaa grounds (as tough as it would be to implement), for 6 months.

Opinions? Too tough? Too light? Am I making too much of an issue out of this? Should Players or Supporters get longer length bans, or should it be the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

DDC1990 wrote: »

This is a serious issue, and must be cut out of the game immediately. Severe punishments, above the usual 1 or 2 match bans should be implemented for spitting of any kind IMO. Players should face a minimum of 6 months off for spitting at another player, likewise Supporters should face a ban from all Gaa grounds (as tough as it would be to implement), for 6 months.

Opinions? Too tough? Too light? Am I making too much of an issue out of this? Should Players or Supporters get longer length bans, or should it be the same?

Would agree with you it's one of the scummiest acts on a GAA field (or anywhere) for that matter. Any player that does it should be given a lengthy ban - if a supporter does it they should be banned from attending GAA matches - simple as that, if you can't act with a cop on and basic deceny you have no business being let into a football ground..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,318 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Anyone that has the mindset to spit at someone they are scum tbh nothing worse than that. If the gaa allow things like this go unpunished what message is it sending to kids..

Shocking he defo spat at falcon you could see the shock in his face absolutely disgusting behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Spitting on somebody is such a disgusting thing to do, shows them utter contempt. They need to be punished and punished hard for it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Folks,

Reminder that recommending violence as a solution to anything is against the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,388 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

A response, from Owen Mulligan.
    Owen Mulligan's response:

Four weeks after captaining my club team to all Ireland victory, a 30second clip of the 66min game appeared on you tube allegedly accusing Jason Quinn of spitting on Paul galvin. I would like to publicly back my clubmate and the cookstown fr rocks gfc. i would like to enlighten Facebook and twitter followers of the sick and vile sectarian
    Abuse comments and indeed those comments made about Tyrone legends that have passed away, only I am a firm
    Believer of what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch. The gaa has had enough negative press recently and after the final I thought it best to enjoy our victory instead of tarnishing it throughout the press with the disgusting comments made from
    Before the game and indeed throughout the game- I've big respect for Kerry football and what they have achieved but now that they are trying to downgrade a clubmate and my great club it has went to far and is turning into sour grapes #rockswillstaysolid

What fúcking bullshít. His clubmate gets caught pretty clearly spitting in Galvin's face, and his response is not to condemn it but to say "allegedly", "whatever happens on the pitch stays on the pitch" and then to accuse the Finuge boys out of no where of sectarian abuse with no proof.

To cap it all off, he pulls out the old "sour grapes" tag.

I'd always had admiration for Mulligan for his on field exploits, but that statement is pathetic.

I'll leave it at that because I don't want to get banned for what I'd like to call him and his clubmate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,318 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Clareman wrote: »
    Folks,

Reminder that recommending violence as a solution to anything is against the rules.

Not just against rules but just so so wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭wonga77

Much better worded statement from Galvin

Further to recent YouTube footage and press reports relating to a spitting incident in last months Intermediate club final I would like to 100% confirm for the record that I was spat on during the game. Furthermore I will utterly and unequivocally distance myself from claims made regarding verbal abuse during the game. That I have to defend myself or clarify my position in this regard is as disappointing as it is wrong. I will also add that I made no comment or complaint, publicly or privately, at the time of the incident, as when the game finishes it is finished in my view and i have no interest in dragging this matter out. I am only doing so now as footage of the incident found its way into the public domain and for some reason I have been forced to confirm what I know to have happened.

Finally I would like to congratulate Cookstown on their victory. I have played in 12 All Ireland finals in both codes, winning 8, and this is one All Ireland I can live without. Tyrone football is full of men I admire greatly, men like Mickey Harte and Peter Canavan, who when I was 16 years old sought me out after a schools game against Cookstown and told me “you ‘ll play for your county one day son.” Those words inspired me many times growing up. The path that the Kerry/Tyrone rivalry has taken of late disappoints me. Both counties are better than the bitterness and rancour that currently exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,997 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

As a Corkman I am no lover of Galvin, but im with him 100% on this.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 blancheflower

Spitting is bad but I must say that I'm rather taken aback with the way he's bit ching on about it. It must be those effeminate types he associates in the rag trade with are having an effect on him. Poor Paul I hope no one else spits on him or the poor fella will break down in tears in front of everyone, I really would not like to see that happen.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Spitting is bad but I must say that I'm rather taken aback with the way he's bit ching on about it. It must be those effeminate types he associates in the rag trade with are having an effect on him. Poor Paul I hope no one else spits on him or the poor fella will break down in tears in front of everyone, I really would not like to see that happen.:rolleyes:

Welcome to boards, please make yourself familiar with the rules and charters of boards, the 2 most important ones being "Don't be a Troll" and "Don't be a dick", the above post could be judged to be either but I'm sure it's not.

Did I hurt your feelings?

Not in the slightest, I'd just hate for a new poster to get an infraction/warning/ban after just joining for something silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I know Mugsy was backed into a corner but he's made his argument completely invalid by dragging this into a "them vs us" scenario. It was caught so no excuses are required.

Don't you be getting yourself all up in a heap worrying about me. You just look after yourself.

On boards.ie there are posters called MOD's.

These people keep other posters from derailing threads, or making comments that wind other posters up.

Their job is to keep people informed of the rules of the threads, and if needs be they have the power to ban posters if they feel they aren't adding anything useful to the thread.

Just letting you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I am a firm Believer of what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch.

Hey that's great Owen. We are playing Tyrone next. Am happy to know that one of our lads can walk up to one of yours, knee him in the balls, spit in his face, call his mama a hobag, kick his cat, and call his sister a troglodyte in need of a shave, and he won't have to worry about any consequences, coz ya know, what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch. Sweet ! :D

What an utterly stupid thing for Mulligan to say.
    As a Corkman I am no lover of Galvin, but im with him 100% on this.

Me too. (Well apart from being a Cork man obvs. ) The fact that he even felt the need to comment on this is ridiculous, when he is the wronged one.

.....walks away....shakes head that I am defending a Kerry man and Paul Galvin to boot...in public...on the interweb....what have I, a once Proud Dubliner, become? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

The sport has evolved a win at all costs aspect. Players and management are looking to get an edge by any means necessary - putting players off their game, sledging, toe stamping off the ball, badgering umpires to flag scores wide....

The game lacks badly for sportsmanship. Tribal animosity is to the fore. It has become competitive to the point of ugliness.

We over-celebrate winners. We under-value those who come so close but don't get the breaks on the big day. The stigma of being a loser is feared beyond all reason.

The GAA is supposed to be a celebration of Gaelic culture. The stakes are gone very high, the players are immensely pressured. People under pressure do nasty things that are miles out of their day to day character.

A spitter is guilty of spitting, there's no argument. But I wonder if we're not all somehow accountable for putting such a burden of expectation on amateur players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

telecaster wrote: »

A spitter is guilty of spitting, there's no argument. But I wonder if we're not all somehow accountable for putting such a burden of expectation on amateur players.

No in my book if you spit at an opponent or anyone in any walk of life, you are a scumbag and deserve punishment such as a long ban - there are no excuses or mitigating circumstances. Any defence put up by Cookstown actually makes it worse - they would be better off keeping quiet and dealing with the player themselves. Nowadays, you cannot get away with this behaviour on the field with camera phones etc and anyone caught should be dealt with swiftly and harshly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The game lacks badly for sportsmanship.

Let's not over react here. Thousands of GAA games are played every year, and are played perfectly well in a spirit of good sportsmanship and fair play. I condemm these recent unpleasant events 100%, but don't tar all GAA players and games and supporters with the same brush, just because a very small percentage of them act the bollix.

The sport has evolved a win at all costs aspect. Players and management are looking to get an edge by any means necessary - putting players off their game, sledging, toe stamping off the ball, badgering umpires to flag scores wide....

The game lacks badly for sportsmanship. Tribal animosity is to the fore. It has become competitive to the point of ugliness.

We over-celebrate winners. We under-value those who come so close but don't get the breaks on the big day. The stigma of being a loser is feared beyond all reason.

The GAA is supposed to be a celebration of Gaelic culture. The stakes are gone very high, the players are immensely pressured. People under pressure do nasty things that are miles out of their day to day character.

Spitting happens in every sport unfortunately, no need to make it all about the GAA or anything like that, if you have any doubt google Frank Rijkaard Rudi Völler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

Spitting happens in every sport unfortunately, no need to make it all about the GAA or anything like that, if you have any doubt google Frank Rijkaard Rudi Völler

You are citing one example in soccer from over 20 years ago, and there are 3 GAA incidents listed here from the last few weeks.

The thread is called 'Spitting in the GAA', why bring another sport in to the discussion? GAA is very different culturally to other sports, and it is a unique reflection on the people of this island in a way that no other sport could ever be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

As a Cork fan I'm no great fan of Paul Galvin but what was done to him there was completely out of order and the guilty player in question needs to be severely punished. I must also say fair play to Galvin for his statement on the Kerry/Tyrone rivalry over the years and for congratulating Cookstown and trying to move on from the Incident.

It's sad to see the Kerry/Tyrone rivalry descend into a hated debate on social media sites. Some of the stuff that both sets of supporters from each county are writing is sad to read. There seems to be a complete hatred of 1 another now between the fans and it's actually gone to the point now is that there will be a major incident involving the fans of both counties soon at a game between the counties such seems to be the bile been spouted against 1 another on these social media sites. Sad to see such hatred developing in a sport open to all 32 counties of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-8iBGnQ9Ig&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D9-8iBGnQ9Ig

let's just ban tyrone and kerry teams playing each other again, seems like they're both spitting at each other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭ManFromCheese

it was jerome quinn who brought this into the public eye with his video, galvin hadnt said a thing, then mulligan comes out with his stupid statement, defending an incident thats indefinsible, galvin realeased his statement which was very dignified and gratiutious....that tyrone crowd are animals, they are a different breed up there, a supporter spat at karl lacey, the current poty 2 weeks ago...disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

from that video i posted it seems like both sides were at it, i'm from tyrone but feel embarrassed by the whole affair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Spitting especially spitting blood at or in the direction of another player or official deserves nothing less than a lifetime ban from playing for and coaching teams at any level but especially child/youth teams.

The outrage and shock here on this thread alone has utterly reassured me that I made the right decision
    when I registered for boards.ie
    No doubt I stand here amongst quality individuals where faux outrage would be absolutely the last sort of thing you'de get.

I myself personally am beyond outrage. I've already been to the mans house in question and I've spoken to both his parents illuminating them no doubt as to my own disgust and disappointment at such a devilish and evil act.

I think the alleged spitter could well be the devil. We'll have to keep all our eyes on this one. He could buck someone with his horns next.

To conclude I must thank all here for their genuine concern regarding this matter and to make sure that you keep alert for possible future transgressions of a similar nature.

blancheflower

aveytare wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-8iBGnQ9Ig&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D9-8iBGnQ9Ig

let's just ban tyrone and kerry teams playing each other again, seems like they're both spitting at each other

Full edit of my post. I originally couldn't see where the incident may have occurred.

Not the clearest of evidence, however the reaction of the Finuge lad especially leads me to believe that he spat, in retaliation to being spat on himself. He looks shocked with himself. As I said in the edited post, Finuge are not a club for spitting, if they want to get you they will fight you. They are not sneaky or underhanded about it, and perhaps thats why they lost their cool and ended up with 13 men on the day.

When a club with a "tough" North Kerry image are resorting (possibly) to spitting, you know there is a problem with the game.

Hugely disappointed with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I suppose were going to have to endure another Prime Time special on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,319 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Spitting at somebody is inexcusable. If it's on the pitch or on the street.
    The lad who did it should be get a severe ban.
    "what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch" Well he shouldnt be allowed back on the pitch.