Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8 year old boy marries 61 year old woman

• 11-03-2013 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4833913/8-year-old-schoolboy-marries-a-61-year-old-mum-of-five.html
    SCHOOLBOY aged eight ties the knot — with a woman aged 61.

Little Sanele Masilela got hitched in front of 100 guests to mum-of-five Helen Shabangu, who already has a husband.

The couple swapped rings and kissed in the ceremony in Tshwane, South Africa, which Sanele claimed his dead ancestors ordered him to arrange.

But he and his bride did not sign a marriage certificate and do not live together.

His family, who forked out £1,500 on the wedding, insisted it was only a ritual and was not legally binding.
    Sanele said: “I told my mother I wanted to get married as I really did want to.
    “I’m happy that I married Helen. When I’m older I will marry a lady my own age.”

The boy’s 46-year-old mum Patience said: “Sanele’s grandfather asked him to get married before he died. He chose Helen because he loves her.
    “By doing this we made the ancestors happy. If we hadn’t, something bad would have happened in the family.”
    Helen said: “It is what the ancestors wanted.”

very liberal but i'm betting theres no gay marraige there :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

61 year old woman marries 8 year old boy is more accurate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Poor chap doesn't know what he has let himself in for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

I'm sure they'll be very happy together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Congratulations i hope they have a long and happy life together

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

Mazal tov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

If the roles were reversed yada yada yada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

By the time he's old enough to care she'll be dead.

"Until death do you pa... Oh never mind"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

61+8.....

Joke there somewhere.

The old "Half your age minus 22" rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

that's a nice suit.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Seems a bit daft to me that they should do something like this cause their "ancestors wished it", but if it's their culture to believe that, then fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

It's outrageous that this doesn't happen more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Seeing as the web link directs me to "The Sun" i think i'll pass on even opening this ball of shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

davet82 wrote: »

There is ! Legalised in 2006 ...

There was a story in the tabloids a few years ago about an 8 year old boy in India who married an elephant.
    It didn't say whether the elephant was male or female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

baalthor wrote: »
    There is ! Legalised in 2006 ...

oops :o

just shows you how far behind we do be!

Doesn't sound like anything really lifechanging.. Just a traditional thing for their own reasons. Substitute woman for God and we do the same. I don't mean that as a religious rant, just that it's something done for superstition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

His dead ancestors must have a wicked sense of humour.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I wonder if I could ring into work tomorrow and say my dead ancestors want me to stay at home to watch the rest of The Wire, play Xbox and have a few sneaky strokes...

Well, if you don't buy a ticket... Wish me luck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Which one of them is the millionaire ?

I'm guessing its her because if not, she could be waiting a hell of a long time for his will to be read out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Fecking cougar!

Probably too old for a cougar, I'm thinking sabre-tooth tigress.:eek:

His family insisted it was only a ritual and was not legally binding.
    Sanele said:
    “I’m happy that I married Helen. When I’m older I will marry a lady my own age.”

Not much story tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Probably too old for a cougar, I'm thinking sabre-toothless tigress.:eek:

There you are. Fixed your post :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

bluewolf wrote: »
    Not much story tbh

think of the puns :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Erm...they didn't actually marry. And don't live together. It was just a ritual to 'protect' them against some supernatural force they believe in.

The only thing shocking about this story is that people in 2013 still believe in the supernatural and the need for protective rituals.

Erm...they didn't actually marry. And don't live together. It was just a ritual to 'protect' them against some supernatural force they believe in.

The only thing shocking about this story is that people in 2013 still believe in the supernatural and the need for protective rituals.

You must be easily shocked.

I bet the stag night was shocking, and the honeymoon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 jj mo

davet82 wrote: »

This is a very heartwarming story all done for the right reasons. I do hope that they remain friends and serve each others souls for the remainder of their days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

Is this charming or disgusting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

She looked a bit pissed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

didnt he at least take a look at his new mother in law before getting hitched?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I thought she might of been a bit of a gilf but I was left disappointed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I blame his parents. remember when you were young and you used to say 'I'm going to marry xxxxx'.
    Stupid parents took him seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Michael Jackson is turning in his grave out of jealousy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Congratulations to the kid, he must be the youngest person ever to get married. Guinness Book of World Records nominee right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wonder if he has conjucal Rights now he's married ,lucky sod at 8 telling the lads right I'm off for a quite night in with the wife while the mates are still tucked in by there mammies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

69 year combie couple marry, what age are their parents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Michael Jackson is turning in his grave out of jealousy.

They never buried any timber with him :confused: