Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Patrick's Day (Official Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Official is it??

Laa dee daa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Only 290 days til Christmas! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Official is it??

Laa dee daa.

Yea , they use stickey shamrock:D

Only 290 days til Christmas! :P
    Grand stretch in the evenings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

I actually hate st Patrick's day.

Most places full with drunken idiots including underage teens with flags wrapped around them, face paintings, screaming stupid Irish songs.

Pointless day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I will be out of the country for the third year in a row.

Not really a fan of the day to be honest. I don't drink and everywhere you go is packed to the brim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

He brought the catholic church to Ireland and we all know how that turned out. Nothing to celebrate

Henlars67 wrote: »
    He brought the catholic church to Ireland and we all know how that turned out. Nothing to celebrate
    Ever been bitten in the arse by a snake??

No?

Celebrate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Ever been bitten in the arse by a snake??

Enda Kenny's taking a fair chunk of mine:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭I Luv Crysis

Why do you get to start the "official" thread, who gave you that permission? I wanted to start the official St Patrick's Day thread... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

can anybody help me find a green waistcoat :o can't find one anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

it is such a boring day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

St Patrick. A great lad. Banished the snakes, all trace of snakes and all fossilised remains of snakes. Very thorough. Also changed the climate to make it too cold for them to come back. Some man. Let's celebrate the big bogus bollix. Sure everything else is based on lies, why differ on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Think I will stay in this Paddy's day. People just lose the run of themselves - there is always trouble.

Might go to Croker for the matches though - straight home after. Hon the 'mun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

Shamrock shake is back in McD's.

GRMA wrote: »
    Think I will stay in this Paddy's day. People just lose the run of themselves - there is always trouble.

Might go to Croker for the matches though - straight home after. Hon the 'mun
    Been to 35 Paddys day parades. Never, not once, ever saw so much as a whiff of trouble. No idea where this " people looking for trouble" guff comes from. Usually just people having a laugh and a bit of fun. Never even seen anyone getting vaguely "bollixey". I'm at a loss where the bad rep comes from.:confused: It's based on shyte, but it's usually a good day out. I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Katunga wrote: »
    Shamrock shake is back in McD's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Never mind, perhaps they'll give you the day off next year.:(

Dwork wrote: »
    St Patrick. A great lad. Banished the snakes, all trace of snakes and all fossilised remains of snakes. Very thorough. Also changed the climate to make it too cold for them to come back. Some man. Let's celebrate the big bogus bollix. Sure everything else is based on lies, why differ on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Because of saint Patrick Ireland doesn't have a whacking day
    And I have a perfect snake bat
    It sucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Working.

I prefer the harlem shakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Everything I hate wrapped up nicely in one day. Drunken idiots, Irish stereotyping (which we seem to go out of our way to promote), the horrid sing-songs in pubs, the sudden surge in national pride (because the other 364 days of the year all you hear is how the country is in a terrible state) and all in honour of the man who brought the Catholic church (the real life version of the evil empire) to Ireland.

I wont be taking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

Not really,surely he brought a form of christianity to Ireland but not what we came to know as catholicism.

There seems to be a shortage of party animals on here, outnumbered by people with enough misery to drag the entire population of the world into the depths of despair.:(

It must be time to ring the Samaritans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

ejmaztec wrote: »
    There seems to be a shortage of party animals on here, outnumbered by people with enough misery to drag the entire population of the world into the depths of despair.:(

It must be time to ring the Samaritans.
    I'm sure they'll be kept busy posting about how crap Ireland is on boards on P diddy day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I hate St Patrick's Day with a passion.

It makes me laugh to see people who regularly moan about the influence of religion and the power of the Catholic Church in this country readily embrace the feast of the prick who allegedly brought Christianity to this island by getting píssed and making complete arseholes of themselves.

****in hypocrites.

ashers222 wrote: »
    I'm sure they'll be kept busy posting about how crap Ireland is on boards on P diddy day

Guaranteed, and also criticising the Samaritans for using a name with biblical connotations.:(

Lapin wrote: »

It makes me laugh to see people who regularly moan about the influence of religion and the power of the Catholic Church in this country readily embrace the feast of the prick who allegedly brought Christianity to this island by getting píssed and making complete arseholes of themselves.

****in hypocrites.
    I go to the Parade to see what new trucks the competiton has bought. TBH.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Dwork wrote: »
    I go to the Parade to see what new trucks the competiton has bought. TBH.

I go to the parades to see if the competition are still using the trucks I sold them. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Ah the St. Patrick's day parade... remember when that used to be good? No? Me either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Ah the St. Patrick's day parade... remember when that used to be good? No? Me either...

They used to be good when I was a kid and when I was in the scouts about 10yrs ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »

Enda Kenny's taking a fair chunk of mine:mad:

Mine too. Maybe we should call him Enda 'anaconda' Kenny?

Ah I used to love it but sort of grew out of it as I don't drink much these days. One day a year let the folks who like to go out and get drunk enjoy the day. Something needs to be done about drunk kids though, they are a disaster on Paddys day.

Actually, I think the parade has really improved over the years. The one last year was a bit "meh" but the last three or four before that were spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

When i was a kid its was great, all the floats were classic homemade stuff and they were always throwing out free stuff and having the craic with the crowd. The bands were good too drums getting belted out of it, and all the american chicks that used to come over in cheerleader gear was nice ;)

Now its all this pretentious arty type shyte that just has no life to it, boring as ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I like to imagine what it would be like to go back in time and try to explain to a living St Patrick what he will come to represent in the future.

Not because I feel his name is now synonymous with drunken debauchery; just really to see the WTF are you on about look on his face when someone from the future would attempt to explain how over time the perception of his life, that he dedicated to something he thought divine, can change so dramatically.

I imagine he would be very confused and very horrified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Not having kids means we can avoid going to parades, thankfully. We usually put the tv on and watch a bit of the Dublin parade, although there comes a point when we just can't stand the cringe worthy presenters and the fact that so many of the parade entries are some sort of contemporary something or other. We're both off booze until Easter as well so will be kind of a 'meh' day for us.

Yada yada yada, sense of community etc, but that won't change the fact that on monday walking to the local shopping centre will mean avoiding puddles of vomit from the 'celebrations',and the town will be well and truly littered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,490 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Ahhh Las Vegas on St Patricks weekend should be fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I find that embracing the fook out of the day instead of fighting with pretend vitriol is a lot more fun and less likely to give you a stroke before you're 30. I use the day as an excuse to dress in green (one of my favourite colours) and have drinks with friends....as most people do. Can't see the problem.

I hate those stupid Guinness hats they give out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

I will be celebrating St Patrick's Day in Jerusalem. There is several events planned in the pubs across the city, so should be a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Cannot stand the day in Dublin, so I'm off to London for that weekend, taking advantage of the bank holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

St Patrick's season officially started on friday with a 1-0 win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i don't like St patrick's day, i think it brings out the worst in the irish

drunkeness, rowdyness, rebel rousing, thuggery

nah i'll think i'll stay indoors for the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I think the Vatican have piddled on the parade this year. The rest of the world will be focused on Rome. Doesn't your heart just bleed for Enda Kenny, he won't be the centre of attention this weekend:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Lapin wrote: »

****in hypocrites.

Do you have a drink at Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

RTE doing their bit to fill us all with joy on this wonderful occasion.

Money well spent, I say.

Kill me now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Every year I just hang with friends in a house have beers get nice and drunk and that's it.If people want to go out and blow their money in lines at pubs going 4 or 5 rows deep then let them.I still think paddys day is a good holiday.I like being Irish and I want to celebrate it.I see no better way then doing that with some good food and drink with a couple of friends dressed in green and the parade on in the background.You know, actually celebrate it and remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    I actually hate st Patrick's day.

Most places full with drunken idiots including underage teens with flags wrapped around them, face paintings, screaming stupid Irish songs.

Pointless day!

Thinly veiled, "I'm a self loathing Irish person" post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Oh? This is the official one, is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Thinly veiled, "I'm a self loathing Irish person" post.

No I don't think that poster is a self loathing Irish man/woman. Some of us despise certain Irish thugs making a show of us on our national day. Some of us are a better class of person, we're aren't all like the punch magazine apes wearing tattered suits and carrying a pig under the arm.