Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disgraced ex Taoiseach's son-in-law named as grand marshal of Patrick's Day Parade

• 07-03-2013 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭

Nicky Byrne ffs:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

Are things really this bad?

Yes, yes they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Bertie for president!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Sure who else would we get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Expecting protesters at this parade........Gonna make him sit up on the bonnet of the car and utilise his teeth as makeshift cowcatcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

A man who is not Bertie Ahearn gets absolutely no power, QUICKLY AFTER HOURS, WE MUST STOP THIS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Play To Kill

Bertie for president!!

The country just hasn't been the same without him, sure we were all grand when Bertie was in charge, look at the state of the place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

All this because Bertie is a Man Utd supporter,eh OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

whats the issue :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

He's pretty famous in his own right though. Him being made grand marshal has nothing to do with his relationship to Bertie. And even if it did, so what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

Kinda grasping at straws a bit with that thread title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

cant hold yer man from boyzone responsible for the sins of his father in law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Is there only one St, Patricks day parade this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Who really cares about the grand marshall of the St. Patricks Day parade. Hardly a prestigious honour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Who did he have to ride to get that job?? Oh wait,...he can have it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

so it was nicky byrne the power behind bertie all those years that ruined the country - here was me thinking it was mary harney and her right wing zealots.

silly me.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

so it was nicky byrne the power behind bertie all those years that ruined the country - here was me thinking it was mary harney and her right chicken wing zealots.

silly me.. :rolleyes:

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

What does his wife's family to do with it?

He is more famous then Bertie ever was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Where's Samantha Mumba?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

''The Grand Marshal is chosen to honour someone for their outstanding achievements and contribution to Irish life''.

Nicky Byrne has done well for himself and promoted Ireland, he deserves it imo.

John Giles did it last year, he has not done anymore to deserve it than Nicky Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

First we get our licence back and now our old keeper is going to be leading the Paddy's Day parade. Everything's coming up Cobh Ramblers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Alactric

Seriously OP...Your reaching for the stars with that thread title :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Where's Samantha Mumba?

she in the omni shopping centre at the moment, buffing the floors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Where's Samantha Mumba?
    Stiil trying to stay out that barnacle twinks way !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

Not sure if serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

At least it's not Amanda Coalbunker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

In all fairness, let's not punish relatives for their family's actions. Unless this man was actually involved somehow in the corruption or cronyism of the previous government, I have nothing against him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 221 ✭✭Mr. Wong

Meh... the young wans will be frothing at the fanny though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

sure what did Bertie do wrong ? didn't he just get lucky on the horses, drank an odd pint of smithwicks in a second hand anorack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I couldn't give a fiddler's who the grand marshal is, nor do I care a whole lot for Westlife, but in fairness to Nicky Byrne, he married a girl whose father happened to be Bertie Ahern. Hardly his fault the girl's father is a douchebag, he shouldn't have to bear any responsibility for it. Best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Probably the most retarded thread title I've ever seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Does anyone really care who the grand marshal is? It's not exactly a prestigious position of power or anything. Nobody's going to even remember who did by next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

tigger123 wrote: »

Kinda grasping at straws a bit with that thread title.
    Reminds me of a story that did the rounds in some East European country in the bad old days. A man told his friend that he was imprisoned for a lenghty spell when the Communists came to power, because his father was a wealthy businessman. The friend asked : " and what did they do to your father?" The man answered : " Oh, he's OK. His father was a coal miner. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Disgraced Former Politicians ex-husbands, sister-in-law twice removed named as Cavan Person of the Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Meh it was going to be him or jedward . What about the cast from tallafornia would you prefer them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,020 ✭✭✭Hijpo

If the gardai decide to stick it to the government and refuse to police the event there wont be any parade and subsequently no grand marshal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Meangadh wrote: »
    I couldn't give a fiddler's who the grand marshal is, nor do I care a whole lot for Westlife, but in fairness to Nicky Byrne, he married a girl whose father happened to be Bertie Ahern. Hardly his fault the girl's father is a douchebag, he shouldn't have to bear any responsibility for it. Best of luck to him.

He must have a strong stomache

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

God be with the days when real celebrities got this honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

lertsnim wrote: »
    Who really cares about the grand marshall of the St. Patricks Day parade. Hardly a prestigious honour.

Really?

I would have said its fairly prestigious.

There are heaps of people I can think of who I would give it to before Nicky Byrne.

Last three people to do it (a quick google tells me) are Johnny Giles, Katie Taylor and Packie Bonner - 3 sporting heroes.

Here's 3 I'd give it to before a Westlifer...

Bernard Brogan, Fionnuala Britton, John Joe Joyce

Its hard to believe that RTE didnt have a hand in this somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

cant hold yer man from boyzone responsible for the sins of his father in law

He wasn't in Boyzone you muppet, I believe he was a member of that other wholesome outfit 'The Jesus and Mary Chain', I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Tombo2001 wrote: »

Really?

I would have said its fairly prestigious.

There are heaps of people I can think of who I would give it to before Nicky Byrne.

Last three people to do it (a quick google tells me) are Johnny Giles, Katie Taylor and Packie Bonner - 3 sporting heroes.

Here's 3 I'd give it to before a Westlifer...

Its hard to believe that RTE didnt have a hand in this somewhere.

Is it a sport lock down Or something?

I'm no fan of west life but they've promoted Ireland more than the three you mention ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Tombo2001 wrote: »

ReHere's 3 I'd give it to before a Westlifer...

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I think the OP is practicing for a stint in the Daily Mail.