Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Street Justice

• 06-03-2013 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭

Ever dish out some street justice? The scumbags getting caught thread got me pondering the subject.

Street justice doesn't have to be punching a knife-wielding child in the face, it can be a lot more subtle than that:

For example a mate of mine used to work in a deli in a shop beside a garda station. Sometimes the guards would come in for something to feed someone they have locked up for questioning. So he used to take pride in making the most revolting sandwich combinations he could think of for them. An inch of mayonaise on a crust of bread with a sprinkling of sweetcorn on it and nothin else... sh!t like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭loremolis

Unless you've got a cape on it isn't real street justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Sky King wrote: »
    Ever dish out some street justice? The scumbags getting caught thread got me pondering the subject.

Street justice doesn't have to be punching a knife-wielding child in the face, it can be a lot more subtle than that:

For example a mate of mine used to work in a deli in a shop beside a garda station. Sometimes the guards would come in for something to feed someone they have locked up for questioning. So he used to take pride in making the most revolting sandwich combinations he could think of for them. An inch of mayonaise on a crust of bread with a sprinkling of sweetcorn on it and nothin else... sh!t like that.

We got a badass over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I told a guy who wouldn't leave a girl alone in a night club to fuck off.

Didn't pull.

Movies have lied to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Innocent till proven guilty? Making a victim statement? Assisting with inquiries?

TBH your mate does not would too hardcore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

That's not street justice, since it's not justice and it's not on a street. If I was pushed to call it anything I'd call it being an arsehole, but it probably sounds a lot more badass when he's telling the lads down the pub how he showed the skangers who's boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Me and my work colleague stood outside a cinema with placards in protest to a particular raunchy film they were showing. This was during the God fearing 90's. Unfortunately, we had the opposite effect, and it actually became the most popular film the local cinema had ever screened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Your mate sounds like a real piece of shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

I built a hi-tech cave, got a snazzy car, a trusty side-kick with a dumb costume, a light that shines a symbol on the clouds...no, never done any street justice. Not that I know of anyway. Tripped a mugger(really painfully) once, battered a few codders, but never went Judge Dredd on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

There'll be some great made stories in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I f#ckin love mayonnaise.. Easy on the sweetcorn though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Tbh 'street justice' just sounds naff at best and thuggish at worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Street justice :pac:

He should have also loosened the lid on the salt shaker. We'd really clean up the streets.

I'll stick to the street smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Your mate sounds like a real piece of shít.

Nah he's good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Street justice made me lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Nah he's good craic

Just shite at making sandwiches then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Sometimes men just want to see the world burn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Me and my work colleague stood outside a cinema with placards in protest to a particular raunchy film they were showing. This was during the God fearing 90's. Unfortunately, we had the opposite effect, and it actually became the most popular film the local cinema had ever screened.

Seriously? What was the film?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Careful now.

Last time someone said that to me there ended up a right mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Realise that the state pays for these 'sandwiches'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,973 ✭✭✭donegal_man

That would be an ecumenical matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

It just never occurs to me. for example, was this lad jogging by me with a bunch of people in pursuit baying out "tackle him!!" and I was just sat there, at a loading bay eating a burrito. oblivious.. was behind the Ilac centre

If I did see some bad shìt go down tough I'd get the itch to intervene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Victor wrote: »
    Realise that the state pays for these 'sandwiches'.
    It's probably worse than that. The state pays €20 each for these sandwiches, using money that we had to borrow from the markets. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I was stumbling through Dublin drunkish one night.

up by stephens green some wee lad came up and asked if he could have a smoke, told him didn't smoke so he asked for a lighter. Again i repeated that i didn't smoke so then he asked for my wallet to which of course i laughed and said no.

He then swung something at me (empty bottle as it turns out) and clocked me over the head.

The mixture of drink and being used to having my ass kicked at school and just general stupidity on my part meant that I can take a fair beating before being overly affected so the bang just kinda stunned me and i took a step back.

With working as a carnie on the fun faie all summer meant that for one of the first times in my life i had some strength and muscle for a change so after shaking my head clear I took one step towards him and threw a right connecting perfectly with the center of his nose.

He hit the ground clutching his nose and i heard a botle roll on the ground. Turns out it was a full bottle of bucky!

I leant down picked up the bucky and left him on the ground.

Although it turns out that the knock i took may have done a little bit more to me than a headache as it took about an hour and a half to figure out where i was meant to stay that night and woke up the next morning with the pillow stuck to my head from quite a large gash above my eyebrow.

Fun times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

not exactly street justice, but a classic example of justice porn nonetheless:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Pushed some lad dwn the stairs of a bus once for bullying some young fella.

Yes I know it's not badass :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

danniemcq wrote: »

Although it turns out that the knock i took may have done a little bit more to me than a headache as it took about an hour and a half to figure out where i was meant to stay that night and woke up the next morning with the pillow stuck to my head from quite a large gash above my eyebrow.

Fun times

Both easily attributable to the bucky....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The Lion King

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Someone should make a film about your friends life. Jean Claude Van Damme could play the leading role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

Seachmall wrote: »
    I told a guy who wouldn't leave a girl alone in a night club to fuck off.

Didn't pull.

Movies have lied to me.

maybe he didn't find you attractive?
    or maybe your shirt just didn't turn him on?

move on.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

How does Street Justice compare to normal Justice.

Is it like Street Countdown ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭mewithoutyou

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Sometimes men just want to see the world burn

Tom Cruise you sack of sh!t... "Some men just want to watch the world burn..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Just shite at making sandwiches then.

Well he did state the friend was a man! Never send a man to do a woman's job! ;)

NB NOT ACTUALLY A SELF LOATHING SEXIST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I sat on the back a massive drunk African lad that two tiny female Gardai were trying to arrest on Westmoreland Street/Aston Quay a few years back til more regular sized guards arrived,ripped the sleeve of my hoody too.

I've lost a good bit of weight since,so I've probably lost my superpower of mass!