Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst type of playing partner

• 06-03-2013 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭

I think I have been lucky enough when playing with strangers that they have been sound enough and quite chatty.

One fella springs to mind who really got under my skin one day.

He was playing off 16 and from early on I could see that as far as he was concerned he was the only person on the course and he thought he was playing in the masters. He did a running commentary on everyone of his shots. Never watched anyone else's ball. When he hit a bad shot he was saying he was trying this trying that etc etc. nobody cared though.

He got a birdie on one hole and went on like he had just won the lotto even though others still had to putt out.

When he missed a short putt he walked to the next tee talking out loud to himself in the third person giving out.

The biggest arsehole I've ever encountered on a golf course.

Any other stories of idiot playing partners? Not just angry stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

One that bothers me is the fella who hits a putt and misses it. He then stands looking at it for a minute in amazement. He maybe even lines it up again. Then he utters the pearl of wisdon and says "Jaysus, how didn't that break?" as if the putt should have gone in from where he hit it and would have ordinarily but the ground must have moved unbeknownst to us. It had nothing to do with the fact that he misread it or hit it too hard.

I have no idea how to respond to those people. What are you supposed to say?

To be fair though, most people I've played with, even these lads, have been sound.

Only thing that really has really irritated me is the fella who liberally marks his ball or cheats in any way. One morning I saw a fella re-marking the ball at least a foot in front of where he originally marked it. To my shame, I didn't say anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Only thing that really has really irritated me is the fella who liberally marks his ball or cheats in any way. One morning I saw a fella re-marking the ball at least a foot in front of where he originally marked it. To my shame, I didn't say anything.

On that note I actually had to pull my dad up on this last week. Not for my own sake but for is instead of someone else saying it to him and him being penalised.
    I noticed when he was marking his ball every time he would move the ball an inch and put the marker down exactly where the ball originally sat instead of just putting the marker down behind the ball.

He wasn't really stealing distance he was just being complacent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

After the week i had on the course i would say......me. And i played alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

One that bothers me is the fella who hits a putt and misses it. He then stands looking at it for a minute in amazement. He maybe even lines it up again. Then he utters the pearl of wisdon and says "Jaysus, how didn't that break?" as if the putt should have gone in from where he hit it and would have ordinarily but the ground must have moved unbeknownst to us. It had nothing to do with the fact that he misread it or hit it too hard.

To be fair though, most people I've played with, even these lads, have been sound.

Well, you could say 'that's golf'.
    Some folk are genuinely surprised when they miss a putt an maybe it's a bit harsh to condemn them for reacting.
    Ball markers movers, that's just cheating and should be condemned.

scrubber72 wrote: »
    After the week i had on the course i would say......me. And i played alone.

Yeah, heard about you.

Whispering grass told the trees etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 andrewmaximus

I find the worst playing partner is the guy who falls into the 9-12 handicap. Playing well he’s smug , cocky etc. Plays badly he finds fault with everything, conditions, playing partners etc. I’m not tarring all these guys of this level with the same brush but some of them seem to be frustrated they can’t get down to a lower handicap.

For Paws wrote: »
    Well, you could say 'that's golf'.
    Some folk are genuinely surprised when they miss a putt an maybe it's a bit harsh to condemn them for reacting.
    Ball markers movers, that's just cheating and should be condemned.

No problem with people reacting. I often react.

It's just people who think that they aren't to blame for missing the putt. The ground hasn't moved or changed, the hole is in the same position - you missed the putt because you misjudged it. No other reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Offer to call the clubhouse to enquire what the greens are reading on the stimpmeter :D

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Offer to call the clubhouse to enquire what the greens are reading on the stimpmeter :D

:D good suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

My regular playing partner brings along a complete tool business acquaintance every now and again. This guy can talk about nothing else other than the marvellous round he played last week and what is going wrong today (he is utterly hopeless even at a 26 handicap). He is oblivious to the fact that nobody is even listening anymore. Amongst his many pearls my favourite is (picture this delivered deadpan, in a D4 accent, straight to your face): "I play better with better players".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Reminds me of Lee Westwood. I know a lot of pros do this but he just cannot understand why most of his 9-10 foot putts miss. First thing he does after missing is look at the caddy as if he was given the wrong line.

I've played with a friend of a friend 2 times now, and I am still kicking myself for allowing him the second chance. It'll never happen again.

We are all high HC'ers but this lad seems to think he should be challenging for a major only for this dammed hacker that is stuck inside him.
    Every, and I mean every bad shot, and there are quite a few, is met with "What the fcuk... How did that fcuking happen...."
    It's nothing too aggressive, which is the worst thing about it... If he was throwing clubs and acting the pr*ck then I would say something.
    It's mostly just mutterings to himself that can be heard by his playing partners.

The two rounds are the only two rounds where I just wanted to walk off the course!
    I can deal with someone losing the plot from time to time, but this is constant.
    It amazes me how utterly amazed he is to have hit a bad shot!
    Sorry chief, I've play 2 rounds with you now and I've seen you hit at least 150 bad shots. How is this a surprise.

During the first round I tried to approach him with some consolation, words of encouragement, general chit chat to try to distract him.
    Turns out he never goes to the driving range to practice... he can't see the point in it :confused:
    I didn't even bother with any of this on the second round.

On the rare occasion when a Par or even Birdie might drop it's like scenes from the Ryder Cup.

I am partial to plenty of bad shots myself for the record.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

There's nothing worse that a playing partner giving a running commentary on your round and how bad it may be going while they themselves hack the ball around the course!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

No problem with people reacting. I often react.

It's just people who think that they aren't to blame for missing the putt. The ground hasn't moved or changed, the hole is in the same position - you missed the putt because you misjudged it. No other reason.

or miss-hit it.

Good point sir.

I stand corrected but my core point is still valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

I have played with 2 brothers once in a comp who didn't even look at me for the first 14 holes and then when they had an issue with something they had to ask me.............quite obnoxious really.........

I like mixing up my weekend games though and putting my name down with people I don't know from the club. More often than not you meet great characters like one guy I played with over christmas who wore Builders gloves for the last 8 holes as he was freezing, was hilarious!!:D

Might as well be honest, I think I'm only slowly becoming a better playing partner myself.
    I a very conscious of becoming one, but from time to time, I do something stupid.

Took a few shots out of turn last Sunday, it's not a usual occurrence, I don't know what I was doing to be honest, just not paying enough attention, which can be a personal trait. :o:D Oh look, there's a bird.
    I was also a bit nervous as it was for my first card so that may have been a factor.

I also need to work on areas like being trying to be too ready to play the ball, in an effort to try to keep up with the speed of play I think I walk on ahead (to my 3rd shot) as the rest of the group play their 2nd.
    I think this stems from starting out playing the game with really good players, with me being on the other end of the spectrum, I was rushing it a bit and getting in areas that were dangerous or off putting because I felt I had to keep up with them.

I've pretty much stamped out the fidgeting with the bag on the tee box as others tee off, I was bad at this when I started... But even now ,there is the odd time where I do have to stop myself doing this... so it's not completely gone out of the system.

There may be more... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Like turning up drunk to a very important outing in Palmerstown:D:D

ssbob wrote: »

Like turning up drunk to a very important outing in Palmerstown:D:D

That was a lesson alright.

In my defence, I had committed to the event then found out a Stag was planned the night before. I had pulled out of other events(with better excuses) so I felt pressured to attend that one.
    Got in from the Stag at 6am. On road at 8am.
    The missus wouldn't let me drive, rightly.... But at no stage did I think, if I shouldn't be driving then I probably shouldn't be playing golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

The missus wouldn't let me drive, rightly.... But at no stage did I think, if I shouldn't be driving.

You should have just used irons off the tee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Might as well be honest, I think I'm only slowly becoming a better playing partner myself.
    I a very conscious of becoming one, but from time to time, I do something stupid.

Took a few shots out of turn last Sunday, it's not a usual occurrence, I don't know what I was doing to be honest, just not paying enough attention, which can be a personal trait. :o:D Oh look, there's a bird.
    I was also a bit nervous as it was for my first card so that may have been a factor.

I also need to work on areas like being trying to be too ready to play the ball, in an effort to try to keep up with the speed of play I think I walk on ahead (to my 3rd shot) as the rest of the group play their 2nd.
    I think this stems from starting out playing the game with really good players, with me being on the other end of the spectrum, I was rushing it a bit and getting in areas that were dangerous or off putting because I felt I had to keep up with them.

I've pretty much stamped out the fidgeting with the bag on the tee box as others tee off, I was bad at this when I started... But even now ,there is the odd time where I do have to stop myself doing this... so it's not completely gone out of the system.

Admitting you have a problem is the first step!

I played a inter club match with a fella once who on every tee had is hand in his pocket, jingling what I can only assume (and hope!) was a mixture of keys, coins, tees and god knows what else.

He eventually realised that I wasnt going to hit the ball until he stopped, but he still started it on every tee....habit I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

I do this all the time but because I am usually playing with players as bad as myself. That means they're down the left / right while I'm down the right / left and need to maximise time rooting around the semi-rough / bushes / donning an aqualung. It gives us some chance of keeping up with play.

(If I'm honest I am also the most impatient person I know! :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭SEORG

Have only had the one experience where I wanted to lamp a guy on the course.
    Myself and 2 of my regular playing partners were playing in a scratch cup about 2 yrs ago and were joined by a guy playing off 2.

Very good golfer but loved to comment on our shots or have a loud whisper while one of us was standing over our shot.

Worst one was when I chipped my ball on to a green and stopped it on the second bounce about a foot from the hole. He says to one of the other lads that I must be using wedges with illegal grooves.

The reply he got was "He's using the very same one's you have in your bag", I smiled on the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

I dont mind taking tips off 2 handicappers, but of the three scratch golfers I play with, they tell me its pointless....my swing is mental.....

GreeBo wrote: »
    Admitting you have a problem is the first step!

Thanks Greebo, I'll think you'll find I've progressed steadily through a few steps than just the first.
    (I hope that's in relation to being a bad playing partner rather than the Palmerstown incident. :D )

2.Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity. (check)
    3. Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him. (check)
    4. Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves. (check)
    5. Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs. (see previous post for evidence)
    6. Were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character. (looking forward to the big man stepping in)
    7. Humbly asked Him to remove our shortcomings. (will do)
    8. Made a list of all persons we had harmed and became willing to make amends to them all. (might include mods in this list :D )
    9. Made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others. (have the stamps bought)
    10. Continued to take personal inventory and when we were wrong promptly admitted it. (no hassle)
    11. Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God as we understood Him, praying only for knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out. (may substitute meditation for medication)
    12. Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to alcoholics bad playing partners elsewhere and practice these principles in all our affairs. (am just waiting on the alarm clock to go off)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

The little red book sits next to the R&A Rulesbook in the front pocket AJ?:D

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    The little red book sits next to the R&A Rulesbook in the front pocket AJ?:D

They're divided only by the hip flask

From what I can see on this thread the worst type of playing partner is that typical fcuker you come across everywhere in life.
    He can only see, hear & think about his own situation & has no idea that other people exist separately from him.
    It's his planet & other people are only there so they can congratulate/comiserate/console him when called upon.

What my sainted granny (God rest her) used to called 'a selfish motherfcuker'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Yeah, agreed that the worst type of playing partner is one who can only see, hear & think about his own situation & has no idea that other people exist separately from him. In a general sense.

I know a fellow who is grand off the course, having a few pints, etc. but once on the course he is oblivious to his playing partners. He also has a habit of hitting trees flush on the trunk and saying afterwards how perfect a swing he made, how perfect the connection, the ball went exactly where he wanted, and also saying if if wasn't for the tree it would have finished 2 feet from the cup. FFS..

I know another fellow who has the most annoying habit of commenting on every shot you make, good or bad. Most annoying is "not your best' when you hit a bad shot. FFS.. I don't need to be told...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Don't care, I take them as I get them, anything beats being in work and that's always my train of though, bad golf day > good work day, just glad to be out there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭EvanCornwallis

Worst playing partners are the guys that can only shoot in the high 70s/low 80s, yet they still have hour long routines. You guys are just out here for fun, get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Worst playing partners are the guys that can only shoot in the high 70s/low 80s, yet they still have hour long routines. You guys are just out here for fun, get on with it.

So guys who shoot in the low 70s with hour long routines are fine then eh ? On your bike !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

went out with a mate last year for the first time, three of us altogether to his local course. Now this chap is quite far ahead of the other lad and I and it was only a casual mid week game. Holes 1-3 no problem, everyone having some craic between shots and so on. But between 4-9 our mate morphed into some kind of all consuming creature. See, he birdied the 2nd parred the 1,3,4. Then feathers at 5,6,8. After 9 he was 4 under and on course to smash his PB.
    Fantastic! You would have thought so, but as it progressed, he was not playing with us anymore. All chat between shots seemed frowned upon, and what actually annoyed me, was being 130~ out, into a headwind, I asked him what he thought the preferred club for me should be. He looked me almost with contempt and said, "sorry, but I cant be worrying what your at, Im going for back to back birides here"
    Anyway, after 9 we had a mars bar and bottle of water, and went on to witness one of the biggest meltdowns I have ever seen. He finished 9 over for the round, was walking off the 18 until he had to be called back to offer a limp handshake, got into his car and fcuked off.

alxmorgan wrote: »
    So guys who shoot in the low 70s with hour long routines are fine then eh ? On your bike !!

Yeah, that's what I said.

Reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

So you're only a serious golfer if you shoot in the low seventies? Everyone else shouldn't be taking themselves seriously?

You're obviously trolling....

Boskowski wrote: »
    So you're only a serious golfer if you shoot in the low seventies? Everyone else shouldn't be taking themselves seriously?

You're obviously trolling....

No , you shouldn't be taking it to serious unless it's your job. However, I can understand someone looking to break par taking a touch longer over certain shots. Guy shooting 8 over on the 16th, reading putts from every angle for 5minutes on the 17th and 18th. Get on with it .

Trolling , have you an original thought in that head of yours ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,827 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Ah now, hope you weren't feeling any pressure from myself last Sunday Aaron!

I'm a fairly firm believer in ready golf myself, so didn't notice you hit a shot out of turn

I reckon part of the problem is maybe being too conscious of others. You didn't slow us down at all, you could have comfortably spent more time over your shots. Was the lads in front that slowed us really, they lost the guts of 2 holes to the group in front of them.

I think that people can also become too obsessed with the etiquette side of things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭shed head

any woman really, it's just not natural for them!

Easy now...
    Trolling , have you an original thought in that head of yours ?

Not appropriate for this forum thanks.
    shed head wrote: »
    any woman really, it's just not natural for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

People that leave there bag or kart 20 or 30 yards away from the green on the wrong side to the direction of the next hole. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Was in a group a couple of weeks ago and after a bad drive this lad who I never before met goes "you lifted your head there" I felt like tearing his head off but just managed to reply "thanks I'll see a pro for advice" to which he took offence and goes (to paraphrase) well if you are so smart judge mine so. I goes right, he slices it off the planet and red with temper says is that on the next fairway. I had to be honest and said no its oob right of the next fairway. He took an 8 I had a tap in par.

Didn't mean to rise him but the playing partner said after he was pissing himself at yer mans drive after being a smart ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

m r c wrote: »
    Was in a group a couple of weeks ago and after a bad drive this lad who I never before met goes "you lifted your head there" I felt like tearing his head off but just managed to reply "thanks I'll see a pro for advice" to which he took offence and goes (to paraphrase) well if you are so smart judge mine so. I goes right, he slices it off the planet and red with temper says is that on the next fairway. I had to be honest and said no its oob right of the next fairway. He took an 8 I had a tap in par.

Didn't mean to rise him but the playing partner said after he was pissing himself at yer mans drive after being a smart ****e.

Lol. Class story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Hunter21 wrote: »
    People that leave there bag or kart 20 or 30 yards away from the green on the wrong side to the direction of the next hole. :o

I've played a few courses for the first time recently and this can easily happen when you don't know where you're going next but I'm always conscious of it.

But there's also the problem of trying to find a balance between getting on the green quickly to mark your ball and let your partners play their shots and making a quick getaway once everyone has holed out. And then also not picking up your bag and moving while they putt and being ready to play your own ball without delay. Jaysus, all this going on in my head before I even look at my putts... no wonder my short game's a mess at the minute.

Although, at least I make an effort and if I am on the wrong side I'll run and I always carry so I can cross the green if necessary. I can see how it'd be frustrating when people don't make the effort but I personally don't notice, I'm too busy trying not to annoy others. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Hijpo

I once played with a chap who kept telling me to hurry up and come on that i was the slowest player he had ever played with. I admit im not the line it up and hit it kind of player as im still pretty new and feel the need to concentrate on my movements and getting my grip right but im not exactly keegan bradley either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Worst is the guy who is "having a bad round"......he had a great round last week.

He then swears after every shot and starts to throw his clubs. He thinks that he is much better than he is........one look at his swing says that he has no real clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

I apologise in advance if this sounds obnoxious.

1. The guy who once said to me "have you ever shot 59?" As we walked to the 12th tee I was -9 for the round (freak day) Bogeyed 12... Gluuuuuck

2. The guy that gets flustered playing with a low hcap and is so busy trying to stay out if ur way and bot do something weong he can't enjoy his own game, relax pal I honestly don't mind if you accidentally make a mistake, actually ends up affecting me!

3. The club hit liar.... Claiming to have hit 7iron... Obvious mud on 5iron and squeaky clean 7iron. Oh and I can clearly see its not 7 from the lack of loft pal.

I feel better now. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

The quiet one after a bad hole.

You're marking his card and he makes you feel bad by having to ask him his score.

'It was an 8'

'Oh sorry thought it was a 6'

Awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

the lawman wrote: »
    The quiet one after a bad hole.

You're marking his card and he makes you feel bad by having to ask him his score.

'It was an 8'

'Oh sorry thought it was a 6'

Awkward.

That's the one yep- we have the winner-Does my nut in that stuff- I didn't bloody shank your approach shot oob and then blade your 4th out the back of the green! Get over yourself and just tell me you had a snowman!!

gorfield wrote: »
    I apologise in advance if this sounds obnoxious.

1. The guy who once said to me "have you ever shot 59?" As we walked to the 12th tee I was -9 for the round (freak day) Bogeyed 12... Gluuuuuck

2. The guy that gets flustered playing with a low hcap and is so busy trying to stay out if ur way and bot do something weong he can't enjoy his own game, relax pal I honestly don't mind if you accidentally make a mistake, actually ends up affecting me!

3. The club hit liar.... Claiming to have hit 7iron... Obvious mud on 5iron and squeaky clean 7iron. Oh and I can clearly see its not 7 from the lack of loft pal.

I feel better now. Haha

apology accepted...