Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reporting a car with expired tax.

• 04-03-2013 9:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭

I was outside the local Lidl on sunday waiting on Mrs ND and was beside an Audi A4 and there was a middle aged guy standing in front of it looking at the tax disk, he then took out his phone and rang the local(presumably) Garda station and reported to them the reg of the car and where it was parked and that its tax was out date. He then went in and went about his shopping.

Now, the Audi was modified(nicely done, not the normal felt spec rubbish) so I've no doubt that that's what made him single it out as he looked the sort that would take issue with any 'boy racer' car. When I checked, the tax was just over a month out.

But what do people think? Was he doing his duty as a good citizen or, as I think, was simply a self important busy body with a life so empty he feels the need to fill it with other peoples business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭J Bourke

Wanker :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

J Bourke wrote: »
    Wanker

Lets not have a thread filled with that please.

Chap is a oooooooooooooooooops imo.

A thick oooooooooooooooooooooooooops too, AGS wouldn't be overly bothered by tax discs a month out and I'm sure they have better things to be doing than chatting to gnomes like that of a morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I was outside the local Lidl on sunday waiting on Mrs ND and was beside an Audi A4 and there was a middle aged guy standing in front of it looking at the tax disk, he then took out his phone and rang the local(presumably) Garda station and reported to them the reg of the car and where it was parked and that its tax was out date. He then went in and went about his shopping.

Now, the Audi was modified(nicely done, not the normal felt spec rubbish) so I've no doubt that that's what made him single it out as he looked the sort that would take issue with any 'boy racer' car. When I checked, the tax was just over a month out.

But what do people think? Was he doing his duty as a good citizen or, as I think, was simply a self important busy body with a life so empty he feels the need to fill it with other peoples business?

Im thinking option number 2!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I thinks nosey so and so

Who's to say the car wasn't on the road for the past month only the owner? Maybe the owner had the car just stamped earlier that day? How does that chap know?

Now if it was constantly in your face with no insurance *cough cough blue yaris *cough then I'd agree completely with calling ags :)

Lets not have a thread filled with that please.

Sorry its the first thing that came to mind..

OK most of us agree that tax should be paid bla bla bla but what kind of person goes out of their way to check and report someone for no tax?? He doesnt know the circumstances of the Audi driver. Its not hurting him in any way that theres no tax on that car. Busybody with nothing better to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

RoverJames wrote: »
    Chap is a oooooooooooooooooops imo.

A thick oooooooooooooooooooooooooops too, AGS wouldn't be overly bothered by tax discs a month out and I'm sure they have better things to be doing than chatting to gnomes like that of a morning.

Yup, they're not feckin' traffic wardens. The call would be noted, filed away and forgotten about. Personally, tax out doesn't bother me on another car. An expired NCT does annoy me, although not to the point of reporting it. Very rare to see an expired insurance disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Some people should just mind their own business. The world would be a much better place if they did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

What a busy body. I hate people like this, just mind your own business. Drives me mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

Doubt you will get many replies here supporting the guy. If hes gonna start reporting untaxed motors, hope he has a lot of credit in his phone. Wonder if the fella himself has all his i's crossed and t's dotted - e.g. tv license, dog license, property tax paid, blah bah blah - people in glasshouse and all that.

Ur probably correct on the boy racer angle, - might have crossed paths before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

He is a busy body imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

I hope someone shows him the same courtesy some day!

Wasn't really his business unless he's an off duty then he's ment to report grrrr!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

But from what I understand it was on Lidl parking, so it's not a public road.
    Perfectly OK to be parked in there without valid tax.

Nissan doctor - you could have left a little note for Audi owner by the wiper, that someone reported his car, and warn him no to drive off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Do you know for sure he was reporting the tax being out of date?
    He may have known someone who had it stolen or he may have seen it driving carelessly earlier and now he's reporting it.
    I very much doubt anyone would bother reporting someone elses tax out of date... and would the Gards actually do anything?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If he was just checking the car for the sake of it I'd say he's a busy so and so.

However it could be the case there is something going on between him and the owner of the car, and he's doing it due to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'd be conflicted on this. If it's expiry was the last day of the previous month, then leave it go, but if it was any longer than that I think the guy had every right. I think a month is plenty enough to rectify administrative errors and delays, especially considering you get the notification 3 weeks before it expires.

If more people took their responsibilities of citizenship more seriously this country would be a much better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Busy body, I would say he's a curtain twitcher too :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭budgemook

A bit out of order really.

However, not always the case. My girlfriend lives in a lane where parking is not regulated. Some fella has about 5 merc's and jag's parked around the place. Two of them have been outside her place for months and it means nobody else, including me and worse again her housemate, can ever park there. They asked him previously can he park somewhere else as they want to park their and he pretty much said feck off. Now everyone, including the housemate, has to park down the lane wherever is free.

The tax is out on the two cars outside the house for the last 4 and 6 months. Every time I call over I consider reporting the cars. I don't ever do it though as I'm really not that type of person.

Probably should though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Pretty much a busy body.

AGS are going to stop caring about things like tax offences soon enough if they continue on their current line. Obviously they'll stilll care about insurance though

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0304/371960-croke-park-agreement/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

Guards gettin more pay cuts tax won't be on top of there list for little pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Could have easily been an off duty Garda. That or a repo man (Isn't the VIN number near the tax disk on some Audi's?) Neither not exactly uncommon now a days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

ironclaw wrote: »
    Could have easily been an off duty Garda. That or a repo man (Isn't the VIN number near the tax disk on some Audi's?) Neither not exactly uncommon now a days.

I'd almost certainly rule that out, you'd know by the way he reported it on the phone if he was a Garda or not.

"Hello, I want to report a car with an expired tax disk........"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

I'd almost certainly rule that out, you'd know by the way he reported it on the phone if he was a Garda or not.

"Hello, I want to report a car with an expired tax disk........"

Did you hear the conversation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

well, if everyone paid up what they were supposed to when they were supposed to, I might have to pay a little less, so I think ethically the guy was right. It's just a pity that the Gards don't do the job they are paid for more effectively.

corktina wrote: »
    well, if everyone paid up what they were supposed to when they were supposed to, I might have to pay a little less

Have to disagree there e.g. you pay your tax all year every year, i pay none at all. Tax goes up regardless, its just a convenient excuse for the gov. to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

CiniO wrote: »
    But from what I understand it was on Lidl parking, so it's not a public road.
    Perfectly OK to be parked in there without valid tax.

It's not a public road because the co. council don't maintain it but it is a public place because it's open to the public with vehicles so you are required to have the car taxed and a disc displayed.

However the Gardai and traffic wardens tend not to enforce rules on tax discs on private property, primarily because in this case the Lidl manager would be within his rights in asking them to leave if they attempted to slap a ticket on that car.

It would need to be on your or someone else's driveway for there to be no requirement for the car to be taxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

I hate ****ers that have an Audi worth 30 - 40k and couldnt be bothered paying their car tax. Not so
    much that id go sticking my nose in while walking through a car park but i enjoy laughing at them on
    that very rare occasion you do see them getting caught.

If you can afford a car like that you can afford to tax and insure it. Half this countrys motorists
    will be ****ed if ANPR takes off over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭budgemook

I hate ****ers that have an Audi worth 30 - 40k and couldnt be bothered paying their car tax. Not so
    much that id go sticking my nose in while walking through a car park but i enjoy laughing at them on
    that very rare occasion you do see them getting caught.

If you can afford a car like that you can afford to tax and insure it. Half this countrys motorists
    will be ****ed if ANPR takes off over here.

Was a month out, maybe it was in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

timmywex wrote: »
    Pretty much a busy body.

AGS are going to stop caring about things like tax offences soon enough if they continue on their current line. Obviously they'll stilll care about insurance though

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0304/371960-croke-park-agreement/

Got ya. Reducing your employers income is the best way to avoid a cut in your wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

:(

Do people in Ireland still not realise their getting rode up the arse?
    Maybe the chap couldn't afford to pay it. Irish people pay enough crap to the government.

budgemook wrote: »
    Was a month out, maybe it was in the post.

In fairness chances are it wasnt. You get a reminder 3 weeks before it expires and ive
    never had to wait more than 72 hours for one by post after online payment. Seven
    weeks is long enough to get your **** together and make payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

In fairness chances are it wasnt. You get a reminder 3 weeks before it expires and ive
    never had to wait more than 72 hours for one by post after online payment. Seven

yep but when he does tax the car it will be back dated to when his tax ran out. Unless he goes to the Garda station and declares it off the road.

Plug wrote: »
    :(

Do people in Ireland still not realise their getting rode up the arse?
    Maybe the chap couldn't afford to pay it. Irish people pay enough crap to the government.

I wouldnt like to stand in front of a judge saying i couldnt afford to pay my road
    tax while driving an Audi around.

We might be getting done for charges all over the place but its hardly a defence
    for non payment.

yep but when he does tax the car it will be back dated to when his tax ran out. Unless he goes to the Garda station and declares it off the road.

Is that true though? Ive heard of people paying for 6 months on and then taking six months off and getting away without paying the backtax. Must be some other way around it without
    the car being declared off road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

On the face of it if that guy just randomly reported the car for its tax being out of date for little over a month I think hes a sad b*$tard who really needs to get a life or at least take up some sort of hobby.

Lets face it if you walk into a lidl carpark on a Saturday afternoon and check the windscreens of all the cars in the carpark you could be pretty sure that the tax will be out of date on at least 2 to 3 out of every 10 cars on average...some by considerably more than a month...at least that tends to be the case around this part of the country.

I think there might be something more to the story than the guy randomly reporting the car though. Audi driver was acting the maggot or pissed him off earlier maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

coylemj wrote: »
    It's not a public road because the co. council don't maintain it but it is a public place because it's open to the public with vehicles so you are required to have the car taxed and a disc displayed.[/B]

However the Gardai and traffic wardens tend not to enforce rules on tax discs on private property, primarily because in this case the Lidl manager would be within his rights in asking them to leave if they attempted to slap a ticket on that car.

It would need to be on your or someone else's driveway for there to be no requirement for the car to be taxed.

Sorry but that's incorrect.
    You are only required to have your vehicle taxed and tax disc displayed if vehicle is used (which includes parked) on public road.
    It can be used (and parked) on public place (which is not public road - so f.e. Lidl parking) without tax 100% legally.
    1.—(1) On and after the 1st day of January, 1953, there shall, subject to the provisions of this Act, be charged, levied and paid in respect of mechanically propelled vehicles used on public roads duties of excise at the rates specified in the Schedule to this Act.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1952/en/act/pub/0024/print.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

What a laugh. If Gardai want to stop a car with no tax, they just have to wait on any main road for what, 5 seconds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

I don't have an issue with any member of the public reporting a car being used on a public road without valid motor tax/NCT. If the owner does have valid tax and for whatever reason doesn't have the disc displayed, I'm sure AGS will be able to ascertain this quickly. If he doesn't, he shouldn't be driving it.

FTR: My lovely car has been off the road since 31/12/2012 because I can't afford to pay the motor tax and I've never abused the 3months on/1month off system a lot of people seem to think is cool lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

what if he had recently became unemployed etc and simply had not got the money to pay?

personally i feel the months "grace" is a fair amount. plently of times i've let my tax slip by a few weeks when i havn't been able to afford it. always have to pay the arrears, which is fine.

much more than a month or two expired is waving a big fat middle finger at those of us who do pay up though, i feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

I bet if that busy body had looked around the car park, he would have found bigger fish to fry! Tax 1 month out of date, I've barely seen any around here parked up with 2013 discs displayed, over 60% still showing 2012 discs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

The very first thing I thought was the second post :)
    Would be different if it was 4 months out if date, but only 1... I'd say the guards laughed at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Maybe he couldn't afford the tax when the reminder came? I've often been in that position.

With tax it doesn't make a blind bit of difference when you pay it; you'll end up paying the same amount regardless (provided you a actually pay of course and dont commit fraud by declaring it off the road). Your judgemental attitude is far too harsh; you have no idea about this guy's personal or financial circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

If only there were more people like this in ireland then the country would be in a better state. Looking at most of the responses here it's clear that Ireland is a long was from getting away from the "Ah sure, it's grand" and "what harm, sure look at those bankers /politicians what they did - they're the real criminals" attitudes that has ****ed up the country. If the owner of the audi has a good enough reason as to why his tax disc is showing out of date then he will have no problem with the guards. To automatically assume that he has a good reason is naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

My wifes motor tax is out since september 2012, my car is out since june last year. Weve got more important bills to pay especially with our mortgage coming off tracker recently.

Maybe if we werent paying a combined 1200 a year on motor tax compared to ~300 for our equivalent cars in the uk we might be more inclined to pay up. With the cost of fuel on a par with a lot of mainland europe these days people are being priced out of motoring in this country, and when you consider the fact that our public transport system has more in common with 3rd world countries than western civilisations it really puts the governments attitude and behaviour towards motorists in Ireland into perspective. Shameful really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

UDP wrote: »
    If only there were more people like this in ireland then the country would be in a better state. Looking at most of the responses here it's clear that Ireland is a long was from getting away from the "Ah sure, it's grand" and "what harm, sure look at those bankers /politicians what they did - they're the real criminals" attitudes that has ****ed up the country.

If only there were less people like you in ireland we would all be better off financially. Our pre 08 road tax system is nothing short of extortionate. Then when you add in the blatant unfairness in taxing older cars off the road and the many other costs associated with motoring in Ireland is it any wonder many choose not to pay. It's your mentality that has allowed them get away this for too long. If its unjust, don't pay it out of some weird sense of duty. Just don't pay it at all !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

My take on Motor tax:
    Most people say that if your motor tax isn't up to date you shouldn't be on the road
    if the car was off the road the government wouldn't be collecting the duty and tax on the fuel that's put in the car
    they wouldn't be making money off the maintenance of the car either
    in my case the government wouldn't be making money off my USC and Prsi, my car is needed for me to get to work
    Either way things wont change if we all pay up and shut up
    €710 for a round piece of paper (in my case) for the year no thanks
    Plus again in my case if my plans for the next year bear fruit the government will be making more money off me but that's the joys of business :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I just splashed out 500+ this month and i could use that money for funnier things as well. Paying taxes is not exactly a hobby for me either.
    I couldnt care less about someone having his tax out for 1 month, could be there are valid reasons for that.
    But when i see cars with disks on display that still show 2011/2012 i get the urge to report them as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

my on the road car broke a couple of weeks ago, so i put my spare car into use...what did I do? I taxed it....

why? because it's the law.

I now have two taxed cars for the next month or two...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

my on the road car broke a couple of weeks ago, so i put my spare car into use...what did I do? I taxed it....

Fair play - genuinely, if i could afford to have two cars on the road taxed I would too.

Cost of taxation + lack of alternative transport + lack of enforcement = cars untaxed on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

A blue peter badge on the way to you sir.:rolleyes: