Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the fastest you've ever driven?

• 04-03-2013 8:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

Sorry if this has been done before, but, my search yielded nothing.

fastest I have driven was 145 kph on way back from Belfast North o' the Border, taking advantage of the fact that the NI speed cameras can't pick up a Republic License Plate and the PSNI can't chase you over the border for speeding :) although it's soon to change ... YOU ?? Was it in a car/ bus / truck / motorbike?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

About 160mph on a motorcycle........in Mondello :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

On Irish roads?

120kph of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

8mph..

.. push-biking like a bitch!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

185/190kmh, driving a quiet dual carriageway at 1am when I finished work.

Check point rumbled me but luckily I knew the guard, I had served him in the bar the night before. He told me to slow down next time, the stink of rubber burning when I put the window down was disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

120KPH your Guardship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I usually drive sitting down, so 0mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

400 mile an hour in me Honda civic with me mates chillin in the back smokin few spiffs listening t bit a techno but can't hear it because of the dust bin I have for an exhaust

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Ask your girl when she was on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

88mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

fastest I have driven was 145 kph on way back from Belfast North o' the Border, taking advantage of the fact that the NI speed cameras can't pick up a Republic License Plate and the PSNI can't chase you over the border for speeding :) although it's soon to change ... YOU ?? Was it in a car/ bus / truck / motorbike?

They just wait till the next time they see you in NI and bring you to the nearest ATM if you dont have the fine on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

'Bout 3 fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

sfwcork wrote: »
    Ask your girl when she was on top

His girlfriend has a steering wheel as knockers? Bra-vo sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Lads its the Guards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

240kph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

400 mile an hour in me Honda civic with me mates chillin in the back smokin few spiffs listening t bit a techno but can't hear it because of the dust bin I have for an exhaust

F**k your Honda Civic, I've a horse outside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Possibly because you searched After Hours and not Motors ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Keno 92 wrote: »
    88mph
    Me too... I ended up with 4 penalty points and in a recession :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I wasn't driving, but fastest I have ever gone in a car is 140 mph. Out on the highway, in a remote area in the USA. Scared me half to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Lads its the Guards

Guards, its the Lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Rallied an old banger around a mates field a few months ago and felt like was doing Mach 1...

Jaysus that sounded gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

152kph ............down a hill:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Soft inda Head

Went to visit a friend in Munich a few years back and she collected me from the airport. She works for bmw and had one of their jeeps at the time. She was on the autoban doing 250kph. There is nothing more unnerving as being in a car going so fast and you have no control over it. She was up the arse of a Porsche flashing at it to get out of her way at one stage! I'm sure that I left nail marks on her leather passenger seat a faint wiff of urine too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

30 mph in a Ferrari Dino down hampstead high street in London. Wasn't the fastest, but jasus it was the bestest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

About 9 inches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

Went to visit a friend in Munich a few years back and she collected me from the airport. She works for bmw and had one of their jeeps at the time. She was on the autoban doing 250kph. There is nothing more unnerving as being in a car going so fast and you have no control over it. She was up the arse of a Porsche flashing at it to get out of her way at one stage! I'm sure that I left nail marks on her leather passenger seat a faint wiff of urine too!

I achieved the max speed possible in a '93 Corolla once.

I'd love a good car to go on the autobahn for a while. Yeahhhhh :cool::cool:

In ireland? Eh, 120 of course... ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

286km/hr briefly...... crouched on a bike trembling in sheer terror behind my visor and the bikes screen with my hand like a claw around the throttle

never went there again afterwards, never want to.......and i like speed very much

(unless its in a less exposed more stable feeling race car or something)

Dónal wrote: »
    I achieved the max speed possible in a '93 Corolla once.

100km/hr then:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No fupping way I'm telling anyone the the fastest I've driving. Flown, on the other hand, is easy. 100mph at 50 feet. Perfectly legal, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

209 kph

On the way back to Dublin from Gorey, Squeaky bum time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

100 mph in 1987 in a corolla down Cork Mallow road :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Had done 240km/h once in my old car. First and last time I do something so stupid. Was cool though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

managed to brush 165 km/h in a Skoda Fabia on the M11 near ashford once.

I would not do that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I wouldnt really pass 160 170 kph even on a deserted motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

wasnt me driving but 150mph in an 03 M5,some experience

Confab wrote: »
    No fupping way I'm telling anyone the the fastest I've driving. Flown, on the other hand, is easy. 100mph at 50 feet. Perfectly legal, too.

was this a powered flight or some sort of adrenaline fuelled wing suit escapade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

Back in '96, I did a foreign exchange to Germany. The father picked me up in his new E230 and when we joined the Autobahn, he turned around and asked me did I mind speed, I was pure excited to even be on the Autobahn and said of course not. He kept going 'til the car wouldn't accelerate any more. About 235kph. I remember that the car felt steady and the aerial was whistling like mad.

Last year I drove my 1.6TDi Yeti on the Autobahn and hit 180 - 185kph a few times. Car felt fine, would cruise at 180 no bother, but there wasn't any more left in it at that.

There was one time in Ireland when a relative picked up his new (secondhand) bike, a CBR1000 and I was following him in a '96 T5 on a very straight road. But Boards isn't the place for that conversation... Let's just say that the bike was faster :D

In the days when I was a foo, I drove to cork flat out in a mondeo. I noticed a blue speck far, far behind. Eventually, after a long while of flat outeyness, the speck grew larger. I slowed out of curiosity and it turned out the speck was a gard who had been chasing me for 20 minutes. He was surprisingly angry, I thought he would have enjoyed the blast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

about 4 miles an hour going vrrroooooom with my son hanging on for dear life

in a shopping trolly

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

78kph... I'm a learner :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

152 that all im saying cant remember what country.But it was a german car.

Dwork wrote: »
    In the days when I was a foo, I drove to cork flat out in a mondeo. I noticed a blue speck far, far behind. Eventually, after a long while of flat outeyness, the speck grew larger. I slowed out of curiosity and it turned out the speck was a gard who had been chasing me for 20 minutes. He was surprisingly angry, I thought he would have enjoyed the blast.

Ah sure if I was a the gard that day I would have congratulated you on your manliness and providing me with a jolly good challenge and sent you on your way with a smile and a kindly word of advice

I like the way you slowed after the speck grew larger during the flat out ness due to curiosity - and not giving in to the inevitable, you've got a bit of fight in you haven't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

175 km/hr in a Volvo 740 saloon on the Leixlip by-pass many years ago.

The fastest I've gone in my present car is 153, probably on the same road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    209 kph

On the way back to Dublin from Gorey, Squeaky bum time.

I'd say that was 208 or maybe 210:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Not very fast!

My younger brother often drives 180-190 km/h on the motorway up to Dublin, though. Sometimes I don't even notice it until I look at the speedometer/other drivers finger give us the finger. He needs to cop on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

110 Mph in a 14 year old Landcruiser. She was well able for it too.

amacca wrote: »
    Ah sure if I was a the gard that day I would have congratulated you on your manliness and providing me with a jolly good challenge and sent you on your way with a smile and a kindly word of advice

I like the way you slowed after the speck grew larger during the flat out ness due to curiosity - and not giving in to the inevitable, you've got a bit of fight in you haven't you?
    In my defence, I was young, dumb and had just serviced it. I needed, very badly, to know how fast it actually could go, as you do when you are 20, male, and awash with invincibility. And it was 5am in the morning. And after he ate the head off me, he let me off. So, he was sort of like you. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭donegaldude

125mph up north one time at 6 am on a Sunday.
    On my bicycle with a tail wind and help off a truck coming down the hill into letterkenny from ballybofey I hit 63mph. The eyes were fair watering even with glasses on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Basq wrote: »
    8mph..

.. push-biking like a bitch!

85km/hr on a pushbike going down a mountain, goodtimes!