Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tommy's Study Log

• 04-03-2013 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭

Hey, so basically i'm starting this like everyone else to keep track of study because i'm a professional procrastinator.I've deleted myself off Twitter and Facebook to avoid distractions between now and the LC.

I'm currently looking for around 450+ points which i think is fairly achievable and enough for my course last years points were 400 and year before that 390 so hopefully they wont jump up too high this year.

Subjects: Mock Result
    English (H) : C1
    Irish (H) :
    Maths (O) : D1 (I havent looked at a book since i dropped from higher)
    French(H) :
    Swedish(H) : A2
    Geography(H) : B1
    Business(H) : B1
    Chemistry(H) :
    Biology (H) : (didnt sit mock)
    LCVP : Distinction

By the leaving cert i'm hoping to get my B's into the A Bracket and my C's into the B bracket. And for maths get it to at least a C as its not worth much to me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

Today i'm writing out my sraith's from foinse's podfoinse so I can get them done properly.
    I also plan to write out my Le Document for the final time tonight with corrections done so i will have my french oral work finished and just needed to be revised over the weeks before the oral.

I just finished my mock french oral yesterday and i got slaughtered on le document, I was trying to lead her into charitable organisations which i had a lot prepared for but she kept sidetracking my document to the religious side and asked about current events like the pope. I came up with basic answers and only fared out at the end with 60%. She didnt like my emphasis on the french accent at all she said i sounded like i was trying to mock the french (which an examiner told me to do because you get points for trying to sound as french as possible). At Christmas i went to a grinds school to a french oral day and i came out with 84% from an oral examiner so this is a huge jump down and frankly im disappointed with my result.

So This weekend im going to polish up the document with more of the religious side of it and current religious events which i was asked like the retirement of the pope.

I'm just after writing up 6 essays on India for Geography on The Relief,Climate, Primary sector (Fishing and Agri), Secondary sector (manufacturing) and Tertiary sector (Tourism and Transport) and Population distribution. Ive also prepared Sao Paulo for the effects of urbanisation.

For Business ive spent an hour revising Unit 1-3. Although im finding it quite difficult to find a right way on how to study business. By writing out definitions or just going through the exam papers and writing out answers?

Today im planning to finish off revising Business Unit 1 and start on Unit 2
    Starting writing up the Irish Oral Conversation, Going to write up topic's on drugs and the economic crisis which i can use on the topic of my area if she brings it up. Also doing Sraith 1-5
    Going to start revising Bishop And Plath for English Poets.

Wrote up 3 sraith's today, 2A4 Pages each and timed to reach 4 minutes each.
    Finished off India Essays today. Wrote essay on Culture (Religion and Language) and Urbanisation.
    Started on Irish Regions.Wrote Essays On Primary and Secondary Sector of BMW and GDA.
    Also wrote up French Vocab sheets on the Topics os Obesity,Drugs and Womens Rights.

Was starting to study chemistry this weekend, spent two hours looking at a book and got absolutely no where. I'm so lost its unbelievable. I used to be getting all 90%+ up to November but since then I've spiralled down to a D3 which is outrageous. I have no idea how to answer chemistry questions at all, i looked over my pre and i gave the right answer but it wasn't correct for some reason. He said i didn't structure it correctly even though it was right. I just don't know

I've been really unproductive this weekend anyhow.I went to my friends 18th then Saturday night and today I went out again so i got nothing done and now i feel terribly guilty with a massive hangover.

Although I got the points in the mocks for BIS in UCC, i'm really anxious that I wont get it for the real thing.

Updated Mock results
    English (H) : C1
    Irish (H) : C2
    Maths (O) : D1
    French(H) : C1
    Geography(H) : B1
    Business(H) : B1
    Chemistry(H) : D3
    Biology (H) : (didnt sit mock)
    LCVP : Distinction

440 Points ~

Plan for Tomorrow

Geography : BMW Primary,Secondary,Tertiary Sectors and Population Decline Essays.
    Irish : Geibhinn and Hurlamaboc
    Irish Oral : 2 Sraith, My Family, My area, My House, What I did last year and What Im going to do this year (summer), College
    French : Topic Sheets on Obesity, Drugs, Social Media
    Chemistry : Stoichiometry + Redox Titrations

Free Class Work :
    Biology Circulatory System.

Yesterday I didnt do much only a bit of french on the main topics started at 2 ended at 6.
    Today I got up at 9, Went into school at 10 and did french aural work until 1.

Plan for the rest of the day
    3 Sraith's (12,13,14)
    Regional Geography (Finish BMW Region and Move onto GDA)
    Chemistry (Exam paper Questions 1,2,3 Years 2010-2007)
    French (Le Document work, Tenses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

I just noticed that you're doing 10 subjects. :eek:
    Well done, I must say, but do you not think that is a little outrageous? Like, you won't be counting 4 subjects results' so. :confused:

ray2012 wrote: »
    I just noticed that you're doing 10 subjects. :eek:
    Well done, I must say, but do you not think that is a little outrageous? Like, you won't be counting 4 subjects results' so. :confused:

Aha thanks, yeah i know it sounds a bit mad but at the start of 5th year in our school we had to do 8 subject's excluding LCVP. I also have Swedish so said i'd take it up for the leaving, So that made it 10 subjects.

This year I wanted to drop business but i was recommended keep it on and i couldn't drop a science subject because of the LCVP combination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

Tommyrawr wrote: »
    Aha thanks, yeah i know it sounds a bit mad but at the start of 5th year in our school we had to do 8 subject's excluding LCVP. I also have Swedish so said i'd take it up for the leaving, So that made it 10 subjects.

This year I wanted to drop business but i was recommended keep it on and i couldn't drop a science subject because of the LCVP combination.

Jaysus, I'd say your work-load is fairly tough! Fair play anyways, hope you do well! :D

Today i've done

Chemistry
    All definitions asked in chemistry for the past 10 years
    Wrote out 5 Experiments into key points
    Learned the scientists and their contributions to chemistry

Irish
    Sraith 17,16,15
    My area
    My pastimes, sport, music
    If I were President,Won the lottery,Principal for a day.

Geogrpahy
    made a sheet of 15 SRPS on each region in each sector

Chemistry
    Question 5's from 2012-2002

French
    Listened to NRJ (paris)
    Had a conversation with my friend from Montreal on skype

Planning to write out and revise my area,the economic crisis, My School,After the leaving cert, the points system and If i were President,Principal and Minister of education.

Business
    Finish and write notes on chapter 5 and 6 using less stress because the Book contains too much.

I'm also doing a revision course next week in Limerick in the subjects English,Geography,Chemistry and Maths and Irish. So hopefully I will get a lot covered in that.

So Yesterday I was pretty lazy but i got a small bit done, but i've made up for it today because of the easter revision course :)

Chemistry
    Q6's Last 10 years
    Q 10 + 11's last 4 years

Irish -
    Rewriting out corrected sraiths 1-5

____________Today_____________

English
    Comparative -Sive,How many miles to babylon and Casablanca
    I got notes on how to structure and what topics to prepare on as this was my lowest marked question on my pre paper as we havent done anything much in school on it.

Geography
    Formation of Igneous, Sedimentary,metamorphic rocks
    Plate Tectonics

Maths
    Complex Numbers

Chemistry
    Organic Chemistry with Exam Questions

At around 8.30-10.00 I plan on doing

French
    Will write out more stuff for the oral allocated by my teach
    Then I will beg my canadian friend to speak french for a while on skype.

Today i've done

French Oral
    School,Family,Local area,My Favorite TV Show and Websites, Document on religion.

Irish Oral
    Sraith 1-4
    Myself and My Family,School,Hobbies.

Irish Oral work
    Wrote up sraith 14-20 since we never really covered them in class.
    Irish oral is on thursday so hopefully some of them will stay in the head

Practised the poetry and then did social problems,school,A film and a book i watched/read (The Hobbit),Music,Social media,Bullying and Suicide.

To Do For Today :
    Physical Geography - Waterfalls
    Karst Feature - Limestone Pavement
    Subsurface Karst Feature - Swallow Holes
    Human Interference (fluvial) - Dams

Business
    Q1 - 2012-2002

French-
    Journal Intime
    Obesity

2 Comprehensions

English : Unseen Poetry 2003+2004, Macbeth Question 2003
    French : Journal Intime
    Irish : Gnathrud Exam Question
    Chemistry - Q5 2012-2010
    Geography - Plate Tectonics (Distribution,Effects,Features)

Well LCVP Exam first thing tommorow. First time actually studying for this apart from my portfolio, I got 87% in the pre probably because i do business :L

4 Years of Past LCVP Questions
    Learned format of Agenda,Business plan,Letter and Minutes.
    Went over Case Study

Irish : Mo Grasa Idir Lubini Exam Question
    Geography : Formation of Igneous,Metamorphic Rocks and Sedimentary Rocks.
    Business Q4 's 2010-2005- On Enterprise (figured it would help with LCVP)

LCVP Exam went well, Everything I had prepared for the case study came up.

Irish : Essay On Unemployment
    Geography : Plate Tectonics Essay
    Business : Q4's
    French : The Role of Women Responsive Question
    Chemistry : Q5's

Had to take the day off to mind my siblings, Because no one was around to mind them. Perfect time to study for a bit because the xbox is minding them ;)

Plan to Study
    Business: Management 1 + 2 + Exam Q's (Q4+Q5's)
    Geography : Tectonics- Case Studies (Volcano + Earthquake)
    English : Bishop And Exam Q
    French - Learning Vocab for Role of Women + The Elderly.
    Chemistry - Continue on with Question 5's Then Move to Thermochemistry.
    Irish - The Gathering Essay.

Today
    Geography - Optional Question On Soils
    wrote out notes on Earthquakes + case study.
    Human Interaction with the North Sea

Chemistry - Finished Off All Question 6's

Irish - Answered Geibheann Sample Questions + Notes

English - Did the Bishop Speech question but substituted with Plath since there has never been a Plath "write a speech" question yet.
    Revised over Bishops Poetry and Wrote Notes.

Geography : Effects of Folding on the Irish Landscape and Tsunami Also Optional Question on Desertification + Short Questions
    Business : Management 2
    French - Comprehension 2010
    Chemistry - Water Questions - Wrote out some experiments
    Irish Continued Poetry Notes.

I fell asleep in evening study.
    But before that i was writing out essays on Abortion's and The Gathering
    I Learned the modh foshuiteach
    Geography : I did the physical processes of West of Ireland only got halfway through answering it.
    Then I fell asleep for over an hour and a half.
    #exhausted.

So I havent studied since Wednesday because i got hit with the vomiting bug that lasted up until yesterday. Then yesterday i had my sisters communion and drinks were forced down me therefore the hangover this morning. ;)
    I'm pretty angry with myself for not studying and missing so many days but nothing much i can do now but try to catch up.

So Today I'm planning to do

Geography : West of Ireland - Trying to get this section done.
    Chemistry - Write out Experiments And FAQ's + Rates of Reaction Exam Questions
    Irish - Poetry Notes + Aiste
    English - Write out Macbeth Quotes + ReRead Macbeth Notes
    French - Comprehension + Q1 writing question + Learn last weeks notes
    Business : European Union Section + Exam Questions - Have a test tomorrow

Today Was pretty bleak. I spent until 4am last night googling the "ogooglebar" as the swedes would say because my favorite TV show was officially cancelled and I wanted to see if there was hints of any other networks picking it up but nothing. Also during that time I wrote out any possible questions and answers to The water titrations.

Today :
    Chemistry : 2006 Q1 Titration
    Irish : Finished off the Aiste on Tostal 2013
    English : Writing out Macbeth Quotes and re-reading it again. Still a good few pages to go
    Geography : Finally Finishing off West Of Ireland.
    French : Journal Intime 2012 + 2008

Tomorrow:
    Maths : Circles
    English : Macbeth Quotes and Character Notes
    French : Health and Dieting
    Business : ABQ 5,6,7 + Make notes on Units
    Chemistry : Make notes on titrations and PH and Water Questions
    Irish : Colscaradh - Exam paper Questions

Took the day off today to study since i have 4 free classes today. I did

English : Macbeth Character question and Plath
    Maths : Area and Perimiter

French : Pollution Vocab + Question + 2 Comprehensions
    Irish : Poetry
    Chemistry : Organic Chemistry + Titrations
    Geography : Revise GDA + Geoecology
    Business : Exam Questions on EU.

EDIT : Ended up doing more than I bargained for, Quite pleased Will be needing a few more days like this since we dont get off until the 29th.

Plan For Tonight
    Geography : Paris Basin (Relief,Agriculture,Secondary)
    Maths : Definitions in Book 1
    French : Question's on Pollution, Learning Vocab on immigration + La Crise Economique
    Chemistry : Finish Up Notes on Titrations + Organic I Question
    English : Plath Notes
    Business : European Union Questions Exam Papers

Took the day off, So Far I have done
    Maths : Probability
    Business : Finished International Environment Questions
    Chemistry : Did All Q1's
    Geography : Started Paris Basin Relief and Agriculture

To do Today :
    English : Finish Plath + Bishop
    Chemistry : Organic Experiments
    Geography : Finish Paris Basin + Start Elective
    Irish : Mo Ghrasa + Spalpin Fanach + Dis Notes
    Maths : Complex Numbers
    Business : Unit 5

Today I Did
    Chemistry: Finished Writing notes and Doing Organic Experiments Questions
    English:Wrote up more notes on Bishop
    Geogrpahy:Got as far as tertiary on Paris basin. Started reading through Elective
    Irish : Gnathrud Notes
    Business : Continued to write out ABQ Units

Geography : Finished Paris bain, Did Primary + Secondary Mezzogiorno.
    Chemistry : Revised over organic chemistry
    Business : ABQ Notes.

Was forced by the parents to go into school today for double maths and stay for the rest of the day
    Worst decision I was ever forced into ever. We did absolutely nothing but i printed off all pages of notes i've been typing up thats all ive got done today

Dying of a migraine now so im probably going to take today as my "off day", Gonna take a few Migraleve and hopefully get up later and do something :L

SIDE NOTE :
    The Xbox One looks alright like a sky box :P I want it just to flick through channels tbh

Today
    Business : ABQ Section Unit 6
    French : La sante and Le Sport
    English : Comparative Theme of Relationships
    Geography : Mezzogiorno region and India
    Irish : Dis
    Chemistry: Organic Questions

Today
    Business: Finished off Unit 6
    Geogrpahy : Finishing off India and moving onto Human Geography
    Chemistry - Learning organic Mechanisms
    Irish - Eicolai and A Chlann (Filiocht Breise)
    English - Continuation of Comparative theme + Elizabeth Bishop Notes
    French : Le Dopage + Les immigres

I havent been studying the past few days since i got diagnosed with appendicitis, its been killing me xD

Today I got 3 Macbeth Character Questions done, Lady,MB,Banquo
    Macbeth Quotes learned
    Cultural Context done.
    Syliva Plath - Quotes and Personal Response and Imagery Question

Not bad for someone who was out until 5 last night drinking after the grad mass xD

I plan to learn off my Biome characteristics later after my throw down im absolutely wrecked

Crammed in my english today, Got all the poetry learned, for Mahon,Plath and Bishop and Kinsella. Themes, styles and Quotes.
    Also did Cultural Context (6 pages) and Theme or issue (5 pages)
    Now just to study over the night before ^.^ Be grand ;D

Made my geography essays into short SRP's so i can make them more memorable to expand on them in the exam.
    In French I did : European union,Immigration and State benefit answers.
    Maths : Algebra.

Geography : Revised all Sample answers for Core.
    Maths : Paper 1

Geography : learned Migratory patterns of last 100 years,Causes and Effects Overpopulation, Effects of Changing EU migration policy, Learned all aspects regional Paris Basin and West of Ireland and Essay on Human impacts on A biome. (deforestation of rainforest)
    Maths : paper 1 - Differentiation,Functions and Graphs,Sequences and complex numbers
    English : Bishop And Mahon, Revised over Cultural Context

Hope to keep going until 10 tonight then take an early night at around 11. Planning to just do english, Geography and maths over the next two days. Mainly english and geography though.
    Theres so much you need to know in geography god its feels longest course ever. :(

Today I just did poetry
    And Procrastinated

I think im in shock its only two days away.

MORNING! I actually got up early for once :D
    So today I plan on doing Geography from 10-3
    Then English - From 3 - 9
    And then start praying for a nicely themed paper that suits me.

Sure anyways, Best of luck to ye lads :D

English paper one was grand today, Did the speech on heroism, was rushed only had 40 mins to get 4 pages in.
    Question B was Lovely. TV in young peoples lives.
    Question A I did was Grand Central Station. I couldn't have been happier with paper to be honest.
    Didn't really have any time to look over it but I feel it went well :)

Took a nap from 1-4 to recharge myself for some serious cramming for Paper two!
    Plath,Mahon,Wordsworth or Bishop. One of them better come up, preferably Plath, My one true love ;D
    Right I'm off, best of luck with paper two guys :)