Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory Interview

• 03-03-2013 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭

Rory is set to give an in depth interview on Tuesday morning and from reports he is going to be very honest and frank in it.

Should be very interesting to see what he has to say. I'd say he is very embarrassed with everything that went on this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,864 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Who's doing the interview? Where will it be available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,864 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

ForeRight wrote: »

Cheers. I'll keep my eyes/peeled, I'm sure it'll be well reported!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

Michael Jackson did an interview like this once.
    Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭Speak Now

When's he on Oprah?

they're still trying to repair the couch after Tom's breakdown.

has Tom contacted Rors btw yet?
    maybe scientology has the answers Rors is looking for.

I suppose if you were given a vessel to pass thru this life, you could do worse than to assume the identity of Rory McIlroy - you could be Lee Westwood for example :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I loved it when he was just a kid with clubs. All controlled and pr now. The wonder years are gone.

A letter from his dentist, tooth fairies next.

I finding this tooth story hard to take, hope I'm wrong. There is a picture from indo of him eating.

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/photos/rory-mcilroy-northern-ireland-eats-sandwich-18th-green-photo-155958798.html

this has nothing to do with wisdom teeth FixdePitchmark

even i know that
    and i'm not directly connected to Horizon or the Rors camp

Woods crashes his car
    Rory goes to the dentist

this has nothing to do with wisdom teeth FixdePitchmark

even i know that
    and i'm not directly connected to Horizon or the Rors camp

Woods crashes his car
    Rory goes to the dentist

I'd say your going a bit too far yourself lol. We are trying not to be Hello. Hard when it is Rory. He does seek publicity. I knew when he sold his house up the north, a little bit of the kid down the road was over. Then the Nike thing next. I just love the raw talent , the kid part of a sports star. Then the machine takes over.

I'd say that photo has caused this overdrive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

I'd say that photo has caused this overdrive.

It wasn't so much the photo more so the fact that he was quoted leaving the course saying "I can't really say much, guys. I'm just in a bad place mentally", whilst mentioning nothing about a toothache. Then, a short time later, his PR team release the toothache statement.

SnowDrifts wrote: »

It wasn't so much the photo more so the fact that he was quoted leaving the course saying "I can't really say much, guys. I'm just in a bad place mentally", whilst mentioning nothing about a toothache. Then, a short time later, his PR team release the toothache statement.

It was that photo for me. And others I'd say. That is why Indo ran it.

Only golfers followed in and outs of it. Photo is for the masses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Moved to Wed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

soundsham wrote: »
    Moved to Wed

Maybe still studying Tiger's apology speech and and trying to project the same level of 'sincerity'.
    He better have a good tale to tell.

What is the likely sanction by the US Tour if he comes clean ?

Almaviva wrote: »

Maybe still studying Tiger's apology speech and and trying to project the same level of 'sincerity'.
    He better have a good tale to tell.

What is the likely sanction by the US Tour if he comes clean ?

Doesn't seem like he is going to come clean on anything as he has a letter from his dentist in Belfast.

Like a note from mammy for missing school :)

embarrassing
    this guy is a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

embarrassing
    this guy is a joke

The only thing embarrassing is your statement.

Wtf? He had a bad day at the office. He made a mistake. There is probably several different things that caused him to snap and walk away. We all know the toothache story is bull.

He is still only a young man. He is one of the greatest natural golfers to have ever picked up a club. Just let him have a bad day will you?

we all have bad days
    but stick it out til half five or whatever
    the guy has no class
    always found him hard to warm to
    this was the final straw for me

best of luck to him in his haul of majors - doubt he'll take over from Paddy Harrington the way hes going (thats a total of 3+ btw)

we all have bad days
    but stick it out til half five or whatever
    the guy has no class
    always found him hard to warm to
    this was the final straw for me

best of luck to him in his haul of majors - doubt he'll take over from Paddy Harrington the way hes going (thats a total of 3+ btw)

The Guardian - have you been around here before ?

Doesn't seem like he is going to come clean on anything as he has a letter from his dentist in Belfast.

It is a bit sad ForeRight - when I read that I was like :rolleyes:.

Easier to get a sick note in Ireland. The blokes managing this are making error on error.

Come clean - works quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

The Guardian - have you been around here before ?

He's one of our resident trolls.

Please dont feed the trolls!

He's one of our resident trolls.

Please dont feed the trolls!

Just noticed Jan 2013 - lost an online friend about then.

When in hole, stop digging. No one will believe him if he goes that way at this stage.

Even if it truly was teeth, he would be better to 'confess' to emotional meltdown, pressure, did wrong, let himself down, let the tour down, right to expect better from world #1, will never do it again, etc, etc. And plead for mercy and understanding. And take a sanction from the Tour. Then he will have been seen to take some punishment for his mistake and he can move on.

Missing an event or two is a small price rather than have his integrity and a lie live with him for a long time. Badly advised if he sticks to guns.

When in hole, stop digging. No one will believe him if he goes that way at this stage.

Even if it truly was teeth, he would be better to 'confess' to emotional meltdown, pressure, did wrong, let himself down. let the tour down, right to expect better from world #1, will never do it again, etc. And plead for mercy and understanding. And take a sanction from the Tour. Then he will have seen to take some punishment for his mistake and he can move on.

Missing an event or two is a small price rather than have his integrity and a lie live with him for a long time. Badly advised if he sticks to guns.

Look, I've no time for what he did - but is all what you are saying a bit too much.

It is an individual sport - I guess he has free will and choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭paulos53

The great Bobby Jones once picked up his ball in the British Open, took a lot of flak for it, learned his lesson and recovered to win 4 US Opens and 3 British Opens in the following 9 years.

Hopefully Rory will recover to do the same :)

Look, I've no time for what he did - but is all what you are saying a bit too much.

It is an individual sport - I guess he has free will and choice.

Too much as in, you think he should just stick tot he wisdom tooth story and brave it out until people forget ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,595 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Too much as in, you think he should just stick tot he wisdom tooth story and brave it out until people forget ?

Hopefully he will put up a twitpic off the tooth when its out :)

No - he made a mistake, He is a kid.

He is entering a new stage of his career. He is not just Rory the kid who played golf. He has everybody pulling out of him and more pressure. He is 23 - at 23 nobody knows how the world works - never mind a lad who plays golf most of his day. All due respect to all involved , but in my view this transfer to Nike has been managed very poor.

Add to this the complexitiy of modern 24/7 online media - even Tiger did not face this. Golf was not on the front pages when Tiger (first) came on the scene.

These are very , very few child prodigies who do all this without a bit of a shake. Hard to name one.

He has moved home, tour, country all in 2 years.

Hopefully it is something minor (love life)

But, it is inevitable that it would all get to him at some stage - hopefully not this early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

It's a pity he feels he has to justify whatever happened with an interview. I'm not saying I'm overly sympathetic for him or anything, I just hope he's doing it for his own piece of mind and not out of some need to pander to the masses.

He let himself down at the weekend (edit, midweek) more than anyone else, so his priority should be getting his own "mental place" sorted and his game too.

When he gets his form back, then he can worry about looking after the fans again.

Brian Davis must be furious that he didn't get this much attention for withdrawing!!!

Ridge needs to start earning his money now.
    so far, signs are not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

From stories being told the whole 'Not in a great mental place' is true and it is nothing to do with his personal life.

It had previously been mentioned on here what might be wrond and that seems to be growing legs

AGC wrote: »
    From stories being told the whole 'Not in a great mental place' is true and it is nothing to do with his personal life.

It had previously been mentioned on here what might be wrond and that seems to be growing legs

???????????????????

AGC wrote: »

Split from Caroline?

If that is the case for F*&*&K S*&*(&K
    This is worse than a tooth.

That would be his personal life but !

If that is the case - a kick in the balls and teeth.

He is better off away from her now. She will turn into a fat munter when she stops playing tennis.

She already has a big batch loaf arse on her.

He is better off away from her now. She will turn into a fat munter when she stops playing tennis.

She already has a big batch loaf arse on her.

I think we are on subject - (Jaysus we are like a pack of aul-ones here / Hello / VIP)

Sure, how on earth was he going to stay with her. A young one I was chasing at his age was 2 Dublin busses away - not to mention it being on the South Side. Couldn't handle it at all. Had a break down. But finished all my 18 Pitch and Putt the next day . Anyway a joke if that is the story , to change the story about the story.

I'd be saying - Ror stick with the Tooth Story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Is this Rory the Irish golfer, or the one sky News was talking about. Was he the British golfer up till his tantrum.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

lads, lets keep to the facts that we know are definitely true and not spread rumours

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Is this Rory the Irish golfer, or the one sky News was talking about. Was he the British golfer up till his tantrum.

Last I want to hear of this thanks

Thread carefully my friend.... Greeno is always lurking with his ban hammer!!!!

banhammer.gif

You must teach me that someday.

Na, maybe , how to stop hooking instead.

Just found this online from an interview rory gave on Sunday night.....

“It was a reactive decision,” McIlroy said in a 25-minute telephone interview on Sunday night, two hours after Michael Thompson won the Honda for his first Tour title. “What I should have done is take my drop, chip it on, try to make a five and play my hardest on the back nine, even if I shot 85. What I did was not good for the tournament, not good for the kids and the fans who were out there watching me -- it was not the right thing to do.”

Read more: http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/rory-mcilroy-regrets-honda-classic-withdrawl-exclusive-interview#ixzz2McJW98oe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Just found this online from an interview rory gave on Sunday night.....

“It was a reactive decision,” McIlroy said in a 25-minute telephone interview on Sunday night, two hours after Michael Thompson won the Honda for his first Tour title. “What I should have done is take my drop, chip it on, try to make a five and play my hardest on the back nine, even if I shot 85. What I did was not good for the tournament, not good for the kids and the fans who were out there watching me -- it was not the right thing to do.”

Read more: http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/rory-mcilroy-regrets-honda-classic-withdrawl-exclusive-interview#ixzz2McJW98oe

Ahh, where was his minders, and managers. You get into the big time, you are not on your own. Maybe drama queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

banhammer.gif

And that is exactly how the wisdom tooth will be removed

I'd say that is what rory is doing with his nikes out his back garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Were his family at the Honda? Namely his dad?

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Were his family at the Honda? Namely his dad?

I believe his mam and dad were there as he had tweeted a family dinner photo just before the tournament.

• Site Banned Posts: 165 ✭✭narddog

they're still trying to repair the couch after Tom's breakdown.

has Tom contacted Rors btw yet?
    maybe scientology has the answers Rors is looking for.

I suppose if you were given a vessel to pass thru this life, you could do worse than to assume the identity of Rory McIlroy - you could be Lee Westwood for example :D

Scientology will provide the answer. For 10% and a share of the gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

I believe his mam and dad were there as he had tweeted a family dinner photo just before the tournament.

Surprised at his actions so if that's the case. I guess he's just being pushed and shoved so much(as maybe always) but up til now he could retreat to what he does best. That is until now where his very tools have been taken from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Looking at his last two tweets. I'd say him and Caroline are down. #ftb