Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ronan O'Gara dropped from Ireland - Tribute [MOD WARNING POST #60]

• 03-03-2013 9:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭

I think this is deserving of a thread of its own.

Despite all the moaning and complaints on here over the last number of games or even seasons, it's a sad day to see a true Irish legend no longer part of the Irish set-up, and a shame ROG had to go out like this. It would seem extremely unlikely at this point that we'll ever see him in an Irish jersey again.

The guy is a winner, a fighter and his self belief and mental strength are what made him the player he was, and also gave him the poor, drawn out end to his career too.

Kidney should have had the courage to make this call a long time ago.

But, whilst we are presumably all happy to see the squad and management finaly accepting the inevitable and moving on, both for Irelands sake and his own, it's important to remember that O'Gara is without question the greatest Irish out-half of the professional era and one of the greatest ever, in his pomp, his game management and goal kicking were second to no one in the game.

It was a pleasure and a privilege to see him line out for Ireland on a number of occasions, and in many years time, we'll talk about the Irish team of the naughties, the grand slam, and O'Garas name will be as prominent up there with O'Driscoll or anyone else.

He gave a lot to his country and to his province, and whilst he was not often peoples favourite player (outside of Munster) you had to respect the man and whilst I don't want to sound like I'm writing an obituary, I think it's only fitting that posters don't celebrate his downfall, but more so his career and everything he gave to sport in this country.

_56681202_ogara.jpg

queen.jpg

4652.jpg

article-1365514-0406250F000005DC-139_468x467.jpg

Stephen+Jones+Ronan+O+Gara+Wales+v+Ireland+63BusrOLQvDl.jpg

ronan-o-gara-irela_1370472c.jpg

He's a legend of the Irish jersey, always will be and I wish him well. Thanks for all the wonderful memories RADGE! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Great post Jackass, I'd echo everything you've said. Glad Kidney has finally put him out of his misery, his cameos in the 6 nations have made for painful viewing. A Munster and Irish great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

He has given me many good memories, but his time has been up for a while and I wish him all the best.

History will be kind to the man, even if recently he tarnished his record, memory of that will fade.

Radge your a ligind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

I'd bet on him featuring for Ireland again.
    He's off form now. But like an old QB in the NFL, experience at no 10 is invaluable
    Could well feature in next years 6Ns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭AnarchistKen

Scoring that drop goal against wales was one of the best spectator moments of all time. Legend in the red and green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Great post.
    Ronan really was a great player for both Munster and Ireland. What he brought to Ireland has really been tainted in the last year or two but really shouldnt be forgotten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

He owes none of us a thing, history no doubt will judge him as one of the great 10's to have had the honour of wearing the green jersey.

Perhaps he stayed on a few months too long at the end which may have left a bitter taste in the mouths of a few but on balance the positives far outweigh the negatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Thanks for starting this thread - well deserved for a great player. A legend. He captivated people on the fringes of rugby, which is actually good for rugby. He should have been dropped from the Ireland squad ages ago, and it is a pity that his Ireland career has finished this way - I blame Declan Kidney for that. Good luck to Ronan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

"I was owed one, I suppose"

Hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i lost a lost of respect for him after whinning about losing his place after beating aus in the world cup, other than that hes been a good yoke, great photo with the queen:D with drico in the background:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Principal Skinner

kevthegaff wrote: »
    i lost a lost of respect for him after whinning about losing his place after beating aus in the world cup, other than that hes been a good yoke, great photo with the queen:D with drico in the background:D:D

Disgraceful photo, such disrespect towards a head of state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

I don't think in the years to come I'll ever look back and remember ROG in the form he is now. I have the image of that drop goal vs Wales back in 2009, and his running back towards the halfway line for the restart, and the sheer excitement of the last 5 minutes of that game. Some of my best memories seeing ROG in a green shirt, good times! Much as I have criticised him over the last year or so, he's an Irish rugby legend, second only to O'Driscoll, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Brian_Zeluz

Goodnight sweet prince!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

ROG, thanks for everything, especially that sloppy DG in Cardiff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

One of the all time greats of Irish rugby. A fantastic career and thanks for the memories Ronan.

eigrod wrote: »
    One of the all time greats of Irish rugby. A fantastic career and thanks for the memories Ronan.

Is he though? Maybe 3rd best outhalf at the very best

Ah Leave it Out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

he said one of the all time not number one :eek:

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Ah Leave it Out!!!

:pac: sweet

duckysauce wrote: »
    he said one of the all time not number one :eek:

Well there's a lot of all time greats in that case

yes we have been lucky having alot of great outhalfs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

I'm delighted to have seen him play in the flesh for club, province and country. I've so many great memories of games he's been involved in but the highlight for me is his drop goal in the final game against Wales in 2009, I was behind the goal and it was so sweet. Seeing him reach out to Stephen Jones on the final whistle was touching, both knowing it's a game of inches and that sometimes the kicker gets the short straw of blame and on the flip side they get the kudos for those last minute succesful kicks.

I took my daughter to her first Munster game against Sarries game in Thomond Park in Jan 2000 when ROG had to convert Keith Wood's try to win the game in the dying moments. This was the start of an epic journey for him, Munster, Munster fans in general and my family in particular, it's been a rollercoaster but we've thoroughly enjoyed it. He has had some career and achievements.

Well done ROG and thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Annabella1

His winning DG in 2003 in Wales to set up a gram slam decider with England also stands out.
    I think his greatest ever irish game was in 2004 in twickenham beating all conquering England. He produced a master class in OH play that day.
    His Munster achievements are too long to mention ( and he ain't done yet!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

poc_rog_bod.jpg

This picture sums up Irish rugby as we know it in the professional era. All our success has been built on the back of these 3 men.

Such a fantastic career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

For all the recent whinging we've done, let's not forget the man gave us so much.

To be honest, back in 09 when he kicked that drop goal, almost every one of us here would have given him the missus that night!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭The Guardian

We need to rename this thread.
    It should be something along the lines of 'The Ronan O'Gara Appreciation Thread', or maybe Ronan O'Gara's Altar'

Moderators - appreciate it if ye could take this on board

We need to rename this thread.
    It should be something along the lines of 'The Ronan O'Gara Appreciation Thread', or maybe Ronan O'Gara's Altar'

Moderators - appreciate it if ye could take this on board

This post is not above international standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Scoring that drop goal against wales was one of the best spectator moments of all time. Legend in the red and green.

Couldn't agree more. I remember where I was when I was watching that. It was one of the greatest moments as an Irish rugby fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Hangs head in wonder at the idiots who these days are rugby fans :(
    Sad to see him go, total legend! ROG,BOD and POC liginds of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Thanks ROG, for everything you gave to the red and the green, its a sad to see it draw to a close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I'll never forget that game against Wales. Stood in Sinnotts nerves shot, Jones gets a DG with 5 mins to go. Guy beside me (never seen him before in my life) freaks out, turns around and refuses to watch anymore he's so nervous. I grabbed him, spun him around and told him that ROG would get us a penalty or a DG. I was so sure he'd do the business. And he didn't disappoint. Incredible day and a great player.

good clip and music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

A genuine legend for Ireland and Munster. He has been one of the top players for Ireland for so long I don't think his last couple of years will not diminish that. Thanks for everything ROG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

ronan, i thank you for the memorys, i will forget about the last six months, you gave ireland many good memorys, munster will never forget you, you had your dectactors, but how often you proved them wrong, to munster you are an icon, you made them what they are, they had the ability to man up, to make you what you are.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Be some craic if he's brought back for the Italy game. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Legend, thanks for everything ROG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Hardly, the queen had just asked him did he have any spare change for the bus, and being the gent that he was, he had a rustle in his pockets for some coppers.

Anyway, good luck ROG, enjoy the rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭yohan the great

The disgusted look on heaslips face with rog with his hands in his pockets when meeting the queen is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Neoulous

He is a legend of the game. Full stop.

As a French I have to say that we certainly missed a 10 of his (at least) kicking (not only to score points) standard to win a world cup.

It's very sad that Declan Kidney, who I believe knows him by heart, could not see his decline before it was exposed to the world of international rugby. He certainly deserved a better end under the green jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Zuffer

In the last 12 or so years, rugby has surged in popularity in this country. The Irish rugby team has experienced success the likes of which few fans could previously recall. The Irish provinces have made a name for themselves in the European club game, a name that evokes fear and respect from opposing teams.

Ronan O'Gara is at the heart of this story. In years to come, when we talk about the golden generation, they'll talk about the 'O's, O'Driscoll, O'Connell and O'Gara. For me, O'Gara's contribution goes beyond the drop goals, the touchline conversions, the soft hands. For me, his commitment, his honesty and his will to win are as great as in any sports person I've ever see. In my opinion those mental traits are as key to his success as any of his technical skills.

Overseas, he'll probably be most remembered for his HC contributions. With a 1,342 total (almost 500 more than second place, and still going!), he's the highest points scorer in the competition's history. As a Leinster fan, I'll never forgot the day in '06 when he fended off Mal O'Kelly to score under the posts and seal the semi final for Munster. I was a bitter, bitter man for a few days, but ultimately I was happy for Munster and O'Gara when they went on to win.

As much as he was central to the expansive attacking game that Eddie O'Sullivan's Ireland played at their best, I think we all know that the 2009 77th minute drop goal to win the grand slam is his iconic moment in a green jersey.

I know this doesn't necessarily mean that O'Gara's Ireland career is over, and with Munster in the HC quarters, there may yet be a couple of last minute drop goals up the sleeve. However, I'd be surprised if he continues on after this season, and there is no better time than now to put aside much of the (justified) negativity about his recent form and focus on his permanent class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 beefstew

I've so much respect for O'Gara, he has dug us out of so many holes and has had nerves of steel to win so many games when I was barely able to watch from my armchair. It wasn't nice to see so many Irish supporters turn on him in the last year or so but I guess that's sport. If he doesn't wear a green shirt again this year I can see him playing an absolute stormer against Harlequins because he has always had a winners mentality and I've a feeling he will have a point to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I think this thread is a bit early given Kidney's previous selection policies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

True (of course) - but it's still pure comedy gold with Drico and Ferris trying not to break their balls laughing and Heaslip looking like he's seen a ghost!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭BobBobBobBob

Great rugby player, pity it had to end on a low but them the break, hopefully he can get his form back to a decent level for the Heino Cup. Always love looking at the picture with the queen, great boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Nathan Hines will be happy, at least!

The timing is slightly odd. Thought he had a pretty good game over the weekend whilst Jackson and Madigan haven't exactly been shining beacons recently form-wise.

What sort of message is it sending out to Jackson/Madigan? To my mind anyway it looks like this: Sexton clear number 1. O' Gara, at start of 6N, was the clear number 2. But because the number 1 is out , and because the 6N campaign is in ruins, we'll give you 2 a run. It's not exactly a massive vote of confidence to give them a run out now in relatively meaningless fixtures. Neither are going to get anywhere near the Lions squad.

The point is this - if Kidney wanted to look to the future it should have been done at the start of the campaign. Drop ROG, give the younger lads a chance and make them feel like they are trusted and ready for the big games, not that they are thrown in now it's gone t1ts up.

The timing is slightly odd. Thought he had a pretty good game over the weekend whilst Jackson and Madigan haven't exactly been shining beacons recently form-wise.

What sort of message is it sending out to Jackson/Madigan? To my mind anyway it looks like this: Sexton clear number 1. O' Gara, at start of 6N, was the clear number 2. But because the number 1 is out , and because the 6N campaign is in ruins, we'll give you 2 a run. It's not exactly a massive vote of confidence to give them a run out now in relatively meaningless fixtures. Neither are going to get anywhere near the Lions squad.

The point is this - if Kidney wanted to look to the future it should have been done at the start of the campaign. Drop ROG, give the younger lads a chance and make them feel like they are trusted and ready for the big games, not that they are thrown in now it's gone t1ts up.

What?!

Madigan has been in great form recently. Jackson was Man of the Match on Friday night.

What games are you referring to?

What?!

Madigan has been in great form recently. Jackson was Man of the Match on Friday night.

What games are you referring to?

I mis-worded that :o Just more meant from the weekends games it's not as if Jackson was head and shoulders better than ROG was - just an opinion, thought they both played pretty well.

Overall on the balance of the season i'd agree with ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I mis-worded that :o Just more meant from the weekends games it's not as if Jackson was head and shoulders better than ROG was - just an opinion, thought they both played pretty well.

Overall on the balance of the season i'd agree with ya.

So based on the weekends games both PJ and ROG played equally as well? I watched both games. PJ had a great game and got MOTM....ROG was decidedly average at best.

I am looking forward to ROGs interview about this. I wonder what he'll say. He could cause Kidney a major headache.

I agree with those who don't go along with the notion he has been tarnishing his career by playing on. He's playing for his country and it's not his fault, at all, he's been selected. There are plenty who would kill for a cap Fair play to him and I hope he's successful in whatever he goes onto next. He should never have been put in this position.

I wonder will this affect his plans at Munster?