Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man swallowed by Florida sinkhole

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

Sinkhole my ass. Someone call Kevin Bacon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

JJJJNR wrote: »
    He did in his hole:D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Thats terrible, RIP.

I wonder if there will be a "sinkhole" tax brought in.

antodeco wrote: »
    Thats terrible, RIP.

I wonder if there will be a "sinkhole" tax brought in.
    Only if there was a hole in his finances:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

JJJJNR wrote: »

A 100 foot diameter sinkhole and yet the house is still sitting there in the picture?

The house must be bigger than it looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Down with that sort of thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

tin79 wrote: »
    A 100 foot diameter sinkhole and yet the house is still sitting there in the picture?

Everything is bigger in America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

It really bugs me that when somebody has died in a tragic accident, people joke about it.

That was somebody's son, somebody's brother who died at a young age. Rip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

People will be flocking to Florida to get rid of their unwanted "loved ones", it's cheaper than hiring a divorce lawyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

A sink hole? That is a terrible thing to call his wife's vagina.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

It really bugs me that when somebody has died in a tragic accident, people joke about it.

I'm inconsolable here, our thoughts at this time are with his family.
    To think that one of the 7 billion people on earth actually died.
    If we hadn't heard about it I'm sure everything would be OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Its not the fact that people die that bugs me. That's natural.

Its people who joke about a tragedy that bugs me. Death isn't funny and somebody's life shouldn't be joked about like that.

You are in the wrong forum buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Its ok. He is not Irish, He is not a politician & he didnt work for KPMG:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

ban sinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

Well he could still be alive. Middle earth could be quite nice actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Funnily enough that's the kind of sinkhole I was thinking of, and it being America, I wouldn't put something like that happening by it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

Great way to save on the burial too. Must be a Cavan lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,927 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

a Flo rida sinkhole?

I get a feeling that I never never never never had before, oh no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭GHOST MGG

pity the sinkhole wasnt under the bar in dail eireann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What a nightmare. Can you imagine meeting your end in such a manner? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Death isn't funny

Ah 'tis in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

i know, some people are really sinking to new lows. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Rabidlamb wrote: »

Thats grand so. The next mention here of a road death or child getting burnt to death or whatever will be met with jokes from me. Thats ok by you and a good few others then? Are we all agreed then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Death isn't funny

If getting blugeoned to death by a clown with an giant comedy hammer it could be.

This is one of my worst nightmares. Can you imagine? Fast asleep and then suddenly you fall into nothingness. Christ, even thinking about it is giving me shivers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

shedweller wrote: »
    Thats grand so. The next mention here of a road death or child getting burnt to death or whatever will be met with jokes from me. Thats ok by you and a good few others then? Are we all agreed then?

If a child died in a fire in Florida or someone was killed in a car crash there, people would still not joke about it.

I hate crude and unnecessary jokes myself but sometimes the circumstances of a death call for a certain amount of levity.

Especially in a forum such as this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

who will the yanks blame for this and declare war on

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It's underground, they would use radar to detect it's layout. A bit of it opened up into the bedroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

If a child died in a fire in Florida or someone was killed in a car crash there, people would still not joke about it.

I hate crude and unnecessary jokes myself but sometimes the circumstances of a death call for a certain amount of levity.

Especially in a forum such as this one.
    I'd say yer man that fell down the hole called for some levitation! LOL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

tight fit for the average murican.

It's underground, they would use radar to detect it's layout. A bit of it opened up into the bedroom.

What makes you such an expert in holes?

Opened up a few in your own bedroom have ye?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

What makes you such an expert in holes?

Opened up a few in your own bedroom have ye?

I am the only known natural enemy of the hole, the pile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

shedweller wrote: »
    I'd say yer man that fell down the hole called for some levitation! LOL!!

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Well sink holes is another thing to add to the list of reasons not to go to Florida

(I have been there 3 times.)

Alligators, Pythons, Coral Snakes, Black Widows, Tornados, Hurricanes, Crime, Lightning, Heatstroke, Massive hailstones, Gun culture, Bible belt, Sharks, Jellyfish, 100% humidity......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    Well sink holes is another thing to add to the list of reasons not to go to Florida

Alligators, Pythons, Coral Snakes, Black Widows, Tornados, Hurricanes, Crime, Lightning, Heatstroke, Massive hailstones, Gun culture, Bible belt, Sharks, Jellyfish, 100% humidity......

....americans

• Rabidlamb wrote: »

There is a bit of a middle ground between being inconsolable and joking about it, don't you think? Would you really be fine with people mocking the death of your father, brother or son on an internet forum? Really?

What a nightmarish way to die.

The poor bastard must literally have thought he was having a bad dream.

And does everything thread about a disaster or tragedy in here have to turn into a hand-wringing debate about jokes?

Just ignore them if you don't like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

who will the yanks blame for this and declare war on

It could have been caused by North korea's nuclear missile testing. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Death has been joked about for thousands of years across multiple civilisations. Where have you been? Uranus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The video clip associated with that article is very odd. The first half is reasonable enough with a policeman describing what happened and then the second half is just random shots of people doing nothing.

Also, joking about people dying is only bad if there's a reasonable chance of someone connected with the incident being needlessly hurt by it. The chances of someone close to him finding and reading this thread are very remote. For better or worse the situation is very different if the person is Irish, even more so if they are very widely known.

Is your man's wife now a black widow:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

"I will in me hole", he was heard to say when they warned him to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Chads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

....americans

YFlyer wrote: »
    Chads

Relevent: https://twitter.com/_FloridaMan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

....americans

.................whiney Irish people moaning abou thow crap it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

ejmaztec wrote: »
    People will be flocking to Florida to get rid of their unwanted "loved ones", it's cheaper than hiring a divorce lawyer.
    Maybe we could get rid of our politicians by dropping them in the sink hole :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

what, on one of them fcuking mobile phones he's been plugging?