Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Enjoy Drinking?

• 27-02-2013 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

I use to love the ole scoops at the weekend....
    usually when I drink it's never just have one or 2 pffft .... Usually a few drinks involves 10+ , shots, more drinks, and then a possible session after :rolleyes:

Anytime my mates suggest drinks, it's never just a "few" drinks - has always been like this. Does anyone actually ever just go for one or two drinks? :confused:

Anyways...... After spending most of the Christmas period drinking, I have been turned right off drinking. After Xmas I felt miserable, bad skin, gained weight, no energy, constantly hungry, feeling down etc etc

Sooooo.... I joined a gym, started eating healthy, looking after my health and have never felt better :)
    I work a Mon - Fri job, train every night...
    Now, when it comes to the weekend, all I wanna do is a little training, veg out, watch some decent TV, films, and maybe a lunch or dinner out.

Went out Saturday for the first time since Xmas and it was the same old ****.. dying the next day, pigging out on junk food, feeling tired, dreading the Monday, having the fear etc etc... Is it really worth it?

My mates keep asking how do I do it, and is my life not boring etc etc. I don't find it is... I actually have a happier life drink free :)

So people of boards - what are your views on drinking? Do live for the few scoops at the weekend? Do you prefer to just veg out?

Ps. Nothing to do with my age - I'm 24 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Few drinks, few bets, sport on the box and a few mates with you in the pub!

Couldn't bate it with a shitty stick tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I enjoy a pint, and sometimes (though rarely) two.

To be perfectly honest, I've never seen the appeal in getting drunk at all, so I may be the wrong person to ask.
    I enjoy drink for the flavour, not the effects. So I savour it and limit consumption to avoid said effects.

I really enjoy drinking. I love wine and have recently discovered there's more to beer than a bottle of corona. I would easily have just one or two and not feel the need to get sloshed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Stopped drinking at the start of the year, have drank twice since. Didn't get drunk either time.

I turned into a horrible person when I was very drunk, and I never knew how to pace myself. I hurt a lot of people too, just being a drunken idiot.

So now I avoid alcohol, when I am out with friends I'll have a few vodkas and enjoy them, and leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I like drinking good beers, whiskeys and rums. So yes I do in answer to the thread title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I do enjoy it, and I often go out for just a couple. Most of the time 3 is my limit, if I even drink that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I am very grateful for hangovers - I would be constantly scuttered were it not for them.

(Yes I enjoy drinking).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

I don't drink Mon-Thurs usually, but love having a glass of wine (or a few) at the weekend. Hangovers are getting worse the older I'm getting (mid-20s, dreading what happens in my 30s!) but still get drunk every few weeks. Able to have only one or two and not get hammered too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I don't see the point in having one or two. I prefer to go out and get hammered once every couple of months nowadays. Next up is Paddys weekend!

I'm 34 now and am passed the point of going out every week or several times a week like when I was a kid. I still love the odd big night out with my mates though. I couldn't imagine never having that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 BrainStorm90

What is the point of going for 2 drinks though :confused:
    All the effort of getting ready etc just to meet your mates for 2 drinks, when the chances of them staying out to get wasted and go onto a club are high... Just seems like a waste of a night when you could be at home not having to move, vegged out watching a film ( god I sound gay )

I think if you're gonna drink go for a few (5 maybe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Know the one that's one too many...

then have a few more after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I use to love the ole scoops at the weekend....
    usually when I drink it's never just have one or 2 pffft .... Usually a few drinks involves 10+ , shots, more drinks, and then a possible session after :rolleyes:

Anytime my mates suggest drinks, it's never just a "few" drinks - has always been like this. Does anyone actually ever just go for one or two drinks? :confused:

Anyways...... After spending most of the Christmas period drinking, I have been turned right off drinking. After Xmas I felt miserable, bad skin, gained weight, no energy, constantly hungry, feeling down etc etc

Sooooo.... I joined a gym, started eating healthy, looking after my health and have never felt better :)
    I work a Mon - Fri job, train every night...
    Now, when it comes to the weekend, all I wanna do is a little training, veg out, watch some decent TV, films, and maybe a lunch or dinner out.

Went out Saturday for the first time since Xmas and it was the same old ****.. dying the next day, pigging out on junk food, feeling tired, dreading the Monday, having the fear etc etc... Is it really worth it?

My mates keep asking how do I do it, and is my life not boring etc etc. I don't find it is... I actually have a happier life drink free :)

So people of boards - what are your views on drinking? Do live for the few scoops at the weekend? Do you prefer to just veg out?

Ps. Nothing to do with my age - I'm 24 :)

Nothing wrong with a few drinks.
    Seems like you were doing the dog on it though.

Be careful of becoming one of those born-again Christian type non drinkers now though.
    Telling everyone how bad it is now that you have had your fun and are done with it.
    Nothing more sickening............ worse than the worst Guinness puke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Hate drinking, hate drink culture.

What is the point though of going for 2 drinks though :confused:
    All the effort of getting ready etc just to meet you're mates for 2 drinks, when the chances of them staying out to get wasted and go onto a club are high... Just seems like a waste of a night when you could be at home not having to move, vegged out watching a film ( god I sound gay )

Have some craic out with your friends?

I'm only 21, so sometimes its nice to go out and have 2 drinks! The atmosphere is always good in our local.
    I can stay home and watch a movie any time I want...

What's the point of paying a fortune for drinks only to vomit or piss all of it down the toilet a bit later and feel utterly shit for it? :confused:

Zombienosh wrote: »
    Hate drinking, hate drink culture.

why? what do you in your free time, weekends? While the majority of people seem to be in the pub watching the match or in a club...

I love it, thinking about going drinking on a Thursday night and/or the weekend gets me through the week. I'd go drinking on average twice a week I'd say. Even a quiet weekend I wasn't going out I'd still have a few at home.

Mostly its a session when I go out though I'd go for one or two sometimes if there was something on a Monday night for instance or having a few with Dad in the local. Though when I say "one or two" that means five or six pints.

Have some craic out with your friends?

I'm only 21, so sometimes its nice to go out and have 2 drinks! The atmosphere is always good in our local.
    I can stay home and watch a movie any time I want...

Not possible to have crack with your Friends while they get wasted and you sit there sipping your 1 or 2 pints :rolleyes:

why? what do you in your free time, weekends? While the majority of people seem to be in the pub watching the match or in a club...

Read, paint, garden, listen to music, out with the husband on the motorbike, hike, swim, cook and have meals with friends....

What kind of an odd question is that anyway?

Shenshen wrote: »
    Read, paint, garden, listen to music, out with the husband on the motorbike, hike, swim, cook and have meals with friends....

What kind of an odd question is that anyway?

Was just wondering as some people classify a weekend has "boring" if it doesn't involve drink!

Yep, I do wonder at those people, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Beefy78 wrote: »
    I don't see the point in having one or two. I prefer to go out and get hammered once every couple of months nowadays. Next up is Paddys weekend!

I'm 34 now and am passed the point of going out every week or several times a week like when I was a kid. I still love the odd big night out with my mates though. I couldn't imagine never having that.

I love the occasional tear up, but it's hard to beat 1 or 2 nice beers on the couch in the evening just to chill out, especially when there's a game on the box.

Not possible to have crack with your Friends while they get wasted and you sit there sipping your 1 or 2 pints :rolleyes:

It is, I don't do it often...twice since new years, but I do enjoy it when I do go out with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I know my own limit and am a pretty sensible drinker so yeah, but can and have given it up for long periods of time, 18 months being the longest. I'm not into getting buckled to the point of blacking out or anything but love the "I'm tipsy this is fun" feeling on nights out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭The Pheasant

What is the point of going for 2 drinks though :confused:
    All the effort of getting ready etc just to meet your mates for 2 drinks, when the chances of them staying out to get wasted and go onto a club are high... Just seems like a waste of a night when you could be at home not having to move, vegged out watching a film ( god I sound gay )

Because its about enjoying the drink, not its effects - going out with the lads for a bit of craic is what the main thing should be. The drink simply facilitates more craic - you don't need to get completely locked every time, although that's also grand sometimes too. And to answer your question yeah I love drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

I love relaxing at home with a few glasses of wine and some munchies while watching a movie.
    I also like going out but try not to drink *too* much, about 4 pints is my limit and rarely go over that but when I do I feel like **** the next day, so don't enjoy that part.

Sometimes the thought of going of home after work and having a lovely glass of wine gets me through the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I had a very hectic day today. A few years ago I would have treated myself to a few drinks at the end of yhe day, today I treated myself to a new mattress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Because its about enjoying the drink, not its effects - going out with the lads for a bit of craic is what the main thing should be. The drink simply facilitates more craic - you don't need to get completely locked every time, although that's also grand sometimes too. And to answer your question yeah I love drinking

That, I dont really get this go mental or go home thing. spent a fortune, feel like **** for days afterwards, can't remember most of what happened= great night apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Haven't drank in Ireland in a few years, it's a mugs game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Where To wrote: »
    I had a very hectic day today. A few years ago I would have treated myself to a few drinks at the end of yhe day, today I treated myself to a new mattress.

What's her name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Where To wrote: »

Nice one, you can now look forward to getting wasted tomorrow and being able to comfortably sleep it off.

I'm glad I don't have your mates!

Boombastic wrote: »
    Haven't drank in Ireland in a few years, it's a mugs game :)

Ever had a bet or gambled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I like meeting up with people, having chats and getting started on the booze. To be honest though, I don't like it if I get so drunk I feel tired, uncomfortable and may need to throw up. I usually head out and eight and won't be back till six, so I'd normally space my drinking out throughout the night so I stay at the same happy level of drunkness and don't go puking or fall asleep in the pub.

10+ pints is too much IMO. I'd say on average I'd have six or seven a night and it keeps me going at the level I enjoy. I hate how some people see drinking as a competition and try to down as much as they can. I want to get happily drunk, not sick. It's the same with any other drug.

kfallon wrote: »
    Ever had a bet or gambled?

Rarely, might throw a fiver on the grand national :D

I do like a drink of proper beer every so often, but not in an Irish pub and not to get hammered :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭boboldpilot

One of the problems with quitting drinking is that you discover you've nothing else to do with your life. What the OP has discovered is that he has little interest in drink since he discovered far more interesting things to do.

I barely drank till I was forty which was about the time I had begun to lose enthusiasm for all the other interests I had in life. I had so many things going on that drink was merely a distraction. When they disappeared, drink replaced it. Not that I hit the bottle hard. In fact I would drink less than most.

I'm off it now at the moment for a combination of wanting to lose a bit of weight and get fit again and due to mutterings from the medic about the dire effects on my liver in the long run.

I don't miss the drink itself but what has happened now is that I realise that when I had a few drinks at home. It was mainly because I was bored. Clearly I need an interest of some sort.

It think a lot of that is the problem in this country. Our famous 'drink culture' is all too often the only culture for far too many people. They literally have few if any other interests other than socialising and drinking.

I remember reading somewhere that drug addicts would come out of prison clean and determined to stay off it. But once out of prison they go back to their previous life, discover it's still as s*** as ever and go back on the drugs.

Same with drink. Most of us are not alcoholics but we still have a bad relationship with alcohol using it as an alternative to other interests.

But if you live in a small town, quite often unless you're in the local GAA, there's nothing else to do. But even they have a bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Beer Beer Beer Beer BEEERRRRR!!!

What was the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭DupsTheKid

OP You've just described exactly my life since Christmas and I'm 23. Drank a bit much over the Christmas and just got so sick of the drink/hangovers/fear and the crap food/weight gain. Gone all healthy now. Although I play hurling/football so with pre-season it helped alot.

I've gone out once since new years and had 5 pints all night. Stayed away from the shots/vodka and turned out a good night. Was hardly even hungover.

Don't think I could ever go back to the 7+ pints and then onto the vodka. Now on the weekends I would just as much prefer to go for a meal with the missus/cinema or just relax at home watching tv/films/xbox. :)

Boombastic wrote: »
    Rarely, might throw a fiver on the grand national :D

That's apparently a mugs game too ;)

kfallon wrote: »
    That's apparently a mugs game too ;)

I know, its is a mugs game aswell, but a fiver every couple of years isn't going to break the bank, it won't even leave me with a hang over :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

Stopped drinking at the start of the year, have drank twice since. Didn't get drunk either time.

I turned into a horrible person when I was very drunk, and I never knew how to pace myself. I hurt a lot of people too, just being a drunken idiot.

So now I avoid alcohol, when I am out with friends I'll have a few vodkas and enjoy them, and leave it at that.

This.

Grade A arsehole on drink, plus I spend too much on shots after the threshold.

Off it for good now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Very rarely get hammered but then rarely confine myself to imbibing alcohol...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

I'm pretty much the same as you Op.

I am someone who looks after my diet, health and get regular exercise. Come December that all went out the window.
    Spent nearly the whole month of December eating and drinking out, Xmas parties, family gatherings etc etc, don't think I worked out or went jogging for the whole month. Big fault on my half.
    Come Jan I was drained, gained quite a bit of weight, felt and looked sh*t.

Only really getting back to my health and fitness properly now.

I was really turned off drink after Xmas, just isn't worth all the hangover, feeling miserable, the fear, pigging out, money, buying dresses, make up, hair (I'm a girl :P) etc etc. Been out twice since Xmas only for a few drinks, home early and still felt sh*t next day. Don't think it matters how much you drink tbh.
    I sooner sit on a sat night with a curry and dvd with the girls or my family, go cinema, go for dinner then be down in the pub or night club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Used to go out drinking at least 2, sometimes 3-4 nights a week. Would have got drunk most nights I went out.

Kept that up from about 20-26. Had a great time, I don't regret it.

Gradually started going out less after that, 30 now and only go out one or two nights a month.

I still enjoy going out drinking but I know I wouldn't enjoy going out several times a week like I used to.

The hangovers are much worse now than they used to be, don't know if that's cos I'm a bit older or because I'm not used to drink anymore like I was a few years ago.

I never drink at home. If there was beer flowing from the tap at my kitchen sink I wouldn't bother drinking at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I'd much rather spend my money having 2 or 3 pints a few times a week, where I can enjoy the taste, the conversation and the nice warm buzz of the alcohol, then go out and have a single massive session, get smashed and wake up with a hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I reckon it's an age thing and from 18-25 I couldn't get enough drink every weekend. Then I found I was getting the 'morning after' effect the night before and reduced my consumption drastically. Now, it's quality rather than quantity, with the company and ambience of the pub being a big factor. Three or four pints of Guinness during a rugby match extending to 5/6 if there are back to back matches is my limit these days. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

love a few glasses at home on Fri & Sat nights.
    dont go to pubs anymore, as they are full of arseholes hell bent on telling you their life story or some other boring bs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

From 20 -25 i used to go out and get drunk most weekends drinking 10+ pints and then shots etc. My diet was poor and i was overweight. One day a neighbour of mine got ill due to a bad lifestyle and heavy drinking all his life, he was 55. I had a good hard look at myself then and decided if i continue what im doing, i will be in trouble too so i wiped alcohol out completely and started cycling swimming and running and eating healthy and its something i never regretted. I lost 4.5 stone and feel much better as a person now and im not interested in drinking at weekends because i have sportives to attend and thats what keeps me going. I lost some drinking friends but if they werent prepared for my lifestyle change then they arent real friends anyway. Best thing i ever did and rarely drink anything now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

I'm in much the same situation as the OP. During college I was on the batter a fair bit, not as much in final year but still drank fairly regularly. I finished last summer, and decided I was going to change. I got a job, moved to Dublin and took up running again. Since last July I have been training 4-6 times a week and have cut down the drink to the odd glass of wine and a night out every couple of months.

I'm much happier than I was, and I completely agree with the person who said people tend to drink when they don't have any other interests. The social life in college was entirely (unsurprisingly) centred around drink and I grew tired of it. You end up having the same night out over and over. I now find that I enjoy the nights I do drink much more than I used to, but the main thing to come out of it is that I'm fitter and healthier than I have been in years. I don't see myself ever going back to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

You end up having the same night out over and over. I now find that I enjoy the nights I do drink much more than I used to

+1 for this.

the same pub, same crowd, same club, same people, becomes boring after a while - like most things. Extra boring if you are waking up with an intense headache after it :o

Look forward to a few drinks/ night out more when I haven't been out in a while.