Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New GTI will arrive in Ireland in June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

tippman1 wrote: »
    http://www.completecar.ie/news/article/2390/All-new-Golf-GTI-is-out

Cool-looking motor but I can't say I'd like those wheels....what ye all think?

volkswagen__golf_gti__2013__013.jpg

Rims are a bit boy racer in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

UP GTI FTW

GTI is a good car but I like the look of this far more !

Fiat-Punto_Evo_Abarth_2011_800x600_wallpaper_3d.jpg

Fiat-Punto_Evo_Abarth_2011_800x600_wallpaper_3c.jpg

Fiat-Punto_Evo_Abarth_2011_800x600_wallpaper_3e.jpg

Fiat-Punto_Evo_Abarth_2011_800x600_wallpaper_3f.jpg

Fiat-Punto_Evo_Abarth_2011_800x600_wallpaper_48.jpg

Fiat-Punto_Evo_Abarth_2011_800x600_wallpaper_3b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'd love to know where VAG buy all their photocopiers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Fuh Q

Far from cool looking in my opinion, its just a little hatchback that has not really changed in a long time. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭B Rabbit

I like it, a hot hatch that isn't too in your face. Not mad on the wheels though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Cue: picture of nondescript hatchback

I see (sic) they hired the key who must have done the Cee'd, then......... :D

'tis grand, like, but it won't set the world on fire.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

For a Golf, it's fine.

For a GTi, it's boring and restrained.

GTi's are ALLOWED to break the mould, they're allowed to come with crazy air intakes, bumpers, side skirts, strange colour schemes, carbon fibre roofs, etc. That picture posted above is just another Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

For a Golf, it's fine.

GTi's are ALLOWED to break the mould, they're allowed to come with crazy air intakes, bumpers, side skirts, strange colour schemes, carbon fibre roofs, etc. That picture posted above is just another Golf.
    When has a Golf GTI ever come with any of that as standard?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

dont like the rims, looks a bit girly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

For a Golf, it's fine.

I couldn't disagree more. Golf GTIs have always been restrained - that one's a bit tackier than it should be, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Killinator

volkswagen-golf-gti-27-09-12.jpg
    These rims are alot nicer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The Mk6 sold tiny numbers in Ireland as a result of the recession, can't see the newer model selling many more, less if anything, particularly with it being powered by the demonic fuel that is petrol. :D

In all fairness the Golf would need a lot more than fancy wheels to make it stand out.

it's not a bad car but it lacks character and soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I'd like the rims from the Abarth on the Golf but i'm not a fan of Golfs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I am almost anti-Golf as I never understood their popularity as all I saw was a tiny euro box with nothing interesting in between but the GTI did catch my interest and with the new one at least the are going with an aggressive styling for the front which is a good direction for VW to be heading in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Looks alot better than the new Focus ST, wouldn't be hard mind

I'd still take the Megane in this catagory to be honest, not that the Golf is bad, I just don't like it as much.
    Is the Golf turbo?

For a Golf, it's fine.

As others have said GTI's have always been understated. Plenty of styling differences from a normal golf but nothing too vulgar.

You can show up anywhere in a GTI and no matter what age you are or what profession you're in and fit in perfectly.

I like the new one too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ipodrocker

The Mk6 sold tiny numbers in Ireland as a result of the recession, can't see the newer model selling many more, less if anything, particularly with it being powered by the demonic fuel that is petrol. :D

that mean ur a diesel fan?

ipodrocker wrote: »
    that mean ur a diesel fan?

What good is it without a towbar sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭hunkydory1

OSI wrote: »
    We don't even get the good one. There's two versions a 220PS one and a 230PS one. Ireland will only get the 220. Still 350Nm and 40mpg ain't half bad. €280 tax to.

How do you know that only the 220PS will be available in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

I presume the new GTD will look the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

We don't even get the good one. There's two versions a 220PS one and a 230PS one. Ireland will only get the 220. Still 350Nm and 40mpg ain't half bad. €280 tax to.

Yeah but i imagine that one is KO3 as opposed to the other which is probably KO4 which means very different mapping results :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭rocky

TGi666 wrote: »
    I presume the new GTD will look the same?

+ smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

To be completely honest, I think it looks fairly nondescript and a touch boring.

From the back, it's yet another Golf, but it's got 2 exhausts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

rocky wrote: »
    + smoke

+ a 40k price tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

+ smoke
    no smoke no poke :D

*grabs coat

+ smoke
    Caliden wrote: »
    + a 40k price tag

But cheap tax!11!!!1!eleven!1!

No split pipes, and the front end is slightly different (silver strip instead of red etc)

Surprisingly, only a tenner in the difference.

But €3k ish more to buy. But cheap tax!!1

I kid, I kid.

But €3k ish more to buy. But cheap tax!!1

I kid, I kid.

In fairness the GTD will be much more economical and diesel is cheaper than petrol. If you were doing a decent bit of driving it would make much more sense.

Relevant.

As an everyday driver the GTD does make more sense but then, feck sense.

CianRyan wrote: »
    As an everyday driver the GTD does make more sense but then, feck sense.

Its a bit childish really saying "feck sense" even if you can afford to keep petrol in a GTI doing a lot of miles its a bit silly really you would be much better off in the GTD, you get most of the fun but save yourself money at the same time.

I have a mk5 GTI myself btw and did about 17k km's last year, my first year owning it and even at that its hard on the pocket, It would be insane to try run one if you were doing much more than I'm doing imo.

Its a bit childish really saying "feck sense" even if you can afford to keep petrol in a GTI doing a lot of miles its a bit silly really you would be much better off in the GTD, you get most of the fun but save yourself money at the same time.

I have a mk5 GTI myself btw and did about 17k km's last year, my first year owning it and even at that its hard on the pocket, It would be insane to try run one if you were doing much more than I'm doing imo.

Well, I'm a child.

The four or five grand difference in the asking price buys a whole lot of petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,528 ✭✭✭JoeA3

kneemos wrote: »

The four or five grand difference in the asking price buys a whole lot of petrol.

Where are you getting the "four or five grand difference" from? Complete nonsense. The MK6 GTD was in fact significantly cheaper than the GTI equivalent and I'd expect the same for the MK7.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Where are you getting the "four or five grand difference" from? Complete nonsense. The MK6 GTD was in fact significantly cheaper than the GTI equivalent and I'd expect the same for the MK7.

Starting prices are a grand more for the gtd.

There is a big difference in 1k and 4 or 5k. You would easily make back the 1k in a year if you were doing reasonable mileage and the diesel will be worth more and easier to sell come time to change.

I'm not arguing that the GTD is better as its not, just a better all round package if you do a decent bit of mileage.

You don't buy a gti for practicality it's all about image and the traditional image of diesel and a gti just don't mix imo plus that 1K quickly increases to three or four if you want anything other than the base model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭hunkydory1

Ask Volkswagen Ireland on Facebook and they said they weren't importing the 230PS one as the VRT would be too high.

Apparently it's just a map.

That's nuts...the 230PS should at least be offered as an option. Leave the choice with the customer. I'm sick and tired of the mk5 and mk6 being relatively underpowered in comparison to rivals (Astra OPC and Megane R etc..)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

... it's not a bad car but it lacks character and soul.

You can tell all this from a picture?

Remarkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

CianRyan wrote: »
    Well, I'm a child.

To be fair a lot of the people saying diesel is the devil drive tiny miles and/or have little experience of them. I would genuinely like the see one of them run a petrol on 20-30k miles a year and then report back as the real world is slightly different to the keyboard cool guy bull **** that goes on in this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

You can tell all this from a picture?

Remarkable.

He's comparing it to a Prius in fairness.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

To be fair a lot of the people saying diesel is the devil drive tiny miles and/or have little experience of them. I would genuinely like the see one of them run a petrol on 20-30k miles a year and then report back as the real world is slightly different to the keyboard cool guy bull **** that goes on in this place.
    That's one outlook. Another is that one of the advantages of driving 'tiny miles' is getting to enjoy a nice engine without being crucified on fuel bills. ;)

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's one outlook. Another is that one of the advantages of driving 'tiny miles' is getting to enjoy a nice engine without being crucified on fuel bills. ;)

Well no one should be buying a diesel for that use anyway:D

How much do you save by using diesel?maybe ten or fifteen quid a week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Well no one should be buying a diesel for that use anyway:D
    But they said cheeeep taaaaax, what could go wrong?

How much do you save by using diesel?maybe ten or fifteen quid a week?

Related to the mileage you cover, obviously.
    langdang wrote: »
    But they said cheeeep taaaaax, what could go wrong?

Oh Damn it - that's me convinced. Let's all buy one so:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

I sold my MKV GTI which I had from new as I was about 10k miles a year and now am doing about 40k a year. It is one of my biggest regrets, I should have sold the wife's car and given her the GTI instead.

I am seriously considering buying one again for her, just so I have the option of it and for the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,528 ✭✭✭JoeA3

And you know this for a fact? 3 posts previously you were saying it was "three or four grand"....

The MK6 GTD and GTI were identical in standard spec, barring the minor cosmetic differences. The GTD was around 1k cheaper and all of the factory fit options were a bit cheaper, due to the GTD being in a lower tax band.
    Now unless the GTD has suddenly jumped into a higher tax band than it's petrol MK7 equivalent, I would expect it to be the same for the MK7.

Having owned both - a MKV GTI and a MK6 GTD, there is a huge difference in running costs between the two, and I only do average enough miles. In a moment of sheer idleness one day I estimated that I'm saving around €1500 p/a on fuel costs alone.

I did love the GTI though and if this country hadn't made buying a large petrol powered car such a crap "investment" choice, I would have one again in a heartbeat.