Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on Cycling to Work

• 25-02-2013 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭

Wanted a bit of advice on commuting folks. Started cycling post Xmas and have been out on the bike a few times now. I'm still finding my feet and am managing about 20 kilometres in an hour which the local cycle club tell me is good for a beginner.

I'm living about 12 to 15 kilometres from my workplace and was thinking about starting to commute by bike. I'd be able to commute three days a week as two days I drop my son to play school. I thought commuting would be a great way to work cycling into my daily routine as getting the time to get out can be a problem at times.

I work in an office though and I'm wondering do people shower and change when they get to work after a commute? Is it awkward on mornings where it's pissing rain and ya get soaked? Does changing etc. once you get into work add alot of time onto your commute? I've a host of different questions like that going through my head.

I'm only starting out so the gear I have is relatively modest at present:

Specialized Allex Sport bike
    Track pump at home for pumping tyres
    Helmet
    Cat Eye lights for front and back
    Fairly cheap 'waterproof' jacket that is luminous
    Normal cycling jacket
    Merino woolen cycling jersey
    Bottom and top base layer
    Padded cycling trousers

Is there anything else I would need to get? I plan to get better padded cycling trousers (will most likely go with bib shorts) as the pair I have aren't much good.

My plan is to maybe attempt the commute some evening and time myself to see how I get on. As I said, I can do 20km in an hour so it shouldn't be much of a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Give yourself more time in case of a puncture (spare tubes are mandatory and tyre levers and pump), have to shower when you get in for sure, if you get soaked and have a place to dry them out, then there is no problem. You will feel energised when get it too which I didnt realise until I started. All in all its the way to go. if you cycle in the dark mornings or evenings then a full set of decent front and back lights, this forum is full of conversation about these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭-K2-

You need to be able to fix a puncture and reinflate the tyre on the road so bring a mini pump, tyre levers, repair kit or spare tube. I usually bring spare tubes as I don't want to waste time on a commute looking for the puncture.

Also: practice doing this at home before starting commuting. 8:30am on the side of the road in rush-hour when late for work is not the place to learn.

Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Do you have shower facilities in work? If so it's handy enough. Just bring 3 day's worth of clothes on one of the days you don't cycle.
    As for adding much time...it shouldn't add any. You'd shower in the morning anyway, right? So timewise it shouldn't matter if you do it after your commute.

On the mornings you get soaked it's great if you have the use of a radiator to dry your gear off. Again, you could leave spare cycling gear in work just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

When overtaking another cyclist , before you move away from the footpath to overtake, have a look over your right shoulder so that you can overtake safely ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭jtown

Do you have shower facilities in work? If so it's handy enough. Just bring 3 day's worth of clothes on one of the days you don't cycle.
    As for adding much time...it shouldn't add any. You'd shower in the morning anyway, right? So timewise it shouldn't matter if you do it after your commute.

On the mornings you get soaked it's great if you have the use of a radiator to dry your gear off. Again, you could leave spare cycling gear in work just in case.

I would love to commute but no shower facilities.. would have a 10 mile cycle to work so would have to shower.. disaster really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Lemlin wrote: »
    two days I drop my son to play school.

I work in an office though and I'm wondering do people shower and change when they get to work after a commute? Is it awkward on mornings where it's pissing rain and ya get soaked? Does changing etc. once you get into work add alot of time onto your commute? I've a host of different questions like that going through my head.
    I wore the arses out of a load of trousers before I moved to cycling-specific clothing for the commute so change at work is a must for me. On a wet day (which are pretty few in reality) you allow that you will get wet but that your cycling gear will dry pretty quickly. You're going to be changing anyway so no problem.

What you get from cycle commuting in terms of time is consistency. With the exception of very windy weather, my commute takes pretty much the same time regardless of traffic, rain, shine. This is compared with how much a car commute will vary time wise in the same cirumstances. Getting changed to go home adds about 10 mins, shower adds another 5.

I often have to drop kids to school. I drop them, return to the house and jump on the bike. If school is on your way to work, you might consider a child seat/trailer for the drop. As the kids get older, they might cycle to school too?
    jtown wrote: »
    I would love to commute but no shower facilities.. would have a 10 mile cycle to work so would have to shower.. disaster really.
    Without a shower at work it gets a bit more awkward but you can get by. A pack of baby wipes judiciously applied will deal with the likely smelly areas. I know one guy who would use a spray bottle filled with water, a bit of shampoo and some tea-tree oil. He would spray himself down and wipe off. The shampoo would do the cleaning while the antiseptic tea-tree oil would deal with the smell producing bacteria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

I cycle 30km to college and 30km home, three days a week. I keep facewash, showergel and deodorant in college, along with a pair of jeans, a hoodie and a t-shirt. I bring a facecloth, towel and underwear in a backpack every day.

When I get in, I raid the disabled toilet for a few minutes (there are no disabled people where I work so no worry of occupying it unfairly), wash my face, hair and sweaty bits, and get changed. Never been told I smell....but then I don't sweat too much on my way in, they're usually 'recovery rides.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

I started cycling last year when I changed jobs but I doubt I'd do it if we didn't have showers. Its a 15K trip each way but I start @ 7am so the roads are deserted when I leave home at 6am. It takes me between 35 and 45 minutes depending on how energetic I feel, if there's a headwind, traffic on the way home etc. I leave a pair of jeans, towel, toiletries and enough underwear/shirts/jumpers in work for the week (I usually drop off a fresh change over the weekend by car).

It's always been cold or wet for me in the mornings so far so I usually cycle in my waterproof pants and altura jacket with my thermal skins underneath. I carry a spare change of skins in my bag so I don't have to wear the same damp ones on the way home. The only other stuff I carry in the bag are my phones, keys, wallet and lunch. Everything else (including bike lock) I leave in work.

As others have said carry a spare tube, pump & tyre levers. I've had a few punctures and swapping the tube takes only a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Apparently baby wipes are the way to go here, then have a nice shower when u get home.

If there's a will there's a way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Zorba wrote: »
    Apparently baby wipes are the way to go here, then have a nice shower when u get home.

Baby wipes are expensive, I use a face cloth and washbasin. Even that has become less necessary over the years as I've gotten fitter.

The biggest inconvenience is when you forget trousers and have to sit at the desk all day in bib shorts. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Lumen wrote: »

The biggest inconvenience is when you forget trousers and have to sit at the desk all day in bib shorts. :pac:
    I've been caught almost once by this, and the simple solution to prevent this occurring is to bring home the used clothing after you successfully bring in the clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Lumen wrote: »

Haven't had this happen yet but i always make sure i have some clothes in my locker in work and i always check my bag about 10 times before i leave :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Bob_the_dog

I know one lad in our place who clocks in, then goes for a shower, got away with it for years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

What's security like on work from the point of view of locking the bike?
    When I cycled in I used to go on the the gym and have a shower there.

Stating out, if there's somewhere secure you can leave the bike overnight I found it handy the cycle in and bus home then the next day bus to work and cycle home, until I got used to it. That said there was plenty of space where I worked to leave the bike o side the building.

Either way it's a great start to the day and an even better way to leave work behind you at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

colm_gti wrote: »
    ...When I get in, I raid the disabled toilet for a few minutes (there are no disabled people where I work so no worry of occupying it unfairly), wash my face, hair and sweaty bits, and get changed. Never been told I smell....but then I don't sweat too much on my way in, they're usually 'recovery rides.'

I do similar. 14k each way. I leave a bag at work with a few changes.I get into the office, I cool down for 5~10 mins at my desk. Then use the wheelchair toliet, stuck a few sneaky plastic hooks on the door, for hanging clothes while changing. Use the hand basin. In and out in 5 mins. There's a few cyclists in the office so its seen as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

I have no shower in work, so it's a quick top and tail in the disabled wc when I get in (as with colm_gti and BostonB no disabled users in my place of work), I keep a towel in work and have deodorant etc to freshen up - baby wipes would be an expensive waste of time IMHO, but works for some people. Not ideal but it does it for me - haven't noticed any colleagues giving me a wide berth yet:D.

I bring in a fresh shirt, jocks and socks daily, keep a few trousers in work, rotate them in the dry cleaners and so far haven't spent a day in work in bib shorts:pac:. Also keep a pair of shoes and jacket for when I'm out and about at meetings etc. I find a pair of overshorts (like these) will help to prolong a bib shorts' life - I was wrecking shorts with chafing etc and pockets also come in handy for phones, keys etc.

Wet days are few and far between. If I'm soaked, I find my outerwear will dry pretty quickly. Jerseys, base layers and bib shorts can be strategically placed on radiators - usually in communal toilets, which has worked for me to date. I'm one of very few cyclists in City West, a few more appearing as the days lengthen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

FOOD!!!

Your set up sounds very similar to me, I've just started commuting on an Allez Sport too. I'm on the North side of the city and commute between Howth and City centre at the moment twice a week (approx 17km each way) but hoping to up that starting this week. Commute is approximately 40->50 minutes depending on head winds which can be pretty bad out this way!

Bringing clothes in on your non cycling days is a definite, I use a bag which isnt too bad but am going to bring spare clothes in on my non cycling days from now on! Having showers in your place of work is definitely handy to have access to as well as a place to dry off the wet cycling gear.

However back to FOOD -> bring extra because you're appetite is going to increase with the extra cycling. My daily consumption looks something like the following between morning and home time:
    Breakfast prior to leaving (Porridge, two slices of brown bread, glass of juice, mug of coffee)
    Breakfast post commute, in the office (banana, bagel or two slices of brown bread with peanut butter, mug of coffee)
    Mid morning snack (Yogurt)
    Lunch (Sandwich or pasta, more fruit, and maybe a bag of crisps)
    Mid afternoon snack (piece of fruit)
    Prior to commute home (Banana, nutritional fruit bar of some sorts)

Obviously there's plenty of water in there throughout the day as well.
    With the extra exercise each day you'll find yourself having one hell of an appetite so make sure to keep your body energized, you'll thank yourself for having that extra snack prior to home time in the evenings!

Clothing wise for the cold mornings I have a lidl/aldi compression shorts and running leggings with Canari padded shorts. On top, Ive lidl/aldi compression top, Champion compression top, Champion zip top and illuminous jacket. Ive a Champion headband and face mask and a decent pair of gloves. I know it seems a lot but Ive yet to be wet or cold except for my toes on my commute thus far, next on the list is a pair of over shoes to fix that!.

Hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I shower everyday in work whether it rains or not. Takes 12-14 minutes from the clock in machine to the shower and back again

If you don't have shower facilities, find some way of giving yourself a wipe. Jock itch isn't fun.
    Is there anything else I would need to get?
    Do you have some way of keeping your feet warm? Normal Runners won't cut it at the moment as the cold wind will get through. Get some cycling shoes and shoe covers or a pair of hiking boots. I'm commuting in water proof hiking runners at the mo. They keep the wind out.

Jocry wrote: »
    FOOD!!!

Your set up sounds very similar to me, I've just started commuting on an Allez Sport too. I'm on the North side of the city and commute between Howth and City centre at the moment twice a week (approx 17km each way) but hoping to up that starting this week. Commute is approximately 40->50 minutes depending on head winds which can be pretty bad out this way!

Bringing clothes in on your non cycling days is a definite, I use a bag which isnt too bad but am going to bring spare clothes in on my non cycling days from now on! Having showers in your place of work is definitely handy to have access to as well as a place to dry off the wet cycling gear.

However back to FOOD -> bring extra because you're appetite is going to increase with the extra cycling. My daily consumption looks something like the following between morning and home time:
    Breakfast prior to leaving (Porridge, two slices of brown bread, glass of juice, mug of coffee)
    Breakfast post commute, in the office (banana, bagel or two slices of brown bread with peanut butter, mug of coffee)
    Mid morning snack (Yogurt)
    Lunch (Sandwich or pasta, more fruit, and maybe a bag of crisps)
    Mid afternoon snack (piece of fruit)
    Prior to commute home (Banana, nutritional fruit bar of some sorts)

Obviously there's plenty of water in there throughout the day as well.
    With the extra exercise each day you'll find yourself having one hell of an appetite so make sure to keep your body energized, you'll thank yourself for having that extra snack prior to home time in the evenings!

Clothing wise for the cold mornings I have a lidl/aldi compression shorts and running leggings with Canari padded shorts. On top, Ive lidl/aldi compression top, Champion compression top, Champion zip top and illuminous jacket. Ive a Champion headband and face mask and a decent pair of gloves. I know it seems a lot but Ive yet to be wet or cold except for my toes on my commute thus far, next on the list is a pair of over shoes to fix that!.

Hope this helps!

After I started my commute I started to control my diet much better, I cut out the crap as much as possible and dropped a good bit of weight, my BMI (however accurate that is) has been moved to the top end of normal so am happy. In work my mid morning and lunches are more controlled than ever, however I pop a few fig rolls with a cuppa coffee if I am intervalling it home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Lack of shower facility does not put me off. As explained by more experienced guys, you can manage without a shower.

Safe place for storing the gear would be of higher priority to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭jtown

Seweryn wrote: »
    Lack of shower facility does not put me off. As explained by more experienced guys, you can manage without a shower.

Safe place for storing the gear would be of higher priority to me.

Not great to keep the bike safe either..

FOOD!!!

However back to FOOD -> bring extra because you're appetite is going to increase with the extra cycling.
    I am not sure what is going on with me, but jeeezzz... I am not a big fella, rather on the skinny side and I eat something at work almost every hour. I commute about 53 - 60km daily, but still can't see it as too much and I do not feel tired either. I also drink about 5-7 mugs of stuff during work. Would that be normal? My weight stays the same anyway and stable.

If your weight and other stats are good then I wouldn't worry about it.

Its people like me who need to lighten up who have to be careful. You can't out cycle your mouth. So if you have a poor diet you may end up putting on weight if eat more than you burn, especially if you have a poor diet to begin with.

BostonB wrote: »
    You can't out cycle your mouth.

Love this.

I'm the same, not exactly floaty but not really willing to 'control' my diet. I tend to not worry about how much I eat as I'll burn it off but could do with eating a bit less...

t'bear wrote: »
    After I started my commute I started to control my diet much better, I cut out the crap as much as possible and dropped a good bit of weight, my BMI (however accurate that is) has been moved to the top end of normal so am happy. In work my mid morning and lunches are more controlled than ever, however I pop a few fig rolls with a cuppa coffee if I am intervalling it home.

I'm about 5'11" and 160 pounds so my problem is not dropping any more, I actually probably need to increase rather than decrease (certainly leg muscle and mass, not sure of my bmi at the moment) - the few biscuits every so often aint the worst :D

Watching Tommy Bowe thing on RTE on Sunday and he has to eat 5000 calories a day - lucky bugger

I used to eat that years ago, explains why I was a fat over weight unfit teenager :D

Watching Tommy Bowe thing on RTE on Sunday and he has to eat 5000 calories a day
    That is why long distance commuting on a bike isn't really cheaper than other forms of transportation ;).

But who cares :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Thanks for the info lads. I can lock my bike at the front of the office as there's two or three bikes there. Anyone recommend a decent cheap lock? It doesn't need to be anything hardcore. The bike will be fairly safe there and I even noticed one lad leaves his bike unlocked!

I'm going to LBS to get a decent pair of bib tights tomorrow. Just one question: should I go for full leg length or the short type and wear with a base layer under on cold days?

I think I remember reading on here before though that you shouldn't wear anything, even a base layer, under the your padded shorts/tights?

If that's the case, the long leg ones would be easier I'm thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭merc230ce

I commute 10k each way, 3 times a week (Bayside to Connolly)
    I leave shirts, trousers, shoes, toiletries & towel in the disabled loo and use the shower.
    I bring clean underwear and socks in every time I cycle and bring clean shirts etc in on a non-cycling day every couple of weeks.
    I wear all of my Lidloraldi cycling gear (cycle shorts with running tights over, baselayer, cycle shirt, fluoro jacket) each way and they dry out on the grab rails in the loo :-)
    The bike comes into the office (I don't even own a lock)
    I don't carry a pump and don't really know how to change a flat (well, I know the theory but haven't done it in.... 25 years?) and I've only been caught out once. As it happened the missus was able to come and rescue me, but even if not the 5km jog home wouldn't have killed me!
    Lights & helmet essential
    I stop at red lights, but have no problem hogging lanes on the potholey sections!

Anyone recommend a decent cheap lock?
    Why would you need two locks? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

Seweryn wrote: »
    Why would you need two locks? ;)

You don't want your good lock to get stolen!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I too started commuting on a specialized allez sport, 2013 one looks great doesn't it?

You go a bit further than me but have way more gear, I don't think you need much more. What's with the padded pants? Just get some gloves, they keep your hands really warm. I got some nice red/white/black ones to match your bike :-p off chaincyclereactions for 15 euro.
    Only get things as you need them, don't bother with shoes to keep your feet warm if your feet are already warm etc. I am never cold on my cycle ever, and I just wear a tshirt/waterproof jacket opened (zipped if raining :pac:).

You could bring tubes or a repair kit, or jksut leave some in work. if I ever get a puncture I walk the rest of the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Gillo wrote: »
    Either way it's a great start to the day and an even better way to leave work behind you at the end of the day.
    I really notice the difference in leaving work behind me when not on the bike.

Get a decent lock. It won't be cheap. Leave it in work so that you don't have to lug in around. Bring it home occasionally to clean and oil it.

Depending on how far you're travelling, I wouldn't necessarily bother with a huge amount of kit. Gloves certainly, but you can cope with a rainshower and the peak on the front of your cap/helmet will keep a surprising amount of rain out of your face. What you should do is make sure your work gear stays dry. Either use a good quality bag or pannier, or wrap everything up in a plastic bag, or both. I normally just wear cheap jeans and shorts with a cycling jacket and go for it. Everything goes into the washing machine regularly. My total commute for the day is just over 22 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 t.m

I'm hoping to start commuting from North to West Dublin, about 22-23km. The route would bring me through city centre.

Just wondering if traffic and lights etc. make commuting with cleats tricky? Would it be better to use non-cleats pedals?

For the comfort they provide and the efficiency they add, the hassle of unclipping is worth it IMO.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Just too annoying for me, stopping all the time. Have those things you slide your feet into http://media.thehubsa.co.za/uploads2/20090219_062637_toeclips.jpg but dont even use those when I'm stopping a lot.

Regarding cleats, SPD with recessed cleats are ideal for cycling. You can walk in the shoes normally (not like a penguin with the SDP-SL type!). I have double sided shimano SPD pedals on my commuter - so avoids flaffing about at junctions when taking off, stopping etc. Also handy for jumping on the bike with a pair of runners for local journeys.

SPD-SL / Look Keo type a different story - have these for the road bike, find them tricky to commute in.

I can take or leave cleats on my commute. Yeah your foot is in the correct place all the time and they become second nature (it's a great way to practise clipping in and out) but they are not necessary to get from A to B.

I don't bother with them any more.

t.m wrote: »
    I'm hoping to start commuting from North to West Dublin, about 22-23km. The route would bring me through city centre.

Just wondering if traffic and lights etc. make commuting with cleats tricky? Would it be better to use non-cleats pedals?

It'll take a while to get used to the cleats but it's definitely worthwhile.

Would you consider avoiding the city centre? Here's a sample route Swords to Chapelizod avoiding city centre and using almost country roads at times. Where are you going from/to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 t.m

Thanks for that cdaly! I hadn't actually considered a non city-centre route, I just used a Google Map search which always routes through centre, d'oh!

Commute is from Malahide to Park West, so your suggested route would do the trick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

merc230ce wrote: »
    I leave shirts, trousers, shoes, toiletries & towel in the disabled loo and use the shower.
    I bring clean underwear and socks in every time I cycle and bring clean shirts etc in on a non-cycling day every couple of weeks.
    I wear all of my Lidloraldi cycling gear (cycle shorts with running tights over, baselayer, cycle shirt, fluoro jacket) each way and they dry out on the grab rails in the loo :-)
    What happens when someone needs to use the disabled loo?

RainyDay wrote: »
    What happens when someone needs to use the disabled loo?

I have no idea! But nothing has ever been nicked and no one has complained, so hey ho. (We have no wheelchair users in the office, but if there were I'd just ask them if they had any objections to me hanging my stuff on the back of the door.)

The only people that use it in my work are the cyclists. Must edit the picture on the door.

sign_cycle_recommended%20route.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

-K2- wrote: »
    .... 8:30am on the side of the road in rush-hour when late for work is not the place to learn
    Probably the best time to get a puncture though compared to getting one on a lonely deserted road at 2am after a long day at work!

And should you suffer a tyre damage, it's a lot easier to phone a friend at "rush hour" than in the middle of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

The only people that use it in my work are the cyclists. Must edit the picture on the door.

merc230ce wrote: »
    I have no idea! But nothing has ever been nicked and no one has complained, so hey ho. (We have no wheelchair users in the office, but if there were I'd just ask them if they had any objections to me hanging my stuff on the back of the door.)

Those loos are for more than just wheelchair users. They are used by people with many different types of disabilities, including hidden disabilities, which won't be obvious to others.

And what happens when a wheelchair user visits your office? Just seems like a bad idea to leave stuff hanging on grab rails.

RainyDay wrote: »
    Those loos are for more than just wheelchair users. They are used by people with many different types of disabilities, including hidden disabilities, which won't be obvious to others.

And what happens when a wheelchair user visits your office? Just seems like a bad idea to leave stuff hanging on grab rails.

I can't disagree with anything you've said. It's a small office and I know everyone in it, but I guess there could be disabilities that aren't apparent.
    It's 'only' the grab rail on the back of the door that I use, not the ones at the sink and loo. I'll hold my hand up though - it's probably still a bit cheeky...

I work in an office that shares a toilet with another company. There's endless complaints from the other company about 'cyclists stuff' in the toilets - I might leave jacket or something hanging up rather than clog up our own office (which has zero cycling facilities and my colleagues think I'm some sort of weirdo for cycling 20km in - mind you, 2 of them drive the 400 or so yards from where they live, so can partially understand).

Got to work this morning to have one of my director's say there's another compliant about drying wet gear on Friday last, took a real soaking on the way in. Not sure how to handle this, my own office is too small to have wet gear hanging up drying and the toilet seems like the solution that puts less people out. Well, one thing is I won't be cycling home in wet gear, so not sure how this one will pan out......

So check the 'culture' in your work place before cycling in, most people are fine with it and having the odd cycling paraphernalia hanging about. Other offices consist of people whose sole purpose in life is to complain and nit-pick.

Find some spare space somewhere else, somewhere with a bit of a breeze is good. Then stick up some of those plastic stick on hooks, or bring in one of those folding coats stands. I don't think its fair to stick your washing/drying up in shared spaces. But what they don't see they can't complain about.