Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday 24th

• 23-02-2013 11:16pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭

No thread up yet so lets get the ball rolling what do we fancy lads?

Poungach should beat shoegazer at fontwell in the novice chase @ Even money

Nice racing in naas goes without saying hopefully Mikeal can string a few wins together (wont be with my money on) after all naas is the punters graveyard,

The lazy Outlander to win again in the bumper full of winners but hes been bolting up when underestimated shows nothing at home potts purchase of don catillion is interesting with Nina on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

MALLOWNEY in the 3.05 at Naas is an interesting one. I say this as Russell is booked for the ride with gigginstown having a horse in the same race, plus i always take note when Tim doyle books one of the top lads.

Add this to the fact that MALLOWNEY ran a cracker the last day in Boylesports.com Hurdle (0-145) (Grade B) (Class 1), made a mistake at last when leading.

6/1 looks like a decent e/w price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

That novice hurdle at Naas will be some race. Probably one to sit back and watch. No bet writtenall over it.
    Moscow Mannon isnt to be underestimated.
    McCoy over to suss out Defy Logic. Seems short at 7/4 for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Very wary of betting during these weeks coming up to Cheltenham so just a small bet for interest for me. Don't think Poungach has a festival entry and while he's fairly limited in potential, should be primed for tomorrows race. Trip should suit Prospect Well's, hopefully ground's not too soft and Nicholls has him stripping fit enough.

Fontwell

2.40: Poungach @ Evens
    3.45: Prospect Wells @ 9/4

Naas

3.35: Defy Logic @ 7/4
    4.10: Days Hotel @ 5/4

€1 Win Yankee

Think Defy Logic will have too much toe for Don Cossack in the novice hurdle and be a very impressive winner before going onto bigger and better but as has been said, it looks a very tricky race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

At Naas I wouldn't be surprised to see the nice mare Charlie's Vic run well in Mikael's race.14/1

Acapulco was in line for a handicap I thought and I see he's entered in the Pertemps. Would need to win tomorrow to get in so think there are worse bets than him at 16/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

3:35 Naas - Defy Logic
    3:45 Fontwell - Prospect Wells
    4:10 Naas - Days Hotel
    4:50 Fontwell - Priest Island

4 trebles & accum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Sir des champs

Naas, days hotel,outlander
    Fotwell , prospect wells
    Patent,trixie,treble

Fotwell , prospect wells
    Patent,trixie,treble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Maurice Linehan broke two vertebre in his back and a chest bone yesterday and walked into the ambulance but will miss Cheltenham.Naas 4.40 Brian Who ran a race full of promise last time out at Leopardstown where he got outpaced and ran on again to finish 7 1/2 L fifth to Sharian.He has no weight on his back today and is running over three miles,big big player at 6/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭LOTTOWINNER

sting60 wrote: »
    Maurice Linehan broke two vertebre in his back and a chest bone yesterday and walked into the ambulance but will miss Cheltenham.Naas 4.40 Brian Who ran a race full of promise last time out at Leopardstown where he got outpaced and ran on again to finish 7 1/2 L fifth to Sharian.He has no weight on his back today and is running over three miles,big big player at 6/1.

Those guys are hard as nails, hope he has a speedy recovery, I also fractured 2 vertebrae last September, off work for 3 months, although I imagine young Linehan will be back in the saddle a lot sooner than that! Jockey's abilities to recover from injuries absolutely amazes me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

TOWCESTER 3:25 ORANG OUTAN 14/1, today could be the day to be shouting this one home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Wrong thread but this is my accum .100e utd to beat QPR 2-0 6/1 ,England -7 11/10,Wales -7 11/10 and now Ireland -3 1/1.Cans on the ready come on Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

sting60 wrote: »
    Wrong thread but this is my accum .100e utd to beat QPR 2-0 6/1 ,England -7 11/10,Wales -7 11/10 and now Ireland -3 1/1.Cans on the ready come on Ireland.

Faackin el! Well done on the United call! Waiting on Ireland (-2) myself... All the best!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Hmmm that Upsie looked half decent. Great turn of foot when asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Outlander, Don Cossack (Naas) and Seargeant Mattie (Fontwell) treble for me today.

At Naas I wouldn't be surprised to see the nice mare Charlie's Vic run well in Mikael's race.14/1

Acapulco was in line for a handicap I thought and I see he's entered in the Pertemps. Would need to win tomorrow to get in so think there are worse bets than him at 16/1

The way Charlie's Vic runs means you can back her at crazy prices in running. Is held up way off the pace, finished second there having touched evens in running, a high of 100 just a minute before that.

Any lunatics here back Mikael today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

The way Charlie's Vic runs means you can back her at crazy prices in running. Is held up way off the pace, finished second there having touched evens in running, a high of 100 just a minute before that.

Any lunatics here back Mikael today?

Layed him. No brainer at this stage at anything odds on

MALLOWNEY in the 3.05 at Naas is an interesting one. I say this as Russell is booked for the ride with gigginstown having a horse in the same race, plus i always take note when Tim doyle books one of the top lads.

Add this to the fact that MALLOWNEY ran a cracker the last day in Boylesports.com Hurdle (0-145) (Grade B) (Class 1), made a mistake at last when leading.

6/1 looks like a decent e/w price.
    He did that with ease. Nice pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Mikael put in a good round bar the mistake three out. That was an awful blunder and he was miles behind turning in and he stayed on really well to get 3rd despite Ruby not going for him. He always manages to put in an awful jump though and that's costing him races. He will come good at a big price some day though.

In the Novice hurdle I like Moscow Mannon and Annie Power. Defy Logic is a monster but this trp will be too short IMO and I just don't fancy Don Cossack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Small bet on Handsome Buddy in the next at Towcester

Can't imagine him coming good at a big price sonnky. He's long odds on in all of these grade 2's, and there's no way he'd be good enough to land a big grade 1, unless he picked up a weak Punchestown Gold Cup but I'd doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Can't imagine him coming good at a big price sonnky. He's long odds on in all of these grade 2's, and there's no way he'd be good enough to land a big grade 1, unless he picked up a weak Punchestown Gold Cup but I'd doubt it

I waas thinking more a handicap Richie! Over 3 miles so the slower pace would help his jumping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Bergo looks interesting at 20/1 in 345, Nicholls two are going to Chelt also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

hucklebuck wrote: »

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

I like how you put up your selection before the race and criticized his pick before it, rather than after.

Sorry, I had em haha, i wasnt being mean it was just my way of saying i picked a **** horse, as did the guy above.

€800 on Call The police for €2000 return.

If it looses i will walk off a cliff :(

EDIT: I'll Explain

Its my money from Lepordstown at Christmas, Said i'd keep it for Cheltenham, Had a nice win today.

Now ive just gotten greedy :(

This will make or break my cheltenham betting

Haha all the best. I like Days Hotel but not a betting race for me

Haha all the best. I like CALL THE POLICE lbut not a betting race for me

Fixed Your Post ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Bookies love that Mikael d'haguenot at this stage have never forgiven him for that fall in the drinmore then having the lot on him in leopardstown that was the final straw thought he was the real deal anyone backing him over fences is crazy one mistake and its over :mad:

Here we go

**** Sake.

I'll be doing overtime for the next 3 weeks :(

Sorry for the swearing.

Acapulco out to 50's on BF not going near him. Would only back that horse if money came

50's you say, worth a €10 sure, try get some back after that horrible race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Thank God Carberry made a hash of the last! :D

Keep the tenner and buy 1000 penny sweets

Ah Sure you jinxed the last one.

Surly not 2 in a row :p

€10 on @ 45

€20 on Kick On Boss in the 17.10 @ 14

After that i'll be off to remortgage the house so i can feed the kids.

Enjoy the rest of todays racing.

Ah Sure you jinxed the last one.

Surly not 2 in a row :p

€10 on @ 45

€20 on Kick On Boss in the 17.10 @ 14

After that i'll be off to remortgage the house so i can feed the kids.

Enjoy the rest of todays racing.

Always another day dont chase.

On Call the Police there was big money laying it before the off they knew never looked like winning.

2nd, you were nearly on to a big winner, he traded at odds on too

AW I WANT TO CRY. I'VE BEEN FOLLOWING LAVA LAMP FOR ABOUT A YEAR AND THOUGHT TODAY WAS THE DAY. FORGOT TO BACK IT AND HE JUST WON :(:(

Awful fall in that race at the last as well

Outlander is EVENS here in the last at Naas. Can't believe he is that short. Grand Jesture is gonna bolt up!

Or not! :(

That Outlander is a right horse winning 3 in a row with penalties never in doubt today dont know how he does be going off at such big prices for an impressive winner that he was in his previous races,the 2nd one will be sold for big money id say.

Sargent Mattie very disappointing in fontwell obviously needs a trip and a few fences in front of him but I wouldnt be too optimisic about his future after that.

Fotwell , prospect wells
    Patent,trixie,treble
    Nice treble Sir! 16/1 or thereabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

SRFC wrote: »
    Sargent Mattie very disappointing in fontwell obviously needs a trip and a few fences in front of him but I wouldnt be too optimisic about his future after that.

I think your writing him off much too soon. Travelled like the best horse in the race and just looked very tired in the run in. Charlie Longsdon said his horses lost a couple of weeks proper work due to the snow so he probably wasn't completely fit. Longsdon's last 29 runners have lost too so that is definitely something that needs to be taken into consideration.

I still feel he looked to have a promising future.

rossom wrote: »
    I think your writing him off much too soon. Travelled like the best horse in the race and just looked very tired in the run in. Charlie Longsdon said his horses lost a couple of weeks proper work due to the snow so he probably wasn't completely fit. Longsdon's last 29 runners have lost too so that is definitely something that needs to be taken into consideration.

I still feel he looked to have a promising future.

Ah maybe im pocket talking a bit but I wasnt impressed expected him to win 2 out but he bottomed out completely I just have a feeling the winner the 3rd are no world beaters the winning trainers has about 10 winners in her life the 3rd is nicely bred but I expected him to win that handily given it was an extended 2 mile 2 bumper but sure we'll see anyways I wont be backing it next time.

Nice treble Sir! 16/1 or thereabouts.
    Thanking you pity hadnt malowney with them for a tasty lucky 15 and accumulator

€800 on Call The police for €2000 return.

If it looses i will walk off a cliff :(

EDIT: I'll Explain

Its my money from Lepordstown at Christmas, Said i'd keep it for Cheltenham, Had a nice win today.

Now ive just gotten greedy :(

This will make or break my cheltenham betting

hucklebuck wrote: »

I didn't realise how long Bergo was off, I thought it was his seasonal reappearance.

Glad I betted as a punt.

My mate's Dad was talking to Charles Byrnes and he was going mad about Rob Jones getting the horse in the frame in the first race finished 4th he was told to bury it out the back and let it come home in its own time :D

I reckon Mr Byrnes talk of Solwhit not travelling to the World Hurdle is another of his famous smoke screens.