Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Money stolen from envelope - Baldoyle sorting office

• 23-02-2013 11:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭OU812

My nephew turned 18 on Thursday. He's heading to the US during his Easter holidays so asked for dollars as his gift.

I put two $50 bills in a card on Monday & got it in the post in the Baldoyle sorting office catchment area before 5.30 on Monday.

The card arrived yesterday. The envelope had been opened, cash removed & resealed.

Now I'm not expecting to get the money back, but is there any recourse here? Do I report it to the guards? Surely there must be something that can be done as its theft with a limited amount of contact with the envelope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

was it registered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

unfortunately i doubt it, its not recommended to send cash by post. you could have probably used an international money order. there's no harm reporting it though to the manager in the sorting office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Probably very little that can be done if it wasn't registered but report it to both AnPost and to the guards. It's theft and the guards are duty bound to investigate it even though its probably not going to result in anyone being caught or you getting your money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭OU812

I suspected enough. Wasn't registered but wasn't obvious there was cash in there either.

It took four days to arrive where it was obviously stashed somewhere before being stolen.

Feel so angry.

Going to write a formal complaint, but feel like calling the guards also as its theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

It happens a lot, you hav'nt a hope of getting anywhere with a complaint. People do it all the time, the card is a dead givaway, it's safer in a business type envelope.
    It's illegal to send cash in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

i seriously doubt much if any resources will be wasted investigating that.there are plenty of disclaimers from an post stating never to send cash in the post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

This is from An post

I think my mail was opened
    We take the security of your mail very seriously. Please let us know if you think your mail has been tampered with:
    • Remember, it may be caused by machine damage.
    • However, check if anything is missing.
    • Keep the envelope; it may be needed during our investigation.
    Reporting a damaged item to us
    The process for reporting a damaged item may include an inspection for insurance purposes.
    Please make sure you hold on to the damaged item and its packaging for inspection if required.
    Please use our online enquiry form or download a pdf version of the enquiry form to report damaged mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

aujopimur wrote: »
    It happens a lot, you hav'nt a hope of getting anywhere with a complaint. People do it all the time, the card is a dead givaway, it's safer in a business type envelope.

really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭thenightrider

Id say your nephew is lying he has the money he is just trying to get more more out of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Its awful when things get stolen in the post. When we lived in England my brother in law posted me some original childhood photos of my husband. He'd put them in a sealed envelope inside the addressed evelope. All I received was the opened addressed envelope. The photos are worthless to whoever stole them but I've never seen them and they are lost forever, thieving cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

How do the post persons detect the cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I would definitely report it to the manager of the sorting office. Surely they have internal CCTV or something. I wouldn't want a thief working for me, so hopefully the manager will take your complaint seriously.

No harm to get the police involved either. Whether it's advisable to send cash through the post or not, no one should be allowed to just steal it. Isn't it an offence in itself to open someone else's post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭RichT

Please, please, please DO report the theft!

An Post do take these matters seriously, and although it's highly unlikely that you will see the $100 again, the information may just be final clue to catch a 'bad egg' within the sorting office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It would have been handled by a very limited number of people I'd imagine,the collector,one or two in the sorting office and the postman,shouldn't be that hard to find the culprit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

id like to know where you get your facts from.it happens a lot? how do you know?its a bit of a sweeping statement in fairness.

and as far as im aware there are no laws against sending money in the post(as long as its not a huge amount that might be considered money laundering).

op i would definitely bring it to the baldoyle so s attention.write your letter and complain.it could be an ongoing thing with one guy stealing stuff, so if you dont write to them they will never know.i doubt much can be done but definitely write to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Is there anything to be said for another mass father

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

testicle wrote: »

:D They have money sniffing dogs who run around the sorting office and bark when they smell cash,The barking then attracts the attention of the employee,s some of who are robbers of cash and I dont know why I am writing this as I really havent glue, bye :)

Ok, been onto the guards. Procedure is to make a formal written complaint to an post (let's hope it doesn't go missing in the mail!) first, then report it as a theft. They'll investigate it but zero chance of recouping loss (understandable).

Gonna chase this up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

My money is on the collector or the postman as they are unsupervised and have the time to inspect the envelopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Anything that looks like a birthday card is likely to have money in it - feels like a card, coloured envelope, addressed to "Master" or "Miss".

Sending cash is the post is not a good idea. So many safer ways to do it e.g. cheque, bank draft, direct transfer, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Actually, don't think that's the case in Ireland. It's not advisable, but perfectly legal! It may be the case in other countries though.
    Remember: If you must send cash by post you should always use a Registered Post envelope!

From An Post website

//aside

I just googled the sorting office to get the number & this thread is number 3 on the page.

Google got game!

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

You more than likely wont get any money off the post office.

Something similar happened to the mother in law she sent €100 in the post for new baby.

It was stolen somewhere in Carlow/portlaoise sorting office.

The post office gave the mother in law 2 stamps as compensation. W@nkers!!!

2 weeks later a gift sent for the new baby in a padded envelope stolen.

envelope had been opened and clothes removed they left the card which detailed what was sent but had been removed.

You can trust no one these days!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭darrcow

moved house recently and 2 birthday cards with cash in them and 1 envelope from bank with new cash card have gone missing. i complain to an post 3 weeks ago and still havent had a reply. i think i will set the dog on the postman:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

cash detector

Strangely the online form only allows you to use 80 characters to detail your complaint & doesn't tell you until it's submitted. Anyway, complaint made & number obtained. Next stop the cop shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I didn't do it to often for the same reasons as OP experience but whenever I did send cash home it was usually in a brown business type envelope which always got there but cash theft from envelopes with birthday cards is quite common .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I never knew this was so common!
    Does the sorting office not keep tabs on their staff, cctv etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

Don't talk to me about the bloody PO. My stomach still knots with anger when I think of the 7 Christmas present parcels my sister sent home to Ireland from Singapore 7 years ago. Three of them were for my children and included in one was the tape I had taken of my holiday in Singapore earlier than year which I'd left behind by accident. Only one of the seven parcels arrived and it wasn't the one with my tape. :(

Singapore were able to track the parcels out of the country but An Post still insisted that it wasn't their fault and that they must have gone missing in Singapore. Hardly like when something like that could get a Singapore post office worker locked up waiting for a trial which might never happen. Far more likely that they were taken in this country where there is no fear of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The gardai should send several exploding dye packs through the post in 'happy birthday' wrapping paper and catch the light fingered ***** red handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I never knew this was so common!
    Does the sorting office not keep tabs on their staff, cctv etc.

I was thinking exactly the same thing!

Theft wouldn't be tolerated in any other workplace, so why in An Post? I'm actually kind of shocked that it seems so widespread and nothing major seems to be done about it.

If it happened to me, I wouldn't let it go. I wouldn't be satisfied until the culprit had been caught and prosecuted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

In UK there have been cases of postmen who rather then deliver the mail , have taken whole mail sacks home with them and rifled through them for cash and other valuable items and some have been caught stealing by cctv at their place of work .Like any big business or organization as the post office you will have a % of thieving bastards .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

A friend of mine sent me a girft of two make up brush holders, when I got the envelope there was a huge rip in it and it was folded in half with just one of the make up brush holders in it.

I sent An Post a complaint and was sent a reply basically saying sorry that happened, nothing much we can do about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I sold a CD on discogs last year.
    The buyer paid me by sending a ten euro note via the post.

Should I report him to the Gardai?

I can't believe there are still people who send cash through the post. I always thought it was one of the those things you just don't do, like leaving your front door unlocked. There are so many ways to send cash these days - bank transfer, Paypal, cheque - why would you risk it?

Karona wrote: »
    I sent An Post a complaint and was sent a reply basically saying sorry that happened, nothing much we can do about it.

This is why I'm reporting it to the gardai. I know there's nothing much an post can/will do about it, but if the gardai are involved, they have to follow it through to the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I'd imagine the fact that the money was in a card may have been a factor. If I was of a thieving nature and had access to the post, I'd target cards too. There is more chance of there being some dosh inside a birthday card, than there is in someones ESB bill.

Dunno if is was an old wives tale, or if there is any truth to this, but my mother firmly believed in the story that all post goes thru a metal detector/scanner than detects the presence of metal in it. This goes back to the days when the IRA sent parcel bombs to the security forces in the post. She was told that the thin metal strip in the watermark of paper money will show up on the scanner. It's not enough to set the scanners off, but its enough to show up on the monitors. Staff then know what envelopes to target. Feel free to tell me I am full of $hit, but there ye go !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    I sold a CD on discogs last year.
    The buyer paid me by sending a ten euro note via the post.

Should I report him to the Gardai?

Yes. This law-breaking monster must be stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

This has happened to me before. I had ordered a few t shirts from a company in America who don't usually ship to addresses outside the states or Canada. Because of this I had been emailing the company, so there was regular contact and a tracking number for the order.
    So I tracked the order from the States to Germany, London, Dublin, Meath and then the Waterford sorting office where it disappeared.
    When I asked what happened I was told it had been misplaced, come back tomorrow. I went home, emailed the yanks to let them know what happened, and the next day back to the sorting office.
    I was told the package was sent back because the address had 'fallen off'.
    'If the address 'fell off' how did ye know where to send it back to?'
    No, it was your address that fell off I was told.
    The yanks thought this was ridiculous, but couriered the order to me again and were all apologetic. They were apologising for An Post stupidity.
    I never got any satisfaction from An Post, and the package they supposedly sent back never arrived in the States.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Latchy wrote: »
    In UK there have been cases of postmen who rather then deliver the mail , have taken whole mail sacks home with them and rifled through them for cash and other valuable items and some have been caught stealing by cctv at their place of work .Like any big business or organization as the post office you will have a % of thieving bastards .
    Would never happen here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭omck80

My father in law send a birthday card to my daughter from Portugal. He had put €50 in it. Never arrived. Quick check it had left Portugal An Post said it never arrived in Ireland. Had tracking number and it had. An posts reply oh sorry sometimes letters can get lost.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Had a Tuexdo jacket sent up from a hotel to my house. Never arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭RichT

ixoy wrote: »
    Had a Tuexdo jacket sent up from a hotel to my house. Never arrived.

Maybe your valet got kidnapped on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

madness sending money and not even tracking it. Its well worth the extra few bob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

registered post for any valubles people, at least you have some insurance and comeback .. machines eat letters sometimes,addresses do fall off if a sticker is used, terrible packin can be blamed for loss from a item, if something falls out of a packet/parcel whilst in a cage of many many more packages/parcels an post have no way of knowing which one it came from as it usually gets found at the bottom of cage when the mail has passed through, and even if they see a damaged packet/parcel they cant know for sure if a loose item came from within it.

also there are thieves everywhere ,even in an post..and there are liars everywhere,sometimes letters were never sent,and even sometimes they have been received but recipient claims otherwise.

use common sense,if its valuable ensure you treat it as such, sending 100 dollars for 55 cent stamp seems rather silly to me sorry op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

brokenarms wrote: »
    madness sending money and not even tracking it. Its well worth the extra few bob.
    It's necessary but it's basically a we'll steal it otherwise tax...unless you genuinely care about when the package will arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I know a guy who works for the post office. I think he delivery the mail. I don't like him very much . There's something about him .

I'd defo say start their op .

He told me one day he found ur flat mates purse outside on the drive that she had dropped while coming in the night before. He said ill keep it a couple of days to teach her a lesson.

Yeh defo start there op .

Bastard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Sue Ellen

A few years ago on my sister in laws birthday we sent her a card. The card was empty( we transferred the cash to her bank a/c) but several other cards were sent with lottery tickets(thankfully no cash!) none of them got to her.
    She reported it to the post office and a post man was fired over it. It was happening a lot in that particular post office and after an investigation they found out who it was.
    I would report it, you should be able to send whatever you want without having to worry about it being stolen but these are the times we live in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

It could have happened in the american sorting office.Why only blame An Post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

The other thing is that when packages and letters are routed to Ireland they often transit other postal systems in between.

They should be able to have full integrated international tracing at this stage though. It's a joke that packages and letters go "off grid" en route.

Best bet it to disguise birthday cards as invoices from the gas company !