Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny laughs at Nigel Farage in the European Parliament

• 22-02-2013 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭

I didnt know whether to post this in the politics forum or in AH, but AH gets more traffic and I thought this deserves a wider audience.

It is a clip of Enda Kenny having a good laugh at Nigel Farage as he addresses the European Union in January. (watch from 2:30 on)

Nigel Farage suggests that Ireland should have a referendum just like Britain, on its continued membership of the EU, and claim back its rights to democracy and self government... to which Enda Kenny bursts out laughing.

I dont think his demeanor in the European Parliament reflects the anger that there is among the people of this country, he certainly isn't giving that impression to other EU leaders... laughing at the suggestion made by Farage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Farage is a buffoon, plain & simple:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Farage is an English right-wing extremist telling Irish people how to run their affairs. It's funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

And Kenny is just a spud headed wanker. It doesn't say very much when someone like that buffoon Farage is more intelligent, articulate, witty and charismatic than the leader of our country..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭coadyd

Farage is an English right-wing extremist telling Irish people how to run their affairs. It's funny.

he is not right wing or an extremist .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

And Kenny is just a spud headed wanker. It doesn't say very much when someone like that buffoon Farage is more intelligent, articulate, witty and charismatic than the leader of our country..

Being able to give a grand-standing speach full of rhetoric is no great achievement and certainly wouldn't qualify somebody to lead a government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Make a thread out of anything these days fook sake...

Oh wow this is so interesting!!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

This is the same guy who compared us to Zimbabwe a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭tigger123

Good, Farage should only ever be laughed at, and never listened to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭tigger123

coadyd wrote: »

he is not right wing or an extremist .

Your definition of right wing may differ with most people's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

From what I have heard from him it seems like he is simply saying we should run our own affairs (as opposed to abdicating more and more power to Brussels) rather than telling us how to run our own affairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

I didnt know whether to post this in the politics forum or in AH, but AH gets more traffic and I thought this deserves a wider audience.

It is a clip of Enda Kenny having a good laugh at Nigel Farage as he addresses the European Union in January. (watch from 2:30 on)

Nigel Farage suggests that Ireland should have a referendum just like Britain, on its continued membership of the EU, and claim back its rights to democracy and self government... to which Enda Kenny bursts out laughing.

I dont think his demeanor in the European Parliament reflects the anger that there is among the people of this country, he certainly isn't giving that impression to other EU leaders... laughing at the suggestion made by Farage.

Rubbish. Farage is a deluded individual who wishes for England to return to its glory days. To say Kenny burst out laughing is pushing it, he, (Barosa) seemed to be tickled a lot more by Farage's comedic performance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

FG are traditionally a right wing party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Except that of course , Farage isn't any of those things.
    +1000 to Kenny for laughing at the muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Being able to give a grand-standing speach full of rhetoric is no great achievement and certainly wouldn't qualify somebody to lead a government.

Correct,

Although its a lot more than the Kenny, an embarrasment to Ireland and one person who can really be described as a buffoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

fair play to kenny, its usually the brits treating us with contempt so its nice to see us doing the same to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Would a right wing extremist marry a paddy?:confused:

Except that of course , Farage isn't any of those things.

lol.. well if you say so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭megafan

But has he a point?(Farage).... Should we have a referendum also (even if we're all 100% for staying in)? & I certainly think Enda laughing at the idea that we might have some democracy deplorable! :mad: Would it not be a better system if all countrys in the EC had to have a referendum say every 10 or 12 years it might focus the Politicians, Bankers & peoples of the EC on what the community is all about & we will all be the better for it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

fair play to kenny, its usually the brits treating us with contempt so its nice to see us doing the same to them

?? Nigel Farage fought Ireland's corner after the voting out of Lisbon 1. He has only ever spoken about Ireland favorably. He did comment on the greed and stupidity of some Irish politicians when he addressed the parliament back in 2010... and you certainly couldn't fault him for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

Correct,

Although its a lot more than the Kenny, an embarrasment to Ireland and one person who can really be described as a buffoon.

Now I'll grant you that with the crowd that went before, the crowd sitting on the opposition benches and the shower making populist noises from outside the dail, the bar isn't set very high to be a statesman in this country but.......

If you really think that kennys an embarrassment given the basket case of a country they inherited then you honestly need your expectations seriously managed

So go on, tell us what he's done wrong and how you'd do it differently, given the amount at the moment that's simply outside of our control as a nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Both Draghi and Kenny were laughing at the thought of Ireland leading itself - as in Fianna Fail days when we tipped into the abyss and are still trying to get out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Would a right wing extremist marry a paddy?:confused:
    Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

?? Nigel Farage fought Ireland's corner after the voting out of Lisbon 1. He has only ever spoken about Ireland favorably. He did comment on the greed and stupidity of some Irish politicians when he addressed the parliament back in 2010... and you certainly couldn't fault him for that.

He didnt "fight" Irelands corner, he used the situation to push his anti europe policies and beliefs.

If anybody has doubts about this guy and what his party represent just google UKIP and far right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I think Farage is correct. We do all this song about democracy and democratic will yet time and again our wishes are ignored. Witness Nice, Lisbon.

If people look at other contributions Farage has made in the European Parliament, they'll note he talks a lot of common sense about the European Union going further than envisaged, the lack of accountability, the democratic deficit (who elected Van Rumpoy?)..

I'm sure if there were a referendum on continued membership in each EU country currently, you'd see some interesting results that would not reflect their respective government's views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

He wasn't exactly talking shite in that video, youth unemployment is on the rise, pensions are being eroded and the French and German taxpayers are being asked to prop up the Euro zone. I wouldn't call those the ravings of a right wing nutter. A la carte EU for the UK isn't exactly the worst thing in the world, it's more or less what the Scandinavian countries have often pursued (with Norway essentially doing its own thing). I don't agree on the UK or Ireland leaving the EU, but I do think it's not totally ridiculous to have a little less Brussels intervention on domestic policy, especially with budgets and domestic spending. Things like that require internal reform, not a troika demanding cuts to social welfare and privatisation of state assets. Again, no time for the likes of UKIP but I've equally less time for FG/Labour/FF/SF and the European Commission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Kenny is so out of touch its unreal. Disregarding Farage himself or whatever anyone thinks of him, someone in the EU parliament made reference to Ireland claiming back its democracy and ability for self governance, a topic which has been embedded in Irish politics and much in the minds of the public for the last number of years as we prop up the Euro at the behest of others. And Kenny thinks its funny. The guy is a joke of a statesman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This is who that dipstick Farage reminds me of, and it isn't Rowan Atkinson.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I must have missed all the people clamouring to leave the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Kenny is so out of touch its unreal. Disregarding Farage himself or whatever anyone thinks of him, someone in the EU parliament made reference to Ireland claiming back its democracy and ability for self governance, a topic which has been embedded in Irish politics and much in the minds of the public for the last number of years as we prop up the Euro at the behest of others. And Kenny thinks its funny. The guy is a joke of a statesman.

Or, and bear with me because this is really complicated, he thinks that Farage is being a disingenuous shit when expressing 'concern' for Ireland and laughs at him?

No?
    Ok then, continue with your ramblings....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Indeed, Farage have said nothing but support for Ireland.

Farage did not compare Ireland to Zimbabwe.
    He compared the Lisbon referendum here to a rigged election in Zimbabwe, not unlike many posters on these boards at the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hipyHEvRnhs 2.20 on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

What he said was bang on though,about youth unemployment,pensions and soup kitchens opening up.
    Its typical these days though to attack the person pointing out the problem's rather then the problem's themselves!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I must have missed all the people clamouring to leave the EU.

How is that possible with all the major parties in the Dail being anti-EU?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Farrage has his own ambitions and agenda to fulfil same, that does not mean he is wrong about certain matters that pertain to Ireland. No drama here really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

How is that possible with all the major parties in the Dail being anti-EU?

Anti-EU.... I must have missed something here?!

Or, and bear with me because this is really complicated, he thinks that Farage is being a disingenuous shit when expressing 'concern' for Ireland and laughs at him?

No?
    Ok then, continue with your ramblings....

By ramblings you mean the reality of how people perceive the state of the nation in relation to the EU ?

Farage made reference to something Kenny should be taking seriously, something a lot of people in this country take seriously. Kenny being the moron he is had a chuckle at the mention of Irish self governance at a time when we are being effectively run by the larger nations in the EU. It isnt playtime, its European politics.

You're right its not complicated, you are just missing the point.

darragh16 wrote: »
    Anti-EU.... I must have missed something here?!

I think there was a bit of tongue in cheek there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭golfball37

Nigel Farage told the truth in the 3 European referrendums to the Irish people.

Enda didn't even speak to us on teh last one.

He may be UKIP but I'd take Nigel over a 37 year expense claimer any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭_GOD_

golfball37 wrote: »

He may be UKIP but I'd take Nigel over a 37 year expense claimer any day of the week.

No he didn't. No truth teller he!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=62165235

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

golfball37 wrote: »

Just remember, he only wants white,straight anglo people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭MmmPancakes

How do you pronounce Farage, Garage with an F instead of G?

Yeah but said in the American way.

Anyone wrote: »
    Just remember, he only wants white,straight anglo people.

Really? Funny considering that UKIP has a number of non-white members and also an affiliated LGBT wing.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/another-ukip-public-figure-leaves-party-amid-same-sex-marriage-row-8448179.html
    Mr Lowe said that local party leaders told him that they objected to his views on several matters including his lukewarm anti-EU stance and his support for immigration. However, Mr Lowe believes his position on gay marriage was "the straw that broke the camel's back".

"They said that after all that, they couldn't campaign for anyone who publicly supports same sex marriage. As such, I felt I had no choice but to resign," he told The Independent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Can't trust those Ferengi - always up to no good.

_GOD_ wrote: »

And that wasn't the only porkie they told either.

What does that have to do with anything? UKIP support same-sex civil partnerships but remain opposed to gay marriage.. precisely the same position that FG have taken until very very recently. And some of its members are still rabidly homophobic. It was only a few months ago when a FG Councillor described it as a 'disease'.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Tbh I don't think your opinion reflects the feeling among the people of this country. You should probably stop trying to put words in our mouths.

You are implying that there is a lot of anger towards the EU in this country and that we should seriously consider the suggestion that we leave the EU. I would suggest that you are very wrong, what anger there is is mostly directed towards our own government, and many if not most people would believe that we are far better off inside the EU than outside it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

Are any of the points he made untrue?

Good to see Enda chuckling like a red mullet. The EU has replaced the church in Ireland. Another organisation leading a weak people around by the nose.

Then again FF are again the biggest party in the country according to the most recent polls. They must be adding mercury to the water in Ireland as the electorate are as thick as sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Enda was probably laughing after he remembered the bigoted fool's plane crash from a couple year's back

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01630/dazed-and-plane_1630938i.jpg