Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stingy people

• 21-02-2013 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭

What are some of the most stingy people you know & what have they done

I know of one fella who is married and whenever he uses the car he only puts in enough fuel for himself will regularly leave d wife with a empty tank or if he gets into it and she has put fuel in he will drive around till the fuel light comes on then return s to her for her to put fuel in d next day

I used to go out with a fella when I was 21 he used to take me out to dinner every couple of weeks and when it was time to pay he would pat his pocket s and say oh Jesus I left my wallet at home
    Or oh god I never got paid this week can we pay for ourselves me as a naive stupid young one agreed

We got to Christmas eve he called to my parents house I gave him his present I naive again thought he must have left my present in the car he then proceed ed to break up with me AFTER He got THE PRESENT of course I bought him something really nice I was a student and he was full time working in a bank !!!!

12 years later (last year )
    I was sitting in a cafe having lunch saw him with a girl they ate then got up to pay and low and behold the stinge bag let the woman pay

What a prick I realised that a few years after we broke up but at the time I was a total fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

oh you're in for a treat when you find the massive stingy thread! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

People who won't post in other peoples thread, they want a thread all to themselves :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭7 7 12

monflat wrote: »

I know of one fella who is married and whenever he uses the car he only puts in enough fuel for himself will regularly leave d wife with a empty tank or if he gets into it and she has put fuel in he will drive around till the fuel light comes on then return s to her for her to put fuel in d next day

That's really bad for the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Pawpad666

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Beat ya to it paw & pad :pac:

OP, how could you miss that thread. Its on the first page!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

I know one lad who always wears a black and yellow stripey jersey and has a big needle-yoke poking out of his hole. Never happened to me, but loads of people say he's the stingiest fecker they've ever met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Abi wrote: »
    Beat ya to it paw & pad :pac:

OP, how could you miss that thread. Its on the first page!

Feck really !!!! Oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

eh, why should the fella pay for your dinner?

phasers wrote: »

Well she's hardly gonna pay for it :confused:

I knew that wud come up
    cause I cooked loads times for him he wud not cook for me cause he had not got a clue how to and too stingy to buy ingredient s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

i know someone that is even too stingy to post on boards....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

He didn't even go halves. Why should she pay for him when he's the one asking her to dinner?

Oh ****e I always just go to latest threads ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    He didn't even go halves. Why should she pay for him when he's the one asking her to dinner?
    Yes he did,read the OP again

im sorry, we are living in an elinghtened age of "girl power" and feminine equality..if anything the guy should be demandin the girl to pay..ye cant cherrypick what old customs suit ye and what dont..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Seeing as everyone is doing it, here you go OP

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055454434

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

im sorry, we are living in an elinghtened age of "girl power" and feminine equality..if anything the guy should be demandin the girl to pay..ye cant cherrypick what old customs suit ye and what dont..:D

Eh who said I was cherrypickin
    Jesus is your name ritchie by any chance that stingy **** I went out with ?????

kfallon wrote: »

Ah thanks
    Anyone else .......???

Eh who said I was cherrypickin
    Jesus is your name ritchie by any chance that stingy **** I went out with ?????

im referring to this "unspoken rule" bollix of guys payin for everythin for a girl on a night out.i think its generally called prostitution in most undeveloped countries...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

kfallon wrote: »

Ah thanks
    Anyone else .......???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I'm not sure it's Been mentioned yet but

Yes he did,read the OP again
    I read it again and sometimes he forgot his wallet, so he couldn't pay at all and other times he could only pay for himself. So half the time he went halves.

im referring to this "unspoken rule" bollix of guys payin for everythin for a girl on a night out.i think its generally called prostitution in most undeveloped countries...:)

Well I must say I'm not at all tight and I would willingly pay for meal or go halves or whatever sometimes too generous when the other person does not reciprocate
    But this fella was just a mean prick never buy a round let everyone else go first
    Goto the jacks when it's his turn and return after ages supposedly got lost r was talkin to someone
    While the rest of us were dying for a drink so we went and got one ..

If someone asked me out to dinner, I would assume that I was paying for half. I would also check that I had my wallet with me! I wouldn't mind paying for both if in a proper relationship and it worked out even but if I was constantly paying for someone because they were obviously a stingy gobsh!te, they would be getting the boot.

Boombastic wrote: »
    I'm not sure it's Been mentioned yet but

Ah jasus why didn't some one tell me .....

Well I must say I'm not at all tight and I would willingly pay for meal or go halves or whatever sometimes too generous when the other person does not reciprocate
    But this fella was just a mean prick never buy a round let everyone else go first
    Goto the jacks when it's his turn and return after ages supposedly got lost r was talkin to someone

O.K fair enough. that is completely different alright. i know what our talkin about, i know plenty of people like that, all males I might add!

Used to be the same threads were repeated once every 2-3 months, now it's literally once every 2-3 days.

If someone asked me out to dinner, I would assume that I was paying for half. I would also check that I had my wallet with me! I wouldn't mind paying for both if in a proper relationship and it worked out even but if I was constantly paying for someone because they were obviously a stingy gobsh!te, they would be getting the boot.

Ye well I was a total fool I should have got rid of him first but naivety and a bit of lust thrown in made me a right tool .........
    Ya learn

• Site Banned Posts: 253 ✭✭theidiots

I dont think ive ever bought toliet paper, just use a wet towl, one towl would do for me for two weeks, jusr rinse off where i wiped in the sink. tis grand

7 7 12 wrote: »
    Used to be the same threads were repeated once every 2-3 months, now it's literally once every 2-3 days.

jaysus geat over yeresleves thread nazis!:)

theidiots wrote: »
    I dont think ive ever bought toliet paper, just use a wet towl, one towl would do for me for two weeks, jusr rinse off where i wiped in the sink. tis grand

Why even bother with the expense of a towel? Hands cost nothing and are just as easily washed.

Touchy ...... don't look at this thread then and stop whinging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Yo should give him the nickname 'Frank Bruno' cos he never gets a round in..... :pac:

Touchy ...... don't look at this thread then and stop whinging

Ok, I suppose a ride is out of the question then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

never buy a round let everyone else go first

Not everyone would Bee into rounds, especially if they are buzzing from group to group. You can't Bee picking when to be a delicate flower in need of pollination and when to be the empowered hive queen.
    If he was constantly asking to go havlos then behaps he was looking for an equal relationship and not just someone to spend his hmoney on. You were right to let him fly away as it sounds like you weren't suited anyway

i know birds that expect everythin paid for them all the time..needless to say they are *****

Peetrik wrote: »
    Not everyone would Bee into rounds, especially if they are buzzing from group to group. You can't Bee picking when to be a delicate flower in need of pollination and when to be the empowered hive queen.
    If he was constantly asking to go havlos then behaps he was looking for an equal relationship and not just someone to spend his hmoney on. You were right to let him fly away as it sounds like you weren't suited anyway
    Some people are into rounds until it's their turn.

He wasn't constantly asking to go halves, he was alternating between that and "forgetting" his wallet. I bet he never reimbursed the op the next day when he was reunited with his wallet ;)

Ok, I suppose a ride is out of the question then?
    Not tonight Irene. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

He wasn't constantly asking to go halves, he was alternating between that and "forgetting" his wallet. I bet he never reimbursed the op the next day when he was reunited with his wallet ;)

Meh facts, I just wanted to make Bee puns

i know birds that expect everythin paid for them all the time..needless to say they are *****
    Me too. A friend of mine was completely whipped by his girlfriend. Not just paying for everything but picking her up in the morning and taking her to work and collecting her again in the evening. He spent a fortune on her at Christmas and didn't even get a card. LOL. Eventually he woke up and got rid of her.

there is always one on a night out!i generally suss them out fairly lively though and never get into that situation with them again

I would love to be a fly on the wall if two stingy people went out on a date together and they both "forgot" their wallets. Would they miraculously find some money or would they spend the rest of the date washing up in the kitchen? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

I used to go out with a fella when I was 21 he used to take me out to dinner every couple of weeks and when it was time to pay he would pat his pocket s and say oh Jesus I left my wallet at home
    Or oh god I never got paid this week can we pay for ourselves me as a naive stupid young one agreed

We got to Christmas eve he called to my parents house I gave him his present I naive again thought he must have left my present in the car he then proceed ed to break up with me AFTER He got THE PRESENT of course I bought him something really nice I was a student and he was full time working in a bank !!!!

12 years later (last year )
    I was sitting in a cafe having lunch saw him with a girl they ate then got up to pay and low and behold the stinge bag let the woman pay

What a prick I realised that a few years after we broke up but at the time I was a total fool

too tight to use punctuation?

... . ...

......... , , , . ........ ,

,,,,,,,,,,,. !!! .... !!! .