Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pros and cons of investing in a slurry tank.

• 21-02-2013 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭

In terms of stock numbers I am nowhere near the critical mass for even a small vacuum tanker. However with the price of fertiliser and high cost of getting a contractor to spread for you I am contemplating it.
    I am selling approx 30 acres of silage off the stem this year so will be using a fair bit of fertiliser.
    I am within a mile of a piggery farm from which I could draw the slurry.
    What advice would ye give me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

20silkcut wrote: »
    In terms of stock numbers I am nowhere near the critical mass for even a small vacuum tanker. However with the price of fertiliser and high cost of getting a contractor to spread for you I am contemplating it.
    I am selling approx 30 acres of silage off the stem this year so will be using a fair bit of fertiliser.

you will never regret buying a slurry tank - if you can afford one, buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

what sort of number do you have and what acreage?
    Slurry is valuable stuff but the big downside is the time it takes to spread it!
    We're ringfenced and it takes 12-18mins to cycle time with our 1000G.
    We have a contractor spread it as we farm by evening and weekends and he has a big tanker and will shift a serious amount in a very short time. I doubt it would save us much spreading ourselves but our little tank is still handy to have around.

Also you will have to sign for any slurry imported before you spread it. so if the weather goes against you your kinda caught.

That all said a 1000Gallon tanker is very handy to have!

Make sure you do the sums!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Get a full grasp of the costs involved first. A starting point might be to get a price from a contractor per load to do the job and take 70% (or whatever) as a cost to you if you had your own tanker. Multiply by the number of loads will you spread per year. Go with the cheaper option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

the idea has been rattling around in my head too for a while but like the OP i dont think i'm in the postion to get one yet.

we have a 4 bay slatted tank, empty it twice a year (spring and anything left in it in authunm). have a local contractor who does the agiting and spreading with a big 10kltr tank and 150hp tractor.

at the mo, i reackon my tractor would easily pull a 1300gal tank but it would take twice as long as the cotractor (or more) so a 1600gal would proably be better, (neighbour has a 1100gal tanker and reckons he'd put it out faster with a bucket). The tractor is 2wd so there is an obivous drawback there when trying to get through wet gaps and headlands. Also i'd need to get a agitator.

so at the mo to make it senseabile for me as a part time farmer to do my own i'd need to upgrade the tractor (say +15k), get an agtitor (+4k) and get a decent 1600gal tanker (plus 7k). id be looking at an approx 25k outlay.

i think i'll might start by a geeting a peice at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Heres my point of view..... Ask the contractor to come, he usually comes a few days later when its bulling rain, or your hounding him to make sure your top of the list because everyone is on to him the same day
    we only have an 1100 gal tank its for drinking water for cattle and too small besides, i borrow my relations but the same problem applies there using there own when i want it, so i can expect them to give it to me, so long story short i will be buying one on the simple fact i can hitch up and spread a few loads every evening when i get home weather permitting and i know i will get my P&K's back up where required without all the expense of compound fertilizer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

yellow50HX wrote: »
    the idea has been rattling around in my head too for a while but like the OP i dont think i'm in the postion to get one yet.

we have a 4 bay slatted tank, empty it twice a year (spring and anything left in it in authunm). have a local contractor who does the agiting and spreading with a big 10kltr tank and 150hp tractor.

at the mo, i reackon my tractor would easily pull a 1300gal tank but it would take twice as long as the cotractor (or more) so a 1600gal would proably be better, (neighbour has a 1100gal tanker and reckons he'd put it out faster with a bucket). The tractor is 2wd so there is an obivous drawback there when trying to get through wet gaps and headlands. Also i'd need to get a agitator.
    Like you
    so at the mo to make it senseabile for me as a part time farmer to do my own i'd need to upgrade the tractor (say +15k), get an agtitor (+4k) and get a decent 1600gal tanker (plus 7k). id be looking at an approx 25k outlay.

i think i'll might start by a geeting a peice at a time.
    I've the same size shed and empty like you do. Last year the cattle were in alot so there was more slurry than a normal year. The contractor spent 24hrs in total either agitating or spreading. Whilst I can't recall what he charged per hour lets go with €45. So his annual charge is €1,080.

Like you I'd have to upgrade tractor etc. At €25k plus maintenance and fuel costs it just doesn't make sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

we used to manage with one tractor a 7211 for years, that for agitating and spreading, tank on and draw water, agitator on and start to agitate, realise you need more water so agitator off and tank on and more water:rolleyes:

you dont need to have massive machinery to manage it, and 1100 gallon tank will do the job away no prob
    slurry is a slurry though, a pain in the ass of a job
    if your contractor is doing a good job and not robbing you leave him at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

im going in the opposite direction and thinking of getting the contractor in to do the spreading. its boring days on end drawing out of tanks and thats using a 2250gls. either that or buy a trailing shoe and be spreading slurry in the sunshine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

im going in the opposite direction and thinking of getting the contractor in to do the spreading. its boring days on end drawing out of tanks and thats using a 2250gls. either that or buy a trailing shoe and be spreading slurry in the sunshine

poor bob, you need to get a decent radio on the tractor to pass away the time.

that said the in-laws use a trailing shoe jobbie on the contient to put out the slurry durign the summer. They actually put it out on corn at leaf stage. big machine too, thier contactor has a 25kltr 3 axel tank and a 300hp tractor. makes things a lot easier for them too as rathe then spreading for a few weeks in spring during the sowing season they can spresad through the spring and summer. what they say is you dont want any blockages from stones or clumps of sliage or straw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

These are the values of slurry
    Soiled water n4-p0.7-k5 value €5/1000gls
    Cattle slurry splashplate spring 6-5-38 value €24/100 gls : summer 3-5-38 Trailing shoe +3 units N/1000gls €26/1000 gls
    Pig 19-7-20 €28/1000gls
    FYM 3-2.5-12 €0/tonne

Your own spreader marginal imo., but that said you can spread when you please. You mentioned an agitator personally I would not have one around here. It is usually at this stage of the slurry chore that accidents happen and it's good to have another person around at this stage.

delaval wrote: »
    These are the values of slurry
    Soiled water n4-p0.7-k5 value €5/1000gls
    Cattle slurry splashplate spring 6-5-38 value €24/100 gls : summer 3-5-38 Trailing shoe +3 units N/1000gls €26/1000 gls
    Pig 19-7-20 €28/1000gls
    FYM 3-2.5-12 €0/tonne

Your own spreader marginal imo., but that said you can spread when you please. You mentioned an agitator personally I would not have one around here. It is usually at this stage of the slurry chore that accidents happen and it's good to have another person around at this stage.

You'd end up waiting for your contractor to agitate the slurry .

Agreed, Ijust have a mental block about those machines:o:o

I'd be more likely to get an agitator then a tank, I could give it a stir once a month over the winter so it would be easier to have it ready for spreading come feb time

How do the aerators fitted in the tank work and do they save agitation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

20silkcut what tractor do u have?

i agree with the lads you will spend 25k at least to buy a few yokes to do it right and in as less possible time!

if you had a tractor tat could pull 1750 g plus tanker your on the right track, pig slurry is great stuff and will put down your fert bill

at the same time if you could only afford a 1100g tanker i dont think it would be worth it with a 2 mile round trip to pigery

How do the aerators fitted in the tank work and do they save agitation?

Need to be used every night, lad near here has it, he has dairy so will have dairy washings going in every day. Puts it on the night rate esb, but has a back up generator had the power for a few days last winter and he system couldn't shift it after a few days down. Probably not the job for beef units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Con:
    You'll have the neighbours coming round look for the slurry tank for spreading and they would end up having it on the back of their tractor for weeks when you actually need it!

On a broader note I've really gone away from machinery as I think unless you've a big enough operation it's a waste of money. I've a MF165 bought for €3,200 in 2007 and a few small bits and pieces for it i.e. bale handler, transport box, wagtail spreader, roller, chain harrow. Whilst every so often I dream of a better tractor I just can't justify it financially. On a cost benefit analysis getting a contractor in with the best of gear wins out every time. Not to mention the time saving. What he'll do in 5 hours will take me 10hrs.

There's loads of lads in my area now so getting some one on a given day usually isn't a problem. One way to ensure they come on the day you want them is to pay them on the day. Money talks.

Con:
    You'll have the neighbours coming round look for the slurry tank for spreading and they would end up having it on the back of their tractor for weeks when you actually need it!

Had at same problem with my relative and a sprayer, was gone for a quick evening job for 2 weeks, after asking for back 3 times I actually had to get a contractor to job it before the weather broke. Drove over just took it off their tractor a few days later and found the boom broken. Was not a happy camper.

I loaned my cattle trailer to my neighbour about 1 year ago with ins. to have it back next amas I needed it. Needless to say I had to phone for it next day was duly returned not clean. I promptly hooked up took it to his yard left it in the way hired truck to do my bit sent him bill, trailer returned clean and never asked for again. We still go for a pint together as he got the message.

just do it wrote: »
    On a broader note I've really gone away from machinery as I think unless you've a big enough operation it's a waste of money. I've a MF165 bought for €3,200 in 2007 and a few small bits and pieces for it i.e. bale handler, transport box, wagtail spreader, roller, chain harrow. Whilst every so often I dream of a better tractor I just can't justify it financially. On a cost benefit analysis getting a contractor in with the best of gear wins out every time. Not to mention the time saving. What he'll do in 5 hours will take me 10hrs.

There's loads of lads in my area now so getting some one on a given day usually isn't a problem. One way to ensure they come on the day you want them is to pay them on the day. Money talks.

Yeah fair point but there times when you just need to be able to do a job your self and if you have the time and the need its worth the investment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

on a slightly different note, anyone here (or your contractor) use a tandem axel tank. draw a nice bit of slurry by road, and was wondering if a tandem axel tank would be easier on the tractor etc. also is it any easier on the field I.e. lower ground pressure,less marking than a single axel tank on wetter land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Would the piggery spread it for you , I bet this year they would have if your land was dry enough to take it . Failing that you could just hire a local lad to spread it this year to see if it stacks up compared to fertilizer .
    I kept a four bay tank of slurry off a lad that is beside a bit of our silage ground on the condition that he pays for the diesel . I thought I would use it after the first and second cut , and it would be cheap manure but twice already ive had to find a place for a few loads because his tank is near the top :rolleyes: If you have the time for spreading its fine but if not you could lash out a good heap of fertilizer in one dry evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Is a contractor not between 60 and 80 euros an hour to spread slurry??

I got a 13 acre field spread last year and it took 6 or 7 hours with a 2 mile round trip over and back to the piggery.

This year I need 30 acres spread with the same 2 mile round trip. Roughly 3 times as much. I am looking at probably giving a contractor the bones of 1500 quid if I was to go with slurry.

My situation is hoping to expand to have about 40 weanlings next year.
    90 acre farm 40 of which is set in a conacre arrangement. 30 acres of silage ground and 20 acres with my animals grazing. Would be just spreading the slurry on the silage ground.
    Zetor 8111 tractor 85hp two wheel drive in good nick.The ground is free draining flat as a pancake.

Is a contractor not between 60 and 80 euros an hour to spread slurry??

I got a 13 acre field spread last year and it took 6 or 7 hours with a 2 mile round trip over and back to the piggery.

This year I need 30 acres spread with the same 2 mile round trip. Roughly 3 times as much. I am looking at probably giving a contractor the bones of 1500 quid if I was to go with slurry.

My situation is hoping to expand to have about 40 weanlings next year.
    90 acre farm 40 of which is set in a conacre arrangement. 30 acres of silage ground and 20 acres with my animals grazing. Would be just spreading the slurry on the silage ground.
    Zetor 8111 tractor 85hp two wheel drive in good nick.The ground is free draining flat as a pancake.

That's a long spin for a small tank and tractor. I'd say get a contractor with a big tanker, he would have it done in an afternoon. As I'd say it would be almost an hour to do a tank

I have visions of myself spending ridiculously more time bouncing around in the zetor on the road to the piggery than in the field spreading.
    The budget I would have for such a purchase is max 2 grand.
    Definitely would not get anymore than a (very second hand) 1600 gal one for that.
    How long would a full 1600 gal take to empty in a field???

Would it take an hour???

A mile over and a mile back. 40k box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

I spread 40 acres last summer 2500 gallons per acre 3.5 mile round trip with a 1350 gallon tank no radio :D youd be suprised though you kinda get used to it think it took a few days i was flat 40 k

Would it take an hour???

Your hardly going to be going flat out in the zetor with a tank of slurry. Cheap tankers usually have an old pump that take ages to fill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

we get a contractor in to spread the main bulk of the slurry. it worked out at 67 euro per bay to mix and spread this year using the umbilical. the ground is nearly all surrounding the yards so makes it fairly handy We bought an 1100 gallon tank just to have for the odd load out and maybe drawing water in. it was bought second hand last year and is very handy but the price of spreading yourself just doesnt add up. you should get a reasonable tank for 2k, just dont waste it on one with a fancy paint job.
    fancy machinery sitting in a yard is just a pure waste of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Would it take an hour???

no, not unless ur ticking over 40 minutes should be plenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

Thinking of buying a second hand 1100gal tank also.
    Just so as slurry can be put out the day you want to. Any recommendations on which make to go for

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Q:What has drinking pints of stout and spreading loads of slurry got in common?

A; After 14 pints/ loads in a day it gets harder to keep track:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

We have a 1300 gal Abbey here aprox 20 yrs old, bought 5 yrs ago @ €2500. Pull with a 2wd MF 390T. Fill a load in aprox 6 mins, spread a load in aprox 4 mins, distance to the field after that - most of our land is around the sheds so get aprox 3-4 loads out every hour. You've a 2 mile round trip, tractor should easily cover 1 mile in 5 mins, so you should be able to get 2 loads out every hour.?

Your tractor will be able to cope with up to 1600 gal without any bother esp as you say your land is flat. Anything below 1300 gals is a bit small. Above 1600 gals is getting weighty. I would not let those big tankers and tractors out on our land for love or money - they steam roll everything. A nice tidy outfit and you can get out when it suits you even it ground is a bit soft.

Get someone in to do your agitating, you can draw in water if necessary, guy we get in can agitate a 5 bay shed tank in 2 hours. Saves spending money on an agitator. Better return for your money if you buy a tanker.

There's no need to go spending big money on tankers imo, just look out for a well minded 2nd hand one with decent tyres and that'll do the job well enough for long enough. If you have to pay too much money on gear it's not worth it, but a 3k investment will pay for itself in a couple of years. If I had pig slurry within 5 miles of me I'd be going after it!

Here's one from a dealer - he might even give a guarantee for a month or two? http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/otherfarmmachinery/4579432

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I looked at a few second hand 1600 tanks and €4.5-5k is the run of any one I would bring home. The 1600 is a very popular size and is like an 80-100hp tractor, everybody wants one. At that money for a s/h one a new one looked cheap to me. I am in a way of getting VAT back on one so a new tank cost me €6000. I thought new was a no brainer at that money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Bob you need to get yourself something like this!!!!!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SLNgAJBFIug

jimmy G M wrote: »
    I would not let those big tankers and tractors out on our land for love or money - they steam roll everything. A nice tidy outfit and you can get out when it suits you even it ground is a bit soft.

i find the oppisite actually, the lad we use has a big 10kltr tanker and 150hp tractor. he has big wide wheels which leave very little impression on the fields. just cos its bigger dont mean it'll do more damage. Threw out a few loads for the uncle last year with a ford 6610 2wd and a 1300 gallon abbey he borrowed from a friend, the smaller tyres ended up doing a bit of digging. I got a loan of a friends 1600 with ballon tyres and used the same tractor this year in his place and you could see the difference. Those old tankers with the small tyres are only fit for drawing water and summer work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

i find the oppisite actually, the lad we use has a big 10kltr tanker and 150hp tractor. he has big wide wheels which leave very little impression on the fields. just cos its bigger dont mean it'll do more damage. Threw out a few loads for the uncle last year with a ford 6610 2wd and a 1300 gallon abbey he borrowed from a friend, the smaller tyres ended up doing a bit of digging. I got a loan of a friends 1600 with ballon tyres and used the same tractor this year in his place and you could see the difference. Those old tankers with the small tyres are only fit for drawing water and summer work.
    Fully agree no little tankers allowed. Unless it has recessed wheels it Wont travel. I get a 2500 tanker for 35-40 an hour and reckon it gets about 9000gal/hr done and umbilical 100/hr which gets 20000/hr spread. I spread 500k a year and if i pay myself or someone else 10/hr i cant justify a tanker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

st1979 wrote: »
    Fully agree no little tankers allowed. Unless it has recessed wheels it Wont travel.

I don't agree. My 1100g has wheels off a dumper on it. They are over 2ft wide and 4 1/2 ft high and aren't recessed. The tanker will never go down with these wheels - so anywhere the tractor will go, the tanker will too. Bought tanker 10 years ago for €2500. Put the wheels on it 3 years ago for €700.

I spread over 300k gal every year. Have used umbilical in the past, and while it was cheap, it wasn't cost effective as i didn't get the full value out of the slurry. It all went out in the 1 go and only went out on land that umbilical would reach. Putting a heavy dose of slurry on the same land every year is a waste and makes the land wet.

Big tankers won't work in this part of the country - even with recessed wheels. Anything bigger than 1600g will just go down. Horses for courses! Big tankers are fine for dry land, but not everyone has that. People with wetter land tend to have more slurry also as they have cattle housed for longer!

The difference

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8628

V's

picture.php?albumid=1565&pictureid=8630

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

A lot of people still have the notion that slurry is a waste product and a pain in the ass to deal with, where as if you have your own tank and have it well watered down and agitated you can follow stock with a few loads every week and get more benifit out of it. like previous posts are saying it dosent have to be brand new and maybe there is times the contractor will be a quicker better option but the way tanks hold there value even if you sold it in 5 years you wouldnt loose a fortune on it

reilig wrote: »
    I don't agree. My 1100g has wheels off a dumper on it. They are over 2ft wide and 4 1/2 ft high and aren't recessed. The tanker will never go down with these wheels - so anywhere the tractor will go, the tanker will too. Bought tanker 10 years ago for €2500. Put the wheels on it 3 years ago for €700.

I spread over 300k gal every year. Have used umbilical in the past, and while it was cheap, it wasn't cost effective as i didn't get the full value out of the slurry. It all went out in the 1 go and only went out on land that umbilical would reach. Putting a heavy dose of slurry on the same land every year is a waste and makes the land wet.

Big tankers won't work in this part of the country - even with recessed wheels. Anything bigger than 1600g will just go down. Horses for courses! Big tankers are fine for dry land, but not everyone has that. People with wetter land tend to have more slurry also as they have cattle housed for longer!

The difference

V's

That's an incredibly fresh looking tanker for one bought ten years ago for 2500 quid. What do you do to keep it scrubbed up ?

It's washed and sprayed with burned oil 2 or 3 times a year. It doesn't look so fresh with no oil on it as the oil covers any rust. Tanker was made in 1994 and had been used to spray water on roads to keep dust down before I bought it.

The difference

V's

300k a year, thats 300 loads, at say 25mins a go (depending on distance) thats 125hr's a years, thats a lot of spreading, thats 2weeks of your years throwing out ****e

It's actually 273 loads and at 3 loads an hour it's 91 hours. As i said, slurry is spread as and when it's needed so that we can get value from the slurry instead of spreading it all out in 1 go. Included in this is higher value pig slurry. I agree with F.D. that slurry is not a waste product. It can significantly replace the amount of bagged fertilizer that you have to spread - saving you money and time. With the cattle and pig slurry I'm saving 30% on my fertilizer bill. But to do this, you have to be willing to spread the amounts required when they are required.

So for me I have to ask myself the question do you use your time to spread slurry to grow grass as its needed or do you spend money getting in a contractor who will spread all of your slurry in 1 go, and buy extra fertilizer and spend the time spreading it? I have a personal preference of using as little chemical fertilizer as possible. Also, because I have heavy land, I like to be able to choose what amounts of slurry to spread on each part to prevent over saturation and ultimate rush growth. And in a stubborn way, like most other farmers in the country, I never count hours of work that I do on the farm as a cost.

It's actually 273 loads and at 3 loads an hour it's 91 hours. As i said, slurry is spread as and when it's needed so that we can get value from the slurry instead of spreading it all out in 1 go. Included in this is higher value pig slurry. I agree with F.D. that slurry is not a waste product. It can significantly replace the amount of bagged fertilizer that you have to spread - saving you money and time. With the cattle and pig slurry I'm saving 30% on my fertilizer bill. But to do this, you have to be willing to spread the amounts required when they are required.

So for me I have to ask myself the question do you use your time to spread slurry to grow grass as its needed or do you spend money getting in a contractor who will spread all of your slurry in 1 go, and buy extra fertilizer and spend the time spreading it? I have a personal preference of using as little chemical fertilizer as possible. Also, because I have heavy land, I like to be able to choose what amounts of slurry to spread on each part to prevent over saturation and ultimate rush growth. And in a stubborn way, like most other farmers in the country, I never count hours of work that I do on the farm as a cost.

well 300 was rounding off. its it different for fellas full time farming to be able to do the work for those of us working off farm we dont always have time to do these kinda jobs, espically when the days are short. its good that your slurry is able to take during the summer time, its proably due to the heaiver land. was looking at the up take figures from moorepark a few years back and a lot of slurry spread using a band spreader was being wasted when the temp was too high. much better results when using a dribble bar or trailing shoe. a lot of fellas round here have moved away from spreading slurry straight after the silage is cut as the nuertreints are just being evapotred. we get a good uptake around now as it'll get washed in for grazing in march, and again in the authumn when it gets spread in sept and oct you'll get a nice cover over the winter and good early grass following year.

Reilig

What tractor hp needed for such a tank? Do you also have an agitator?

just do it wrote: »
    Reilig

What tractor hp needed for such a tank? Do you also have an agitator?

I have an agitator.

You don't need a lot of HP for dry land, but if you have wet land like ours you might need 4wd with or without the tanker. As I said, anywhere the tractor will go, the tanker will go. I pulled it behing a MF168 for 7 years. It's behind a NH T5050 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

just wondering does the OP have slurry storage tanks?

might make more financial sense to have the imported slurry trucked in from the piggery and have your own 1000g tanker for the spreading.
    you'll save a lot of disesal and time that way and you spread when you want

i just cant see it stacking up drawing the slurry yourself.

do the sums!!!

I have an open slurry pit with pre- cast floor and sides to a depth of about 8 feet from my fathers time still in good nick.

Never heard of the piggery transporting slurry around like that.How much would they bring in one go???

I have an open slurry pit with pre- cast floor and sides to a depth of about 8 feet from my fathers time still in good nick.

Never heard of the piggery transporting slurry around like that.How much would they bring in one go???

thats what we have down here, most of the piggerys round here have a lorry tanker that will transport the slurry, most will bring it to your yard and empty it into your tank. most lads i know mix it with the cattle slurry and then spread when needed.