Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cheapest way to do 50,000km per yr

• 21-02-2013 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭

Looking for a motor to travel 60,000k per year. Would like to do it as cheap as possible.already a pain having to spend so much money just to get to work.
    Obviously a 500 euro car that costs 50quid a week to run would be perfect :)
    doing average 1200km per week.

Must be a comfortable and reliable car....dont want to get out of the car after the trip bent like the letter "S"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Peugeot 406. Diesel, comfy, impossible to kill. Cheap as chips

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

So what's your real budget so?

Getting a cheap and v.reliable diesel is no easy feat these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭corkthai

well i currently do it in an L200 so killing me on diesel...Ideally id like to give that car to the missus and buy something cheaper to do the drive....
    budget....none really, just want to do it in the cheapest possible way...if thats 5000 so be it, but if i can do it for 1000 even better....id rather not pay nearly half a salary to get to work.

On the 406 ----are they as slow as a wet week ??? tried it in a berlingo van and it barely topped out at 55mph...nearly broke my heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭shooter88

A bicycle cheapest way :)
    Some of the newer cars are claiming 60mpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

What kind of driving is it?
    100km to work and another 100 back home 6 days a week?

Is it motorway driving or country roads?

Thats a berlingo with a non turbo. 406 is TD (thankfully we never got the 1.9D!)

Choice is TD or HDi, I prefer the TD as I like turning them up and down. They are getting on though and the clatter whilst manly isn't to everyones taste on a frosty morning. My one sees 53mpg on long runs.

The HDi is more refined and returns about 60mpg. Either 90bhp or 110bhp.

Both 710 a year tax.

Service parts are cheap.

Electrics.... Lets skip that :pac: seriously they aren't bad, my one is behaving itself and works well :)

cork to limerick, so mix of motorway and roads....a lot of tractor overtaking..

funnily enough i see i guy every morning cycling from cork to mallow...in all weather.

so its 5 x 220km and then prob another 200 misc km per week.

i actually like a 406,they seem like a comfortable car..
    what you make of this one ?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Peugeot/406/D9-STDT-/30913535829172560/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

dgt wrote: »

Electrics.... Lets skip that :pac: seriously they aren't bad, my one is behaving itself and works well :)

Half Peugeot/Renault I see on the road light up a XMAS tree on the back everytime they break, this is just ridiculous, both indicators light up and all...

That one seems alright, feckin mobile I can't see it fully. 1350 I'd be expecting a 00 or newer.

If looking at one, test every button and toy to make sure it works :)
    bmstuff wrote: »
    Half Peugeot/Renault I see on the road light up a XMAS tree on the back everytime they break, this is just ridiculous, both indicators light up and all...

All for the sake of a manky earth in the boot! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

corkthai wrote: »

funnily enough i see i guy every morning cycling from cork to mallow...in all weather.

I do this, everyone thinks i'm insane.

Cheapest way is to buy a second hand car with a good service history, low servicing costs and to perform the work yourself.

You can further reduce your cost with car pooling and sharing the per km cost.

After 2 years you start to care less about cost and more about comfort/convenience and stuff the car poolers.

In short, from my experience you start out with an idea in your head to make it as cheap as possible, after a period of time you end up thinking it was a false economy and wished you'd spent extra on an all leather BMW 330D purely for commuting (I mean your spending the bones of 30 days in the thing per year)

Rather than a diesel sipping estate that can be used for everything including the dog and so forth.

Next time i'm getting a nice car for commuting and a sh!t car for everything else. :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Can you get your figures right first?

Title says 50,000. Post says 60,000. 1,200 x 52 = 62,400!

Which is it man? :)

(not that it makes much difference!)

yep..its about 50k for work and about 60+ overall...
    keithclancy you have a point and maybe i should look at a more decent option...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Would you consider a brand new car on finance?

I'm getting 1150km to one tank on a new BMW 316es. It is costing less to run than the old corsa i was driving and is worth the monthly payments for the comfort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

i actually like a 406,they seem like a comfortable car..
    what you make of this one ?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Peugeot/406/D9-STDT-/30913535829172560/advert?channel=CARS

I have neighbours with a 2002 2.0hdi 110 406 same as link. They bought it new in early 2002:eek: they love the car about 150k miles on the car and never cost them a whole lot in maintenance. They went to change it a few times and just can't part with it as they Find it reliable and comfortable. So with a low budget I can't think of anything that would be better tbh it will do 50-60mpg which is a lot coming from an l200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

tin79 wrote: »
    Can you get your figures right first?

Title says 50,000. Post says 60,000. 1,200 x 52 = 62,400!

Which is it man? :)

(not that it makes much difference!)
    Fair play.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

What about a ten year old Mondeo TDCI. A 90 or 115hp one that has had the clutch and flywheel recently done should fit the bill. Cheap and reasonable to drive.

How high up the tax band do you want to go OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭two wheels good

What about car-share? There must be dozens driving the same route every day.

Quick calculation.
    60k km per year even if you find a car that will be doing 5 l/100km (56MPG) it's still 3000 litres of fuel.
    Assuming diesel at 1.55 it will cost 4650euro per year just on fuel.
    In 5 years you will spend 23250 euro just on fuel.
    + on top of that tax (which might be quite big for reasonable diesel pre 2008)- say 673 for 1.9 diesel + maintenance cost which at that kind of mileage and older car might cost quite plenty (assume 2000 per annum including tyre cost and servicing).

And obviously cost to buy that vehicle at around 5k.

That gives you a figure of over 41.5k in the next 5 years.
    After than 5 years this car will go straight to the scrap yard.

If you had a charging point at your work place, you could get a Nissan Leaf for 26k and drive on electricity which costs only fraction of the cost of diesel.
    Motortax is very low (120 per year), while maintenance costs in first 5 years should be small (just servicing and tyres so maybe 500 a year). On top of that cost of electricity of about 1500 per year.
    So total of 36.5k and after this 5 years you will still be able to sell this car for probably about 5k. So you end up paying 31.5k.

That's 10k cheaper than with secondhand diesel.

overall running cost is the thing "the cost to get to work" and make more money so the taxman can take his cut :)
    So to pay more motor tax would be a killer but i guess again overall cost i will look at.

to be honest id rather not car share.

As for a new car ...dont think id finance a car ever again....

How much does a tank cost to do 1100km per week ?
    Im spending 80 euro roughly for every 5-600km.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

overall running cost is the thing "the cost to get to work" and make more money so the taxman can take his cut :)
    So to pay more motor tax would be a killer but i guess again overall cost i will look at.

to be honest id rather not car share.

As for a new car ...dont think id finance a car ever again....

How much does a tank cost to do 1100km per week ?
    Im spending 80 euro roughly for every 5-600km.
    Worst case a diesel would do 1100km for 100 euro but normally lower. My dad drives 2000km a week at the moment for work. We have 2 octavia a 1.6tdi and a 1.9tdi. Bearing in mine my dad is not an economical driver the 1.9tdi will do 950km for less than 80 euro. The 1.6tdi will do 1100km before the light comes on and that's with a small 55 litre tank which is scary as it is driven at 120 on the motorway and 100km on main so it's not like he's crawling along in it. So that's 1100km to 51 litres of diesel. But unfortunately with your budget you can only afford a 1.9tdi still a great car a couldn't recommend them enough. Only thing is older minded octavia's seem to be expensive compared to 406s.

CiniO wrote: »
    Quick calculation.
    60k km per year even if you find a car that will be doing 5 l/100km (56MPG) it's still 3000 litres of fuel.
    Assuming diesel at 1.55 it will cost 4650euro per year just on fuel.
    In 5 years you will spend 23250 euro just on fuel.
    + on top of that tax (which might be quite big for reasonable diesel pre 2008)- say 673 for 1.9 diesel + maintenance cost which at that kind of mileage and older car might cost quite plenty (assume 2000 per annum including tyre cost and servicing).

:eek::eek: thanks for bringing it to reality of how much i spend to get to work .:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,533 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Id consider a 1.8L e class, youd want something comfy with cruise control. Convert it to LPG, they have a 1.8L which couldnt be too bad on fuel... or maybe an E60?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4609943
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4537726

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

Frynge wrote: »

I'm getting 1150km to one tank on a new BMW 316es. It is costing less to run than the old corsa i was driving and is worth the monthly payments for the comfort.

So it cost more then...but worth it for the comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

:eek::eek: thanks for bringing it to reality of how much i spend to get to work .:)

Yup he is right. You must be losing a load of time too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

You going via fermoy then cross country, or N20 everyday?
    Wouldn't wish the N20 cattletrack on anyone everyday. There is an LPG supplier just off the main road near Croom if that is the route you are doing and LPG is an option for you.

Unless you absolutely positively have to be back in Cork every night, maybe a cheap B&B would be an option some nights? Maybe a flexitime arrangement could be reached, work up hours some days and stay overnight, then half day another day or something? Financially it might be marginal with the right car, but the wear and tear on your sanity up and down that road has its own cost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,533 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

what "cost" are you talking about? Im assuming just the fuel and tax. the cost of depreciation and finance will be in the order of thousands per year...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Not being smart, but would you consider moving closer to Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

professore wrote: »
    Not being smart, but would you consider moving closer to Limerick?

very good point and probably the best..when you consider not only the fuel saving but the extra 2 hours or so with your family every day it's a no-brainer really.
    I know a mate who's done it already.

a move to limerick..you mean over the border :)
    Im reluctant enough to finance a car the way jobs are these days so buying a house (not to mention selling my own) would put the fear of god in me.
    although i realize i prob would have a small mortgage with what it costs me so far per month.
    I go the N20 everyday....and yes its soul destroying...but i enjoy the work so at least its not a huge killer.

I like the 406 idea so will look at a few of those this weekend hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

would you consider a bedsit in limerick for four nights a week, monday, tuesday, wednesday, and thursday night, 3 nights at home with the wife and kids?

I had a similar situation as yours a few years back and drove from Limerick to cork everyday for 2 months. It was tiring, and the constant stopping at petrol stations every day was annoying and costly as you are on the road, so most likely will pick up a coffee and a sandwich daily which adds more to the costs.

During summer, ice creams and soft drinks, the costs keep going higher and higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

House share for a few nights a week would considerably cut down running costs/service intervals. As someone that was doing 400km+ commute a day it saved me a lot. Could go home as I pleased but if I was stuck in the office until late I could just crash there.

new kid on the way in one month so being away is not an option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭Seweryn

funnily enough i see i guy every morning cycling from cork to mallow...in all weather...
    From own experience I can tell you that long distance commuting in all weather on a bicycle is not much cheaper that driving a cheap car (if any).

Im reluctant enough to finance a car the way jobs are these days so buying a house (not to mention selling my own) would put the fear of god in me.
    I go the N20 everyday....and yes its soul destroying...but i enjoy the work so at least its not a huge killer.
    I'd probably do what you're doing short-to-medium term with an eye on equivalent jobs back in Cork. If you were free and single grand, but if you've any financial or personal ties, naw biy. Stay in Cork. Limerick, well... it's just not Cork. edit -kid on the way? Definitely don't go uprooting the family to Limerick if ye are close to family and friends where ye are.

Written as a Corkman in exile in Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

new kid on the way in one month so being away is not an option

I can understand that, but essentially man you are going to be wrecked tired so, getting home at 8 and up all night feeding, out the door at 6 in the morning. Tough times ahead. Best of luck

sad dose of reality from all you guys today....cheers. Came on looking for a car ended up with the thoughts of less money every year and a vision of sleepless, nappy changing nights..:D

Seweryn wrote: »
    From own experience I can tell you that long distance commuting in all weather on a bicycle is not much cheaper that driving a cheap car (if any).

How come?
    I can't see any cost except bicycle maintenance (tyres, oils, adjustment) which even when doing 100km per day on bicycle shouldn't cost more than 20-30 euros per month.

What other cost can you see related to commuting by bicycle?
    Maybe few quid for washing powder to wash your clothes after rainy day, but generally that's it.
    It's hardly a fraction of costs of running any car.

the food to feed the machine that pedals the bicycle must be huge :) he normally has a huge backpack on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭limerickpat

I lived in Dublin for a few years 180 miles from my Gf and family staying up there 4 nights a week. Eventually it started to bring me down.

I now work 40 miles from home and do the commute happily everyday knowing I will be home to see my family every evening and I think its well worth coming home every evening to my family.

I drive a diesel accord and its good on diesel but my mothers 406 1.9td is better, so that gets my vote.

sad dose of reality from all you guys today....cheers. Came on looking for a car ended up with the thoughts of less money every year and a vision of sleepless, nappy changing nights..:D
    The petrol station in O'Rourkes Cross usually offer me a complimentary cup of tea or coffee with a full tank of petrol. It's not great coffee, but it's about the most positive thing I can think of about travelling that road everyday. Besta luck man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

you'd spent extra on an all leather BMW 330D purely for commuting (I mean your spending the bones of 30 days in the thing per year)

Rather than a diesel sipping estate that can be used for everything including the dog and so forth.

Manual 330d and 530d's are super cheap here (EUR1k to 3k) and do 50mpg+ on the trips indicated.. you can have your cake and eat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

padma wrote: »
    would you consider a bedsit in limerick for four nights a week, monday, tuesday, wednesday, and thursday night, 3 nights at home with the wife and kids?

I had a similar situation as yours a few years back and drove from Limerick to cork everyday for 2 months. It was tiring, and the constant stopping at petrol stations every day was annoying and costly as you are on the road, so most likely will pick up a coffee and a sandwich daily which adds more to the costs.

During summer, ice creams and soft drinks, the costs keep going higher and higher.

Not to mention the cholesterol clogging up your arteries from a stressful sugar fuelled no exercise commute .... you'll be jumping at the chance of a few days in a bedsit once the baby arrives LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

although i realize i prob would have a small mortgage with what it costs me so far per month.

I like the 406 idea so will look at a few of those this weekend hopefully.

I used to drive a 406 when I lived in tipp and worked in dublin.
    86k miles in 2 years. Its a comfy place to spend your commute in.
    Try and get a Hdi, more power 110 vs 90, better mpg and a much more refined drive. (no black smoke though:pac:)

Look at the c5 also, even comfier(is that even a word?) and cheap, had one for 4 years....loved it (for 2 of those I was still working in Dublin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Manual 330d and 530d's are super cheap here (EUR1k to 3k) and do 50mpg+ on the trips indicated.. you can have your cake and eat it.

Indeed, actually in General cars compared to here in NL are cheap, importing isn't really an option though as the Import tax is nuts, plus the steering wheel is on the other side.

Op the cheapest "Fuel" to drive on is Electricity.

The 2nd is a Prius on LPG.

Facts.

Based on LPG @ 81 C /L or 75 C summer, currently available in Naas, Kilcullen and a few other places.

Prius MK II on LPG is the same as a 94 mpg petrol or diesel car.

Prius Mk III is the same as a 100 mpg petrol or diesel car.

You want the cheapest, there you go.

The Prius will not have any of the failures of diesel cars common today and they are one of the most reliable cars on the road in the world.

You can get good bargains, especially from the U.K. The MK III T Spirit is the one to get.

That's of course if you are serious about the cheapest car to fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭September1

I traveled Cork - Limerick in Prius and driving at speed limit all the time yields impressive 60mpg - this route if perfect for hybrid cars, as it is mix of faster journeys on petrol engine and slower on electric. Journey is a bit too long for LEAF during colder months if you are into using heating, but again I had no problem doing it in summer - I did not even need full charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

LOL! I used to see him too when i was driving to work for 7:00. Now i have to be by 5:00, so i dont see him anymore! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Op the cheapest "Fuel" to drive on is Electricity.

The 2nd is a Prius on LPG.

Facts

Well only if only looking at fuel, his question was the cheapest method of doing the mileage, not the cheapest fuel. When looking at TCO, Electricity is miles from the cheapest over short to medium terms when you consider a EUR1000 530d is one of the alternatives, or a high MPG already LPG converted option, should one pop up for sale.